Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
1. The amendment filed 09/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 12, 21, 28 – 29, 31, 33, and 46 -51 remain pending and are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1 of “isolated mitochondria” in the reply filed on 08/13/2024 is acknowledged.
Priority
3. This application is a U.S. National Phase Application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/US2020/018371, filed on February 14, 2020, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/806,473, filed on February 15, 2019.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
4. The rejection of Claims 1 – 9, 10 – 12, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims 1 and 10.
5. The rejection of claims 1 – 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cowan is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim 1.
6. The rejection of claims 10 – 12 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 10.
7. The rejection of claims 28 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 28.
8. The rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 28.
9. The rejection of claim 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 28.
10. The rejection of claim 46 – 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
11. The rejection of claim 48 – 49 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 10.
12. The rejection of claim 50 – 51 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 28.
13. The rejection of claims 46 – 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
14. The rejection of claims 48 – 49 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
15. The rejection of claims 50 – 51 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 28.
Claim Interpretation
16. For the purpose of applying art, the negative limitation of “does not have heart ischemia” of claims 47, 49, and 51 is being given its broadest reasonable interpretation based on lack of support in the specification for a subject that does not have heart ischemia. MPEP 2173. 05(i) states "[A]ny negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claims. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977) (“[the] specification, having described the whole, necessarily described the part remaining.”). Thus, for the purpose of application of prior art, the claims are being given the broadest, reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
17. Claims 47, 49, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. 37 CFR 1.118 (a) states that “No amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of an application after the filing date of the application”.
Claim 47 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the subject does not have heart ischemia.
Claim 49 is drawn to the method of claim 10, wherein the subject does not have heart ischemia.
Claim 51 is drawn to the method of claim 28, wherein the subject does not have heart ischemia.
The specification provides no implicit or explicit support for the context of “wherein the subject does not have heart ischemia”. The specification defines “ischemia” as “reduced blood flow to an organ and/or tissue. The reduced blood flow may be caused by any suitable mechanism, including a partial or complete blockage (an obstruction), a narrowing (a constriction), and/or a leak/rupture, among others, of one or more blood vessels that supply blood to the organ and/or tissue.” The specification teaches Example 3 and 4 in which a RVH/RVF model was created by banding of the pulmonary artery by 50% (page 34, lines 15 – 16; page 34, lines 22 – 23; page 36, lines 10 - 11) and Example 4 in which the heart was subjected to temporary regional ischemia by snaring the left anterior descending artery (page 47, lines 3 – 5). Thus the specification has only provided support for a subject having heart ischemia. Applicants are reminded that it is their burden to show where the specification supports any amendments to the claims. See 37 CFR 1.121 (b)(2)(iii), the MPEP 714.02, 3rd paragraph, last sentence and also the MPEP 2163.07, last sentence.
MPEP 2163.06 notes “If new matter is added to the claims, the examiner should reject the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph - written description requirement. In re Rasmussen, 650 F.2d 1212, 211 USPQ 323 (CCPA 1981).” MPEP 2163.02 teaches that “Whenever the issue arises, the fundamental factual inquiry is whether a claim defines an invention that is clearly conveyed to those skilled in the art at the time the application was filed...If a claim is amended to include subject matter, limitations, or terminology not present in the application as filed, involving a departure from, addition to, or deletion from the disclosure of the application as filed, the examiner should conclude that the claimed subject matter is not described in that application. MPEP 2163.06 further notes “When an amendment is filed in reply to an objection or rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, a study of the entire application is often necessary to determine whether or not “new matter” is involved. Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure [or point to case law supporting incorporation of such a limitation as in the instant case]” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim(s) 1 – 9, 46 – 47, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowan (WO-2017124037-A1; previously cited), hereinafter Cowan as evidenced by Guazzi (Guazzi, Marco, et. al. Circulation 126.8 (2012): 975-990.), hereinafter Guazzi and Chahine (Chahine J, et. al. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2025 Jan), hereinafter Chahine, in view of Gaile (Galie, Nazzareno, et al. European heart journal 30.20 (2009): 2493-2537.), hereinafter Gaile in view of Otterstad (Otterstad, J. E. European heart journal 14.suppl_F (1993): 2-6.), hereinafter Otterstad.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Cowan teaches a method comprising administering a composition comprising isolated mitochondria to a subject where the subject has an ischemia-related disease (claim 1) where the composition can be injected into a blood vessel (claim 6) (page 3, lines 1 – 2; page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5; page 57, lines 13 – 16; page 58, lines 6 – 9; Table 1). Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a subject placed on ECMO due to surgical complications of coronary insufficiency and that mitochondria were injected into the area of hypokinesis (page 56, lines 23 – 30). Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32). However, Cowan does not teach these patients have heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension. Pulmonary hypertension due to left heart disease, classified as group 2, is believed to be the most common cause of pulmonary hypertension and is associated with high morbidity and mortality as evidenced by Guazzi (page 975, left col. para. 1 and 3; page 981, right col. last para.; page 982, left col. para. 4). Chronic or poorly controlled hypertension causes increased cardiac workload, which can lead to hypertrophy of the left ventricle and initially this hypertrophy serves as a compensatory mechanism, but long-term can lead to decreased left ventricular output as evidenced by Chahine (page 2, para. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Cowan teaches injection of mitochondria into the myocardium (page 56, lines 30 – 31).
Regarding claim 3, Cowan teaches the subject is on ECMO (“has or is at risk of developing heart failure”) and after multiple injections of mitochondria, the subject could tolerate an ECMO wean trial where the subject displayed vigorous RV function and good LV function but was unable to tolerate a full clamping of the circuit (page 57, lines 1 – 9). Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to another subject with moderately depressed right ventricular function (“has or is at risk of” “right ventricular failure (RVF)”) (page 57, lines 13 – 20).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to another subject that has VACTERL syndrome with pulmonary stenosis (claim 4) with diminished right pulmonary artery blood flow and ventricular function varying between normal and moderately depressed (claim 5) (page 57, lines 13 – 20).
Regarding claims 7 – 9, Cowan teaches the mitochondria can be autogeneic (claim 7), allogenic (claim 8), or xenogeneic (claim 9) (page 3, lines 1 – 8 and 17 – 18).
Regarding claim 46, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the patient has pulmonary hypertension. However, pulmonary hypertension due to left heart disease, classified as group 2, is believed to be the most common cause of pulmonary hypertension and is associated with high morbidity and mortality as evidenced by Guazzi (page 975, left col. para. 1 and 3; page 981, right col. last para.; page 982, left col. para. 4).
Regarding claim 47, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) and Cowan does not teach the patient has heart ischemia.
Regarding claim 52, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the subject has heart hypertrophy. Chronic or poorly controlled hypertension causes increased cardiac workload, which can lead to hypertrophy of the left ventricle and initially this hypertrophy serves as a compensatory mechanism, but long-term can lead to decreased left ventricular output as evidenced by Chahine (page 2, para. 2).
Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the patient has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension of claim 1 or claims 46 or 52. However, Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction (page 58, lines 1 – 17). Cowan teaches a method of increasing blood flow or decreasing vascular resistance in an organ of a subject where the organ can be lung by administering a composition comprising isolated mitochondria to the subject in an amount sufficient to increase blood flow or decrease vascular resistance where the composition can be injected into a blood vessel (page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5). Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes (page 2, lines 15 – 17). Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues (page 2, lines 28 – 30). Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in a n organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart (page 39, lines 4 – 5).
Regarding “wherein the subject has pulmonary hypertension” of claim 1 and 46, Gaile teaches Group 2 pulmonary hypertension (PH) due to left heart disease is characterized by enlarged and thickened pulmonary veins and the mechanisms responsible for the increase in pulmonary arterial pressure (PAP) are multiple (page 2499, right col. para. 4; page 2500, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches up to 60% of patients with severe LV systolic dysfunction and up to 70% of patients with isolated LV diastolic dysfunction may present with PH (page 2501, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy (page 2526, right col. para. 2; page 2527, right col. para. 2). Gaile does not teach “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 1 and 52. However, Gaile teaches PH should be suspected in patients with LV hypertrophy (page 2526, right col. last para.). One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan and Gaile because Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction and Gaile teaches severe LV dysfunction can cause PH and virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy.
Regarding “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 1 and 52, Otterstad teaches left ventricular hypertrophy (LVH) is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk (Abstract). Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia (Abstract). Otterstad teaches the prevalence of LVH in male hypertensive patients is high and the prevalence of myocardial ischemia in patients with LVH is 24% or 14% depending of the test (page 4, left col. and right col. para. 1). Otterstad teaches ACE inhibitors produced the most pronounced regression of LVH but no documented anti-ischemic properties (page 5, left col. para. 2 and 4; Figure 4). Otterstad teaches patients with LVH have an unfavorable balance between oxygen demand and coronary blood flow reserve with the possibility of malignant arrhythmias and myocardia infarction causing sudden death (page 5, left col. para. 3).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cowan regarding administering isolated mitochondria to patients with severe LV dysfunction or a subject with an ischemia-related disease with the teachings of Gaile regarding severe LV dysfunction can cause pulmonary hypertension with the teachings of Otterstad regarding LVH is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk to arrive at the claimed method of treating or maintaining adaptation to heart hypertrophy in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondria, wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan, Gaile and Otterstad in a method of treating heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension as Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes, Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy, and Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulted in improvement to mild dysfunction and Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues and Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in an organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart.
19. Claim(s) 10 – 12, 21, 48, 49, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowan (WO-2017124037-A1; previously cited), hereinafter Cowan as evidenced by Hussain (Hussain K, et. al. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2025 Jan), hereinafter Hussain and Guazzi (Guazzi, Marco, et. al. Circulation 126.8 (2012): 975-990.), hereinafter Guazzi and Chahine (Chahine J, et. al. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2025 Jan), hereinafter Chahine in view of Gaile (Galie, Nazzareno, et al. European heart journal 30.20 (2009): 2493-2537.), hereinafter Gaile in view of Otterstad (Otterstad, J. E. European heart journal 14.suppl_F (1993): 2-6.), hereinafter Otterstad.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Cowan teaches autologous mitochondria are injected into the myocardium (“administering” of claim 10 and “intramyocardial injection” of claim 11) of a patient with severe left ventricular dysfunction where the patient showed improvement of function to mild dysfunction (page 57, lines 13 – 32; page 58, lines 1 – 17; Table 1). Cowan teaches the method includes administering the composition comprising isolated mitochondria to a subject where the subject has an ischemia-related disease where the composition can be injected into a blood vessel (page 3, lines 1 – 2; page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5; page 57, lines 13 – 16; page 58, lines 6 – 9).
Regarding claim 12, Cowan teaches the patient has diminished right pulmonary artery blood flow and ventricular function varying between normal and moderately depressed and severe left ventricular dysfunction where the patient showed improvement of function to mild dysfunction (page 57, lines 13 – 32; page 58, lines 1 – 17). The most common cause of right heart failure is left ventricular failure, which increases pressure in the pulmonary vasculature as evidenced by Hussain (page 1, para. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Cowan teaches the patient has severe left ventricular dysfunction where the patient showed improvement of function to mild dysfunction (page 57, lines 13 – 32; page 58, lines 1 – 17).
Regarding claim 48, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the patient has pulmonary hypertension. However, pulmonary hypertension due to left heart disease, classified as group 2, is believed to be the most common cause of pulmonary hypertension and is associated with high morbidity and mortality as evidenced by Guazzi (page 975, left col. para. 1 and 3; page 981, right col. last para.; page 982, left col. para. 4). The most common cause of right heart failure is left ventricular failure, which increases pressure in the pulmonary vasculature as evidenced by Hussain (page 1, para. 1).
Regarding claim 49, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) and Cowan does not teach the patient has heart ischemia.
Regarding claim 53, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the subject has heart hypertrophy. Chronic or poorly controlled hypertension causes increased cardiac workload, which can lead to hypertrophy of the left ventricle and initially this hypertrophy serves as a compensatory mechanism, but long-term can lead to decreased left ventricular output as evidenced by Chahine (page 2, para. 2). The most common cause of right heart failure is left ventricular failure, which increases pressure in the pulmonary vasculature as evidenced by Hussain (page 1, para. 1).
Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the patient has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension of claim 10 or claims 48 or 53. However, Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction (page 58, lines 1 – 17). Cowan teaches a method of increasing blood flow or decreasing vascular resistance in an organ of a subject where the organ can be lung by administering a composition comprising isolated mitochondria to the subject in an amount sufficient to increase blood flow or decrease vascular resistance where the composition can be injected into a blood vessel (page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5). Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes (page 2, lines 15 – 17). Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues (page 2, lines 28 – 30). Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in a n organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart (page 39, lines 4 – 5).
Regarding “wherein the subject has pulmonary hypertension” of claim 10 and 48, Gaile teaches Group 2 pulmonary hypertension (PH) due to left heart disease is characterized by enlarged and thickened pulmonary veins and the mechanisms responsible for the increase in pulmonary arterial pressure (PAP) are multiple (page 2499, right col. para. 4; page 2500, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches up to 60% of patients with severe LV systolic dysfunction and up to 70% of patients with isolated LV diastolic dysfunction may present with PH (page 2501, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy (page 2526, right col. para. 2; page 2527, right col. para. 2). Gaile does not teach “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 10 and 53. However, Gaile teaches PH should be suspected in patients with LV hypertrophy (page 2526, right col. last para.). One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan and Gaile because Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction and Gaile teaches severe LV dysfunction can cause PH and virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy.
Regarding “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 10 and 53, Otterstad teaches left ventricular hypertrophy (LVH) is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk (Abstract). Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia (Abstract). Otterstad teaches the prevalence of LVH in male hypertensive patients is high and the prevalence of myocardial ischemia in patients with LVH is 24% or 14% depending of the test (page 4, left col. and right col. para. 1). Otterstad teaches ACE inhibitors produced the most pronounced regression of LVH but no documented anti-ischemic properties (page 5, left col. para. 2 and 4; Figure 4). Otterstad teaches patients with LVH have an unfavorable balance between oxygen demand and coronary blood flow reserve with the possibility of malignant arrhythmias and myocardia infarction causing sudden death (page 5, left col. para. 3).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cowan regarding administering isolated mitochondria to patients with severe LV dysfunction or a subject with an ischemia-related disease with the teachings of Gaile regarding severe LV dysfunction can cause pulmonary hypertension with the teachings of Otterstad regarding LVH is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk to arrive at the claimed method of treating or maintaining adaptation to heart hypertrophy in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondria, wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan, Gaile and Otterstad in a method of treating heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension as Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes, Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy, and Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulted in improvement to mild dysfunction and Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues and Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in an organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart.
20. Claim(s) 28, 29, 33, 50, 51, and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowan (WO-2017124037-A1; previously cited), hereinafter Cowan as evidenced by Guazzi (Guazzi, Marco, et. al. Circulation 126.8 (2012): 975-990.), hereinafter Guazzi and Chahine (Chahine J, et. al. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2025 Jan), hereinafter Chahine and Eguchi (Eguchi, Kazuo, et al. The American journal of cardiology 101.12 (2008): 1787-1791; previously cited), hereinafter Eguchi, in view of Gaile (Galie, Nazzareno, et al. European heart journal 30.20 (2009): 2493-2537.), hereinafter Gaile in view of Otterstad (Otterstad, J. E. European heart journal 14.suppl_F (1993): 2-6.), hereinafter Otterstad.
Regarding claim 28, Cowan teaches a method comprising administering a composition comprising isolated mitochondria to a subject where the subject has an ischemia-related disease (claim 1) (page 3, lines 1 – 2; page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5; page 57, lines 13 – 16; page 58, lines 6 – 9; Table 1). Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a subject placed on ECMO due to surgical complications of coronary insufficiency and that mitochondria were injected into the area of hypokinesis (page 56, lines 23 – 30; Table 1). Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32). However, Cowan does not teach these patients have heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension. Pulmonary hypertension due to left heart disease, classified as group 2, is believed to be the most common cause of pulmonary hypertension and is associated with high morbidity and mortality as evidenced by Guazzi (page 975, left col. para. 1 and 3; page 981, right col. last para.; page 982, left col. para. 4). Chronic or poorly controlled hypertension causes increased cardiac workload, which can lead to hypertrophy of the left ventricle and initially this hypertrophy serves as a compensatory mechanism, but long-term can lead to decreased left ventricular output as evidenced by Chahine (page 2, para. 2).
Regarding “diabetes” of claim 33, Cowan teaches identifying a subject having or being at risk of a metabolic disorder and delivering mitochondria (page 43, lines 3 – 7). The metabolic disorder type II diabetes increases the risk of left ventricular hypertrophy as evidenced by Eguchi (Abstract; page 2, paragraph 1; page 4, paragraph 4 – 5; Table 2). Cowan teaches metabolic disorders include obesity and its associated metabolic diseases (type II diabetes) (page 43, line 33 – page 44, line 1).
Regarding claim 51, Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) and Cowan does not teach the patient has heart ischemia.
Cowan teaches administering mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction (page 57, 13 – 32) but does not teach the patient has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension of claim 28 or claims 50 or 54 or “the subject is identified by measuring” “LV Peak developed pressure” or “LV end diastolic pressure” of claim 29. However, Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction (page 58, lines 1 – 17). Cowan teaches a method of increasing blood flow or decreasing vascular resistance in an organ of a subject where the organ can be lung by administering a composition comprising isolated mitochondria to the subject in an amount sufficient to increase blood flow or decrease vascular resistance where the composition can be injected into a blood vessel (page 6, lines 28 – 32; page 7, lines 1 – 5). Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes (page 2, lines 15 – 17). Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues (page 2, lines 28 – 30). Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in a n organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart (page 39, lines 4 – 5).
Regarding “wherein the subject has pulmonary hypertension” of claim 28 and 50, Gaile teaches Group 2 pulmonary hypertension (PH) due to left heart disease is characterized by enlarged and thickened pulmonary veins and the mechanisms responsible for the increase in pulmonary arterial pressure (PAP) are multiple (page 2499, right col. para. 4; page 2500, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches up to 60% of patients with severe LV systolic dysfunction and up to 70% of patients with isolated LV diastolic dysfunction may present with PH (page 2501, left col. para. 2). Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy (page 2526, right col. para. 2; page 2527, right col. para. 2). Gaile does not teach “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 28 and 54. However, Gaile teaches PH should be suspected in patients with LV hypertrophy (page 2526, right col. last para.).
Regarding “the subject is identified by measuring” “LV Peak developed pressure” or “LV end diastolic pressure” of claim 29, Gaile teaches the diagnosis of pulmonary hypertension due to left heart disease include measuring LV filling pressures and LV end-diastolic pressure (page 2527, left col. para. 1 – 2; Table 30). Gaile teaches factors favoring diagnosis of left ventricular diastolic dysfunction in the presence of pulmonary hypertension include obesity, metabolic syndrome, hypertension, and diabetes mellitus (Table 30). One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan and Gaile because Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulting in improvement to mild dysfunction and Gaile teaches severe LV dysfunction can cause PH and virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy.
Regarding “wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy” of claim 28 and 54, Otterstad teaches left ventricular hypertrophy (LVH) is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk (Abstract). Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia (Abstract). Otterstad teaches the prevalence of LVH in male hypertensive patients is high and the prevalence of myocardial ischemia in patients with LVH is 24% or 14% depending of the test (page 4, left col. and right col. para. 1). Otterstad teaches ACE inhibitors produced the most pronounced regression of LVH but no documented anti-ischemic properties (page 5, left col. para. 2 and 4; Figure 4). Otterstad teaches patients with LVH have an unfavorable balance between oxygen demand and coronary blood flow reserve with the possibility of malignant arrhythmias and myocardia infarction causing sudden death (page 5, left col. para. 3).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cowan regarding administering isolated mitochondria to patients with severe LV dysfunction or a subject with an ischemia-related disease with the teachings of Gaile regarding severe LV dysfunction can cause pulmonary hypertension with the teachings of Otterstad regarding LVH is commonly associated with coronary heart disease and hypertensive patients with LVH and myocardial ischemia may be a particular risk to arrive at the claimed method of treating or maintaining adaptation to heart hypertrophy in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondria, wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Cowan, Gaile and Otterstad in a method of treating heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension as Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes, Gaile teaches virtually no progress has been made for treating PH in patients with left heart disease and there is no specific therapy, and Otterstad teaches a logical approach would be to improve the prognosis by reversing LVH and reducing ischemia. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Cowan teaches administration of mitochondria to a patient with severe LV dysfunction resulted in improvement to mild dysfunction and Cowan teaches after mitochondria are injected or infused, the mitochondria can transverse the artery wall and be taken up by cells of the patient’s tissues and Cowan teaches the mitochondrial transplantation has potential to rescue cell function and replaced damaged or dysfunctional mitochondria and because symptoms for mitochondrial dysfunction disorder is more likely to manifest in an organ that requires a continuous supply of energy the, the administration can specifically target such organs including the heart.
21. Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cowan (WO-2017124037-A1; previously cited), hereinafter Cowan as evidenced by Guazzi (Guazzi, Marco, et. al. Circulation 126.8 (2012): 975-990.), hereinafter Guazzi and Chahine (Chahine J, et. al. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2025 Jan), hereinafter Chahine and Eguchi (Eguchi, Kazuo, et al. The American journal of cardiology 101.12 (2008): 1787-1791; previously cited), hereinafter Eguchi, in view of Gaile (Galie, Nazzareno, et al. European heart journal 30.20 (2009): 2493-2537.), hereinafter Gaile in view of Otterstad (Otterstad, J. E. European heart journal 14.suppl_F (1993): 2-6.), hereinafter Otterstad as applied to claims 28, 29, 33, 50, 51, and 54 above, and further in view of Guclu (Güçlü A, et. al. Eur J Clin Invest. 2015 Dec;45(12):1252-9), hereinafter Guclu in view of Vignaud (Vignaud A, et. al. Magn Reson Med. 2006 Apr;55(4):725-30; previously cited), hereinafter Vignaud.
Cowan in view of Gaile and Otterstad make obvious the limitations of claim 28 as set forth above. Cowan, Gaile, and Otterstad do not teach measuring ventricular capillary density by MRI or angiographic imaging of microvascular circulation. However, Cowan teaches in Example 3 injecting dual-labeled mitochondria into hearts and acquiring images using MRI (page 51, lines 8 – 17 and 25 – 30). Cowan teaches coronary artery perfusion of exogenous mitochondria resulted in wide-spread distribution of the mitochondria throughout the heart using MRI (page 53, lines 3 – 15; Figure 2). Cowan teaches it is believed that infused mitochondria extravasate through the capillary wall (page 16, lines 19 – 20; page 26, lines 18 – 21; page 34, lines 7 – 8). Cowan teaches a mitochondrial agent for imaging by MRI that is an iron oxide nanoparticle and a composition comprising mitochondria and iron oxide nanoparticles and mitochondria and 18F-Rhodamine 6G and iron oxide nanoparticles (page 3, lines 9 – 12; page 4, lines 12 – 27; page 17, lines 17 – 25; page 32, lines 3 – 10; page 48, lines 20 – 23; page 49, lines 4 – 21).
Guclu teaches coronary microvascular dysfunction (CMD) is a feature of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM), which contributes negatively to symptoms and long-term outcome and CMD may be caused by reduced capillary density (Abstract). Guclu teaches measuring capillary density using immunofluorescence microscopy from myectomy samples (page 1253, left col. para. 2 and right col. para. 3). Guclu teaches a correlation between capillary density and HCM where HCM samples had lower capillary density (Figure 2c; page 1257, left col. para. 2 and right col. para. 2).
Vignaud teaches detection of myocardial capillary with intravascular iron-oxide nanoparticles and MRI (Abstract; page 1, paragraph 1). Vignaud teaches MRI spin-echo (SE) images in beating hearts and excised heart samples (page 2, paragraph 2 and 6; page 3, paragraph 3). Vignaud teaches SE provides a robust means of mapping capillary orientation in vivo (page 2, paragraph 3). Vignaud teaches the technique uses contrast-enhanced MRI to map the capillary network organization and the technique may reveal changes in capillary organization that may occur in microvascular disease, cardiomyopathy, and ventricular remodeling (page 5, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cowan regarding a combination of mitochondria and iron oxide nanoparticles for imaging with MRI with the teachings of Guclu regarding measuring capillary density by immunofluorescence microscopy with myectomy samples with the teachings of Vignaud regarding a method of imaging heart capillaries with iron oxide nanoparticles and MRI to arrive at the claimed method where ventricular capillary density is measured by MRI. One would have been motivated combine the teachings of Cowan, Guclu, and Vignaud in a method of maintaining ventricular capillary density where capillary density can be measured at the same time mitochondria are administered and to overcome the necessity of obtaining samples by myectomy for measuring capillary density as Cowan teaches there are no known and approved treatments that involve mitochondria and there is a need for such treatment and to utilize mitochondria for drug delivery and some other therapeutic and diagnostic purposes. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Vignaud teaches capillaries can be imaged with iron oxide nanoparticles and MRI in beating hearts.
Double Patenting
22. Instant claims 28 – 29, 31, and 33 remain and instant claims 1 – 12, 21, 46, 48, 50, and 52 – 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 5, 7, 13, 19 – 22, 25, 28, 29, 41, and 94 – 97 of copending Application No. 17607975 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims anticipate the reference claims. Although maintained, note that the rejection is revised in light of the amendments to the claims.
Instant independent claims 1, 10, 28 recite method comprising a method step “administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of (1) a composition comprising isolated mitochondria or (2) a composition comprising a combined mitochondrial agent, wherein the mitochondria in the combined mitochondrial agent act as a carrier for delivering a therapeutic, diagnostic, and/or imaging agent, wherein the subject has heart hypertrophy or pulmonary hypertension”.
Reference independent claim 1 recites a method comprising “administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondrial and/or a combined mitochondrial agent; and performing the medical procedure (e.g., a surgery , an organ transplantation)”. Reference independent claim 2 recites a method comprising “identifying a subject at risk for IRI; and administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondrial and/or a combined mitochondrial agent, wherein the composition is administered to the subject prior to an ischemic event or an ischemic injury”. Reference independent claim 3 recites a method comprising “administering to a subject having at least one symptom of IRI a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondrial and/or a combined mitochondrial agent; and performing the medical procedure”. Reference independent claim 5 recites a method comprising “identifying the subject at risk for, or having, cell damage, tissue damage, and/or organ damage associated with IRI; and administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising isolated mitochondrial and/or a combined mitochondrial agent, wherein the composition is administered prior to an ischemic event or an ischemic injury”. Therefore, the independent reference claims are in essence a “species” of the generic invention of instant claims 1, 10, and 28. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010