DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment and RCE filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-3, 6, 13-15, 17, and 20-31 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 6, and 13 are independent. Claims 4, 5, 7-12, 16, 18, and 19 are canceled. Claims 27-31 have been newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “wherein the first external adjustment force is applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body and the second external adjustment force is applied to a second portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body, wherein the second portion is that is angularly offset about a circumference of the implantable medical device by about 90 degrees relative to the first portion” which does not have sufficient support in the original disclosure and is considered as new matter. The original disclosure is silent on the first external adjustment force being applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body. Figure 2A and 2C shows the two external adjustment forces F1 and F2. However, the disclosure does not describe that both F1 and F2 are applied by the deformable body although F2 can be considered as applied by the deformable body / cross-sectional adjustment mechanism 220. However, original disclosure is silent on the first external adjustment force F1 being applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites “wherein the first external adjustment force is applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body and the second external adjustment force is applied to a second portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body, wherein the second portion is that is angularly offset about a circumference of the implantable medical device by about 90 degrees relative to the first portion” which include method steps. However, claim 2 is an apparatus claim. Claim 27 is indefinite because it positively claiming a method step in an apparatus claim. See MPEP 2173.05(p) II.
Furthermore, claim 2 recites that the first external adjustment force is applied on the deformable body and the second external adjustment force is applied on the deformable body while claim 27 recites that the first external adjustment force is applied by the deformable body and the second external adjustment force is applied by the deformable body. Therefore, claim 27 contradicts with the limitations recited in claim 2.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112 issue(s) stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 20-27, 30, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeCampli (US Pat. No.: 5,797,879).
Regarding claims 1 and 24-26, DeCampli discloses [claim 1] a system (20, Figs. 1-5 ) comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 1) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 1-4); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, and 23, Fig. 1) including a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism configured to actuate the implantable medical device between a first dimension (the dimensioned when the graft is compressed, Fig. 3) and a second dimension (the dimension when the graft is circular-shaped) that is larger than a first dimension to adjust an amount of fluid flow through the lumen when an orthogonally transcutaneously applied external adjustment force is applied to deformable body (Figs. 1-5 and also see Fig. 12 and Col. 5, line 46 – Col. 9, line 21. Fig. 12 is used solely for the purpose of showing to the applicant that the external adjustment force applied to deformable body is an orthogonally transcutaneously applied external adjustment force. The force is applied through the end of tube/lumen 25 which is orthogonally connected 23 as shown in Figs. 1 and 12; see Figures below. Based on https://www.merriam-webster.com, the term “transcutaneous” is defined as “passing, entering, or made by penetration through the skin.”. It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneously delivering substance into the body tissue beneath the skin.); and [claim 24] wherein the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism is fully capable to lessen thrombus formation or stenosis in response to transitioning of the implantable medical device between the first dimension and the second dimension (the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism is fully capable to lessen thrombus formation or stenosis in response to transitioning of the implantable medical device between the first dimension and the second dimension by changing the blood flow through the vessel); [claim 25] wherein the deformable body is a ring (the deformable body of 22 and 23 forms a ring, Fig. 2) coupled to a surface of the implantable medical device (Fig. 1); [claim 26] wherein the deformable body is a stent structure (the deformable body formed by 22 and 23 as shown in Fig. 2 is a tubular structure which can be served as a stent structure and the deformable body is overlaying a portion of the implantable medical device) overlaying a portion of the implantable medical device (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2, 20-23, and 27, DeCampli discloses [claim 2] a medical system (20, Figs. 1-5) configured to be transcutaneously, cross-sectionally adjusted, the system comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 1) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 1-4); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, 22’, and 23, Fig. 1; alternatively the combination of 24, 25, 22, 23, 90, and 200, Fig. 11 and 12) include a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism fully capable to selectively actuate the implantable medical device from a first dimension to a second dimension that is larger than the first dimension by applying a first external adjustment force (a suction force to withdraw the fluid, Col. 5, lines 52-54; alternatively, the force of the expansion of 200 in the orthogonal direction to the injection force; further alternatively, an external compression force can be applied to the deformable body. Applicant should be noted that the first external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The first external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation) on the deformable body in a first radial direction (outward direction) and from the second dimension back to the first dimension by applying a second external adjustment force (injection force to inject the fluid, Col. 5, lines 52-54. Applicant should be noted that the second external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The second external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation) on the deformable body in a second radial direction (inward direction) that is orthogonal to from the first radial direction (Figs. 1-5 and Col. 5, line 46 – Col. 9, line 21, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism is fully capable to selectively actuate the implantable medical device from a first dimension to a second dimension that is larger than the first dimension by applying an external adjustment force on the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism in a first radial direction while deflating the balloon or overcoming the pressure from the balloon and from the second dimension to the first dimension by applying an external adjustment force on the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism in a second radial dimension that is different from the first radial direction via the force of the injection fluid); [claim 20] wherein the external adjustment force applied in the first radial direction is fully capable to cause the deformable body to flip outwardly (the external adjustment force applied in the first radial direction is fully capable to cause the adjustment mechanism to flip outwardly); [claim 21] wherein the external adjustment force applied in the second radial direction causes the deformable to flip inwardly (Fig. 3 or 3A); [claim 22] wherein the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism is positioned along an inner surface of the lumen (Figs. 1-5, the adjustment mechanism is positioned along/over/parallel to the length of both an inner surface and an outer surface of the lumen); and [claim 23] wherein at least one of the first and second external adjustment forces are a squeezing force (the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism fully capable to perform the claimed functions such that the at least one of the first and second external adjustment forces are a squeezing force).; [claim 27] wherein the system is fully capable such to have the first external adjustment force applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body and the second external adjustment force applied to a second portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body, wherein the second portion is that is angularly offset about a circumference of the implantable medical device by about 90 degrees relative to the first portion (the system is fully capable such to have the first external adjustment force applied onto a first portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body and the second external adjustment force applied to a second portion of the implantable medical device by the deformable body, wherein the second portion is that is angularly offset about a circumference of the implantable medical device by about 90 degrees relative to the first portion by external forces applied perpendicular to each other (Applicant should be noted that the first external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The first external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation. Also, the second external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The second external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation. A functional limitation or a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim).
Regarding claims 6, 30 and 31, DeCampli discloses [claim 6] a system (20, Figs. 11 and 12) comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 11) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 11 and 12); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, 23, and 90, Fig. 11 and 12) having a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device (Figs. 11 and 12), the deformable body configured to transition from an original dimension (original large dimension, Fig. 11) to a reduced dimension upon a transcutaneous application of an orthogonally external adjustment force (see Figures above. Also, the term “transcutaneous” is defined as “passing, entering, or made by penetration through the skin.” It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneous delivery of a substance into the body tissue beneath the skin.) and to maintain the reduced dimension upon removal of the external adjustment force (Col. 5, lines 52-54 and Col. 13, line 66 – Col. 14, line 11); [claim 30] wherein the lumen of the implantable medical device is smaller in the reduced dimension compared to the original dimension (Fig. 12); [claim 31] wherein a length of the deformable body is less than a length of the implantable medical device (Fig.11, a length of the deformable body is less than a length of the implantable medical device along the longitudinal axis of the deformable body or the longitudinal axis of the implantable medical device)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCampli (US Pat. No.: 5,797,879) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Abarca et al. (US Pub. No.: 2010/0318175)
Regarding claim 3, DeCampli discloses all the limitations of the claim 2 as taught above. DeCampli discloses that the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism includes an elastic member (22’, Fig. 3A) fully capable to move between the first dimension and the second dimension in response to the external adjustment force (Col. 6, lines 45 – 62). However, DeCampli does not disclose that the elastic member is formed of a shape memory material.
Abarca teaches, in the same field of endeavor (vascular medical device), a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism comprising an elastic member (150, Figs. 1-4) formed of a shape memory material (Paras. [0035]-[0038], [0056], and [0057]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the elastic member of DeCampli to be formed of shape memory material as taught by Abarca in order to obtain the advantage of having the ability to transition to a remembered configuration in response to an externa stimulus that is applied in a non-invasive manner (Abarca, Para. [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15, 17, 28, and 29 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6, 20-27, 30, and 31 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the argument(s) on page 8 of the remarks, DeCampli discloses [claim 1] a system (20, Figs. 1-5 ) comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 1) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 1-4); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, and 23, Fig. 1) including a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism configured to actuate the implantable medical device between a first dimension (the dimensioned when the graft is compressed, Fig. 3) and a second dimension (the dimension when the graft is circular-shaped) that is larger than a first dimension to adjust an amount of fluid flow through the lumen when an orthogonally transcutaneously applied external adjustment force is applied to deformable body (Figs. 1-5 and also see Fig. 12 and Col. 5, line 46 – Col. 9, line 21. Fig. 12 is used solely for the purpose of showing to the applicant that the external adjustment force applied to deformable body is an orthogonally transcutaneously applied external adjustment force. The force is applied through the end of tube/lumen 25 which is orthogonally connected 23 as shown in Figs. 1 and 12; see Figures below. Based on https://www.merriam-webster.com, the term “transcutaneous” is defined as “passing, entering, or made by penetration through the skin.”. It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneously delivering substance into the body tissue beneath the skin. It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneously delivering substance into the body tissue beneath the skin.). The term “transcutaneously” does not mean without puncturing of the skin of the patient.
In response to the argument(s) on page 9 of the remarks, DeCampli discloses [claim 2] a medical system (20, Figs. 1-5) configured to be transcutaneously, cross-sectionally adjusted, the system comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 1) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 1-4); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, 22’, and 23, Fig. 1; alternatively the combination of 24, 25, 22, 23, 90, and 200, Fig. 11 and 12) include a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism fully capable to selectively actuate the implantable medical device from a first dimension to a second dimension that is larger than the first dimension by applying a first external adjustment force (a suction force to withdraw the fluid, Col. 5, lines 52-54; alternatively, the force of the expansion of 200 in the orthogonal direction to the injection force; further alternatively, an external compression force can be applied to the deformable body. Applicant should be noted that the first external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The first external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation) on the deformable body in a first radial direction (outward direction) and from the second dimension back to the first dimension by applying a second external adjustment force (injection force to inject the fluid, Col. 5, lines 52-54. Applicant should be noted that the second external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The second external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation) on the deformable body in a second radial direction (inward direction) that is orthogonal to from the first radial direction (Figs. 1-5 and Col. 5, line 46 – Col. 9, line 21, the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism is fully capable to selectively actuate the implantable medical device from a first dimension to a second dimension that is larger than the first dimension by applying an external adjustment force on the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism in a first radial direction while deflating the balloon or overcoming the pressure from the balloon and from the second dimension to the first dimension by applying an external adjustment force on the cross-sectional adjustment mechanism in a second radial dimension that is different from the first radial direction via the force of the injection fluid). Applicant should be noted that the first external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The first external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation. Also, the second external adjustment force is not positively claimed, such that it is not claimed as part of the medical system. The second external adjustment force is recited in a functional limitation. A functional limitation or a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to the argument(s) on page 10 of the remarks, DeCampli discloses [claim 6] a system (20, Figs. 11 and 12) comprising: an implantable medical device (graft 21, Fig. 11) defining a lumen (lumen of 21, Figs. 11 and 12); and a cross-sectional adjustment mechanism (combination of 24, 25, 22, 23, and 90, Fig. 11 and 12) having a deformable body (body of the combination of 23 and 22, Fig. 3A) coupled to the implantable medical device (Figs. 11 and 12), the deformable body configured to transition from an original dimension (original large dimension, Fig. 11) to a reduced dimension upon a transcutaneous application of an orthogonally external adjustment force (see Figures above, The term “transcutaneous” is defined as “passing, entering, or made by penetration through the skin”. It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneous delivery of a substance into the body tissue beneath the skin.) and to maintain the reduced dimension upon removal of the external adjustment force (Col. 5, lines 52-54 and Col. 13, line 66 – Col. 14, line 11). Again, the term “transcutaneously” means through the skin. It is a common practice to use needle for transcutaneously delivering substance into the body tissue beneath the skin.). The term “transcutaneously” does not mean without puncturing of the skin of the patient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cull (US Pub. No.: 2013/0303959) discloses a system comprising an implantable medical device; and cross-section adjustment mechanism including a deformable body.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771