DETAILED ACTION
Notice of New Examiner
This case has been transferred to a new examiner for continued examination. Any further communications regarding this case may be directed to the contact information included in the conclusion of this office action.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 13 November 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 14 and 16 are amended. Claim 15 is cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
As noted in the non-final office action dated 6/13/2025, Applicant elected without traverse Group II (claims 14-20) and the species: i) SEQ ID NO: 66 from claim 15 and ii) SEQ ID NO: 65 from claim 16. Claims 1, 3-13, and 21 are withdrawn as directed towards a non-elected invention or species, there being no allowable linking or generic claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-21 are pending. Claims 1, 3-13 and 21 are withdrawn as described above. Claims 14 and 16-20 are under examination in the instant office action.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The rejection of claims 14, 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2016205531A2 Mathieu et. al. published 22 December 2016 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 14-16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2018136455A1 to Ober et. al. published 26 July 2018 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 14 and 17 under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018136455A1 Ober et. al. published 26 July 2018 (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025) in view of Kim et. al. (Of Record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- New
Claims 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, options b) having an amino acid sequence comprising at least 98% identity over an entire length to an amino acid sequence selected from the group SEQ ID NO: 62, 64, and 66, c) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment […] wherein the fragment comprises at least 98% identity over at least 65% of the amino acid sequence selected from the group SEQ ID NO: 62, 64, and 66, and d) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment […] wherein the fragment comprises at least 65% of an amino acid selected from the group SEQ ID NO: 62 and 64 allow for changes to the CDR within the VH and VL of the antibody which is the binding determinant region, but the art and genus of known species does not allow for predictable binding of the recited function of binding HER2.
Scope of the claimed genus
The instant claims are directed towards a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies, wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of:
a) a nucleotide sequence encoding an anti-human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) synthetic antibody having an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:62, SEQ ID NO:64, and SEQ ID NO:66;
b) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment of an anti-HER2 synthetic antibody having an amino acid sequence comprising at least 98% identity over an entire length to an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:62, SEQ ID NO:64, and SEQ ID NO:66;
c) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment of an [[a ScFv]] anti-HER2 synthetic antibody, wherein the fragment comprises at least 98% sequence identity over at least 65% of the amino acid sequence to an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:62 and SEQ ID NO:64; and
d) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment of an [[a ScFv]] anti-HER2 synthetic antibody, wherein the fragment comprises at least 65% of an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:62 and SEQ ID NO:64.
Regarding fragments, the examiner notes that the instant specification defines “fragment” as follows:
"Antibody fragment" or "fragment of an antibody" as used interchangeably herein refers to a portion of an intact antibody comprising the antigen-binding site or variable
region. The portion does not include the constant heavy chain domains (i.e. CH2, CH3, or CH4, depending on the antibody isotype) of the Fc region of the intact antibody. (p. 11 lines 17-26).
Therefore, the fragment is interpreted to require the portion of an antibody comprising the antigen-binding site or variable region as required by the specification. However, the examiner would like to note that the phrase fragment is insufficient to limit the scope of the claims to the VH and VL or a complete set of CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, or 66 because the claim does not require a continuous 65% and because the fragment of an anti-HER2 synthetic antibody is not required to be the fragment of the particular HER2 antibody of SEQ ID NO: 62, 64, or 66. As an example, SEQ ID NO: 62 encodes two antigen binding domains (two VH-VL pairs) and an Fc domain:
MDWTWILFLVAAATRVHSEVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFTDYTMDWVRQAPGKGLEWVADVNPNSGGSIYNQRFKGRFTLSVDRSKNTLYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCARNLGPSFYFDYWGQGTLVTVSSASTKGPSVFPLAPSSKSTSGGTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLYSLSSVVTVPSSSLGTQTYICNVNHKPSNTKVDKKVEPKSCDKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAKGQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGKRGRKRRSGSGATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGPMDWTWILFLVAAATRVHSDIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCKASQDVSIGVAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYSASYRYTGVPSRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQYYIYPYTFGQGTKVEIKRTVAAPSVFIFPPSDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLSSTLTLSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGEC
Leader peptide Bold = anti-HER2 VH Italic = anti-HER2 VL Underline = Fc domain Dashed underline = light chain constant domain
65% of SEQ ID NO: 62 is any 474 amino acids, so the limitation could of identity to 65% of SEQ ID NO: 62 could be met with any anti-HER2 VH and VL because the non-VH and VL sequences are 502 amino acids long. This means the claim also encompasses exchange of the light or heavy chain, exchange of individual CDRs, and exchange of individual CDR residues. The examiner would like the note that for SEQ ID NO: 62 and 64 in particular, there is no continuous 65% that encompasses the complete VH and VL because the VH and VL are 377 amino acids apart.
Claim 16 is directed towards the nucleic acid of claim 15 wherein the nucleotide sequence a) has at least 90% identity over the entire length of SEQ ID NO: 61, 63, or 65; a fragment of a nucleotide sequence having at least 90% identity over at least 65% of SEQ ID NO: 61, 63, or 65; c) the nucleotide sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 61, 63, and 65; and d) a fragment of a nucleotide sequence comprising at least 65% of a nucleotide sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 61 and 63. Thus, claim 16 still allows for variability in the CDR-encoding residues of the anti-HER2 antibody. In fact, 65% of the length of SEQ ID NOs: 61, 63, and 65 is 1424, 1422, and 472 nucleic acids, respectively. As described for the amino acid sequences above, this claiming still allows for changes to the codons encoding the CDRs or the binding-determinant VH and VL of the anti-HER2 antibody. Additionally, the instant specification gives examples of fragments of nucleic acids (p. 13 lines 28-p. 14 line 10), but the examples are not a limiting definition and therefore the fragment of the amino acid does not have to comprise the nucleic acid sequence encoding the HER2-binding determinant region.
Dependent claims 17-20 recite the limitations of claim 14 without further limiting the scope of the sequence of the nucleic acid molecule and therefore are not described for the same reasons as claim 14.
State of the Relevant Art
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in an antibody usually requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which comprises three CDRs (or hypervariable regions) which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. E.g., Almagro et. al., Front. Immunol. 2018; 8:1751 (see Section “The IgG Molecule” in paragraph 1 and Figure 1). While affinity maturation techniques can result in differences in the CDRs of the antibody compared to its parental antibody (page 3 “The IgG Molecule, second and third paragraphs), those techniques involve trial-and-error testing and the changes that maintain or improve affinity are not predictable a priori. E.g., id., (page 6 ending paragraph onto page 7). Chiu ML et al. (Antibodies 2019 8, 55, 1-80) taught the antigen binding of antibodies often results in conformational changes in the contact surface areas of both the antibody and the antigen (page 5, first paragraph). Thus, the prediction of CDR binding to the epitope is difficult to predict. Chiu further taught antibody modeling has been shown to be accurate for the framework region sequences, but CDR modeling requires further development and improvements (page 6, second paragraph). Prediction of the structure of HCDR3 could not be accurately produced when given the Fv structures without their CDR-H3s (page 6, second paragraph). Chiu taught the quality of antibody structure prediction, particularly regarding CDR-H3, remains inadequate, and the results of antibody–antigen docking are also disappointing (page 11, paragraph 2).
Further, a recitation of “percent identity” does not limit the differences in amino acid sequence to residues outside the CDRs. And while it is possible to screen for variants that retain antigen binding, it is respectfully submitted that the number of possible substitutions permitted by “98% percent identity” language does not allow the skilled artisan to envisage those variants not yet made which would retain the required function. Further, 98% identity over a fragment at least 65% of the amino acid sequence or 90% identity over a fragment at least 65% of the nucleic acid sequence allow for fragments that lack complete CDR regions and does not allow an artisan to envisage those fragments of nucleic acids or encoding amino acid fragments that would sufficiently retain HER2 binding.
Additionally, 98% identity to SEQ ID NO: 62, 64, or 66 allows for changes in up to 14 CDR residues of SEQ ID NO: 62 and SEQ ID NO: 64 and up to 4 CDR residues in SEQ ID NO: 64.
In regards to anti-HER2 antibodies, other anti-HER2 antigen binding sites are known in the art. For example, US 20110256056 to Alper teaches anti-HER2 monoclonal antibodies (abstract), in particular a heavy chain SEQ ID NO: 1 and light chain SEQ ID NO: 5, which are 51.8% and 61.3% identical to the VH and VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 64 with different CDRs:
Instant SEQ ID NO: 64 compared to VH SEQ ID NO: 1 of Alper
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_12192025_194340
Query Match 7.2%; Score 278.5; DB 1; Length 106;
Best Local Similarity 51.8%;
Matches 57; Conservative 14; Mismatches 34; Indels 5; Gaps 3;
Qy 26 GGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFTDYTMDWVRQAPGKGLEWVADVNPNSGGSIYNQRFKGR 85
| || | || ::| |||: | | : |||| |||||||: | ||: || | |
Db 1 GPGLAAPSQSLSITCTVSGFSLTSYVISWVRQPPGKGLEWLG-VIWTGGGTNYNSALKSR 59
Qy 86 FTLSVDRSKNTLYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCARNLGPSF-YFDYWGQGTLVT 134
::| | ||: : |:||||: :||| |||| |: |||||||| ||
Db 60 LSISKDNSKSQVSLKMNSLQTDDTARYYCA---SLSYDGFDYWGQGTTVT 106
Instant SEQ ID NO: 64 compared to VH SEQ ID NO: 5 of Alper
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_12192025_194716
Query Match 8.4%; Score 324.5; DB 1; Length 105;
Best Local Similarity 61.3%;
Matches 65; Conservative 15; Mismatches 25; Indels 1; Gaps 1;
Qy 516 IQMTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCKASQDVSIGVAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYSASYRYTGVPSR 575
| |||||: :||| |::||:|| || || : ||||| | :|| || | :|||:|
Db 1 ILMTQSPAIMSASPGEKVTMTCSASSSVSY-MHWYQQKSGTSPKRWIYDTSKLASGVPAR 59
Qy 576 FSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQYYIYPYTFGQGTKVEIK 621
|||||||| ::|||||:: || |||||||: | ||| |||:|||
Db 60 FSGSGSGTSYSLTISSMEAEDAATYYCQQWSSNPLTFGAGTKLEIK 105
As an additional example, up to 4 amino acids residues changed in the CDRs can result in an antigen binding domain specific for an entirely different antigen target. U.S. Patent No. 11584790 teaches a light chain for an antibody VL of SEQ ID NO: 456 which has only 4 residue changes from VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 64, but the antibody is specific for complement factor D (CFD)(Table 1.1 Col. 116).
Query Match 63.1%; Score 88.3; Length 107;
Best Local Similarity 31.1%;
Matches 23; Conservative 1; Mismatches 3; Indels 47; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 KASQDVSIGVA---------------SASYRYT--------------------------- 18
||||||| || |||||||
Db 24 KASQDVSNAVAWYQLKPGQSPKLLIYSASYRYTGVPDRFTGSGSGTDFTFTISSVQAADL 83
Qy 19 -----QQYYIYPYT 27
||:|| |||
Db 84 AVYYCQQHYITPYT 97
Thus, it would not be apparent a priori which amino acid sequences with only partial identity to the instant CDRs would bind to HER2 as claimed.
Instant SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, and 66 are amino acid sequences of the conventional anti-HER2 therapeutic antibody pertuzumab. Franklin, Matthew C., et al. "Insights into ErbB signaling from the structure of the ErbB2-pertuzumab complex." Cancer cell 5.4 (2004): 317-328 teaches:
The interface between ErbB2 and pertuzumab is primarily polar, with few hydrophobic or charged residues in the interface. The largest hydrophobic patch lies outside the main CDR surface, between Ile 58 and Tyr 59 (heavy chain), Tyr 94 (light chain), and Tyr 252 and Phe 257 (ErbB2). (For consistency with previous work on the pertuzumab Fab [Vajdos et al., 2002], we have chosen to use a modified Kabat numbering rather than sequential numbering for pertuzumab residues.) Residues 30–32 on CDR H1 and 52–53 on CDR H2 make an extensive network of hydrogen bonds with main chain and side chain atoms (Figure 2B). His 245 of ErbB2 is tightly sandwiched between Ile 244 and Gly 55 of CDR H2. Although not technically a CDR, the loop containing residues 72–76 makes contacts with ErbB2, including the only contact with domain I, a hydrogen bond between Lys 75 of pertuzumab and Gln 156 of ErbB2. Finally, CDR H3 makes hydrophobic and hydrogen bond contacts with residues Lys 311 and His 296 of ErbB2. His 296 is thoroughly buried upon pertuzumab binding, being surrounded by Tyr 49 and Tyr 55 of the light chain, and Leu 96 and Tyr 99B (modified Kabat numbering) of the heavy chain (Figure 2C). (p. 321 left column)
Franklin et. al. further teaches contacting residues P98, L96, Y55, Y49, and Y53 in the H-CDR3 and L-CDR2. However, Franklin further teaches “Conversely, light-chain residues which do affect binding when mutated do so indirectly, since none of these residues contacts ErbB2 (Figure 5B). The picture is quite different for the pertuzumab heavy chain, where 24 residues contact ErbB2 directly; seven of these affect binding by at least 75-fold when mutated (Figure 5B)” (p. 323 left column, ¶3). Nonetheless, the art does not allow accurate prediction of paratope/epitope binding even for conventional antibodies with known crystal structures indicating the contacting residues. As indicated by Franklin et. al., the non-contacting residues can also be essential for antigen binding. Dondelinger M, et. al., Understanding the Significance and Implications of Antibody Numbering and Antigen-Binding Surface/Residue Definition. Front Immunol. 2018 Oct 16;9:2278. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2018.02278. PMID: 30386328; PMCID: PMC6198058 teaches “it should be noted that: (i) some contacting residues may contribute minimally to the binding free energy and even disfavor the complex formation and; (ii) that a residue energetically important for binding to the cognate antigen may not be important for the difference in affinity between cognate and non-cognate antigens and, finally; (iii) a residue crucial for antigen recognition may not be important for binding free energy” (p. 8, right column).
Sela-Culang et al. teaches contacting residues are more common at CDRs residues which are located at the center of the Ag combining site, and that non-contacting residues within the CDRs correspond with residues that are important for maintaining the structural conformations of the hypervariable loops and not necessarily for recognition of the Ag (Sela-Culang I, et. al. The structural basis of antibody-antigen recognition. Front Immunol. 2013 Oct 8;4:302. doi: 10.3389/fimmu.2013.00302. PMID: 24115948; PMCID: PMC3792396.). Thus, without mutating the individual epitope interacting amino acids and the surrounding amino acids within the CDR and testing the binding, it is unknown how the epitope will interact with the CDR. The claimed CDR would allow for vast changes to the CDR charge, polarity, and side chain size as well as conformational constraints when proline residues are substituted.
Summary of Species disclosed in the original specification
The instant specification discloses 3 species of nucleic acid encoding amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, and 66; in particular the three nucleic acid sequences SEQ ID NOs: 61, 63, and 65. All of SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, and 66 comprise identical VH and VL sequences. There are no alternate CDR residues or alternate framework residues disclosed.
Do the disclosed species represent a genus?
MPEP § 2163 states that a “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
Because only three species is identified and the state of the art, described above, would not allow an artisan to at once envision all of the nucleic acids encoding a HER2-specific antibody comprising 98% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, or 66, three species cannot be considered representative of a genus. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that applicant was not in possession of the required genus of nucleic acids encoding antibodies to allow complete exchange of the CDR residues as claimed.
Identifying characteristics and structure/function correlation
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics; i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. To meet this requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that the skilled artisan as of the effective filing date would have expected to convey the claimed binding activity.
In the instant application, there is no structure/function relationship described apart from the particular VH and VL of SEQ ID NOs: 62, 64, 66 (which is the same VH and VL of the conventional antibody pertuzumab). As described in the state of the art section above, an artisan would not be able to discern from only the pertuzumab VH and VL, which have 6 complete CDRs encoding a complete antigen binding domain, whether the nucleic acid with only partial identity to the CDRs as claimed performs the claimed function of encoding the antibody of claim 14.
Summary
A genus of species is not present in the instant specification or prior art that would demonstrate a structure/activity relationship would be known for antibody CDR residues for the recited function of binding the protein HER2, and therefore for the nucleotide sequences encoding the CDR residues of the antibody. There is a lack of an appropriate number of species with identical or alternative amino acid residues within the CDR binding determinant region that indicate which amino acid residues: i) are essential for binding; ii) can be changed and still allow protein target binding; or iii) disrupt protein target binding. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the applicant was not in possession of the genus of substitutions and deletions of the polynucleotide of claims 14 and 16 at the time of filing. Regarding claims 17-20 the claims are ultimately dependent on the rejected claim 14 without narrowing the claimed subject matter and thus are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102- New, necessitated by amendment
Claims 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2016106158 A1 to Gao et. al. published 30 June 2016 as evidenced by Frenzel, André, et. al. "Expression of recombinant antibodies." Frontiers in immunology 4 (2013): 217.
Claim interpretation: The instant claims are directed towards a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies. Regarding synthetic antibodies, the instant specification define a synthetic antibody as “an antibody that is encoded by the recombinant nucleic acid sequence described herein and is generated in a subject” (p. 17 lines 27-28). Although this is a closed definition, the Examiner notes that this definition refers to a product-by-process because “is encoded” and “is generated in a subject” are related to methods of generating the antibody. Regarding product-by-process claims, MPEP §2113 states “"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted)”. As applied to the instant definition of “synthetic antibody” there is no additional structure added to the nucleic acid or the synthetic antibody by “is encoded by a recombinant nucleic acid”. The phrase “is generated in a subject” adds structure to the antibody only inasmuch as antibodies generated in cells have post-translational modifications specific to the cell type of a subject (e.g. an antibody generated in a mammalian cell has mammalian post-translational modifications and glycosylation as evidenced by Frenzel, André, et. al. "Expression of recombinant antibodies." Frontiers in immunology 4 (2013): 217.).
Gao et. al. teaches a bispecific tetravalent antibody having a binding specificity for HER2 (Abstract). Gao et. al. teaches the anti-HER2 scFv antibody comprising SEQ ID NO: 19 (p. 6 lines 3-8, Table 2 p. 13) which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 66:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1278; Length 241;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 241; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFTDYTMDWVRQAPGKGLEWVADVNPNSGGSIY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 EVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFTFTDYTMDWVRQAPGKGLEWVADVNPNSGGSIY 60
Qy 61 NQRFKGRFTLSVDRSKNTLYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCARNLGPSFYFDYWGQGTLVTVSSG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NQRFKGRFTLSVDRSKNTLYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCARNLGPSFYFDYWGQGTLVTVSSG 120
Qy 121 GGGSGGGGSGGGGSDIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCKASQDVSIGVAWYQQKPGKAPKL 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GGGSGGGGSGGGGSDIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCKASQDVSIGVAWYQQKPGKAPKL 180
Qy 181 LIYSASYRYTGVPSRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQYYIYPYTFGQGTKVEI 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LIYSASYRYTGVPSRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQYYIYPYTFGQGTKVEI 240
Qy 241 K 241
|
Db 241 K 241
Gao et. al. teaches SEQ ID NO: 17 which is a nucleic acid encoding SEQ ID NO: 19 (Table 2 p. 13).
Regarding claim 18, Gao et. al. teaches an expression vector comprising the nucleic acid sequence (p. 8 lines 3-10; p. 11 lines 4-6). Gao et. al. teaches a method of producing an antibody comprising a host cell comprising an expression vector encoding the antibody or a fragment or subcomponent thereof, wherein the host cell is prokaryotic cell or a eukaryotic cell (p. 8 lines 3-10). As evidenced by Frenzel et al. “the advanced mammalian folding, secretion and post-translational apparatus is capable of producing antibodies indistinguishable from those in the human body with least concerns for immunogenic modifications” (p. 5 right column, “Mammalian Cells” section ¶1, emphasis is the Examiner’s). An antibody produced by a eukaryotic expression system would have all of the post-translational modifications and glycosylations and therefore would have an identical structure to an antibody produced in a eukaryotic subject.
Regarding claim 19, Gao et. al. teaches a host cell comprising the nucleic acid (p. 8 lines 3-10), which reads on the instant composition comprising the nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 20, Gao et. al. teaches “Transient expression of the antibody constructs was achieved using transfection of suspension-adapted HEK293F cells with linear PEI as described in CSH Protocols; 2008; doi:10.1101/pdb.prot4977” (p. 11 lines 7-13). PEI is a transfection facilitating agent, which is an excipient as described in the instant specification (p. 49 lines 1-9); therefore, Gao et. al. teaches the composition comprising the instant nucleic acid and an excipient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016106158 A1 to Gao et. al. published 30 June 2016 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kim et. al. “Gene Therapy using plasmid DNA-encoded anti-HER2 antibody for cancers that overexpress HER2,” , published September 16, 2016 (Of record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025).
The teachings of Gao et. al. in regards to claim 14 are in the 102 rejection above. Gao et. al. does not teach a nucleic acid encoding the instant antibody wherein the nucleotide sequence is operably linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding an IgE leader sequence.
This deficiency is resolved by Kim et. al.
Kim et. al. teaches the construction of plasmids encoding a recombinant anti-HER2 antibody for tumor gene therapy. Kim et. al. teaches that the expression plasmid coding for the heavy or light chain of parental murine antibody Herceptin with the antibody genes codon and RNA optimized in the pVax1 backbone (Abstract). Kim teaches the genes encoding the heavy or light chain were codon-and RNA-optimized and fused to the Kozak and IgE leader sequences for the purpose of efficient expression in mammalian cells and tissues (page 344, paragraph 2). Kim et. al. teaches that the HER2 dMab expression plasmids were expressed in human muscle RD cells in vitro and that intramuscular injections of the plasmid into mice followed by electroporation resulted in antibody expression in mouse sera (Fig. 3). Kim et. al. teaches “In the present study, we observed that a single intramuscular injection of 100 μg of the expression plasmids exhibited almost the same therapeutic efficacy as that of four intravenous injections of 10 mg kg−1 Herceptin. This result, taken together with the low production costs and simple manufacturing steps involved with plasmid DNA, suggests that dMAbs may be more simple and efficient than antibody protein therapy” (p. 346 left column, ¶3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to generate a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies, wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding the anti-HER2 antibody of Gao et. al. and wherein the nucleotide sequence is operably linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding an IgE leader sequence. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given Kim et. al. teaches and demonstrates successfully using an IgE leader sequence linked to their HER2 antibody for translation and production of their HER2 antibody in order to benefit from the anti-tumor efficacy and low production costs and simple manufacturing steps of gene therapy via in vivo antibody expression as taught by Kim et. al. Given the shared and established conventional HER2 antibodies taught by the prior art, one of skill in the art could have substituted the conventional HER2 antibody of Gao et. al. for the trastuzumab-based antibody in the construct of Kim et. al. and produced the plasmid encoding the HER2 antibody with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting- New
Claim 14, 16, 19, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 40-45 of copending Application No. 18699081 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '081 application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 40 of the ‘081 application is directed at a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a natural killer engager or fragment thereof comprising an antibody of fragment thereof that specifically binds to a sialic-binding receptor linked to an antibody or fragment thereof that binds to a target cell of interest. Claim 43 is directed towards the nucleic acid molecule wherein the tumor antigen is selected from FSHR, HER2, IL13Ra, EGFRvIII, and BARF1. Claim 44 recites wherein the nucleic acid encodes and amino acid selected from a group and recites SEQ ID NO: 8 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 66 and a nucleic acid of SEQ ID NO: 7 which is 81.1% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 65 (including 640 matches; reads on identity to a fragment at least 65% of the length of SEQ ID NO: 65; see Result #4 Pending Applications .rnpm SEQ ID NO: 65 dated 12/3/2025). Claim 45 recites a composition comprising the nucleic acid and an excipient.
Claims 17 and 18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 40-45 of copending Application No. 18699081 in view of Kim et. al. “Gene Therapy using plasmid DNA-encoded anti-HER2 antibody for cancers that overexpress HER2,” , published September 16, 2016 (Of record, PTO-892 dated 6/13/2025).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The teachings of the ‘081 application in regards to instant claim 14 are in the NSDP rejection above. The claims of the ‘081 application do not explicitly teach the nucleic acid molecule of claim 14 wherein the nucleotide sequence is linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding an IgE leader sequence (instant claim 17) or wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises and expression vector (instant claim 18).
The teachings of Kim et. al. are in the 103 rejection above. To briefly summarize, Kim et. al. teaches an expression vector comprising an IgE leader sequence and encoding a conventional anti-HER2 antibody for gene therapy using a DNA vector to express an antibody in vivo.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to generate a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies, wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding the anti-HER2 antibody of the ‘081 claims and wherein the nucleotide sequence is operably linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding an IgE leader sequence of Kim et. al. using the pVax1 expression vector appropriate for gene therapy as taught by Kim et. al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given Kim et. al. teaches and demonstrates successfully using an IgE leader sequence linked to their HER2 antibody for translation and production of their HER2 antibody in order to benefit from the anti-tumor efficacy and low production costs and simple manufacturing steps of gene therapy via in vivo antibody expression as taught by Kim et. al. Given the shared and established conventional HER2 antibodies taught by the prior art, one of skill in the art could have substituted the conventional HER2 antibody of ‘081 claims for the trastuzumab-based antibody in the construct of Kim et. al. and produced the plasmid encoding the HER2 antibody with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHLEEN CUNNINGCHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/GREGORY S EMCH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678