DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 23 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 12 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Claims 1, 4-10, and 13-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0276668, hereinafter Zhang ‘668) in view of Cheng et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0296098, hereinafter Cheng ‘098), both of record.
With respect to claim 1, Zhang ‘668 teaches (FIG. 18) a display panel substantially as claimed, comprising a display area (see annotated FIG. 18 below), a bezel area (see annotated FIG. 18 below) adjacent to the display area, and a terminal area (see annotated FIG. 18 below) disposed on one side of the bezel area away from the display area ([0143-0145]);
wherein the display panel further comprises signal lines (105 and 111), and the signal lines comprise a signal main section (see annotated FIG. 18 below) disposed in the bezel area and a signal connecting section (see annotated FIG. 18 below) having one end connected to the signal main section in the bezel area and another end extending to the terminal area ([0143-0145]);
the signal main section comprises a first side (see annotated FIG. 18 below) and a second side (see annotated FIG. 18 below) opposite to the first side, and the signal main section corresponding to the first side is adjacent to the display area ([0143-0145]); and
the signal connecting section comprises a third side (see annotated FIG. 18 below) and a fourth side (see annotated FIG. 18 below) opposite to the third side, the third side is connected to the first side, and at least a part of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped ([0143-0145]),
wherein the signal connecting section comprises a first segment (see annotated FIG. 18 below) positioned in the bezel area and connected to the signal main section and a second segment (see annotated FIG. 18 below) positioned in the terminal area and connected to the first segment, and the first segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped, the signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is configured to extend an intruding path of water vapor ([0143-0145]).
Thus, Zhang ‘668 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the second segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 4) a signal connecting section (21), wherein all segments of said signal connecting section and adjacent portions of a signal main portion (22) have a concavo-convex shape ([0037, 0044]) to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]). When the teachings of Cheng ‘098 are applied to the signal connecting section of Zhang ‘668, this would result in the second segment corresponding to the third side being concavo-convex shaped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second segment corresponding to the third side of Zhang ‘668 concavo-convex shaped as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Zhang ‘668 teaches wherein a position in the signal connecting section (see annotated FIG. 18 above) being concavo-convex shaped is provided with a plurality of convex parts and a plurality of concave parts arranged alternatingly, and shape outlines of the convex parts and the concave parts are independently polygonal or arc-shaped ([0143-0145]).
With respect to claims 5 and 14, Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 teach the device as described in claims 4 and 13 above, with primary reference Zhang ‘668 teaching the additional limitation wherein the signal lines (105 and 111) comprise a first signal line (105) and a second signal line (111), the first signal line comprises a first signal connecting section, the second signal line comprises a second signal connecting section, and a position in the first signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is disposed opposite to a position in the second signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped ([0143-0145]).
Thus, Zhang ‘668 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the convex parts on the first signal connecting section are disposed corresponding to the concave parts on the second signal connecting section by one to one, and shapes of the convex parts on the first signal connecting section match shapes of the concave parts on the second signal connecting section.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 3) convex parts on a first signal connecting section (left 21) are disposed corresponding to concave parts on a second signal connecting section (right 21) by one to one, and shapes of the convex parts on the first signal connecting section match shapes of the concave parts on the second signal connecting section to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display panel and the display device of Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 wherein the convex parts on the first signal connecting section are disposed corresponding to the concave parts on the second signal connecting section by one to one, and shapes of the convex parts on the first signal connecting section match shapes of the concave parts on the second signal connecting section as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 teach the device as described in claims 4 and 13 above, but primary reference Zhang ‘668 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side is concavo-convex shaped.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 3) a signal connecting section (21) corresponding to a fourth side is concavo-convex shaped to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side of Zhang ‘068 and Cheng ‘098 concavo-convex shaped as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Zhang ‘068 and Cheng ‘098 teach the device as described in claims 6 and 15 above, but primary reference Zhang ‘068 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the convex parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side are staggered from the concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 2) convex parts of a signal connecting section (21) corresponding to a third side are staggered from concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to a fourth side ([0037]) to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the convex parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side of Zhang ‘068 and Cheng ‘098 staggered from the concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
With respect to claims 8 and 17, Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 teach the device as described in claims 6 and 15 above, but primary reference Zhang ‘668 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the convex parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side correspond to the concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side by one to one.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 3) convex parts of a signal connecting section (21) corresponding to a third side correspond to concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to a fourth side by one to one to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display panel and the display device of Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 wherein the convex parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side correspond to the concave parts of the signal connecting section corresponding to the fourth side by one to one as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
With respect to claim 10, Zhang ‘668 teaches (FIG. 18) a display device substantially as claimed, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a display area (see annotated FIG. 18 above), a bezel area (see annotated FIG. 18 above) adjacent to the display area, and a terminal area (see annotated FIG. 18 above) disposed on one side of the bezel area away from the display area ([0143-0145]);
the display panel further comprises signal lines (105 and 111), and the signal lines comprise a signal main section (see annotated FIG. 18 above) disposed in the bezel area and a signal connecting section (see annotated FIG. 18 above) having one end connected to the signal main section in the bezel area and another end extending to the terminal area ([0143-0145]);
the signal main section comprises a first side (see annotated FIG. 18 above) and a second side (see annotated FIG. 18 above) opposite to the first side, and the signal main section corresponding to the first side is adjacent to the display area ([0143-0145]); and
the signal connecting section comprises a third side (see annotated FIG. 18 above) and a fourth side (see annotated FIG. 18 above) opposite to the third side, the third side is connected to the first side, and at least a part of the signal connecting section corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped ([0143-0145]),
wherein the signal connecting section comprises a first segment (see annotated FIG. 18 above) positioned in the bezel area and connected to the signal main section and a second segment (see annotated FIG. 18 above) positioned in the terminal area and connected to the first segment, and the first segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped, the signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is configured to extend an intruding path of water vapor ([0143-0145]).
Thus, Zhang ‘668 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the second segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped.
However, Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 4) a signal connecting section (21), wherein all segments of said signal connecting section and adjacent portions of a signal main portion (22) have a concavo-convex shape ([0037, 0044]) to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]). When the teachings of Cheng ‘098 are applied to the signal connecting section of Zhang ‘668, this would result in the second segment corresponding to the third side being concavo-convex shaped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second segment corresponding to the third side of Zhang ‘668 concavo-convex shaped as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Long (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0335570, hereinafter Long ‘570) of record.
With respect to claims 9 and 18, Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 teach the device as described in claims 1 and 10 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the signal main section corresponding to the first side is concavo-convex shaped.
However, Long ‘570 teaches (FIGs. 1 and 4) a signal main section (193) corresponding to a first side having a concavo-convex shape ([0047]) to efficiently block water and oxygen ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display panel and the display device of Zhang ‘668 and Cheng ‘098 wherein the signal main section corresponding to the first side is concavo-convex shaped as taught by Long ‘570 to efficiently block water and oxygen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1 and 10 and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 3 and 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (remarks, p. 6) that the edge of the orthographic projection of the part of the power supply bonding wire (21) of Cheng ‘098 overlapping with the encapsulation layer (3) on the base substrate (1) is a wave-shaped curved line in order to prevent short circuit between conducive wires due to point discharge, and increase attaching force between the power supply bonding wire (21) and the encapsulation layer (3). That is, Cheng ‘098 does not disclose at least the following technical features in the amended claim 1: wherein the signal connecting section comprises a first segment positioned in the bezel area and connected to the signal main section and a second segment positioned in the terminal area and connected to the first segment, the first segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped, the second segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped, and the signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is configured to extend an intruding path of water vapor. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang ‘668 in view of Cheng ‘098 teach the newly-presented limitation of claims 1 and 10 in combination as set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above. Zhang ‘668 teaches (FIG. 18) wherein the signal connecting section comprises a first segment (see annotated FIG. 18 above) positioned in the bezel area and connected to the signal main section and a second segment (see annotated FIG. 18 above) positioned in the terminal area and connected to the first segment, and the first segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped, the signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is configured to extend an intruding path of water vapor ([0143-0145]). Cheng ‘098 is cited to address the limitation, “wherein the second segment corresponding to the third side is concavo-convex shaped.” Cheng ‘098 teaches (FIG. 4) a signal connecting section (21), wherein all segments of said signal connecting section and adjacent portions of a signal main portion (22) have a concavo-convex shape ([0037, 0044]) to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge ([0052-0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second segment corresponding to the third side of Zhang ‘668 concavo-convex shaped as taught by Cheng ‘098 to prevent short circuits between conducive wires due to point discharge. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner identifies the limitation, “the signal connecting section being concavo-convex shaped is configured to extend an intruding path of water vapor,” as a functional recitation and as a statement of intended use. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Further, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Because the prior art teaches the claim as recited or the invention as disclosed, the prior art is presumed capable of performing the claimed function or intended use.
Still further, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893