DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 05/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 49-64, 66, and 69-71 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1-48, 65, and 67-68 were previously canceled. Claim 49 has been amended. No new claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/14/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 49-64, 66, and 69-71 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Paranthaman (US 2018/0215854 A1) in view of Mayr (US 2018/0325635 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made over Rolland (US 2018/0264719 A1) in view of Guillemette (US 2016/0297104 A1). The rejection of claims 49-64, 66, and 69-71 may be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-64, 66, and 69-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolland (US 2018/0264719 A1) in view of Guillemette (US 2016/0297104 A1).
Regarding claim 49-51 and 64, Rolland teaches a method of forming a dual cure three-dimensional object by additive manufacturing (a method of fabricating a part using coreactive three-dimensional printing) (abstract) comprising: providing a combination comprising first and second precursor resin compositions which on mixing together produce an epoxy dual cure resin useful for additive manufacturing, said combination comprising: (a) a first, pseudoplastic, precursor resin composition, comprising: (i) a hardener (e.g., organic hardener) co-polymerizable with an epoxy resin, said organic hardener in solid particulate form and dispersed in said resin composition; (ii) optionally (i.e., in some embodiments), a photoinitiator; (iii) optionally, monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light; (iv) optionally, a light absorbing pigment or dye; (v) optionally, a diluent; (vi) optionally, a particulate filler; and (vii) optionally, a co-monomer and/or a co-prepolymer (with said epoxy resin); and (b) a second, optionally pseudoplastic, precursor resin composition, packaged separately from (i.e., not mixed with) said first precursor resin, said second precursor resin comprising: (i) an epoxy resin co-polymerizable with said organic hardener; (ii) a dual reactive compound having substituted thereon a first reactive group reactive with said monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light, and a second reactive group reactive with said epoxy resin (e.g., an epoxy acrylate); (iii) optionally, a photoinitiator; (iv) optionally, monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light; (v) optionally, a light absorbing pigment or dye; (vi) optionally, a diluent; (vii) optionally, a particulate filler; and (viii) optionally, a co-monomer and/or a co-prepolymer (with said epoxy resin); subject to the proviso that said photoinitiator, and said monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light, are each included in at least one of each of said first and second precursor resin compositions (independently combining and mixing a first component and a second component to form a first coreactive composition and a second coreactive composition, wherein, each of the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition comprises a first reactive compound and a second reactive compound; and the first reactive compound is reactive with the second reactive compound; wherein the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition have different mechanical properties; wherein the first component comprises the first reactive compound and the second component comprises the second reactive compound; wherein, the first reactive compound is reactive with the second reactive compound in the presence of a catalyst and/or a cure initiator; and the catalyst and/or cure initiator is capable of catalyzing and/or initiating a reaction between the first reactive compound and the second reactive compound; and the second component comprises the catalyst and/or the cure initiator; wherein at least one of the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition comprises a cure initiator and the method further comprises activating the cure initiator before depositing, during deposition, and/or after depositing) (¶0058).
While Rolland teaches the claimed first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition, Rolland does not specify a method further comprising coextruding the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition through a coextrusion nozzle to form a coextrudate and depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition in successive layers using three-dimensional printing to fabricate a part.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (coextruding through a coextrusion nozzle to form a coextrudate; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Guillemette discloses the known technique of providing a valved coextrusion head, wherein materials can be layered together to form an extrudate with each material forming a portion of the cross section, and depositing extrudate in a layer-by-layer manner to build at least a portion of the three-dimensional object (¶0076,0144-0152).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Rolland by applying the known technique of providing a valved coextrusion head, wherein materials can be layered together to form an extrudate with each material forming a portion of the cross section, and depositing extrudate in a layer-by-layer manner to build at least a portion of the three-dimensional object disclosed in Guillemette to the method comprising independently combining and mixing a first component and a second component to form a first coreactive composition and a second coreactive composition disclosed in Rolland with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Rolland in view Guillemette does not explicitly disclose a method further comprising while depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition, independently changing constituents of the first component and/or constituents of the second component and/or changing a volume mix ratio of the first component and the second component nor while depositing, independently changing the constituents of the one or more additional components and/or independently changing a volume mix ratio of the one or more additional components.
However, Guillemette discloses a method wherein the coextrusion head could be designed to provide for multiple pathways for the various inlet filaments so as to increase the number of possible layering combinations of the end product, wherein valves or gateways are provided to control each pathway, and wherein the valves can be used to completely shut off one or more of the prospective pathways, or restrict the flow through one or more of the pathways (Fig 13,14 and ¶0192-0194).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Rolland in view Guillemette such that while depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition, independently changing constituents of the first component and/or constituents of the second component and/or changing a volume mix ratio of the first component and the second component and while depositing, independently changing the constituents of the one or more additional components and/or independently changing a volume mix ratio of the one or more additional components with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the number of possible layering combinations of the end product via valves that can be used to completely shut off one or more of the prospective pathways or restrict the flow through one or more of the pathways (Guillemette, Fig 13,14 and ¶0192-0194).
Regarding claims 52 and 54-55, as applied to claim 49, Rolland in view Guillemette does not explicitly disclose a method further comprising combining and mixing one or more additional components with the first component and the second component; wherein each of the one or more additional components independently comprises a compound capable of reacting with the first reactive compound and/or the second reactive compound and/or a compound that is not capable of reacting with the first reactive compound and/or the second reactive compound; and wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises adding at least one constituent to the first component and/or adding at least one constituent to the second component.
However, Rolland discloses that said combination comprises: (a) a first, pseudoplastic, precursor resin composition, comprising: (i) a hardener (e.g., organic hardener) co-polymerizable with an epoxy resin, said organic hardener in solid particulate form and dispersed in said resin composition; (ii) optionally (i.e., in some embodiments), a photoinitiator; (iii) optionally, monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light; (iv) optionally, a light absorbing pigment or dye; (v) optionally, a diluent; (vi) optionally, a particulate filler; and (vii) optionally, a co-monomer and/or a co-prepolymer (with said epoxy resin); and (b) a second, optionally pseudoplastic, precursor resin composition, packaged separately from (i.e., not mixed with) said first precursor resin, said second precursor resin comprising: (i) an epoxy resin co-polymerizable with said organic hardener; (ii) a dual reactive compound having substituted thereon a first reactive group reactive with said monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light, and a second reactive group reactive with said epoxy resin (e.g., an epoxy acrylate); (iii) optionally, a photoinitiator; (iv) optionally, monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light; (v) optionally, a light absorbing pigment or dye; (vi) optionally, a diluent; (vii) optionally, a particulate filler; and (viii) optionally, a co-monomer and/or a co-prepolymer (with said epoxy resin); subject to the proviso that said photoinitiator, and said monomers and/or prepolymers that are polymerizable by exposure to actinic radiation or light, are each included in at least one of each of said first and second precursor resin compositions.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the disclosed in Rolland in view Guillemette to further comprise combining and mixing one or more additional components with the first component and the second component; wherein each of the one or more additional components independently comprises a compound capable of reacting with the first reactive compound and/or the second reactive compound and/or a compound that is not capable of reacting with the first reactive compound and/or the second reactive compound; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises adding at least one constituent to the first component and/or adding at least one constituent to the second component with a reasonable expectation of success because Rolland teaches the optional inclusion of the claimed additional components, compounds, and/or constituents (Rolland, ¶0058).
Regarding claims 53, 56-57, 59-63, and 71, as applied to claims 49 and 52, respectively, Rolland in view Guillemette does not explicitly disclose a method further comprising, while depositing, independently changing the constituents of the one or more additional components and/or independently changing a volume mix ratio of the one or more additional components; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises removing at least one constituent from the first component and/or removing at least one constituent from the second component; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises changing the amount of at least one of the constituents of the first component and/or changing the amount of at least one of the constituents of the second component; combining and mixing two or more precursor compositions to form the first component and/or combining two or more precursor compositions to form the second component, and changing a volume mix ratio of at least one of the two or more precursor compositions forming the first component, and/or changing a volume mix ratio of at least one of the two or more precursor compositions forming the second component; wherein changing the volume mix ratio comprises continuously changing the volume mix ratio over a period of time; wherein changing the volume mix ratio comprises discontinuously changing the volume mix ratio; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the second component comprises continuously changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component over a period of time; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the second component comprises discontinuously changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component; wherein the volume mix ratio of the first component to the second component is from 1:50 to 50:1; and wherein depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition comprises continuously depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition in successive layers using three- dimensional printing to fabricate a part and wherein independently changing constituents of the first component and/or constituents of the second component and/or changing a volume mix ratio of the first component and the second component is during continuously depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Rolland in view Guillemette to further comprise while depositing, independently changing the constituents of the one or more additional components and/or independently changing a volume mix ratio of the one or more additional components; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises removing at least one constituent from the first component and/or removing at least one constituent from the second component; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component comprises changing the amount of at least one of the constituents of the first component and/or changing the amount of at least one of the constituents of the second component; wherein changing the volume mix ratio comprises continuously changing the volume mix ratio over a period of time; combining and mixing two or more precursor compositions to form the first component and/or combining two or more precursor compositions to form the second component, and changing a volume mix ratio of at least one of the two or more precursor compositions forming the first component, and/or changing a volume mix ratio of at least one of the two or more precursor compositions forming the second component; wherein changing the volume mix ratio comprises discontinuously changing the volume mix ratio; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the second component comprises continuously changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component over a period of time; wherein changing the constituents of the first component and/or the second component comprises discontinuously changing the constituents of the first component and/or the constituents of the second component; wherein the volume mix ratio of the first component to the second component is from 1:50 to 50:1; and wherein depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition comprises continuously depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition in successive layers using three- dimensional printing to fabricate a part and wherein independently changing constituents of the first component and/or constituents of the second component and/or changing a volume mix ratio of the first component and the second component is during continuously depositing the first coreactive composition and/or the second coreactive composition with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the number of possible layering combinations of the end product via valves that can be used to completely shut off one or more of the prospective pathways or restrict the flow through one or more of the pathways (Guillemette, Fig 13,14 and ¶0192-0194).
Regarding claim 66, as applied to claim 49, although Rolland in view Guillemette do not teach wherein the part comprises a vehicle part, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the object produced in Rolland in view Guillemette such that the object is a vehicle part, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 69, as applied to claim 49, Rolland in view Guillemette teach a method wherein extruding the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition further comprises extruding the first coreactive composition and the second coreactive composition from a mixer through the coextrusion nozzle (Guillemette, Fig 13,14 and ¶0192-0194).
Regarding claim 70, as applied to claim 49, Rolland in view Guillemette teach a method wherein the coextrudate comprises at least one of a thermoplastic material and a thermoset material (see Rolland, ¶0058).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743