Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record, specifically Hopkins US 938488, fails to disclose, teach or suggest an apparatus capable of relieving a tension strand of relieving a tension strand of a pre-stressed tower of a wind power plant as set forth in claim 1 (see pg. 6 of remarks).
In response to applicant's argument that “Hopkins fails to disclose, teach or suggest an apparatus capable of relieving a tension strand of relieving a tension strand of a pre-stressed tower of a wind power plant as set forth in claim 1”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 1. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation of a tension strand of a prestressed tower of a wind power plant” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, The prior art of Brand teaches the use of a hydraulic power device as an actuator for changing the spacing between the first and second anchoring units. The prior art of Hopkins further teaches the use of a spindle actuator for changing the spacing between a first and second anchoring unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the hydraulic power device with a spindle actuator as an alternative linear actuator for changing the spacing between a first and second anchoring unit. For the above reasons, the claims do not overcome the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hopkins US 938488.
Hopkins discloses an apparatus capable of relieving a tension strand (wire not shown) for a prestressed tower capable of being used with a wind power plant, the apparatus comprising: a first anchoring unit (7) with a first tension strand receptacle (V-grooved section of 8) for receiving a first section of the tension strand (wire not shown), a second anchoring unit (2) with a second tension strand receptacle (V-grooved section of 12) for receiving a second section of the tension strand (wire not shown), and a lifting unit (14, 15) configured to change a spacing between the first and second anchoring units and to relieve the tension strand between the first (7) and second anchoring units (2), wherein the lifting unit connects the first (7) and second anchoring units (2) and is arranged between the first and second anchoring units, wherein the lifting unit (14, 15) is configured to increase and/or decrease the spacing between the first and second anchoring units (pg. 1, lines 61-67), and wherein the lifting unit is a spindle lifting mechanism (14, 15).
As for claim 5, Hopkins discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit (7) or the second anchoring unit (2) is configured in two pieces (see Fig. 1, cross-sectional cut-out shows different pieces of the first and second anchoring units, anchoring unit 7 mounted to the threaded shaft 14 via a “screw-threaded connection”, also provided with fasteners 9 for attachment of jaws 8 and 12 to anchoring unit).
As for claim 6, Hopkins discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit (7) or the second anchoring unit (2) has a first anchor base (bottom sections of 2 and 7) and a first anchor plate (mounting portions to the guide rods, 3, and the screw 14).
As for claim 7, Hopkins discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit (7) and the second anchoring unit (2) has a length, a width, and a depth, the depth being multiple times smaller than the width and/or the length. See annotated figures above, the depth is smaller than the width and length of the anchoring units.
As for claim 8, Hopkins discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit (7) or the second anchoring unit (2) has a first clamping unit (8 or 12, respectively), the first clamping unit and the second anchoring unit being arranged at least in sections in the first and second tension strand receptacles, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al. EP 3358106 in view of Hopkins US 938488.
Brand discloses an apparatus for relieving a tension strand of a prestressed structure (100) capable of being a tower of a wind power plant, the apparatus comprising: a first anchoring unit (102/140) with a first tension strand receptacle (140a) for receiving a first section of the tension strand (106), a second anchoring unit (103/142) with a second tension strand receptacle (142a) for receiving a second section of the tension strand, a lifting unit (148) configured to change a spacing between the first and second anchoring units and to relieve the tension strand between the first and second anchoring units, wherein the lifting unit connects with the first and second anchoring units and is arranged between the first and second anchoring units (See Fig. 2 above), wherein the lifting unit (148) is configured to increase and/or decrease the spacing between the first and second anchoring units (see abstract and excerpt from translation below).
Brand discloses wherein the lifting units are hydraulic cylinders (148) but does not specify wherein they can be spindle lifting mechanisms. However, the use of spindle mechanisms (i.e. threaded rods/screws) is well known in the lifting and tensioning art as evidence by Hopkins who teaches a wire tensioning apparatus comprising a first and second anchoring units (7 and 2) capable of receiving a strand (wire) wherein a lifting unit (14, 15) is configured to change the spacing between the first and second anchoring units (7 and 2) wherein the lifting unit is a spindle (threaded spindle 14) lifting mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to substitute the hydraulic cylinder lifting units of Brand to spindle mechanisms as taught by Hopkins as an alternative lifting mechanism for adjusting the distance between the first anchor unit relative to the second anchor unit to increase and/or decrease the spacing between the first and second anchoring units.
As for claim 5, Brand discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit or the second anchoring unit is configured in two pieces (150).
As for claim 6, Brand discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit or the second anchoring unit has a first anchor base (150) and a first anchor plate (150).
As for claim 7, Brand discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit and the second anchoring unit has a length, a width, and a depth, the depth being multiple times smaller than the width and/or the length (see Fig. 2 above, the depth is the height/thickness which is smaller than the length and width of the plates 150).
As for claim 8, Brand discloses wherein at least one of the first anchoring unit or the second anchoring unit has a first clamping unit (two distinct clamping units 144 and 146), the first clamping unit (146) and the second anchoring unit (142) being arranged at least in sections in the first and second tension strand receptacles, respectively (see Fig. 2 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723