DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim 1-5,7-18 are currently pending. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn. Claim 6 is canceled. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the argument that Hirai disclose the amended claim 1 is not found persuasive. It appears that Hirai discloses wherein each protrude portion (e.g., the tapered shape in Fig 1B) includes a portion of the active material coating portion that is not removed so as to have the predetermined thickness of the electrode sheet (see Fig 1B wherein the right-end of the low-density area 107 has the same thickness as the left-end of the high-density area 105).
Regarding the argument that the ablation of the present application and the compression of Hirai are different as the instant application performs ablation by vaporizing the material with a high-energy beam like a laser, Examiner notes that the argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. Since Hirai discloses wherein the coating layer thickness is reduced in the low density area 107 compared to the high density area 105, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably envisage an ablation (i.e., interpreted as a removal of surface) to have occurred.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-9,11,16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US20150017523A1, previously cited, IDS cited 06/05/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Hirai teaches a method for manufacturing an electrode (title), the method comprising:
applying an electrode active material ([0040-0042; 0049]; 103 in Fig 1) to a portion of an electrode collector (101 in Fig 1B) to manufacture an electrode sheet (100 in Fig 1; [0027]),
the electrode collector having a non-coating portion (102 in Fig 1) formed on at least one end thereof in a longitudinal direction and which is not coated with the electrode active material [0065],
and having an active material coating portion that is coated with the electrode active material (“active material layer”; 103 in Fig 1)
setting an ablation line (indicated in annotated Fig 1B below) on at least one end of the active material coating portion that is contacting the non-coating portion (non-coating area 102 in Fig 2,5A);
defining an ablation area on the at least one end of the active material coating portion between a boundary line between the non-coating portion and the active material coating portion and an area surrounded by the ablation line while maintaining a state in which the electrode active material is applied (see annotated Fig 1B above)
performing ablation (“ablate” is interpreted as eroding or gradually destroying; i.e., reduction in thickness [0027]) to remove some of the electrode active material to reduce a thickness of the electrode sheet (see Fig 1 above).
While Hirai does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness is reduced by approximately 10% to 90% of the predetermined thickness at the ablation area (see Fig 7 above), Hirai discloses that by adjusting the compression pressure such that the active material layer is compressed, excluding the thin layer portion adjacent to the exposed surface of the collector and its adjacent step portion, both the high density area 105 and low density area 107 can be formed [0052], and further discloses that at a compression temperature of 80° C. and 130° C., compression can be easily performed as compared to when the compression temperature is 25° C [0037]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, by way of routine experimentation, to arrive at the claimed ranges while controlling the compression temperature and compression pressure in order to arrive at a desired balance between volume efficiency of the battery and occurrence of wrinkles.
Hirai further discloses: further maintaining the predetermined thickness of the electrode sheet at the active material coating portion excluding the ablation area (i.e., high density area 105).
Hirai further discloses setting a notching line (i.e., punching along cutting line 180 around each unit electrode [0057], Fig. 5A) on an ablation area of the electrode collector and the non-coating portion by using the notching line as a boundary.
Further, in the performing of the notching of the ablation area and the non-coating portion (i.e., punching along the electrode lead-out tab and each unit electrode [0057]),
a plurality of tabs are formed at intervals to include a plurality of protrude portions formed at the intervals, respectively, each protrude portions (note: protruding portion interpreted as portion projecting from the non-coated area; i.e., low density region 107 with increasing thickness in Fig 1B) including a portion of the active material coating portion that is not removed so as to have the predetermined thickness of the electrode sheet (i.e., see Fig 1B wherein the rightmost portion of the low density area 107 has the same thickness as high density area 105), and each tab including a portion of the boundary line (i.e., around the tab) and a corresponding protrude portion (See annotated Fig 1B above).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in the setting of the ablation line, both ends of the ablation line exist on the boundary (see annotated Fig 1A below).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein punching (i.e., notching) is performed along the electrode lead-out tab 109 and each unit electrode [0057], and the electrode lead-out tab 109 is adjacent to the low density area 107 ([0029]; Fig 1A below). Hirai further teaches the notching line acts as a boundary (see rejection for claim 1).
Hirai further teaches wherein the amount of space (i.e., length W or 107 in Fig 2; [0032-0033]) from the boundary between the non-coating area of the collector and an active material coating area to the high density area (105 in Fig 1A above) is preferably in a range of 2mm to 15mm [0032], but the range may vary “depending on a shape (width or the non-coating area, thickness of the collector) of the electrode to be manufactured, a porosity of the active material layer after compression, or the like” [0032].
While Hirai does not explicitly teach wherein in the setting of the ablation line, the ablation line is set to be spaced 0.1 mm to 1.5 mm from the boundary (claim 3) or 0.1mm to 1.0 mm from the boundary (claim 4), Hirai teaches as the low density area is reduced, the volume efficiency of the battery is improved without the occurrence of wrinkles and that as the low density area is increased, the effective area of the electrode is undesirably reduced ([0033]).
Since Hirai teaches that a length of the step portion can be controlled by changing a shim of the die head [0036] and the reduced low density area can be enabled by way of increasing the compression temperature, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, by way of routine experimentation, to arrive at the claimed ranges while increasing the compression temperature in order to arrive at a desired balance between volume efficiency of the battery and occurrence of wrinkles.
Hirai further teaches that when the length is less than 2mm, effect brought about by formation of the low density area cannot be sufficiently demonstrated [0033]. In this regard, Hirai in Table 1 does not show the particular value of W below 2mm, where the effect is not sufficiently demonstrated. Thus, the claimed values are considered to be so close to the 2mm value that they would result in substantially the same effects. Further, in [0037], Hirai teaches that at a compression temperature of 80° C. and 130° C., compression can be easily performed as compared to when the compression temperature is 25° C. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date would have been motivated to increase the compression temperature to achieve the desired effect at the claimed values.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in the setting of the ablation line, at least a portion of the ablation line is parallel to an edge of the other end of the active material coating portion (i.e., bottom surface of the active material coating portion)
Regarding claim 7, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein ablation process forms individual electrodes (100 in Fig 5B) with low density area 107, wherein the low density area is a thin coating layer having a smaller thickness than the high density area (105 in Fig 1A, Fig 7), and is continued to a boundary with the high density area to the thin coating layer while forming a step portion (Claim 5-Hirai), as shown in Fig 7. Thus, Hirai discloses the thickness of the electrode sheet is reduced, but does not explicitly provide a particular claimed range of 30% to 90% reduction.
While Hirai does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness of the electrode sheet after ablation is reduced by 30% to 90%, Hirai teaches that by adjusting the compression pressure such that the active material layer is compressed, excluding the thin layer portion adjacent to the exposed surface of the collector and its adjacent step portion, both the high density area 105 and low density area 107 can be formed [0052], and further teaches that at a compression temperature of 80° C. and 130° C., compression can be easily performed as compared to when the compression temperature is 25° C [0037]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, by way of routine experimentation, to arrive at the claimed ranges while increasing the compression temperature and pressure in order to arrive at a desired balance between volume efficiency of the battery and occurrence of wrinkles.
Regarding claim 8, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1. Hirai further teaches a compression process (i.e., ablation) of the electrode to form a step-shaped portion with reduced thickness. Hirai further discloses wherein the ablation is performed both surface of the electrode sheet (see Fig 7).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the active material layer comprising a low density area 107 and a high density area 105, wherein each area comprises its own surface. Hirai further discloses that the low density area 107 is not substantially compressed (interpreted as “essentially not compressed”) so that the collector positioned in the low density area 107 has small distortion even when compressed under a comparatively low temperature [0028]. As a result, occurrence of wrinkles in a lead-out tab 109 adjacent to the low density area 107 is suppressed [0029]. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that Hirai discloses wherein the surface of the low density area is not substantially compressed, and only the surface of the high density area is compressed. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to not compress the low density area with a reasonable expectation that it would suppress occurrence of wrinkles in a lead-out tab and form a highly reliable electrode [0029].
Regarding claim 11, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in the setting of the notching line, at least a portion of the notching line (i.e., punching along the electrode lead-out tab and a cutting line surrounding each unit electrode [0057]) overlaps the ablation line in the ablation area.
Regarding claim 16, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1. In Fig 1A, Hirai does not disclose wherein performing the ablation does not remove all of the electrode active material at the boundary line and the area surrounded by the ablation line, as claimed. However, Hirai further discloses in Fig 4B and 7, wherein the ablation does not remove all of the electrode at the boundary line and the area surrounded by the ablation line (i.e., comprises a stepped shape [0065]). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness at the boundary line and the are surrounded by the ablation line, with a reasonable expectation to form an electrode without forming wrinkles in the collector surface through the low-density area, thereby allowing a highly reliable battery electrode [0015].
Regarding claim 17, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1. Hirai further discloses wherein a thickness of the electrode active material in the ablation area after the ablation is not constant due to having tapered shape (see Fig 1B).
However, Hirai further discloses in Fig 4B and 7, where the electrode active material in the ablation area after the ablation is constant to form a planar surface that is parallel to a surface of the electrode collector. As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the low density area 107 such that it forms a planar surface parallel to a surface of the electrode collector, as Hirai further discloses that such electrode with the low-density area does not form wrinkles in the collector surface, thereby allowing a highly reliable battery electrode [0015].
Regarding claim 18, modified Hirai teaches the method of claim 1. Hirai further discloses wherein a thickness of the electrode active material in the ablation area after the notching (i.e., after punching the electrode tab and cutting line surrounding each unit electrode [0057]) is not constant to form a planar surface that is parallel to a surface of the electrode collector.
However, Hirai further discloses in Fig 4B and 7, wherein a thickness of the electrode active material in the ablation area after the notching is constant to form a planar surface that is parallel to a surface of the current collector.
As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the ablation area (i.e., low density area 107) such that it forms a planar surface that is parallel to a surface of the current collector, as Hirai further discloses that such electrode with the low-density area does not form wrinkles in the collector surface, thereby allowing a highly reliable battery electrode [0015].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Hirai teaches the method of claim 1. Hirai further teaches that the collector comprising active materials are ablated (i.e., compressed with roll presses [0048]) to form an active material layer with reduced thickness (see Fig 7), wherein a high density area 105 in which a density of the active material layer is enhanced by compression and a low density area 107 are formed. Hirai further discloses that by having different density area, occurrence of wrinkles in an electrode lead-out tab 109 adjacent to the low-density area 107 is suppressed and, when the non-coating area 102 of the collector taken out of the low density area 107 is used as the electrode lead-out tab 109, a highly reliable electrode can be obtained [0029]. However, Hirai does not disclose, teach, or suggest that the ablation is performed using a laser.
Instant application discloses that if the laser moves accurately along the notching line D without the error, the ablation area 15 may be completely removed without remaining, therefore safety may be secured [0079].
Thus, it would not have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify and substitute the roll presses of Hirai, which are used to form a high density area 105 and a low density area 107 and to suppress occurrence of wrinkles in an electrode lead-out tab, with the laser of the instant application, where the laser is used to completely remove the ablation area without remaining to secure safety. Hirai does not disclose, teach or suggest using laser as an alternative to the roll presses.
Atsushi (US20180277816A1) is also directed to a method of manufacturing electrode assembly (title), wherein an electrode assembly (30 in Fig 4) comprises a positive electrode metal foil 32 that includes a flat (two-dimensional) rectangular shaped positive electrode main body 32 a and a positive electrode tab 32b, which extends from one side of the positive electrode main body 32 a. Atsushi further teaches that the positive electrode comprises large tapered portions 34a that may be provided at all four edges 38a, 38b, 38c, and 38d [0090], wherein the tapered portion may be curved or inclined in a valley-shaped upward or downward convex curve (see Fig 20, 21; [0092]) wherein the tapered shaped is formed using laser beam (i.e., ablation; [0071]). Atsushi further teaches that creating a tapered portions on the electrode promotes the supply of the electrolyte solution toward the inner side of the positive electrode plate in the front positive electrode active material layer, due to their inclination. As a result, the impregnation efficiency of the electrolyte solution is enhanced [0086 Atsushi]. While Atsushi teaches general shapes of the tapered portion, Atsushi does not teach a thickness of the electrode sheet prior and after the ablation, and further does not teach or suggest wherein an ablation reduces the thickness of the electrode sheet by approximately 10% to 90% of the predetermined thickness at an ablation area as claimed or any effect that would have been achieved by the 10% to 90% reduction in thickness, and does not teach or suggest any motivation to optimize to arrive at the claimed range of thickness reduction. In contrast, the instant application discloses that the ablation is performed on the area to be previously notched to decrease in thickness, thereby increasing in notching speed and saving an electrode manufacturing time [PG Pub 0070].
Further, the objective of the tapered portion (i.e., promoting the supply of electrolyte solution [0086]) differs from that of Hirai (i.e., reducing wrinkles on the electrode lead out tab [0029]). Thus, it would not have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the use of roll press 172 in the compression process [0048] to create the tapered or step shape (i.e., the high density area 105 and the low density area 107) in Hirai and replace with the laser beam of Atsushi, as Atsushi does not teach or suggest that the high density area 105 and the low density area 107, which are specifically used to suppress occurrence of wrinkles in an electrode lead tab, are achievable by performing ablation using laser beam.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751