Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9-10, 17-19 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rukavina (WO 2014/152819).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 17, 24, Rukavina teaches a method of forming a ballistic resistant composite article comprising providing at least one layer including a network of ballistic fibers and a thermoplastic resin matrix [0075]. The thermoplastic matrix includes blocked isocyanate composed of isocyanate with a blocking agent [0086-0088]. The resin matrix is crosslinkable through heating to a temperature that causes the isocyanate to liberate from the blocking agent and the liberated isocyanate react with functional groups on the thermoplastic resin matrix causing crosslinking of the thermoplastic resin matrix [0086-0088 and 0265-0268]. The blocking agent is taught as nonylphenol [0087]. Rukavina teaches heating the at least one layer to at least the deblocking temperature to cause the thermoplastic resin matrix to crosslink. Rukavina teaches the amount of blocked isocyanate remaining is selected in order to control the reaction rate, crosslink degree and properties therefore Rukavina teaches the amount of blocked isocyanate and unblocked isocyanate as a results effective variable and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount of blocked isocyanate and thermoplastic resin not blocked through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, the temperature that causes the isocyanate to liberate is in the claimed range [0086].
Regarding claim 9, the network of ballistic fibers includes aramid fibers [0431].
Regarding claim 10, the thermoplastic resin matrix is a polyurethane is a polyether based urethane, polyester based urethane or a polycaprolactone based urethane [0164-0168].
Regarding claim 18, Rukavina teaches compressing the at least one layer during the heating [Examples and 0259].
Regarding claim 19, the temperature that causes the isocyanate to liberate is in the claimed range [0086].
Regarding clam 25, Rukavina is silent regarding the claimed increase of sonic modulus by crosslinking. However, given Rukavina teaches such a similar article made by such a similar method, the claimed property of increased sonic modulus by crosslinking is necessarily inherent to the article of Rukavina.
Regarding claim 26, the at least one layer includes a first layer and a second layer and at least some of the reactions occur at an interface between the first layer and second layer such that crosslinking chemically joins the first layer and second layer [0465-0468 and 0472].
Regarding claim 27, the thermoplastic matrix includes nucleophilic sites as it is taught as made from polyester polyol.
Regarding claim 28, Rukavina teaches at least one layer which includes 10-1000 layers.
Regarding claim 29, the at least one layer is a rigid hard ballistic composite panel.
Claims 12-15 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rukavina (WO 2014/152819) in view of Tam et al. (PG Pub. 2013/0225022).
Regarding claim 12-14, 22-23, Rukavina teaches a ballistic resistant composite comprising at least one layer including a network of ballistic fibers and a thermoplastic resin matrix [0075]. The thermoplastic matrix includes blocked isocyanate composed of isocyanate with a blocking agent [0086-0088]. The resin matrix is crosslinkable through heating to a temperature that causes the isocyanate to liberate from the blocking agent and the liberated isocyanate react with functional groups on the thermoplastic resin matrix causing crosslinking of the thermoplastic resin matrix [0086-0088 and 0265-0268]. The blocking agent is taught as nonylphenol [0087]. Rukavina teaches the amount of blocked isocyanate remaining is selected in order to control the reaction rate, crosslink degree and properties therefore Rukavina teaches the amount of blocked isocyanate and unblocked isocyanate as a results effective variable and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount of blocked isocyanate and thermoplastic resin not blocked through routine experimentation.
Rukavina is silent regarding the claimed uhmwpe fibers. However, Tam et al. teaches uhmwpe fibers because they are high tenacity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the uhmwpe fibers of Tam in Rukavina because they are high tenacity and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, the thermoplastic resin matrix is a polyurethane is a polyether based urethane, polyester based urethane or a polycaprolactone based urethane [0164-0168].
Prior Art Not Used But Relevant
PG Pub. 2016/0289891 teaches a ballistic resistant armor article.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789