DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the papers filed on August 21, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 17, 20-21, 23, 48, 50, 52, 55, 59 and 67 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended, no claims are newly added and no claims are canceled by Applicant’s amendments filed on 08/21/2026. Claims 1 and 48 are independent claims.
Election/Restrictions
In response to the restriction requirement filed on 7/29/2024, Applicant's election with traverse of the following species in the reply filed on 11/25/2024 was previously acknowledged:
Capsid protein sequence: SEQ ID NO: 2 (claim 1)
Transgene sequence: SEQ ID NO: 7 (claim 10)
rAAV gene therapy vector sequence: SEQ ID NO: 10 (claim 23)
Target organ: Heart (claim 59)
Effect upon administration: LAMP2B protein expression (claim 59)
The species election requirement was previously made Final.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 8, 10, 17, 20-21, 23, 48, 50, 52, 55, 59 and 67 are pending in the application and examined on the merits. Claims 1 and 48 are independent claims.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2020/017987, filed February, 12 2020
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional applications 62/934,928, filed 11/13/2019, and 62/804,521 filed 02/12/2019 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is February 12, 2019.
Response to arguments
Withdrawn objections/ Rejections in response to Applicants’ arguments or amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 20 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026 have been considered and are persuasive. In particular, Applicant has amended claim 20 in order to clarify the ITRs are the same as the ITRs in the independent claim 1.
Maintained objections/ Rejections in response to Applicants’ arguments or amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 17, 21, 48, 50, 52, 55, 59 and 67 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (WO2017/127565; previously cited) in view of Mendell (WO2013/078316; IDS Reference) as evidenced by RNG (20250204_142835_us-17-430-107-1.rng; Search Result within Application), RAI (20250204_142842_us-17-430-107-2.rai; Search Result within Application), Lang (2019, NATURE COMMUNICATIONS 10:3415), and Jackson Lab (Body Weight Information for C57BL/6J; accessed 10/31/2022).
This rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026.
Regarding claims 1, 48, 55, and 67, Adler teaches an rAAV vector comprising an AAV capsid protein and LAMP-2 flanked by ITRs for the purpose of treating Danon disease (Abstract, para. 0030, Figure 1). The AAV vector serotype is selected from AAV1-AAV11 and AAVrh10 (para. 0066). This vector is in a pharmaceutical composition comprising pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, diluents or excipients such as saline solutions (para. 0081-0082). Adler further teaches that Danon disease is a skeletal and cardiac muscle disorder (para. 0006). Moreover, the subject to be treated can be any mammal at any stage of development such as a human through intravenous injection of the polynucleotide of the vector encoding LAMP2 (para. 0057, 0061, 0066, 0081, 0088, Claim 1, 20, Example 9).
Regarding the claimed range of dosages and amounts, Adler teaches administering the gene therapy vector at a dose of 5x1011 , 1x1012, and 2x1012 gc/mouse (Example 3, 5, 9). As genome copies (gc) are viral particles with the target genome and is known in the art according to Lang that AAV vectors have gc/ml equal to vg/ml (p. 8, AAV vectors), it is interpreted that a dose of 2x1012 gc would therefore have 2x1012 vg. As evidenced by Jackson Lab, male mice at 6 months weigh about 36 grams (C57/BL/6J; 24 weeks). Therefore, it would be determined that the dosages within the Examples would be 5x1011 vg/36g to 2x1012 vg/36g = 1.3 x 1013 to 5.6 x 1013 vg/kg which overlaps the claimed range. Moreover, Adler discloses dosages up to 1016 viral genome per ml, at up to 100 microliters which would be 2.8 x1017 vg/kg as the highest disclosed dosage in a subject such as a mouse.
MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).”
However, Adler does not teach an AAVrh.74 capsid protein sequence encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1.
Mendell teaches utilizing an rh.74 AAV capsid protein encoded by their SEQ ID NO: 1 which has a 100% identity to the present application’s SEQ ID NO: 1 (RNG; Result #1) in their method of delivering a gene to the muscle of a subject (para. 0017). Mendell teaches methods of transducing a target cell such as skeletal muscle, smooth muscle or cardiac muscle cells with an rAAV encoding a therapeutic gene of interest (para. 0033). Previous studies have shown that AAVrh.74 delivered through circulation is vastly superior to AAV1 and superior to AAV6 in transducing skeletal muscle (para. 0076). Mendell reduces to practice that transgenes are expressed with broad distribution throughout the major muscles of the lower limb when utilizing the AAVrh.74 capsid encoded by the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (para. 0097, 0017, Claim 1). Mendell further teaches that the amino acid sequence for this SEQ ID NO: 1 capsid is SEQ ID NO: 2 which has a 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the present application (RAI, Result #5; Mendell, para. 0017)
Based on such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to deliver a LAMP2 transgene for the treatment of Danon Disease via substituting the AAV capsid protein in Adler for the AAVrh.74 capsid protein encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 2 as taught by Mendell with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to utilize an AAVrh.74 protein capsid in the treatment of Danon disease as Adler teaches that Danon disease is a skeletal muscle and cardiac muscle disorder (para. 0006) and previous studies have shown that AAVrh.74 delivered through circulation is vastly superior to AAV1 and superior to AAV6 in transducing skeletal muscle (Mendell; para. 0076). Therefore, an artisan would be motivated to utilize a known superior capsid protein.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1. Moreover, Adler teaches one or more LAMP2 isoforms (LAMP-2A, LAMP-2B, LAMP-2C) located within the AAV construct (para. 0031, Figure 1B, 1G, 1O).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1. Moreover, Adler teaches that their vector has ITRs for 3’ and 5’ from AAV2 and that the AAV expression vector need not necessarily be identical or derived from the same AAV serotype (para. 0068, 0099)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1. Moreover, Adler’s construct does not have a start codon 5’ to the transgene’s start codon, as Adler shows the LAMP2 coding region transgene has one isoform of LAMP2 and the only element upstream from the LAMP2 isoform is the ITR and promoter sequence (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1. Moreover, Adler teaches that one construct containing a cardiac-specific promoter such as, but not limited to, the cardiac troponin T2 promoter and this construct is used to express the transgene only in cardiac tissue to avoid hepatic expression (i.e. expression in liver tissue) (para. 0036, Figure 1E).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1 and the method of claim 48 utilizing the pharmaceutical composition intravenously. Moreover, Adler demonstrates examples of administering the vectors to LAMP-2 KO mice which model Danon disease (Example 2-3). Furthermore, Adler discloses that the target subject/patient is one at risk of Danon disease as other disorders of autophagy such as heart failure, or on which currently has Danon disease (para. 0057, 0059).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1 and the method of claim 48 utilizing the pharmaceutical composition intravenously. Moreover, Adler demonstrates examples of administering the vectors to LAMP-2 KO mice (i.e. reduced or non-detectable endogenous LAMP-2 expression) (Example 2-3).
Regarding claim 59, the combination of Adler and Mendell make obvious the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1 and the method of claim 48 utilizing the pharmaceutical composition intravenously. Moreover, Adler teaches the administration of the gene therapy vector encoding LAMP2B causes dose dependent increase in mRNA expression and protein expression in heart tissue (para. 103-104, Example 3, Figure 5 and 6).
Therefore, the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (supra) in view of Mendell (supra) as evidenced by RNG (supra), RAI (supra), Lang (supra) and Jackson Lab (supra) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Li (Mol Hum Reprod. 2009 Aug 3;15(12):779–788) and Minshull (US Patent No. 11,713,468) as evidenced by RNI (20250204_142836_us-17-430-107-26.rni; Sequence Search Result within Application)
This rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026.
As discussed above, Adler and Mendell make obvious a rAAV gene therapy vector comprising an AAV capsid protein and LAMP-2 flanked by ITRs for the purpose of treating Danon disease in a human subject wherein the rh.74 AAV capsid is encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1.
Regarding claim 20, Adler teaches that expression cassette comprises operably linked in the 5' to 3' direction, a first inverse terminal repeat, an enhancer/promoter region, the polynucleotide encoding one or more isoforms of LAMP-2, a 3' untranslated region including a polyadenylation signal, and a second inverse terminal repeat (Claim 8). Adler’s construct does not have a start codon 5’ to the transgene’s start codon, as Adler shows the LAMP2 coding region transgene has one isoform of LAMP2 and the only element upstream from the LAMP2 isoform is the ITR and promoter sequence (Figure 1A).
However, Adler nor Mendell teaches that the polyadenylation sequence is a full length polyA sequence and does not teach that a consensus optimal Kozak sequence is also present within the construct.
The present application discloses a consensus optimal Kozak sequence as SEQ ID NO: 20 (GCCGCCACCATGG) and full length polyadenylation signal is SEQ ID NO: 26
Li teaches that the “perfect Kozak sequence (gccgccaccatgg)” was engineered to ensure the correct and efficient initiation of translation of expression constructs via ribosomes by Kozak in 1986-87 (p. 782, 2nd column).
Minshull teaches a polyadenylation signal encoded by SEQ ID NO: 212 utilized within polynucleotide vector for high expression of heterologous genes (Abstract; Column 35, lines 39-49). As evidenced by the RNI file for SEQ ID NO: 26, Minshull’s SEQ ID NO: 212 is the same as the present application’s SEQ ID NO: 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rh.74 AAV construct taught by Adler and Mendell by substituting the polyadenylation signal already present in Adler for Minshull’s polyadenylation signal (the same sequence as present application’s full length polyadenylation signal) and additionally include a Kozak sequence inside the construct as taught by Li et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to include a Kozak sequence, particularly an optimal consensus Kozak sequence, in the AAV vector as Li teaches said sequence is known in the art to ensure correct translation of expression constructs (p. 782, 2nd column). Regarding the polyadenylation signal, one would be substituting known art recognized equivalent polyadenylation signals for the purpose of expressing a target gene within a construct (See MPEP 2144.06)
Therefore, the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
In response to Applicant’s arguments and amendments regarding the 103 rejections,
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026 have been considered. However, they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Office action fails to provide any citation or reference which teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising 1 x 1013 to 3 x 1014 vg/kg of an rAAV vector for administration to a human. In particular, Applicant points to the reasoning which converts vg to vg/kg per average mouse detailed in the rejection above and states human dosages cannot be achieved by dividing a dose of an average body weight of a mouse. Applicant further cites the reference of Nair which details a conversion from mouse to human which demonstrates that the FDA and other calculation standards for “human equivalent dose” (HED) are utilized and known in the art.
While the examiner acknowledges that there are other conversions and factors to take into consideration when converting mouse dosage to human dosage for clinical trials, Adler still provides teachings which would provide a range within the claimed range. The rejection has been modified in light of these new arguments to show that Adler discloses dosages up to 1016 viral genome per ml, at up to 100 microliters which would be 2.8 x1017 vg/kg as the highest disclosed dosage in a subject such as a mouse.
If taking into consideration the reference of Nair utilized to calculate an HED from the Example dosages and the upper range of dosage indicated, the following dosages would be described:
Nair states that the conversion factor from mouse to human is multiply the mouse dosage by 0.081.
As calculated previously and detailed in the above rejection, 1.3 x 1013 to 5.6 x 1013 vg/kg in a mouse are found in Adler’s Examples. Moreover, Adler details each unit dosage of LAMP-2 polypeptide expressing vector may comprise 2.5 μΙ to 100 μΙ of a composition including a viral expression vector in a pharmaceutically acceptable fluid at a concentration ranging from 1011 to 1016 viral genome per ml (para. 0096). If considering the same 36g weight of a mouse, the highest disclosed dosage of an experiment with a mouse, is 2.8 x1017 vg/kg administered.
Taking the 0.081 value to produce an HED from the mouse dosage:
1.3 x 1013 to 5.6 x 1013 (0.081) = 1.0 x1012 to 4.5 x 1012 vg/kg in humans
2.8 x1017 (0.081) = 2.3 x1016 vg/kg in humans as the highest dose disclosed by Adler
Therefore, calculating via the reference Applicant has provided, the human equivalent dosage is encompassed in the range of Adler.
Moreover, Adler states “the therapeutically effective amount of the vector according to the invention that should be administered, as well as the dosage for the treatment of a pathological condition with the number of viral or non-viral particles and/or pharmaceutical compositions described herein, will depend on numerous factors, including the age and condition of the patient, the severity of the disturbance or disorder, the method and frequency of administration and the particular peptide to be used” (para. 0080).
Double Patenting
Independent claims 1 and 48 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 38 of copending Application No. 18265421 (reference application).
This rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026 and the amendments filed 06/25/2026 to the reference Application.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Application ‘421 teaches the genus to the present application’s species. Application ‘421 a composition (unit dose) for treating Danon disease in a human which comprises an AAV comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding a LAMP-2 protein. Moreover, the claimed range of dosage overlaps the claimed dosage in the present application (claim 38). The LAMP-2 protein of Application ‘421 known as SEQ ID NO: 1 has a 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the present invention and the expression cassette is flanked by a 5’ ITR and 3’ITR (Clam 47 and 53).
Thus, the claims of the instant application are encompassed by, or overlap in scope significantly with, the claims of 18/265421.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In response to Applicant’s arguments and amendments regarding the Double Patenting,
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/21/2026 have been considered. However, they are not persuasive. Applicant requests rejections be held in abeyance while the copending applications are being examined, this request is denied.
Allowable Subject Matter
With respect to Claim 10, the claims are directed to a codon-optimized nucleic acid sequence encoded by SEQ ID NO: 7 which encodes a LAMP2 gene. For which the nearest sequence search result is 60% identical.
Grote et al (JCat: a novel tool to adapt codon usage of a target gene to its potential expression host, Nucleic Acids Research 33: W526-W531; doi:10.1093/nar/gki376, 2005) is considered relevant prior art for having taught a free, publicly available, online codon optimization tool, JCat.
Similarly, Daniel et al (ATGme: Open-source web application for rare codon identification and custom DNA sequence optimization, BMC Bioinformatics 16: 303, 6 pages, doi.10.1186/s12859-015-0743-5; 2015) is considered relevant prior art for having taught a free, publicly available, online codon optimization tool, ATGme. Daniel et al taught that while other codon optimization tools were previously available to the ordinary artisan, most are no longer available (e.g. pg 2, col. 2).
Heintz et al (U.S. 2014/0196176) is considered relevant prior art for having disclosed that those of ordinary skill in the art previously recognized the scientific and technical concepts that codon optimization allows for maximum protein expression by increasing the translational efficiency of the artisan’s gene of interest, whereby codon optimization is a standard component of custom gene design, and may be readily obtained from commercial service providers [0029].
With respect to Claim 23, SEQ ID NO:10 is a codon-optimized expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide encoding LAMP2 which is free of the prior art. The closest prior art aside from Applicant’s own work is below 50% sequence identity.
The Examiner finds that JCat yields a codon-optimized nucleic acid sequence that is about 69% identical to SEQ ID NO:7.
The Examiner finds that JCat yields a codon-optimized nucleic acid sequence that is about 69% identical to SEQ ID NO:10.
The Examiner does not have access to proprietary or commercial codon-optimization tools with which to compare their results to SEQ ID NO: 7 or 10.
Therefore, it is determined that SEQ ID NO: 7 and 10 within Claims 10 and 23 are free of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 8, 17, 20-21, 48, 50, 52, 55, 59 and 67 are rejected.
Claims 10 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA F CONNORS/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634