DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged.
In response to an interview with the Examiner on 12/11/2025, amended claim 1, (12/15/2025), and previously presented claims 2-3, 5-10, were submitted for examination.
Claims 4, 11-19 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2024, 2/15/2024, 2/23/2023, 11/19/2021, and 7/29/2021 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner.
Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose to the Office all information known to the person to be material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56. As stated therein, “[e]ach individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section”.
Claim rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
4a. Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2016-0137810 (2016) in view of Adachi et al. (2002) and Meziani et al (2018).
KR 10-2016-0137810 (2016) discloses a composition and a method for inhibiting pulmonary fibrosis comprising administering an siRNA as a M-CSF expression inhibitor (See abstract; claims 3-5; paragraph [0001]). The reference is silent with respect to administering a M-CSF antibody (as a M-CSF inhibitor) and a G-CSF antibody (as a G-CSF inhibitor) together, for treating pulmonary fibrosis.
Adachi et al. (2002) teaches administration of G-CSF causes pulmonary fibrotic diseases and therefor G-CSF is associated with pulmonary fibrotic disease (See abstract; and conclusion). The reference is silent with respect to administering a G-CSF antibody (as a G-CSF inhibitor) for treating pulmonary fibrosis.
Meziani et al (2018) teaches administering a CSF1R (M-CSFR) neutralizing antibody as inhibitor, in the prevention of radiation induced lung fibrosis (RIF) by blocking profibrotic tissue-infiltrating macrophages (IMs) (See abstract; Figure 1, page 3; Figure 7, page 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the method of KR 10-2016-0137810 such that it includes administering a combination of a M-CSF inhibitor and a G-CSF inhibitor, which encompasses M-CSF antibodies and G-CSF antibodies, because KR 10-2016-0137810 teaches that M-CSF causes pulmonary fibrosis and Adachi teaches that G-CSF causes pulmonary fibrosis, and Meziani et al teaches that antibodies to MCSFR prevent RIF. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would be motivated and with a reasonable expectation of success, administer a M-CSF inhibitor (M-CSF antibodies) and a G-CSF inhibitor (G-CSF antibodies) for the treatment of pulmonary fibrosis because of the combined teachings of the references. With respect to claim 2, KR 10-2016-0137810 teaches that the pulmonary fibrosis is induced by irradiation (See paragraph [0018]; claim 4). With respect to claims 3 and 5, KR 10-2016-0137810 teaches inhibiting myofibroblast and pulmonary fibrosis of pulmonary cells (See claim 1), and inhibition of transformation of pulmonary cells into myofibroblasts (See paragraph [0018]). With respect to claim 6-10 which are pharmacological mechanisms, one of skill in the art would have expected these inhibitions because KR 10-2016-0137810 teaches that the siRNA inhibits one or more of vimentin (VIM), fibronectin (FN), versican, osteopontin (OPN), and HAS3 (See claim 5; paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, the combined teachings of KR 10-2016-0137810, Adachi et al. and Meziani et al. renders obvious claims 1-3, and 5-10.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 1-3, and 5-10 are rejected.
Advisory Information
/PREMA M MERTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674