DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 03/05/2026, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claim 10 has been amended.
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-20 are allowed.
Claims 1 and 4-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections over Fleetham et al. (US 2021/0066616 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the prior art because the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
A reinterpretation of the prior art is given below to explain how the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al. (US 2021/0066616 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Fleetham discloses the compound below (page 27).
This compound is derived from the Fleetham formula below (page 5).
Fleetham also teaches that Y3 is a sulfur atom (paragraph 0069, lines 4-5), RC is a substituent (paragraph 0053), such as the substituent defined as R96 (page 15), which is pictured below, and that Y1 is NR (paragraph 0052) and R is a substituent (paragraph 0053), such as the substituent defined as R20 (page 16), which is pictured below.
Such a modification produces the compound below which is found in row two, column two of page 9 of the instant claims.
Fleetham includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Fleetham being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a composition for boron-containing organic molecules which can lead to improved photophysical properties and improved OLED device performance (paragraph 0006), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to independent claim 1, the claim is drawn to a compound of Chemical Formula 1, which is pictured below.
In this formula, ring A1 is represented by one of Chemical Formula A1-2 and Chemical Formula A1-4, which are pictured below.
In these formulae, Y3 and Y4 are selected from oxygen and sulfur.
A search of the prior art did not identify the claimed invention.
The closest identified prior art is Fleetham et al. (US 2021/0066616 A1).
With respect to independent claim 1, Fleetham discloses a boron-containing compound according to Formula I, which is pictured below (abstract).
However, while Fleetham teaches that rings A and B may be selected a furan or thiophene (paragraph 0061), Fleetham does not teach nor fairly suggest that rings A and B may be selected as their partially hydrogenated derivatives, 2,3-dihydrofuran and 2,3-dihydrothiophene, respectively.
Additionally, there existed no teaching nor motivation to make such a modification in the broader prior art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 4-9 and 11-20 are allowed by virtue of dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786