DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 17/430,210
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims received 28 October 2025.
Claims 1, 15-18, 48-50, 52-55, 58, 63, 71, 100-101, and 105 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent applications PCT/US2020/17941 (filed 12 February 2020), 62/804,523 (filed 12 February 2019), 62/863,904 (filed 20 June 2019), 62/908,431 (filed 30 September 2019), and 62/932,015 (filed 7 November 2019) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
For the purposes of the instant office action, the Examiner has determined the priority date of the instant claims to be 20 June 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 28 October 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
The objections to the specification, present in the previous office action, are hereby maintained.
The objections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
35 U.S.C. 112 rejections to the claims are presented herein.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s declaration, but new rejections are made herein as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The double patenting rejections to the claims, present in the previous rejection, are hereby withdrawn, due to the terminal disclaimers filed by the Applicant. A new double patenting rejection is presented herein due to Applicant’s newly filed application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments received 28 October 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has submitted a declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) stating that the MIRUM reference, cited by the Examiner in the previous office action, originated from the instant inventors. The Examiner has, therefore, not relied upon the MIRUM reference within any rejections in the instant action. As necessitated by Applicant’s removal of the MIRUM reference, the Examiner has provided new rejections of the instant claims below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The instant specification refers to red and blue colors within the descriptions of Figs. 32A-32H, but these figures currently have no color. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 53-55, 58, 63, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 53-55 each recite “a change in a disease-relevant laboratory measure”. However, this change in a laboratory measure was previously established in parent claim 52. Each of these claims should recite “the change” to properly refer back to the change of claim 52. As currently written, it is unclear if the same change is being referred to in claims 53-55. This renders claims 53-55, 58, 63, and 71 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-18, 48-50, 52-53, 58, 63, 71, 100-101, and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
GEDULIN (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 11 August 2021; US 2013/0108573; Publication Date 2 May 2013).
GEDULIN teaches maralixibat and maralixibat chloride as species of Formula II therein in paragraph [0247] and claim 6. Claims 24 and 25 of GEDULIN teach a method for treating a cholestatic liver disease through the administration of an Apical Sodium-dependent Bile Acid Transporter Inhibitor (ASBTI) of Formula II. GEDULIN teaches that the method of claim 24 therein can be used to treat progressive familial intrahepatic cholestasis (PFIC) type 2 and is also useful to treat pruritus (claim 41). GEDULIN teaches that the dosage of an ASBTI therein can be from 0.1 to 10 mg/kg (100 to 10,000 µg/kg) in a single dose (paragraph [0511]). Paragraph [0041] of GEDULIN teaches that the dosages therein may be given once per day or twice per day. Paragraph [0023] of GEDULIN teaches that the methods therein can be applied to children between 2 and 10 years of age.
Regarding the dosages within claims 1, 50, and 105: The term “about” does not have a closed definition within the instant specification. The dosage range taught by GEDULIN, being 100 to 10,000 µg/kg once or twice daily (see citations above), entirely encompasses the dosage ranges claimed by instant claims 1, 50, and 105. The Examiner does not find that the range taught by the reference is described with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory of the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2131.03(II). However, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17: GEDULIN teaches that PFIC2 is “associated with mutations in the ABCB11 gene” (paragraph [0094]). GEDULIN does not explicitly teach a patient or subject having a non-truncating mutation in a copy of the ABCB11 gene. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to apply the treatment method of GEDULIN to a patient having a non-truncating mutation in a copy of the ABCB11 gene, because GEDULIN teaches the usefulness of the method for patients generally having mutations in that gene.
Regarding claims 52-53, 58, 63, 71, and 100-101: As shown above, all of the positive steps of the instantly claimed method, being those steps that can be performed by the artisan, are rendered obvious by GEDULIN. The effects of the instantly claimed method cannot be separated from the positive steps performed by the artisan. As long as the positive steps of the method are rendered obvious, the effects of the instantly claimed method must have occurred whether or not they were taught by the reference.
Claims 1, 15-18, 48-50, 52-55, 58, 63, 71, 100-101, and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
GEDULIN (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 11 August 2021; US 2013/0108573; Publication Date 2 May 2013)
in view of:
AGARWAL (Previously cited by the Examiner; Agarwal, S.; Lal, B.B.; Rawat, D.; et al. “Progressive Familial Intrahepatic Cholestasis (PFIC) in Indian Children: Clinical Spectrum and Outcome” Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hepatology | September 2016 | Vol. 6 | No. 3 | 203–208).
Teachings of GEDULIN are described within the rejections above.
Regarding claims 54-55: GEDULIN does not explicitly teach the measurement of height or weight Z-scores for patients therein.
AGARWAL provides teachings related to children suffering from PFIC (abstract). AGARWAL focuses on 24 children with PFIC in the results section. AGARWAL teaches that the “weight for height z score” showed wasting in 15 of these children suffering from PFIC, and 13 of the children were found to have a height for age z score indicating stunting (results section on Pg. 205).
The teachings of AGARWAL show that one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that determining height and weight z scores to monitor children with PFIC was a standard technique. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective instant filing date, to combine the standard technique of determining the height and weight z scores for children having PFIC with the method of treating PFIC taught by GEDULIN, for the purpose of determining the efficacy of the method of treatment taught by GEDULIN. The artisan would have expected success in this combination, because the methods of both AGARWAL and GEDULIN relate to pediatric patients having PFIC.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 15-18, 48-50, 52-55, 58, 63, 71, 100-101, and 105 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claims 1-3, 9, 12, 16-20, and 23-27 of copending Application No. 19/271,591 (referred to below as the ‘591 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: Claim 1 of the ‘591 application teaches a method of treating cholestatic liver disease in a subject through the administration of 10-1400 µg/kg/day of an ASBTI. This range reads on the instantly claimed ranges. See MPEP 2131.03(II). Claims 2-3 of the ‘591 application teaches that the ASBTI may be maralixibat chloride. Claims 9, 12, and 16 of the ‘591 application teach that the cholestatic liver disease therein may be PFIC type 2. Claim 17 of the ‘591 application teaches that the subject has a non-truncating mutation in the ABCB11 gene. Claim 18 of the ‘591 application teaches that the subject is a pediatric subject. Claims 19-20 of the ‘591 application teach once or twice daily administration. Claims 23, 24, 25, and 26-27 (together) respectively read on instant claims 52, 53, 54, and 55, and the claim language is nearly identical.
Regarding claims 58, 63, 71, and 100-101: As shown above, all of the positive steps of the instantly claimed method, being those steps that can be performed by the artisan, are rendered obvious by the ‘591 application. The effects of the instantly claimed method cannot be separated from the positive steps performed by the artisan. As long as the positive steps of the method are rendered obvious, the effects of the instantly claimed method must have occurred whether or not they were taught by the reference.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625