This office action is in response to amendment filed on 5/2/25. The claims are not amended. Claims 19-22 are added. Claims 1-2,6-22 are pending.
The previous 112 first paragraph rejection is withdrawn due to applicant statement of the deposit. However, the specification needs to be amended to include the name and address of the depository.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hoshi ( 2018/0042252).
For claim 12, Hoshi discloses a fermented drink containing the culture. The culture is done by culturing lactic acid bacteria in a culture medium containing a milk as a main component. The bacteria includes Lactobacillus casei, Lactococcus lactis and Bifidobacterium ( see paragraphs 0008-0010, 0015,0021)
The limitation of “ a starting culture temperature in the culturing step” is a difference in the processing step which does not determine the patentability of the product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,6-11,13-15,17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi ( 2018/0042252).
For claims 1, 14,15,17,18, Hoshi discloses a method for producing a culture. The method comprises the step of inoculating and culturing lactic acid bacteria in a culture medium containing milk. The medium further comprises peptide. The medium is cultured under condition of 30-40 degrees C. Paragraph 0029 of the instant specification discloses the optimum temperature of Lactobacillus casei and Streptococcus thermophilus is 37 degrees C. The claim states the temperature is 3 to 15 degrees C lower than optimum culture temperature. Thus, the culturing temperature is in the range of 22-34 degrees C. This range falls within the range disclosed in Hoshi. Hoshi discloses bacteria including Lactobacillus casei, Streptococcus thermophiles and Bifidobacterium. The temperature ranges in claims 15,17,18 falls within the range disclosed in Hoshi. Hoshi discloses strain Lactobacillus casei YIT 9029. For claim 2, Hoshi discloses the medium further comprises tea extract, oleic acid etc.. For claim 6, the claimed temperature range is 32-15 degrees C ( temperature range for 5 to 15 degrees C lower than 37 degrees which is disclosed in the specification as the optimum temperature). Hoshi discloses in paragraph 0019, the culture is at 30 degrees C. which falls within the claimed range. For claim 7, Hoshi discloses the increase in acidity is suppressed after storage at 10 degrees C for 21 days. Thus, it is obviously inherent the property in claim 7 is present in the Hoshi culture. ( see paragraphs 0008-0010,0013-0015,0021,0026-0029)
Hoshi does not disclose a starting culture temperature as in claim 1, the property as in claim 9, the exact viable cell count as in claims 10,11, the fermented food comprising the culture having the property as in claim 13, the strain as in claims 17,18.
Hoshi discloses in paragraph 0019, the culture is performing at temperature of 30-40 degrees. It is obvious the temperature at the starting is in such range till the incubation goes for a while. As explained above, the claimed temperature ranges fall within the range of 30-40 degrees C disclosed in Hoshi. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . In paragraph 0026, Hoshi discloses the viability after storage at 10 degrees C for 21 day is 85% or more. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the cell count of the culture depending on the degree of fermenting or culturing desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. Since Hoshi discloses the same culturing step, it is expected the change in acidity after storage is smaller. The specific number can vary depending on the acidity of culture and this can readily be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art. The different strains are not patentably distinct because Hoshi discloses the same organisms performing the same function.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi in view of Jiao ( CN 106434441.
Hoshi does not disclose the temperature range in claim 16.
Jiao teaches Lactococcus lactis can be cultured at conventional temperature of 26-34 in a milk culture. ( see page 3)
As shown in Jiao, the culture temperature for Lactococcus lactis is in the range of 26-34 degrees C. Hoshi discloses Lactococcus lactis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the culture temperature slightly depending on the bacterium. Such determination is within the skill one in the art through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi ( 2018/0042252) in view of Sashihara ( WO 2007138993) and Shu ( CN 108935703).
Hoshi does not disclose a milk peptide and the amounts as in claims 19-22.
Shu teaches a culture medium for lactobacillulus and bifidobacterium containing .2-.4% of casein hydrolysate. ( see page 3 under “ preparing probiotic powder”).
Sashihara discloses a culture medium for lactic acid bacteria comprising casein hydrolysate, whey protein hydrolysate. ( see paragraph 0015)
Both Shu and Sashihara disclose casein hydrolysate and whey protein hydrolysate are known nutritional additives to culture lactic acid bacteria. Casein hydrolysate and whey hydrolysate are inherently obtained through hydrolysis treatment of casein and whey. Hoshi discloses the culture medium is supplemented with component which is used in a common culture medium for lactic acid bacteria, including various peptides. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the casein hydrolysate and whey hydrolysate disclosed in Shu and Sashihara because they are known supplement for lactic acid bacteria culture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to follow the guideline of Shu for the amount and adjust according to the nutrition desired. Such parameter would have been within the determination of one skilled in the art through routine experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/2/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 102 rejection, applicant argues that the data of the specification shows different properties of acidity, change in acidity, viable cell count and percentage viability relating to different culture temperature. This argument is not persuasive because the showing is not against the prior art. Hoshi discloses culturing at temperature including 30 degrees C. Hoshi does not teach just culturing at 37 as asserted by applicant. Furthermore , there is no limitation in claim 12 of any property.
Applicant argues the disclosure in paragraph 0019 is merely a general disclosure, rather than being specific to a particular bacterial strain or even any species of bacteria. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph 0015, Hoshi recites the lactic acid bacteria to be inoculated into the milk culture medium. The paragraph lists the lactobacillus species including Lactobacillus casei YIT 9029. Paragraph 0019 discusses the culture condition and refers to lactic acid bacteria. Thus, it would have been readily obvious that the culture condition applies to all the lactic acid bacteria listed in paragraph 0015. Hoshi teaches the culture temperature can vary over the temperature range of 30-40 degrees. Thus, it would have been obvious to culture Lactobacillus casei Yit 9029 at 30 degrees C as well as at 37 because both temperatures are taught in Hoshi. This variation is further supported by the new reference to Sashihara which is added to address new claims 19-22. Sashihara discloses in paragraph 0016 that the culture temperature for lactic acid bacteria is in the range of 20-40 degrees and other temperature conditions may be used as long as the temperature allows the bacteria to grow. As shown in the references, there is not a single temperature to grow lactic acid bacteria and the temperature can be as low as 20 degrees upward to 40 degrees C. Applicant is only using known parameter in that lactic acid bacteria can be cultured at temperature lower than 37 degrees. Contrary to applicant’s argument, Hoshi clearly suggest culturing Lactobacillus casei YIT 9029 at 30 degrees. It is also emphasized that none of the properties pointed out by applicant is claimed in claim 12. They are not limitations requiring consideration. There is no limitation in claim 12 distinguishing the claimed product from the Hoshi product.
With respect to the 103 rejection, applicant argues that paragraph 0029 states that optimum culture temperature of Lactobacillus casei YIT 9029 and Streptococcus thermophilus YIT 2021 is 37 degrees C. There is no disclosure that the optimum culture temperature of all Lactobacillus and Streptococcus strains is 37 degrees C. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 broadly recites the species which would encompass the strains. Thus, the calculation is consistent. Applicant further argues that Hoshi cannot be reasonably considered to teach culturing any of the disclosed at a temperature of 30 to 40 degrees. This argument is not persuasive. In paragraph 0015, Hoshi recites the lactic acid bacteria to be inoculated into the milk culture medium. The paragraph lists the lactobacillus species including Lactobacillus casei YIT 9029. Paragraph 0019 discusses the culture condition and refers to lactic acid bacteria. Thus, it would have been readily obvious that the culture condition applies to all the lactic acid bacteria listed in paragraph 0015. Hoshi teaches the culture temperature can vary over the temperature range of 30-40 degrees. Thus, it would have been obvious to culture Lactobacillus casei Yit 9029 at 30 degrees C as well as at 37 because both temperatures are taught in Hoshi. This variation is further supported by the new reference to Sashihara which is added to address new claims 19-22. Sashihara discloses in paragraph 0016 that the culture temperature for lactic acid bacteria is in the range of 20-40 degrees and other temperature conditions may be used as long as the temperature allows the bacteria to grow. As shown in the references, there is not a single temperature to grow lactic acid bacteria and the temperature can be as low as 20 degrees upward to 40 degrees C. Applicant is only using known parameter in that lactic acid bacteria can be cultured at temperature lower than 37 degrees. Applicant argues Hoshi discloses culturing YIT 9029 at 37 degrees C. Applicant points to example1. This argument is not persuasive. Example is only exemplified embodiment of the disclosure. It is not the only disclosure. As pointed out above, Hoshi explicitly discloses culturing at 30-40 degrees and the species include YIT 9029. Applicant further argues the different strains in claims 15-18. Hoshi does not disclose the specific strains but Hoshi discloses the species and the temperature range overlapping with the claimed ranges. It’s the examiner’s position that the different strains do not support patentability because there are no features claimed distinguishing the strains. The different strains are not patentably distinct because Hoshi discloses the same organisms performing the same function.
With respect to claim 16, applicant make the same argument with respect to the strain. The argument is not persuasive for the same reason as claims 14-18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 18, 2025
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793