DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/09/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 17-20 are new. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Baldwin for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made over Shah in view of Baldwin.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ln. 5-6 should read ---into such organ while[[-]] a source of supply of irrigation liquid [[as]] at a high elevation causes a pressure increasing tendency,---
Claim 17, ln. 5-6 should read ---into such organ while[[-]] a source of supply of irrigation liquid [[as]] at a high elevation causes a pressure increasing tendency,---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the liquid drainage body" in ln. 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such “liquid drainage body” will be interpreted as being the same as “the drainage body”.
Claim 8 is rejected due to dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (Pub. No.: US 2018/0289394 A1) and further in view of Baldwin (Pub. No.: US 2015/0119645 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses (fig. 2, 4) an organ flush and drainage pressure regulating apparatus (suction unit, fig. 2(d), 2(e), ¶ 0021) for at least limiting an increase of pressure within a body organ during a liquid irrigation procedure in which liquid is flushed there through in achieving a medical objective (¶ 0040) by means of an organ working instrument (nephroscope 1, fig. 2(f)) that in performing its working action passes along an organ access sheath (renal sheath, fig. 2(a)-2)(c)) of which a leading end is positioned into such organ (¶ 0104, fig. 4), the apparatus comprising:
A unit wall defining a drainage body (see suction unit fig. 2(d), 2(e)) characterized by and enclosing a drainage zone comprising a drainage chamber (see reservoir 1), ¶ 0076);
A coupling passage extending through a wall of the drainage body (inlet 2) that is compatibly dimensioned to enable sealable engagement of the drainage body against unintentional release to a trailing end of such access sheath (fig. 2, ¶ 0079);
An instrument insertion aperture (aperture of sealing cap 5) extending from and in alignment with the coupling passage through the wall of the body to enable insertion of such organ working instrument there and through the coupling passage along such access sheath once the body is coupled for use (fig. 2(d), ¶ 0081); and
A drainage cum charging stub (outlet 3) along which irrigation liquid flows whether returning along or becoming charged to such access sheath on passing along the drainage zone during an organ working action, wherein the drainage cum charging stub is connected to the drainage body at a drainage location and is configurable to function as at least one of an irrigation supply and a drainage outlet (¶ 0082),
Wherein the instrument insertion aperture is formed with a penetrable sealing means that maintains a sealing effect against such organ working instrument once inserted along the instrument insertion aperture (sealing cap 5, ¶ 0081) allowing pressure to be controlled and stabilized to cause a passive flushing of the irrigation liquid by maintaining the elevation of the source of supply of irrigation liquid and a drained liquid release outlet (¶ 0032); and
Wherein a bottom of the drainage chamber is configured to be lower than the drainage location, during operative use (fig. 4, patient is in prone position, ¶ 0094) and is sized to enable particulate matter to be captured in the drainage chamber while allowing returning irrigation liquid to flow to the drainage cum charging stub without the particulate matter (¶ 0082).
Shah fails to disclose that a source of irrigation liquid at a high elevation creates a pressure increasing tendency. However, such limitation relates to the function of the system. Such limitation relating to the source of irrigation liquid is separate from the apparatus. Furthermore, the apparatus of Shah is identical to the claimed invention and is fully capable of creating a pressure increasing tendency by positioning the source of supply of irrigation liquid at a high elevation.
Features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2173.05(g). If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432.
Further, Baldwin teaches an organ flush and drainage pressure regulating apparatus (cap 4, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, wherein a source of irrigation liquid at a high elevation creates a pressure increasing tendency (¶ 0044), in order to affect the pressure inside the renal collecting system (¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shah such that the source of supply of irrigation liquid is at a high elevation to create a pressure increasing tendency, as taught by Baldwin, in order to affect the pressure inside the renal collecting system (Baldwin ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 2, Shah discloses wherein the sealing means is in the form of a membrane type penetrable resilient member extending transverse to the direction of the organ working instrument along the drainage body, and wherein the membrane type penetrable resilient member is formed with a central location for instrument penetration, and wherein the membrane penetrable resilient member forms an inner lip when penetrated that urges sealably against such organ working instrument once inserted along the resilient member (fig. 2, 4, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0094).
Regarding claim 3, Shah discloses wherein the drainage body is formed with a low pressure relief function (suction controlling opening 10) to enable the ingress of environmental air into the drainage zone in performing a pressure stabilizing effect in the case of an excessive syphoning pressure reduction effect during operative use of the equipment (¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 7, Shah discloses wherein the drainage body is formed with a guiding formation extending away from the sealing means along which the organ working instrument is guidable into and through the instrument insertion aperture once becoming positioned for use (fig. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 8, Shah discloses wherein the guiding formation is in the form of a guiding funnel (see flap valve 4) that is integrally formed with the liquid drainage body apexing in close vicinity of the instrument insertion aperture (fig. 2, ¶ 0077).
Regarding claim 9, Shah discloses wherein the coupling passage extends along a mouth that is sealingly engageable with the with a funnel type inlet forming the trailing end of the organ access sheath in response to being socketably receivable into the flared end region of such funnel type inlet in being couplable against unintentional release to the trailing end of such access sheath (fig. 2, ¶ 0079).
Regarding claim 10, Shah discloses wherein the mouth is dimensioned to be connected to the inlet funnel of an ureteric access sheath (¶ 0079, ¶ 0018).
Regarding claim 11¸ Shah discloses wherein the drainage cum charging stub is connected to the drainage location to perform a drainage function along which irrigation liquid as returning along such access sheath during an organ working action is drained from the drainage zone via the drainage location (fig. 2, 4, ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 12, Shah discloses wherein the drainage location is spaced from the coupling passage to enable it to be operated at an elevated position in relation to the coupling passage during operative use of the apparatus in limiting the ingress of particulate matter thereto in the case of such becoming removed from the organ in response to the operation of the organ working instrument also involving such action having the effect of in such matter becoming accumulated within the drainage zone (¶ 0032, ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 13, Shah fails to disclose wherein the drainage cum charging stub is connected to a supply source and via which the irrigation liquid is charged from the supply source along the coupling passage through the organ access sheath to and through the organ form which the irrigation liquid is flushed along the working instrument to an end in the location of collected drained liquid.
Baldwin teaches (fig. 1-5) a drainage cum charging stub (inflow port 30) connected to a supply source and via which the irrigation liquid is charged from the supply source (¶ 0056), wherein such drainage cum charging stub is sufficient for providing access from an irrigation source (¶ 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drainage cum charging stub of Shah in view of Baldwin such that it is connected to a supply source, as taught by Baldwin, thus configuring the irrigation liquid to be charged from the supply source along the coupling passage through the organ access sheath to and through the organ form which the irrigation liquid is flushed along the working instrument to an end in the location of collected drained liquid, as such drainage cum charging stub is sufficient for providing access from an irrigation source (Baldwin ¶ 0056).
Regarding claim 14, Shah discloses wherein the drainage cum charging stub is connectable by a flexible tube serving either as drainage or charging tube (¶ 0080).
Regarding claim 15, Shah discloses wherein the unit wall is formed about a central axis extending along the drainage zone, the coupling passage and the instrument insertion aperture as fitted with the sealing means with the drainage cum charging stub extending laterally with respect to the axis from the drainage body (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Shah discloses wherein the drainage chamber is in the form of a tubular drainage chamber defined intermediate of the coupling passage and the sealing means (fig. 2)
Regarding claim 17, Shah discloses (fig. 2, 4) an organ flush and drainage pressure regulating apparatus (suction unit, fig. 2(d), 2(e), ¶ 0021) for at least limiting an increase of pressure within a body organ during a liquid irrigation procedure in which liquid is flushed there through in achieving a medical objective (¶ 0040) by means of an organ working instrument (nephroscope 1, fig. 2(f)) that in performing its working action passes along an organ access sheath (renal sheath, fig. 2(a)-2)(c)) of which a leading end is positioned into such organ (¶ 0104, fig. 4) while a source of irrigation liquid at a high elevation creates a pressure increasing tendency (¶ 0032), the apparatus comprising:
A unit wall defining a drainage body (see suction unit fig. 2(d), 2(e)) characterized by and enclosing a drainage zone comprising a drainage chamber (see reservoir 1), ¶ 0076);
A coupling passage extending through a wall of the drainage body (inlet 2) that is compatibly dimensioned to enable sealable engagement of the drainage body against unintentional release to a trailing end of such access sheath (fig. 2, ¶ 0079);
An instrument insertion aperture (aperture of sealing cap 5) extending from and in alignment with the coupling passage through the wall of the body to enable insertion of such organ working instrument there and through the coupling passage along such access sheath once the body is coupled for use (fig. 2(d), ¶ 0081); and
A drainage cum charging stub (outlet 3) along which irrigation liquid flows whether returning along or becoming charged to such access sheath on passing along the drainage zone during an organ working action, wherein the drainage cum charging stub is connected to the drainage body at a drainage location and is configurable to function as at least one of an irrigation supply and a drainage outlet (¶ 0082),
Wherein the instrument insertion aperture is formed with a penetrable sealing means that maintains a sealing effect against such organ working instrument once inserted along the instrument insertion aperture (sealing cap 5, ¶ 0081) allowing pressure to be controlled and stabilized to cause a passive flushing of the irrigation liquid by maintaining the elevation of the source of supply of irrigation liquid and a drained liquid release outlet (¶ 0032);
Wherein the drainage body is formed with a low pressure relief function (suction controlling opening 10) to enable the ingress of environmental air into the drainage zone in performing a pressure stabilizing effect in the case of an excessive syphoning pressure reduction effect during operative use of the equipment (¶ 0082); and
Wherein a bottom of the drainage chamber is configured to be lower than the drainage location, during operative use and is sized to enable particulate matter to be captured in the drainage chamber while allowing returning irrigation liquid to flow to the drainage cum charging stub without the particulate matter (¶ 0082)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 4 and 18 recite “wherein the low pressure relief function is incorporated into the sealing means”. The closest prior art is Shah, cited above. Shah fails to disclose that the low pressure relief function is incorporated into the sealing means. Rather, Shah discloses a low pressure relief function incorporated into the drainage body. Shah further discloses that the sealing means allows passage of the sheath without air or water leak, making the sheath assembly water and air tight for suction to work (¶ 0077). Thus, Shah teaches away from the low pressure relief function being incorporated into the sealing means since the sealing means of Shah is water and air tight.
Claims 5-6 depend from claim 4 and are allowable by virtue of dependency.
Claims 19-20 depend from claim 18 and are allowable by virtue of dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ortiz et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0228092 A1) discloses an access device. Formichi (Pub. No.: US 2006/0084927 A1) discloses a device having a charging stub.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781