DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claims 1-2, 4 and 6-23 are maintained in view of the amendments to the independent claims.
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 3/4/2026 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 7 in the filing on 3/4/2026 “that the virtual keypad is always present, regardless of whether the display is activated or deactivated,” regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 1.
Response to Argument 1: Respectfully, in the 112b section of the remarks on 3/4/2026, the Applicant discusses a display that has a “black screen mode.” While in this mode, the display screen is turned off (e.g. for blind users), but “the virtual keypad is always present, regardless of whether the display is activated or deactivated.” And then “when the display is deactivated, the elements are still present and, accordingly, can be associated with ‘positions and references.’”
However, the details that the Applicant provides in the remarks section are not present in the claims. The claims do not recite a “black screen mode,” nor that “the virtual keypad is always present, regardless of whether the display is activated or deactivated,” nor that “when the display is deactivated, the elements are still present and, accordingly, can be associated with ‘positions and references.’”
Instead, the present claims recite “having display functions deactivated.” Since this is a touch screen display (e.g. the claimed virtual keypad, gestures, etc.), this limitation to deactivate display functions appears to also include deactivation of the input functions, the virtual keypad, and the ability for the keypad to detect the positions or references of the gestures. When the touch screen display is deactivated, it is unclear how the instant invention can receive gestures. Thus, the current limitation is unclear to the reader.
It would be helpful to further clarify in clam language that the screen can enter a “black screen mode,” wherein the screen is actually powered on, but displaying a black screen, with touch inputs enabled, with the keypad active on the touch screen while displaying a black screen, that also detects position and reference information from inputs while accepting inputs from the virtual keypad while in black screen mode (with support from the specification).
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 9 in the filing on 3/4/2026 that the cited prior art does not teach “creating a single ordered one-dimensional list of a succession of only possible elements of the virtual keypad, a possible element of the ordered one-dimensional list corresponding to an element of the virtual keypad, wherein the possible elements are sorted in a different order than in the virtual keypad,” in claim 1, because 1) “in Liu, all possible elements are inserted inside the list, even if not available at a virtual keypad,” and because 2) “Liu does not disclose a positive act of ‘sorting’ elements into an order, that may be different than the random order of the virtual keypad.”
Response to Argument 2: Respectfully, the combination of Gorlich, Liu, and Gorlich2 teach the above. Regarding 1) Liu Fig. 16-19, but especially Fig. 18, teaches random scrolling wheels (one-dimensional lists) consisting of only the number 0-9, which are available at a virtual keypad. Regarding 2) Liu [0148] discloses re-setting (sorting) the random wheels into arbitrary configurations (re-randomizing) after each use. This is an active sorting, and the re-randomization sorts them into a different order than the virtual keypad before it. See rejection below for more details.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Arguments 1 and 2 filed on 3/4/2026 are not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: claim 1 recites “(a) requesting that a user enter a code… by way of a virtual keypad, comprising elements arranged in a random manner… when the display functions of the graphical user interface are activated;” and “(b) for an element of the sequence forming the code: for a current element of the ordered one-dimensional list:… having display functions deactivated” and “(c)… submitting the positions or references of the elements of the virtual keypad corresponding to the elements selected from the ordered one-dimensional list.” It appears that in (a), a sighted user can enter a code using a random virtual keypad during which the display is activated, and in (b), a blind user can gesture upon a one dimensional list during which the display is deactivated. These two interfaces do not appear to be displayed on the screen at the same time (because one is used when the display is on, and the other is used when the display is off). How then are the “positions or references of the elements of the random virtual keypad” in claim 1 section (c) “determined” when a user gestures upon the non-displayed one-dimensional list? The display is deactivated, so the virtual keypad is not displayed, so there are no positions nor references when the user is gesturing upon the one-dimensional list. It is not clear to the examiner how there are positions or references to the virtual keypad, nor is it clear what position/reference they could be, because the screen that displayed the random keypad is deactivated at this point. Claim 9 recites similar limitations.
Claims 2, 4, 6-8, and 10-23 are dependent claims that inherit the lack of clarity issues of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorlich et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20170269828 A1 (hereinafter “Gorlich”), in view of in view of Liu et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20190332760 A1 (hereinafter “Liu”), in view of Gorlich et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20170329510 A1 (hereinafter “Gorlich2”).
Claim 1: Gorlich teaches “A method of controlling a mobile computing equipment (i.e. mobile terminals [Gorlich 0010]) comprising a graphical user interface configured to have display functions deactivated (i.e. the standard mode of the user interface for processing touch inputs and gestures is changed over to an input mode with special assistance for blind and visually impaired persons, which supports specific gestures [Gorlich 0096]… invisible keyboard 20 with its invisible keys 21 and the selected invisible key 22, as depicted in FIG. 3 [Gorlich 0040, Fig. 3] note: invisible indicates not displayed, or having display functions deactivated), the method comprising:…
…a single ordered… list of a succession of only possible elements of the virtual keypad, a possible element of the ordered… list corresponding to an element of the virtual keypad (Gorlich Fig. 1 shows ordered list 0-9, which are in succession of increasing order, which are possible elements of the virtual keypad);
(b) for an element of the sequence forming the code:
for a current element of the ordered… list (i.e. invisible key in the center having the digit 5 is a preselected invisible key 22 [Gorlich 0037, Fig. 1]):
if a gesture of a first type performed by the user on the graphical user interface having display functions deactivated is detected (Gorlich’s invisible keys), the gesture of the first type being a gesture different than the specific gesture (Gorlich’s swipes different from Lu’s combination of a single tap, below), moving to the next element in the ordered… list (i.e. By horizontal and vertical swipe gestures…, which will be explained further below, it is possible to shift the selection from the digit 5 to any of the other invisible keys 21 in accordance with the arrows shown in FIG. 1… [Gorlich 0037, Fig. 1]… wherein the selection of the selected invisible key 22 can also be shifted by diagonal swipe gestures [Gorlich 0039, Fig. 2] note: from current key “5” to next element in the list “6” with a horizontal swipe)…;
if a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, performed by the user on the user interface having display functions deactivated is detected, the gesture of the second type being a gesture different than the specific gesture (Gorlich’s two-finger tap different from Lu’s single tap, below), confirming the current element as an element of the sequence forming the code (i.e. When the coin lies on the desired digit, the input of the digit is confirmed by a two-finger tap, i.e. by simple tapping with two fingertips. Afterward, the coin lies on the digit 5 again and the next digit can be selected and confirmed. The digit input is concluded with a long two-finger tap [Gorlich 0043]),
(c) after each element of the sequence forming the code has been selected from the ordered… list, submitting…the elements of the virtual keypad corresponding to the elements selected from the ordered… list (i.e. When the coin lies on the desired digit, the input of the digit is confirmed by a two-finger tap, i.e. by simple tapping with two fingertips. Afterward, the coin lies on the digit 5 again and the next digit can be selected and confirmed. The digit input is concluded with a long two-finger tap [Gorlich 0043]).”
Gorlich teaches two modes for inputs and gestures which are switched as needed; a standard mode and special assistance for blind and visually impaired persons mode [Gorlich 0096]. Gorlich is silent regarding “(a) requesting that a user enter a code on the graphical user interface of the mobile computing equipment by way of a virtual keypad, comprising elements arranged in a random manner, the code consisting of a sequence of elements of the virtual keypad, the elements being adapted to be selected using a specific gesture when the display functions of the graphical user interface are activated;” and submitting “the positions or references” of the elements of the virtual keypad in step (c), and “creating” a list in step (a), the list being a “one-dimensional” list in steps (a) (b) and (c).
Liu teaches “(a) requesting that a user enter a code on the graphical user interface of the mobile computing equipment by way of a virtual keypad (i.e. A common way to enter a PIN number is using a standard keypad 1700 as illustrated in FIG. 17 [Liu 0145, Fig. 17]… user interaction involves the user tapping on a tiles to select that number and enter it into the number input field [Liu 0149]… user interactions for rotating the number wheel 300 are envisaged, such as a tap up/down [Liu 0099]), comprising elements arranged in a random manner (i.e. Existing keyboard/keypad layout randomisation techniques [Liu 0008]… video content represents a user interface including a plurality of elements for selection by a user [Liu 0052]… to create different video files to enter a PIN which essentially randomise the user interactions and break any correlation between user interactions and the PIN [Liu 0146, Fig. 16, 18-19] note: video files are random (moving) keyboard layouts), the code consisting of a sequence of elements of the virtual keypad (Liu’s PIN), the elements being adapted to be selected using a specific gesture when the display functions of the graphical user interface are activated (i.e. A common way to enter a PIN number is using a standard keypad 1700 as illustrated in FIG. 17 [Liu 0145, Fig. 17]… user interaction involves the user tapping on a tiles to select that number and enter it into the number input field [Liu 0149]);
creating a single ordered one-dimensional list of a succession of only possible elements of the virtual keypad (i.e. Whilst four wheels are shown in FIG. 18, it will be appreciated that a different number of wheels could be used instead [Liu 0148, Fig. 18] note: different number of wheels is possible with Liu, including 1 wheel. 1 wheel creates a single one-dimensional list of numbers. Fig. 18 shows the numbers 0-9 in a random order, which are possible elements of a virtual keypad), a possible element of the ordered one-dimensional list corresponding to an element of the virtual keypad (Liu 0148, Fig. 18 show the numbers 0-9 in a random ordered keypad), wherein the possible elements are sorted in a different order than in the virtual keypad (i.e. After each number selection, the displayed video content may reset to an arbitrary configuration with the numbers randomly distributed over the wheels [Liu 0148, Fig. 18] note: the list is sorted randomly after each use. A second random order is a different order than a first random order);
“(c) after each element of the sequence forming the code has been selected from the ordered… list, submitting the positions or references of the elements of the virtual keypad corresponding to the elements selected from the ordered… list (i.e. the selected wheel and the amount of rotation for that wheel correspond to a time offset in the video content, which in turn corresponds to a number value [Liu 0148, Fig. 18]… the time offset of the video at the time of the user interaction is an important factor in determining the number value. This offset is combined with the coordinates (i.e. location) of the user interaction in order to obtain the selected number associated with the user interaction [Liu 0149, Fig. 19] note: “in order to obtain the selected number” indicates that this is performed for each number in a PIN code. Note2: Fig. 18-19 show the possible elements are the numbers 0-9, which are only elements of a PIN).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Gorlich to include the feature of having the ability to perform functions on an activated screen as disclosed by Liu, and the ability to use a one-dimensional list, and to submit positions or references of the selected elements.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of allowing sighted users to also use the security features of the interface, and to allow simplicity for accessibility, and to increase security when submitting passcodes.
Gorlich and Liu are silent regarding “vocally describing the new current element.”
Gorlich2 teaches “if a gesture of a first type performed by the user on the graphical user interface… is detected, the gesture of the first type being a gesture different than the specific gesture, moving to the next element in the ordered… list and vocally describing the new current element (i.e. After each swipe gesture, the label of the newly selected virtual key 22 is audibly output by voice synthesis and voice output. The virtual keypad 20 is displayed on the touchscreen 43, for example a multi-touch screen [Gorlich2 0035, Fig. 1-2] note: Gorlich2’s swipes different from Lu’s combination of a single tap, above);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Gorlich and Liu to include the feature of having the ability to audibly output the new current number as disclosed by Gorlich2.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to “allow intuitive operation of the touchscreen by visually impaired or blind people too [Gorlich2 0004].”
Claim 2: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich teaches “wherein the graphical interface is a touchscreen, the first (i.e. The user then changes the assignment of the selected invisible key 22 by a one-finger tap [Gorlich 0064] note: Gorlich discloses a standard mode in 0096. Gorlich discloses one-finger taps. A one-finger tap can be used to select a PIN/password in a standard mode. One would be motivated because it would provide the benefit of allowing sighted users to also use the interface) and second types of gesture being tapping gestures (i.e. After the desired invisible key has been selected, the touch-sensitive surface of the operating element 43 can be doubly tapped with a finger, for example. This tap gesture activates the selected invisible key, as a result of which the assigned digit is input [Gorlich 0097]).”
Claim 4: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich teaches “wherein, with the computing equipment furthermore comprising an audio output (i.e. an audio unit 14 with amplifier and loudspeaker [Gorlich 0085]).” Gorlich2 teaches “(b) comprises vocally describing, on the audio output, an action implemented following the detection of a gesture of the first or second type (i.e. After each swipe gesture, the label of the newly selected virtual key 22 is audibly output by voice synthesis and voice output. The virtual keypad 20 is displayed on the touchscreen 43, for example a multi-touch screen [Gorlich2 0035, Fig. 1-2]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to “allow intuitive operation of the touchscreen by visually impaired or blind people too [Gorlich2 0004].”
Claim 6: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the virtual keypad comprises at least one element that cannot form part of the code (i.e. There is also the option to add blank or dummy symbols [Liu 0147, Fig. 18-19] note: fig. 18-19 show that there are multiple blank spaces in the keypad, and all digits 0-9 are displayed at once), the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements of the virtual keypad comprising all of the elements of the virtual keypad that are able to form part of the code (i.e. wheel of graphical elements 300 is shown in FIG. 3A. The plurality of graphical elements in this example are the integer numbers 0, 1, 2, . . . , 9 such that the wheel is a number wheel 300… other graphical elements (e.g. letters, words, symbols, punctuation marks, signs, characters, and/or other graphics) could also be used depending on the intended application [Liu 0083, Fig. 3A-3B] note: Liu Fig. 3A, 3B shows a one-dimensional list of a succession of number 0 through 9).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “to provide further obfuscation to an attacker [Liu 0139].”
Claim 7: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches a one-dimensional list (claim 1, above). Gorlich teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements associated with the virtual keypad furthermore comprises a delete element, confirmation of which causes a return to the previous element of the sequence forming the code (i.e. buttons are assigned for example the functions “delete all digits”, “delete last digit”, “confirm input” and “back” [Gorlich 0098]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of allowing users to navigate back, or to fix typos, which improves the user experience.
Claim 8: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich teaches “furthermore comprising, after each element of the sequence forming the code has been selected, submitting the code (i.e. 5. Please enter the first/second/third/fourth/ . . . /last digit of your PIN… Please tap twice to continue [Gorlich 0106-0110]).”
Claim 9: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach a mobile computing equipment comprising a data processing module (i.e. microprocessors for example in… mobile terminals [Gorlich 0010]) and a graphical user interface configured to have display functions deactivated, wherein the data processing module is configured to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach “A computer comprising a processor (i.e. microprocessors for example in… mobile terminals [Gorlich 0010]) and a memory, the memory storing code instructions of a computer program comprising code instructions (i.e. a microprocessor, a memory and an operating program 200 [Gorlich 0085]) to implement the method of claim 1 (See claim 1) for controlling a computing equipment when the program is executed by the processor.”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of allowing sighted users to also use the interface.
Claim 11: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a computer program stored thereon and comprising code instructions (i.e. computer-readable data carrier there is stored a computer program which performs the method when it is processed in one processor or a plurality of processors [Gorlich 0006]) for implementing the method of claim 1 for controlling a computing equipment (See claim 1).”
Claim 12: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements is a separate data type (i.e. plurality of graphical elements in this example are the integer numbers 0, 1, 2, . . . , 9 [Liu 0083]) than the virtual keypad (i.e. additionally, the plurality of elements of the user interface may include audio elements such as a voice listing numbers/letters/words/etc. for selection by a user [Liu 0054]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “to provide further obfuscation to an attacker [Liu 0139].”
Claim 13: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements associated with the virtual keypad furthermore comprises a confirm element that causes an end of the sequence forming the code and a submission of the obtained code (i.e. wheel of graphical elements 300 is shown in FIG. 3A. The plurality of graphical elements in this example are the integer numbers 0, 1, 2, . . . , 9 such that the wheel is a number wheel 300… other graphical elements (e.g. letters, words, symbols, punctuation marks, signs, characters, and/or other graphics) could also be used depending on the intended application [Liu 0083, Fig. 3A-3B]… a ‘next’ button could be pressed to indicate that the first number has been selected successfully and it is desired to select a subsequent number. Similarly, an ‘end’ button could be pressed to indicate that all necessary numbers have been selected [Liu 0096]… A ‘done’ button (or similar) may be provided for a user to press once the intended number is shown [Liu 0099, Fig. 18-19]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “to provide further obfuscation to an attacker [Liu 0139].”
Claim 14: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the method is implemented when a screen reading mode is activated (i.e. Audio Element Example… In one example, the plurality of elements for selection by a user may include one or more audio elements. For example, the video content may include audio comprising a voice listing numbers for selection by visually impaired users [Liu 0063-0064]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide audio, enabling blind users to use the interface.
Claim 15: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 14, above. Liu teaches “wherein elements of the virtual keypad are vocally presented as a single block (i.e. may include audio comprising a voice listing numbers for selection by visually impaired users. Each listed number may be considered to be an audio element for selection by a user. The user may select a particular audio element (i.e. spoken number) by providing a user interaction when the particular audio element is played to the user. For example, the user may click on a mouse or press a keyboard key (e.g. space bar) when they hear the number “6” being listed, so as to select audio element “6” [Liu 0064, Fig. 3A-8] note: Liu audibly lists a series of numbers. The series of number for a first digit of a PIN are presented as a single carousel, a single block, in Fig. 3A-8. Note2: specification mentions “present the content of the keypad vocally as a single block within which a plurality of entry actions are available. In other words, rather than having a “1” key, a “2” key, etc. whose position is difficult to ascertain, there is a single key that may be “1” or “2”, etc. [PGPUB 0065].” Specification mentions visually how a plurality of numbers can be on a single key, but specification does not disclose how elements are vocally presented as a single block. Liu discloses a plurality of elements on a number carousel, a single block. Liu discloses that the elements may be vocally presented. This satisfies the claimed limitation).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide audio, enabling blind users to use the interface.
Claim 16: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Liu teaches “wherein a current element from the one-dimensional list is defined as the element that will be selected if the keypad block is called upon (i.e. may include audio comprising a voice listing numbers for selection by visually impaired users. Each listed number may be considered to be an audio element for selection by a user. The user may select a particular audio element (i.e. spoken number) by providing a user interaction when the particular audio element is played to the user. For example, the user may click on a mouse or press a keyboard key (e.g. space bar) when they hear the number “6” being listed, so as to select audio element “6” [Liu 0064, Fig. 3A-8] note: Liu audibly lists a series of numbers. The series of number for a first digit of a PIN are presented as a single carousel, a single block, in Fig. 3A-8).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide audio, enabling blind users to use the interface.
Claim 17: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Liu teaches “wherein dummy elements are not presented vocally (i.e. There is also the option to add blank or dummy symbols [Liu 0147, Fig. 18]… may include audio comprising a voice listing numbers for selection by visually impaired users. Each listed number may be considered to be an audio element for selection by a user [Liu 0064]… an audio user interface which asks a user to select an option from listed audio options (e.g. “To play video file A, press any key now”, “To delete video file A, press any key now”, “To forward to the next video file, press any key now”) [Liu 0065]… a particular keyboard key could be pressed to select a given audio element (e.g. “To play video file A, press 1”, “To delete video file A, press 2”, “To forward to the next video file, press 3”) [Liu 0066] note: Liu discloses audio for selectable elements. Liu does not disclose audio for blank or dummy symbols).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide security features to blind users without causing blind users additional difficulty.
Claim 18: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements is presented (Liu Fig. 3A-3B) regardless of the position of the elements of the virtual keypad (Liu Fig. 18-19 shows the list of possible elements (the numbers 0-9) in a random manner).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “to provide further obfuscation to an attacker [Liu 0139].”
Claim 19: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Liu teaches “wherein the virtual keypad consists only of elements that are able to form part of the code and of dummy elements, including the numbers 0 to 9 and two, five or six dummy elements (Liu Fig. 18 shows a number entry with dummy spaces. There appears to be 2 dummy spaces each in columns 1, 2, and 4. Thus, there are six dummy elements).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit “to provide further obfuscation to an attacker [Liu 0139].”
Claim 20: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach an ordered one-dimensional list of elements in claim 1. Liu teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list of possible elements is a succession of numbers and letters (i.e. number wheel positions for the various selected numbers 0, 1, 2, . . . , 9 are shown in FIG. 4 [Liu 0086, Fig. 3-8]… letters, words,… could also be used [Liu 0083] Fig. 3-8, 15-17 show succession of numbers. Letters could also be used, and would likewise be ordered in in succession), and the virtual keypad is a grid comprising at least the numbers and letters (Liu Fig. 3-8, 15-17 shows grids comprising numbers. From Liu 0083, above, letters and words could also be used in the grids).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to arrange both numbers and letters on the keypad, for more password combinations, resulting in more secure passwords.
Claim 21: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach an ordered one-dimensional list of elements in claim 1. Gorlich teaches “wherein the gesture of the first type provides… [traversing] through the… list (i.e. By horizontal and vertical swipe gestures…, which will be explained further below, it is possible to shift the selection from the digit 5 to any of the other invisible keys 21 in accordance with the arrows shown in FIG. 1… [Gorlich 0037, Fig. 1]… wherein the selection of the selected invisible key 22 can also be shifted by diagonal swipe gestures [Gorlich 0039, Fig. 2] note: from current key “5” to next element in the list “6” with a horizontal swipe).”
Gorlich is silent regarding “scrolling” through the list.
Liu teaches “wherein the gesture… provides scrolling through the one-dimensional list (i.e. the first user interaction comprises a swipe up/down over the number wheel 300 which causes the wheel 300 to rotate to the intended number in the direction of the swiping motion [Liu 0099]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to access elements off the screen, which increases the number of elements that can be used to create a password, which increases security.
Claim 22: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich teaches “wherein the ordered… list is a succession of the numbers from 0 to 9 (Gorlich Fig. 1 shows ordered list 0-9, which are in succession of increasing order, which are possible elements of the virtual keypad).” Liu teaches “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list is a succession of the numbers from 0 to 9 (i.e. wheel of graphical elements 300 is shown in FIG. 3A. The plurality of graphical elements in this example are the integer numbers 0, 1, 2, . . . , 9 such that the wheel is a number wheel 300… other graphical elements (e.g. letters, words, symbols, punctuation marks, signs, characters, and/or other graphics) could also be used depending on the intended application [Liu 0083, Fig. 3A-3B] note: Liu Fig. 3A, 3B shows a one-dimensional list of a succession of number 0 through 9).”
One would have been motivated to combine Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of allowing sighted users to also use the security features of the interface, and to allow simplicity for accessibility, and to increase security when submitting passcodes.
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorlich, in view of Liu, in view of Gorlich2, in view of Depare et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20160171899 A1 (hereinafter “Depare”).
Claim 23: Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 teach an ordered one-dimensional list of elements in claim 1. Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 are silent regarding “wherein the ordered one-dimensional list is a succession of the numbers from 0 to 9 and then the letters from A to Z.”
Depare teaches “wherein the ordered list is a succession of the numbers from 0 to 9 and then the letters from A to Z (i.e. FIGS. 16 and 17 illustrates that the user can also enter… using a virtual keyboard [Depare 0088, Fig. 16-17] note: Fig. 16-17 shows an ordered list with a succession of letters from A-Z and then the numbers from 0-9. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to order the list with the numbers and then the letters as claimed, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the numbers then letters, or with letters then numbers).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Gorlich and Liu and Gorlich2 to include the feature of having the ability to have an ordered list as disclosed by Depare.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to have alphanumeric passwords in addition to just numbers, which increases the number of possible passwords, which increases security.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haque (US 20180341757 A1) listed on 892 is related to accessibility features when entering PIN codes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179