DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the double patenting rejections are not persuasive because the terminal disclaimers were not all approved.
With respect to the newly added claim 1 limitations, these arguments are not persuasive because Kazuma teaches all of the newly added claim limitations.
With respect to new claim 16, the claim language appears to be further limiting the newly added claim 1 limitation and is directed to more structure shown in figure 12, however, the claim language is broad enough to still apply to the structure shown by Kazama. Annotated figure 2 showing the claimed surfaces and steps is included with claim 16 rejection below. This structure is also disclosed in previously cited reference US 8130064 not used in the rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11640889, U.S. Patent No. 11735389, and U.S. Patent No. 11640890 in view of Kazuma (US 3099730). In re claim 1, claims 1 of the patents cover the scope of all of the claimed limitations except for the newly added limitations including a base supporting the drive device, the base slidably supporting the insulating member, a direction in which the drive device is arranged with respect to the base being defined as upward, the insulating member being supported by the base in a vertical direction, and the insulating member being configured to move in a direction that intersects the vertical direction by the drive device, the fixed terminal protruding downward from the base to an outside of the housing, and the first-fourth flat surfaces with associated steps. Kazuma however teaches a similar device having a base supporting the drive device, the base slidably supporting the insulating member, a direction in which the drive device is arranged with respect to the base being defined as upward, the insulating member (4) being supported by the base in a vertical direction, and the insulating member being configured to move in a direction that intersects the vertical direction by the drive device, and the fixed terminal protruding downward from the base to an outside of the housing, and the first-fourth flat surfaces with associated steps (as best seen in figure 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have positioned the base of the device of the patents in the claimed orientation as taught by Kazama in order to reduce the device height in the vertical direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kazuma (US 3099730).
In re claim 1, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses a relay comprising: a first fixed terminal; a first fixed contact connected to the first fixed terminal; a second fixed terminal; a second fixed contact connected to the second fixed terminal (terminals 10 and contacts 11); a first movable contact piece (8) configured to move in a moving direction; a first movable contact that faces the first fixed contact, the first movable contact being connected to the first movable contact piece; a second movable contact that faces the second fixed contact, the second movable contact being connected to the first movable contact piece (movable contacts 7); an insulating member (4; it is inherently insulating because contacts and core would have a short circuit without insulation) connected to the first movable contact piece; a drive device including a spool, a coil (2) wound around the spool, and a movable iron core (3) at least partially disposed in the spool and connected to the insulating member, the drive device being configured to move the movable iron core by a magnetic force generated from the coil to move the first movable contact piece, the movable iron core including a first link part (portion that links with the insulating member), and the insulating member including a second link part (portion of the insulating member that connects with the movable iron core) with a locking groove into which the first link part is locked (as best seen in figure 2), the locking groove including a first flat surface (either of the two surfaces extending in the moving direction) extending in the moving direction and a first step part (at the corners), the first flat surface extending perpendicular to and from the first step part, and the first link part contacting the first flat surface and the first step part to fix the movable iron core to the insulating member (as best seen in figure 2); a housing (14) slidably supporting the insulating member the first movable contact piece and the movable iron core being electrically insulated by the insulating member (inherent functionality for the device to be operable), the housing including a base supporting the drive device, the base slidably supporting the insulating member, a direction in which the drive device is arranged with respect to the base being defined as upward, the insulating member being supported by the base in a vertical direction, and the insulating member being configured to move in a direction that intersects the vertical direction by the drive device, and the first and second fixed terminals penetrating through and projecting downward from the base to an outside of the housing (as best seen in figure 2; see attached figure showing the base and the direction; the ends of the terminals are clearly outside of the housing to make external connection).
In re claim 2, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the insulating member is fixed to the movable iron core so as to be immovable relative to the movable iron core in the moving direction of the first movable contact piece (as shown in figures 1-2).
In re claim 3, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the insulating member is fixed to the movable iron core so as to be non- rotatable relative to the movable iron core around an axis extending in the moving direction of the first movable contact piece (inherent function of the shown structure).
In re claim 4, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the insulating member includes a first flat surface and a second flat surface extending in the moving direction of the first movable contact piece (as seen in figure 2), the movable iron core includes a third flat surface and a fourth flat surface extending in the moving direction of the first movable contact piece, the first flat surface contacts the third flat surface, and the second flat surface contacts the fourth flat surface (as seen in figure 2).
In re claim 5, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses the movable iron core includes a plurality of plate members provided separately from each other (laminated core is clearly shown in figure 2 and 6).
In re claim 6, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the plurality of plate members are laminated and integrated with each other (as seen in figures 2 and 6).
In re claim 7, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the movable iron core has a non-circular shape in a cross section perpendicular to the moving direction of the first movable contact piece (as seen in the figures).
In re claim 8, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the movable iron core has a prismatic shape (as seen in the figures).
In re claim 9, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses a housing (12-14) configured to slidably support the insulating member (the insulating member slides inside the housing).
In re claim 12, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the housing includes a base (12) configured to support the drive device, and the base is further configured to slidably support the insulating member.
In re claim 13, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses a first return spring configured to contact the insulating member; and a second return spring configured to contact the insulating member (springs 17), wherein the moving direction includes an opening direction in which the first movable contact and the second movable contact move away from the first fixed contact and the second fixed contact, the first return spring is further configured to press the insulating member in the opening direction, and the second return spring is further configured to press the insulating member in the opening direction (inherent function of the shown structure).
In re claim 14, Kazuma, in figures 1-12, discloses that the insulating member (4) includes a first connection part connected to the second link part and to which the first return spring is connected, and a second connection part connected to the second link part and to which the second return spring is connected (the link part is positioned between the connection parts; the connection parts are the parts that the springs contact as seen in figure 2 and 6).
In re claim 16, Kazuma discloses (see annotated figure 2 below) the locking groove has a second flat surface opposite the first flat surface and extends in the moving direct and a second step part, the second flat surface extending perpendicular to and from the second step part, and the first link part has third and fourth flat surfaces respectively contacting the first and second flat surfaces, and has third and fourth step parts respectively contacting the first and second step parts (as seen in figure 2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuma (US 3099730).
In re claims 10-11, Kazuma teaches a protrusion and a recess as claimed except for the positioning of the protrusion and the recess are reversed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reversed the positioning of the protrusion and the recess, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 17-18, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuma (US 3099730) in view of Lange (US 7772945).
In re claim 15, Kazuma discloses a second movable contact piece with third and fourth contacts connected to and electrically insulated by the insulating member but does not disclose the third and fourth fixed contacts on the first and second terminals. Lange however teaches a similar device with multiple fixed contacts connected to one fixed terminal (connected to 212) with a plurality of movable contact pieces having contacts and all connected to one fixed terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the configuration of Lange with more than one contact point to the device of Kazuma in order to provide redundancy and improve reliability.
Conclusion
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837