CTFR 17/430,973 CTFR 92490 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed (02/04/2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Nam (US 20190068348 A1) fail to disclose: “the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more SS/PBCH blocks having a first index corresponding to (n−1) when an nth bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one…”. Applicant further asserts that Nam: only discloses a one-bit DCI indication, d oes not disclose a higher-layer parameter , does not disclose bit-position-to-SSB index mapping, and does not disclose the specific (n−1) index relationship . These arguments are not persuasive for the reasons below. I. Nam explicitly teaches Conditional PDSCH Rate Matching Around SS/PBCH Blocks Verbatim Teaching – Nam ¶[0101]. “...one bit indication can be introduced in the DCI… The one bit indication informs UE how to perform rate matching… the UE assumes that no SS/PBCH block is transmitted in the allocated resources; and/or the UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission…” Nam expressly teaches: PDSCH processing conditioned on signaling, and selective consideration (or exclusion) of SS/PBCH resources during PDSCH reception. This directly corresponds to: “PDSCH mapped to resources that are not allocated for SS/PBCH blocks” because rate matching that assumes no SS/PBCH transmission necessarily: treats those REs as available for PDSCH, or equivalently maps PDSCH around (i.e., avoids or accounts for) SS/PBCH resources depending on configuration. Thus, Nam already establishes the core functional concept: configurable exclusion/inclusion of SS/PBCH resources in PDSCH mapping. II. The “nth Bit of a Higher Layer Parameter” Is an Obvious Design Choice Applicant attempts to distinguish: “one-bit DCI indication” (Nam) vs. “nth bit of higher-layer parameter” (claim). This distinction is not patentably meaningful. It would have been obvious to: extend Nam’s single-bit indication into a multi-bit parameter, and implement it at higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC) because: Predictable Variation (KSR): Expanding a binary flag into a bitmap controlling multiple resources is a well-known and routine design option. Furthermore, Higher-layer parameters (e.g., bitmaps) are routinely used to: indicate SSB sets, control resource exclusion, configure rate matching patterns. The motivation is to Reduce DCI overhead, Enable semi-static configuration and Support multiple SS/PBCH blocks simultaneously. Therefore, replacing a 1-bit DCI flag with an n-bit higher-layer bitmap is an obvious implementation choice. III. Bit Position: SSB Index Mapping Is a Routine and Well-Known Convention. Applicant argues Nam does not disclose: mapping nth bit to SSB index (n−1). This argument is also not persuasive. Nam ¶[0082] already uses indexed ordering (n) tied to system configuration lists. In 3GPP systems, it is standard practice that: bit position to resource index (0-based or 1-based offset). Mapping: bit n to index (n−1) is merely: a conventional indexing scheme (0-based offset). This is a mathematical convention, not a structural distinction. Per MPEP §2144.04 (Design Choice / Mathematical Conventions): choosing indexing offset (n vs. n−1) is obvious absent unexpected results. IV. Combined Teaching (Oh + Nam). The Office Action relies on: Oh for PDSCH mapping / resource allocation framework. Nam for SS/PBCH-aware rate matching / exclusion behavior Combined Result. The motivation is to: apply Nam’s SS/PBCH-aware rate matching control within Oh’s PDSCH mapping framework and implement a bitmap-based higher-layer parameter where each bit corresponds to an SS/PBCH block index yielding PDSCH mapped to resources excluding SS/PBCH blocks indicated by bit positions. Applicant’s arguments improperly: attack references individually, and focus on implementation-level distinctions (bit position, indexing offset) while ignoring: the combined teachings, and well-known design practices in wireless systems. Accordingly, the combination of Oh + Nam (and optionally Luo) renders the claimed limitation obvious under 35 U.S.C. §103. The rejections of claims 1, 3, and 4 are maintained . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20190327696 A1) in view of Nam (US 20190068348 A1) and further in view of Luo (US 20210329638 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a terminal apparatus (terminal of Fig. 13), comprising: reception circuitry configured to receive (receiver 1320) a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) comprising a transport block (a value of k may be transmitted in a state of being included in DCI which indicates or schedules the reception of the PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k… k may be determined based on the HARQ-ACK processing capability of the terminal, that is, a minimum time required for the terminal to receive a PDSCH, Para 75-76); and transmission circuitry configured to transmit (transmitter 1330), on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information corresponding to the transport block (HARQ ACK/NACK information of a PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k may be transmitted in subframe n from the terminal to the base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH, Para 75 and 76). However, Oh does not teach wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer. In an analogous art, Nam teaches wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks (the different rate matching behavior for SIB1 (or RMSI) PDSCH from SIBx (x>1) PDSCH, one bit indication can be introduced in the DCI with SI-RNTI, which schedules the PDSCH. The one bit indication informs UE how to perform rate matching for receiving the PDSCH between: the UE assumes that no SS/PBCH block is transmitted in the allocated resources; and/or the UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission according to the signaling in RMSI, [0101]) having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer ( when acquiring an SI message, the UE may determine the start of the SI-window for the concerned SI message as follows: for the concerned SI message, determine the number n which corresponds to the order of entry in the list of SI messages configured by schedulingInfoList in SystemInformationBlockType1; determine the integer value x=(n−1)*w, [0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh with the re-mapping of Nam to provide a methods to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on as suggested, Nam [0003]. However, Oh and Nam do not clearly teach the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks; and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block. In an analogous art, Luo teaches the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (For example, the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), where I.sub.SSB is the SS block index, and where for max length L=4, I.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB+4HF where HF=0 in the first half frame of a radio frame and HF=1 in the second half frame of a radio frame, and for max length L=8, and max L=64, f.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB, [0062]); and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block (the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh and Nam with the SS/PBCH of Luo to provide a methods and a system that scramble/descramble information based on at least a portion of an SS block index, where the SS block index indexes a particular SS block within an SS burst within an SS burst set. The information may be scrambled before being transmitted or may be descrambled after being received as suggested, Luo [0006]. Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches a method performed by a terminal apparatus (method of Fig. 10 using terminal of Fig. 13), the method comprising: receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) comprising a transport block (a value of k may be transmitted in a state of being included in DCI which indicates or schedules the reception of the PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k… k may be determined based on the HARQ-ACK processing capability of the terminal, that is, a minimum time required for the terminal to receive a PDSCH, Para 75-76); and transmitting, on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information corresponding to the transport block (HARQ ACK/NACK information of a PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k may be transmitted in subframe n from the terminal to the base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH, Para 75 and 76) . However, Oh does not teach wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer . In an analogous art, Nam teaches wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks (the different rate matching behavior for SIB1 (or RMSI) PDSCH from SIBx (x>1) PDSCH, one bit indication can be introduced in the DCI with SI-RNTI, which schedules the PDSCH. The one bit indication informs UE how to perform rate matching for receiving the PDSCH between: the UE assumes that no SS/PBCH block is transmitted in the allocated resources; and/or the UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission according to the signaling in RMSI, [0101]) having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer ( when acquiring an SI message, the UE may determine the start of the SI-window for the concerned SI message as follows: for the concerned SI message, determine the number n which corresponds to the order of entry in the list of SI messages configured by schedulingInfoList in SystemInformationBlockType1; determine the integer value x=(n−1)*w, [0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh with the re-mapping of Nam to provide a methods to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on as suggested, Nam [0003]. However, Oh and Nam do not teach the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks; and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block. In an analogous art, Luo teaches the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (For example, the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), where I.sub.SSB is the SS block index, and where for max length L=4, I.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB+4HF where HF=0 in the first half frame of a radio frame and HF=1 in the second half frame of a radio frame, and for max length L=8, and max L=64, f.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB, [0062]); and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block (the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh and Nam with the SS/PBCH of Luo to provide a methods and a system that scramble/descramble information based on at least a portion of an SS block index, where the SS block index indexes a particular SS block within an SS burst within an SS burst set. The information may be scrambled before being transmitted or may be descrambled after being received as suggested, Luo [0006]. Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches a method performed by a base station apparatus (base station of Fig. 12), the method comprising: transmitting a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) comprising a transport block (a value of k may be transmitted in a state of being included in DCI which indicates or schedules the reception of the PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k… k may be determined based on the HARQ-ACK processing capability of the terminal, that is, a minimum time required for the terminal to receive a PDSCH, Para 75-76); and receiving, on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information corresponding to the transport block (HARQ ACK/NACK information of a PDSCH transmitted in subframe n-k may be transmitted in subframe n from the terminal to the base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH, Para 75 and 76). However, Oh does not teach wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer . In an analogous art, Nam teaches wherein: the PDSCH is mapped to resources that are not allocated for one or more Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) blocks (the different rate matching behavior for SIB1 (or RMSI) PDSCH from SIBx (x>1) PDSCH, one bit indication can be introduced in the DCI with SI-RNTI, which schedules the PDSCH. The one bit indication informs UE how to perform rate matching for receiving the PDSCH between: the UE assumes that no SS/PBCH block is transmitted in the allocated resources; and/or the UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission according to the signaling in RMSI, [0101]) having a first index corresponding to (n-1) when an n bit of a higher layer parameter is set to one, n being a positive integer ( when acquiring an SI message, the UE may determine the start of the SI-window for the concerned SI message as follows: for the concerned SI message, determine the number n which corresponds to the order of entry in the list of SI messages configured by schedulingInfoList in SystemInformationBlockType1; determine the integer value x=(n−1)*w, [0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh with the re-mapping of Nam to provide a methods to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform to flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements, new multiple access schemes to support massive connections, and so on as suggested, Nam [0003]. However, Oh does not teach the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks; and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block. In an analogous art, Luo teaches the first index is determined by a remainder acquired by dividing a second index by a value indicated by a PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH blocks (For example, the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), where I.sub.SSB is the SS block index, and where for max length L=4, I.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB+4HF where HF=0 in the first half frame of a radio frame and HF=1 in the second half frame of a radio frame, and for max length L=8, and max L=64, f.sub.SSB=I.sub.SSB, [0062]); and the second index is determined based on at least a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PBCH in each of the one or more SS/PBCH block (the sequence initialization for scrambling DMRS (e.g., PBCH DMRS) may be based on the cell ID of the base station 704 and on the 3 LSBs of the SS block index. Specifically, the initialization for the PBCH DMRS may be c.sub.init=2.sup.11 (f.sub.SSB+1).Math.(└N.sub.ID/4┘+1)+2.sup.6.Math.(f.sub.SSB+1)+mod(N.sub.ID, 4), [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission and reception of control information of Oh with the SS/PBCH of Luo to provide a methods and a system that scramble/descramble information based on at least a portion of an SS block index, where the SS block index indexes a particular SS block within an SS burst within an SS burst set. The information may be scrambled before being transmitted or may be descrambled after being received as suggested, Luo [0006]. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS whose telephone number is (571)270-0671. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 11 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 12 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 17/430,973 Page 13 Art Unit: 2641