Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 17, it is not clear what is meant by “melty bicomponent fibers”. How does a melty bicomponent fiber differ from a bicomponent fiber? bicomponent fibers generally have a core with a higher melt temperature than the sheath in order to enable the fibers to act as binder fibers without losing their structure as a fiber. However, it is not clear what is meant by melty bicomponent fiber. Does this mean that the entirety of the fiber, both components, whether side by side or sheath/core are melted? Does a melty bicomponent fiber retain fiber structure at all? The claimed structure is not clear.
Claims 1, 3-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/426,687 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a cleaning article comprising a filler and a wrapping surrounding the filler.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 15-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brown et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,513,184 in view of Macedo et al, U.S. Patent No. 2005/0276826.
Brown discloses a cleaning sheet. The cleaning sheet comprises a base layer and an outer layer which covers the base layer. See col. 1, lines 44-50. The base layer can be a layer comprising entangled fibers, (see col. 4, lines 63-67). The cores can be formed from nonwovens such as meltblowns, spunbondeds or bonded carded webs. See col. 5, lines 4-20. The nonwoven can have a basis weight of 30-100 gsm. See col. 7, lines 12-16. The structure can further comprise an outer net or web which corresponds to a scrim or mesh. See col. 7, lines 33-43. The fibers can have a denier of 1-6 denier. See col. 7, lines 44-49. The fibers can be thermoplastic materials, semi synthetic fibers, regenerated cellulose fibers and natural fibers, as well as mixtures thereof. See col. 8, lines 22-31. The material is capable of being used in household cleaning applications or cosmetic cleaning applications.
With regard to the claims as amended 12/10/25, Brown teaches that preferably the core fibers or base fibers are not fused or bonded but are entangled to allow for movement of the fibers which produces better dust collecting performance. See col. 6, lines 21-42.
Brown differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the nonwoven is made up of vertically lapped fibers.
However, Macedo teaches that it was known to form nonwovens which are suitable for use in cleaning articles from methods including carding/garneting, airlaying, wetlaying, spunbonding, meltblowing, vertical lapping and combinations thereof. See paragraphs 0020, 0026.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected from among known and equivalent methods of forming the nonwoven as taught by Macedo to form the core of the structure of Brown.
Brown does not clearly teach the number of food panels cleaned in a number of cycles or the Schiefer scratch rating.
However, once the material of Brown was modified to include a vertically lapped core as taught by Macedo, it is reasonable to expect that the structure of Brown would have the claimed properties, since like materials must have like properties, or, in the alternative to have selected suitable materials for the outer and inner portions which provided the optimum cleaning and scratch properties to the cleaning pad.
Claim(s) 7-8, 11-14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,513,184 in view of Macedo et al, U.S. Patent Application No. 2005/0276826 as set forth above, and further in view of Haq et al, U.S. Patent No. 4,603,069.
Brown in view of Macedo discloses a cleaning material as set forth above.
Brown differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose superabsorbent, the amount the superabsorbent can absorb or the claimed density or the claimed compression
However, Haq discloses a cleaning article comprising two outer sheets which are bonded together and which encase a core material. See col. 1, lines 64-68. The core material can be a highly absorbent material, which has an absorbency of at least 5 times its own weight and preferably at least 40 times its own weight in liquid. See col. 2, lines 24-27; col. 3, lines 57-68. The core can have a density of 0.03-0.08g/cc. See col. 4, lines 8-10. The outer layers can be nonwoven fabrics. See col. 3, lines 24-35. The outer sheets at least partially surround the core material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have provided superabsorbents having the absorbency as taught in Haq in order to enable the material of Brown to absorb many times its weight in liquid. It further would have been obvious to have selected a density as taught by Haq in order to provide a material having a density suitable for use as the core of a cleaning material.
With regard to the claimed compression, it would have been obvious to have selected the degree of compression and resiliency which provided the best cleaning properties.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Brown teaches meltblown or spunbonded nonwovens which are different than nonwovens bonded by melty bicomponent fibers. However, Brown also teaches bonded carded webs, which can be not otherwise bonded. Brown clearly teaches entangled fibers rather than bonded fibers as being preferable in order to provide improved dust retention as set forth above. Therefore, Brown clearly teaches unbonded fibers in the core which meets the claims even as amended, since the limitations regarding bicomponent fibers are set forth as an alternative embodiment.
With regard to Bradley, Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the Bradley reference.
With regard to Macedo, Applicant argues that Macedo only teaches meltblown fibers. However, Macedo clearly teaches staple fibers which can be formed into a nonwoven by vertical lapping or carding. See paragraph 0026 .
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789