EXAMINER REMARKS
Applicant’s remarks are found persuasive regarding the prior art and the absorption rate. Therefore, this is a 2nd Non-Final rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 and 17 of copending Application No. 17,426,683 in view of Chen et al. (PUB 20030135181).
Wherein the copending Application discloses all of the features except the wrapping completely surrounding a filler and the filler being made of sustainable materials. Chen et al. teaches a cleaning article with a wrapping completely surrounding a filler (Fig. 2, 46 and 54) [0088] and a filler made of sustainable materials [0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the copending Application to include these features; as these features are beneficial to protect the filler and the filler being of sustainable materials is beneficial for the environment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: claims recite “g/m3” but it appears it should be “g/cm3”. For rejection purposes, it is being interpreted as g/cm3.
Additionally, Examiner also notes it appears that the specification also contains the same error.
While there is no in haec verba requirement, newly added claims or claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit, or inherent disclosure. An amendment to correct an obvious error does not constitute new matter where the ordinary artisan would not only recognize the existence of the error in the specification, but also recognize the appropriate correction. In re Oda, 443 F.2d 1200, 170 USPQ 268 (CCPA 1971).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 4 recites that the filler is fibrous, non-woven, and a foam, however, the limitation that the filler is a foam contradictory to the specification as in Para [0017] and the fact that the ”comparative examples” are all foam products. The specification does not explain this contradiction nor does it appear to disclose the invention as a foam. Therefore this term in the claim lacks proper written description. For purposes of examination, the term “foam” is not considered in claim 4.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites that the filler is fibrous, non-woven, and a foam, however, the limitation that the filler is a foam contradictory to the specification such as Para [0017] and the fact that the ”comparative examples” were all foam products. It does not appear that Applicant intended to claim the invention as a foam and/or Applicant has not explained if the term “foam” has a different meaning. Therefore, the metes and bounds are unclear and this claim is indefinite. As stated above, for purposes of examination, the term “foam” is not considered in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen) (PUB 2003/0135181) in view of Macedo et al. (hereinafter Mac) (PUB 2005/0276827) and Haq et al. (hereinafter Haq) (USPN 4,603,069).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Chen discloses a cleaning article (Fig. 2; Abstract) comprising: a filler (22); and a wrapping (46) completely surrounding the filler (Fig. 1; at least Para. [0088]), wherein at least one of the filler and the wrapping are composed of a sustainable material (at least Paras. [0019, 0080, 0090, 0098, and 0125]). Chen does not disclose wherein the filler is a vertically lapped non-woven.
However, Mac teaches an analogous cleaning article (Fig. 1; Abstract) including a filler that is a vertically lapped non-woven (Para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filler of Chen and arranged the filler as a vertically lapped non-woven as taught by Mac; because Mac teaches that this arrangement is old and known in the art of producing cleaning articles. It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill that vertically lapped non-woven fibers produce results according to the intended end use of the cleaning article.
Chen does not disclose wherein the filler has an absorption rate of at least about 10-20 times the dry weight of the filler.
However, Haq teaches an analogous cleaning article (Figs. 1-3) inclusive of a high absorbent filler material (col. 2, lines 24-27 and col. 3, lines 57-col 4, line 4; preferably at least 40 times its own weight in liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filler of Chen and included a filler with an absorption rate of at least about 20 times the dry weight of the filler as taught by Haq; because Haq teaches that it is known in the art to provide cleaning articles with such a structure to provide this absorbency and it would be obvious that increased absorbency may be beneficial for certain end uses in cleaning articles (ability to clean up larger amounts of liquid for example).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen further discloses wherein the sustainable material is at least one of biodegradable, partially bio-based, compostable, recyclable, and at least partially made of recycled material (at least Paras. [0019, 0080, 0090, 0098, and 0125]).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen further discloses wherein the wrapping is at least one of a netting, nonwoven, woven cloth, knit cloth, microfiber, perforated film, or a combination thereof (at least Paras. [0019, 0080, 0090, 0098, and 0125]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the filler is a fibrous filler, a non- woven filler,
Regarding Claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein the filler comprises fibers having a denier of between about 2 and about 1000 (Para. [0197]). Alternatively, Mac teaches the denier range between 1-20 in Para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the denier between about 2 and 1000 as claimed; because Mac teaches that this feature is known in the art of cleaning articles. It would further be obvious that denier is directly correlated to end use and it would be obvious to adjust the denier as needed (finer denier for delicate cleaning such as surfaces which may scratch easier vs larger denier for abrasively cleaning surfaces which may require heavy duty cleaning).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen further discloses wherein the cleaning article is used for household cleaning applications or cosmetic cleaning applications (at least Para. [0073]).
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 12, as combined above, now that Chen includes all of the claimed structure as modified by Mac & Haq, it would be obvious that the combined structure now meets and/or is capable of performing these functional limitations (wherein the cleaning article cleans at least about 0.1-1 food soil panels in 5,550 cycles and wherein the cleaning article has a Schiefer scratch rating of 3.5 or less) since like structure is deemed to have like characteristics/properties. While these limitations have been carefully considered, they are not deemed to patentably distinguish over the prior art of record.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art to include these taught limitations, because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, selecting suitable materials to provide optimum cleaning/scratch properties is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 13-14, the prior art as combined above fails to disclose the density as currently claimed. However, Haq further teaches wherein the filler has a density of about 0.03-0.025 g/cm3 or less (col. 4, lines 8-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the density as taught by Haq; because Haq teaches that this density is known in the art and suitable for cleaning articles. It would further be obvious that density is directly correlated to end use and it would be obvious to adjust the density as needed (more density may be needed for cleaning heavily soiled surfaces for example).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, as combined above, now that Chen includes all of the claimed structure as modified by Mac & Haq, it would be obvious that the combined structure now meets and/or is capable of performing these functional limitations (wherein the filler has a compression of about 9-5 Kgf or less) since like structure is deemed to have like characteristics/properties. While these limitations have been carefully considered, they are not deemed to patentably distinguish over the prior art of record.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art to include these taught limitations, because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and See MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, providing specific compression and resiliency to provide the best cleaning properties is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (depending on the intended end use such as a delicate or sturdy object, compression would be adjusted accordingly via selection of appropriate materials known in the art).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen further discloses wherein both the filler and the wrapping are at least partially composed of a sustainable material (at least Paras. [0019, 0080, 0090, 0098, and 0125]).
Conclusion
/ANNA K KINSAUL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731