DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application was filed on 07/29/2021. Acknowledgment is made of the present application as a proper National Stage (371) entry of PCT/KR2019/016777, filed on 11/09/2019, which claims benefit of the Republic of Korea Application 10-2018-0152714 filed 11/30/2018.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 5, 12-14 and 16 have been amended. Claims 6-11 and 15 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 12-14 and 16 are pending and examined herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The rejections of claims 6-8 under 35 USC 112(d) in view of the cancelation of the claims.
The rejections of claims 5, 12, 14 and 16 under 35 USC 112(a) and USC 102 are withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims.
The rejections of claims 1-5, 12-14 and 16 under 35 USC 103 are updated in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 12 recite in line 2-4 “the composition comprising an agent for measuring expression levels of CADM2 and APLPl in a biological sample comprising vesicles”. The “an agent” should be -agents- because the claims have been amended to measure both analytes, not at least one of the analytes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl (US 9958460, PTO-892 07/25/24) as evidenced by Choi et al. (Microglia in the normally aged hippocampus, Lab Anim Res 2011: 27(3), 181-187) in view of Fogel et al. (SynCAMs Organize Synapses through Heterophilic Adhesion, The Journal of Neuroscience, November 14, 2007, 27(46):12516 –12530), Ter-Ovanesyan (US20180066307), Guilarte et al. (Increased APLP1 expression and neurodegeneration in the frontal cortex of manganese-exposed non-human primates, J Neurochem. 2008 June ; 105(5): 1948–1959), and Xu et al. (Flexible combination of multiple diagnostic biomarkers to improve diagnostic accuracy, BMC Medical Research Methodology (2015) 15:94).
Regarding claims 1-2, Goetzl-460 discloses a method of isolating vesicles from a sample (see col.2 lines 42-43). The vesicles are brain-derived (see col.2 lines 17-21: disclosing that the samples are whole blood, serum, plasma, urine, brain tissue; col.2 lines 49-50: disclosing that the vesicles are neuron-derived, astrocyte-derived etc.) The sample comprising vesicles is obtained from a subject (see col.2 lines 59-60).
The biological samples are from whole blood, serum, plasma, brain tissue, cerebrospinal fluid (see col 2 lines 18-21). This teaching encompasses claim 2.
The isolation method is based on the contact of the vesicles in the biological sample with an agent that can bind to the vesicles to form a vesicle-agent complex (see col.3 lines 35-40, lines 55-64). The isolation method provides a solution of vesicles, wherein the purity of vesicles present in the solution is greater than the purity of vesicles present in the biological sample (see col.3 lines 41-43). The vesicles in the solution are then used for diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject (see col.2 lines 54-61).
The method can be used for diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject, identifying a subject at risk of a neurodegenerative disorder. To do that, neuron-derived exosomes, astrocyte-derived exosomes, oligodendrocyte-derived exosomes, and microglia-derived exosomes are first isolated (col.2 lines 47-51, lines 54-67; col.3 lines 1-2). Neurons, astrocytes, oligodendrocytes and microglia are known as cells in the brain. Microglia are distributed in the hippocampus (as evidenced by Choi page 183 col.1 par.3: teaching that the hippocampus is one region of the brain where dense microglia present). Then, the expression level of at least one biomarker is analyzed. (See col.2 lines 47-51, lines 54-67; col.3 lines 1-2)
Goetzl-460 does not teach analyzing the expression level of CADM2 and APLP1.
Fogel teaches that SynCAM2 is expressed in hippocampal neurons (see page 12518 col.2 par.4, and Fig.1 and Fig.2). It is noted that SynCAM2 is an alternative name of CADM2. The presence of SynCAM proteins is found in the crude synaptic vesicle preparation (see page 12521 col.2 par.2). This teaching supports SynCAM2/ CADM2 is a hippocampus-derived vesicle specific marker.
Fogel teaches preparing highly purified synaptic vesicles before analyzing the expression level of SynCam2 (see page 12518 par.2 lines 4-5, page 12519 col.2 par.3). Fogel shows that overexpression of SynCam2 in neurons promotes functional excitatory synaptic transmission (see Discussion page 12527 par.1). Fogel demonstrates SynCAM proteins participate in synaptic organization and contribute to synaptic function and brain development (see Abstract, Introduction par.1-2, Discussion page 12527 par.1).
Ter-Ovanesyan discloses a method of isolation and purification of exosomes from biological samples (see Abstract) using an antibody that binds to an exosome’s protein (see par.118-119). The isolation method is then used for diagnostic and prognostic applications (see par.12). Ter-Ovanesyan teaches that APLP1 is a protein in neuron exosomes (see Table D column G).
Guilarte teaches that the increased level of APLP1 is associated with neurodegeneration (Discussion page 8 par.2 and page 9 par.1).
Xu teaches that it has been widely accepted by medical researchers that diagnosis based on one single biomarker may not provide sufficient accuracy. Consequently, it is becoming more and more common that multiple biomarker tests are performed on each individual, and the corresponding measurements are combined into one single score to help clinicians make better diagnostic judgments. See page 1 column 2 paragraph 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Goetzl-460, analyzing the expression of markers, e.g., CADM2 and APLP1, for diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject. One would have motivation to analyze these two markers because: Fogel teaches that CADM2 contributes to synaptic function and brain development (see Fogel Abstract, Introduction par.1-2); Guilarte teaches that APLP1 level increases in neurodegeneration (see Discussion).
One would have motivation to analyze multiple markers, e.g., CADM2 and APLP1, in a biological sample comprising brain-derived vesicles, because Xu teaches that using multiple biomarkers would help improve the accuracy of the test, e.g., diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject (see Xu page 1 col.2 par.2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Goetzl-460, Choi, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, and Guilarte because: Goetzl-460 is directed to a method of obtaining the sample comprising brain-derived (neuron-derived and hippocampal cell – derived) vesicles and analyzing the expression levels of markers for diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject. Fogel teaches that CADM2 is expressed in hippocampal neurons and links to the function of the brain. Ter-Ovanesyan and Guilarte teach that APLP1 is expressed in neurons and links to neurodegeneration. Therefore, the isolation method of Goetzl-460 can isolate brain-derived vesicles containing markers CADM2 and APLP1 for downstream analysis.
Regarding claims 3-4, Goetzl-460, Choi, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu teach the invention of claim 1.
Goetzl-460 teaches the vesicles are from neuron derived exosomes, astrocyte-derived exosomes, oliogodendrocyte-derived exosomes, and microglia-derived exosomes (see col.2 lines 47-51). Choi teaches that the hippocampus is one region of the brain where dense microglia present (page 183 col.1 par.3). Fogel teaches CADM2 is expressed on the vesicles from hippocampal neuron synapses, (see Fogel Abstract, page 12519 par.3). Ter-Ovanesyan teaches APLP1 is a protein in neuron exosomes (see Ter-Ovanesyan par.13-15, see Table D column G).
It would have been obvious to isolate the vesicles or exosomes derived from brain cells, which comprise neuron cells, oliogodendrocytes, or microglia cells as taught by Goetzl-460 for the purpose of analyzing the expression levels of CADM2 and APLP1. The motivation to do that because the expression of CADM2 on the hippocampal neuron synapses (e.g., microglia-derived exosomes) correlates to synaptic function and brain development (Fogel Abstract, Introduction par.1-2), and the expression of APLP1 on neuron exosomes correlates to neurodegeneration (Guilarte Discussion).
The combined method of Goetzl-460, Fogel and Ter-Ovanesyan would yield a reasonable expectation of success in isolating the vesicles expressing CADM2 and APLP1 since the method can isolate the vesicles from hippocampal cells (e.g., microglia cells) and from neuron exosomes respectively (see teachings of Goetzl-460, Choi, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Examiner interprets “for isolating brain-derived vesicles” in claim 5 and “for diagnosing a degenerative brain disease” in claim 12 as intended uses. It is noted that the intended use does not weigh a patentability of the claim. The claims, therefore, only require the composition comprising antibodies to CADM2 and APLP1.
Goetzl-460 teaches a composition for isolating brain-derived vesicles comprising antibodies specific for the markers of brain-derived vesicles (see col.4 lines 9-13). The composition for isolating brain-derived vesicles is used to determine the level of one or more biomarkers in the vesicles, thereby diagnosing or prognosing a neurodegenerative disorder in a subject. See discussion in claim 1 above. Goetzl-460 does not teach the antibodies binding to CADM2 and APLP1.
Fogel teaches the antibody to SynCAM2/CADM2 which is used to analyze the expression of CADM2 in a biological sample (see 12517 Materials and Methods/Antibodies). Fogel states that SynCAM proteins contribute to synapse organization and function, and brain development (see Abstract, Introduction par.1-2).
Ter-Ovanesyan discloses a method of isolation and purification of exosomes from biological samples (see Abstract) using an antibody that binds to exosome’s protein (see par.118-119). Ter-Ovanesyan teaches APLP1 is protein in neuron exosomes (see Table D column G). the isolation method is used for diagnostic and prognostic applications (see par.12).
Xu teaches that it has been widely accepted by medical researchers that diagnosis based on one single biomarker may not provide sufficient accuracy. Consequently, it is becoming more and more common that multiple biomarker tests are performed on each individual, and the corresponding measurements are combined into one single score to help clinicians make better diagnostic judgments. See page 1 column 2 paragraph 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Goetzl-460, by combining two antibodies specific for CADM2 and APLP1. One would have motivation to combination of these two antibodies because they can isolate and analyze two markers CADM2 and APLP1. Fogel teaches that CADM2 contributes to synaptic function and brain development (see Fogel Abstract, Introduction par.1-2). Guilarte teaches that APLP1 level increases in neurodegeneration (see Discussion). The use of these two markers together improves the accuracy of the brain-derived vesicle isolation and the neurodegenerative disorder diagnosis or prognosis (taught by Xu). The method will help clinicians make better diagnostic judgments.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Goetzl-460, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan and Guilarte because they are directed to antibodies for analyzing the expression of markers on brain derived vesicles.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl-460 as evidenced by Choi in view of Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu, as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Goetzl (WO 2017/120436, hereinafter Goetzl-436, PTO-892 04/18/25) and Routenberg et al. (WO 2019/222708, PTO-892 04/18/25).
Regarding claim 13, Goetzl-460, Choi, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu teach the invention as discussed above. Goetzl-460 does not teach further analyzing an expression of SLC6A3 in the tissue sample.
Goetzl-436 teaches a method for identification of fetal neural exosomal (FNE) biomarkers isolated from maternal plasma (see Abstract). The method comprises:
obtaining the biological sample including vesicles from a subject (see page 3 lines 10-17, page 10 lines 6-22);
analyzing an expression level of at least one biomarker (see page 3, lines 10-17: disclosing that the level of a biomarker in the vesicle is determined), the at least one biomarker can be Dopamine Transporter (DAT), which is an alternative name of SLC6A3 (see page 10 lines 6-22: disclosing that isolating FNEs from the biological sample is done by using anti-human antibody to DAT).
Goetzl-436 teaches that DAT is a marker which is used to positively enrich vesicle in the sample (see page 22 lines 15-24). In particular, Goetzl-426 emphasizes that DAT is a marker of a neuron-derived exosome (see page 10 lines 6-22, page 23 lines 4-11). This teaching means that the DAT marker expression is higher on the neuron derived exosomes compared to that on the exosomes from other sources. Therefore, the DAT expression can be used to isolate neuron derived-exosome.
Further, Goetzl-436 teaches that the isolation of FNEs is for diagnosing or prognosing a fetal neurodevelopmental disease or disorder (see page 20 lines 13-15).
Thus, Goetzl-436 shows that DAT/ SLC6A3 is expressed in a brain vesicle.
In addition, Routenberg et al. also teaches that the dopamine transporter DAT1 is an extracellular vesicle (EV) surface marker that is specific to a neuron (see par.102, 137, 157, and claim 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Goetzl-460, by further analyzing the expression of marker DAT/SLC6A3 for isolating brain-derived vesicle because it helps to diagnose a neurological disease as taught by Goetzl-436.
One would have motivation to analyze multiple markers, e.g., CADM2 and APLP1 and SLC6A3, in a biological sample comprising vesicles, because Xu teaches that using multiple biomarkers would help improve the accuracy of the test, e.g., isolating brain-derived vesicles (see Xu page 1 col.2 par.2). Moreover, isolating a brain vesicle also helps to diagnose a neurological disease in a subject, so analysis of multiple biomarkers also helps to improve the neurological disease diagnosis as taught by Goetzl (see Goetzl-460 col 2 lines 60-65, Goetzl-436 page 20 lines 13-15).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Goetzl-460, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan and Goetzl-436 because they are directed to a similar method of obtaining the sample comprising vesicles and analyzing the expression levels of markers. Moreover, Goetzl-436 and Routenberg support the presence of DAT/ SLC6A3 in brain vesicles.
The teaching of Goetzl-460, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte, Xu, Goetzl-436 and Routenberg discloses the two active steps of the claimed method. Therefore, it is obvious that the modified method of Goetzl-460 can isolate the brain-derived vesicles comprising SLC6A3 from any source.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetzl-460 as evidenced by Choi in view of Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu, as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Goetzl (WO 2017/120436, hereinafter Goetzl-436, PTO-892 04/18/25).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Goetzl-460, Choi, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu teach the invention as in claims 5 and 12. They do not teach an antibody to SLC6A3.
Goetzl-436 teaches an antibody for measuring DAT (also called SLC6A3) in a neuron-derived exosome (see page 10 lines 6-22, page 23 lines 4-11, DAT (also called SLC6A3) is a marker of neuron-derived exosome; see page 10 lines 6-22, detecting DAT using anti-human antibody to DAT).
Goetzl-436 uses the anti-human antibody to DAT for identification of fetal neural exosomal (FNE) biomarkers isolated from maternal plasma (see Abstract). This teaching encompasses the antibody agent to detect an expression level of DAT or SLC6A3 in the vesicle sample.
Xu teaches that it has been widely accepted by medical researchers that diagnosis based on one single biomarker may not provide sufficient accuracy. Consequently, it is becoming more and more common that multiple biomarker tests are performed on each individual, and the corresponding measurements are combined into one single score to help clinicians make better diagnostic judgments. See page 1 column 2 paragraph 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Goetzl-460, by further combining antibodies specific for SLC6A3 to isolate the brain derived vesicles and diagnose a degenerative brain disease. One would have motivation to use a composition of multiple antibodies for isolating the brain derived vesicles and for diagnosing a degenerative brain disease, because Xu teaches that using multiple biomarkers would help improve the accuracy of the test, e.g., isolating brain-derived vesicles (see Xu page 1 col.2 par.2) and Goetzl-436 teaches that analyzing these markers would be helpful for diagnose or prognose a fetal neurodevelopmental disease or disorder (see Goetzl-436 page 20 lines 13-15). See the discussion of Goetzl-460, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Xu in claim 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Goetzl-460, Fogel, Ter-Ovanesyan, Guilarte and Goetzl-436 because they are directed to antibodies for analyzing the expression of markers on brain derived vesicles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments based on the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAU N.B. TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 October 23, 2026