DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 08/03/2026 are acknowledged.
However, applicants’ arguments for the previous 103 rejection are found not persuasive. Accordingly, the previous rejection is maintained and modified to address claim amendments. Please see the examiners response to applicants below.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the Examiner cannot assume that because a compound shows some effect on mouse burrowing behavior, it would necessarily improve specific human cognitive parameters (inhibitory control and impulsivity) as measured by a specific human cognitive assessment (anticue task). This appears to be impermissible hindsight reconstruction using Applicant's own disclosure as a roadmap.
It may be a different methodology to measure the desired parameters. However, the root mechanism is same from the teachings of cited art, which is administration of subtilisin A hydrolysate of lysozyme in both cases.
Applicants argue that in the present application, the inventors "surprisingly found in a randomized double- blind, placebo controlled, cross-over study that administering a composition comprising a protein lysate to human subjects resulted in improved cognitive functioning." See e.g. paragraph [0047] of the present specification. This unexpected result in humans cannot be predicted from Jonker's mouse studies, even if combined with Adam.
It appears that applicants failed to explain why the shown data or unexpected results in humans cannot be predictable. In fact, in the drug discovery, first step is testing the drug in vitro, then in vivo and then in animal models, such as mouse or rat, monkey etc., before testing on humans in clinical trials, which is a common practice in the art.
Applicants argue that the Jonker reference does not teach an effective amount for improving inhibitory control or impulsivity.
The term “effective amount” is a functional limitation, and it refers to a quantity of an active ingredient sufficient to achieve a stated therapeutic or functional effect, but it is not a fixed numerical value unless the disclosure defines it. In this case, example 9 of Jonker, quantity of active ingredients is being administered to get functional tests. This amount is interpreted as an effective amount.
Applicants argue that the claimed "effective amount" is not a result-effective variable that could be optimized through routine experimentation because Jonker provides no starting point or guidance for what amount would be effective for improving inhibitory control or impulsivity in humans Jonker only tested mice for burrowing behavior related to neurodegenerative disease progression.
Jonker recognized the property of subtilisin A hydrolysate of lysozyme and also exemplified with a quantity of active ingredients in example 9. Concentrations of active ingredients depend on the condition(s) of composition or formulation, because of solvent(s) or other components in the composition may alter the property of active agents. So, a skilled person in the art would determine suitable concentration range of active agent through a routine experimentation, until it achieves a recognized results or property.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 12-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker (WO 2017/144443 A1) in view of Adam (Acta Psychologica, 2015, 161, 137-144).
For claim 1:
Jonker teaches a functional test on male mice by administering NWT-03 (aka subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme) by using burrowing test [see Examples 8 and 9], wherein the test comprising the following:
The mice were habituated to the procedure a week prior to the test by placement of the burrow tube into the home cage. After two baseline measurements the burrow test was performed. The mouse was placed in a cage with the burrow tube containing 200 g of food pellets. The difference between the burrowing behavior at the start (t = 9 weeks) and the end (t = 21 weeks) of the treatment was determined.
It was found that the mice fed with a high fat diet (group 1) and those fed with a high fat diet in combination with NWT-02 burrowed substantially the same amount of material (-2.1 gram and -2.5 gram respectively) at the beginning and the end of the test (figure 1). Mice fed with a high fat diet containing NWT-03 burrowed 12.7 gram on average, whereas the mice fed with a high fat diet comprising both NWT-02 and NWT-03 burrowed 25.2 grams on average.
It is concluded that NWT-03 has a positive effect on cognition and may be used for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases. This effect is synergistically enhanced by the addition of NWT-02.
In the above NWT-03 is subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme [see preparative method in Example 3, wherein Alcalase is also known as subtilisin A]. The high burrowing behavior is nothing but improving cognitive function, specifically improving control of impulsivity and improve inhibitory control etc.
The above disclosure of Jonker is interpreted applicants “method of improving cognitive function in a subject by administering subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme”, since results showed improving in the burrowing behavior.
The difference is that Jonker is silent on anticue task in their disclosure.
First, anticue task is a cognitive test or task to measure a specific desired parameter in a subject, and which is known in the art, see below. Second, previously cited prior art teaches same drug, i.e., NWT-03 (aka subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme), to a subject to improve cognitive function, as explained above. Finally, if anticue task is applied to the teachings of Jonker, the results should match applicants shown data, since same drug is applied to the subject to improve cognitive functioning.
In addition, Adam teaches anticue test and its advantages measuring improvement in inhibitory control and control of impulsivity [see sections Abstract, General Discussion and Conclusion].
Therefore, one would be motivated to use anticue task in light of its advantages for measuring desired parameters.
For claim 5:
Jonker teaches a male mouse for their in vivo animal experiments [see example 8], wherein mouse before the treatment is interpreted as a healthy subject.
Jonker is silent on healthy human subject. However, the data shown in mouse model can be extended to human subject, which is a known common practice in the art, absent evidence to the contrary.
For claims 12-13:
Jonker teaches that in the preparative example, a maximum molecular weight of less than 10 kDa with the peptide distribution of 46% < 500Da, 23% 500-1000Da, 32% >1000Da. The degree of hydrolysis of 21% [see Example 3].
For claim 14:
It is not clear about daily dose amounts of subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme from the disclosure of Jonker. However, these amounts are considered as a result effective variables and so, a skilled person in the art would determine the optimal dose amounts through a routine titration of experimentation.
For claim 16:
Jonker further teaches that their composition comprising subtilisin A hydrolysate lysozyme can be mixed with food stuff [see lines 21-26 in page 5; line 34 in page 7 to line 4 in page 8].
For claim 17:
Jonker is silent on human male subject of at least 60 years old. However, the data shown in mouse model can be extended to human subject in need thereof, which is a known common practice in the art.
For claims 18-19:
It is a test to measure a desired parameter. It may be a different methodology, but the criticality is in the root mechanism for treating the condition, which is administration of subtilisin A hydrolysate of lysozyme, which is obvious over the cited art.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the composition and their use in improving cognitive functioning, and known measuring tests for a desired parameters etc, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to modify or extrapolate the teaching the art to a desired subject can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658