DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the Pre-Appeal Conference request filed September 8, 2025. Examiner regrets the untimely reopening of the case and withdraws the previous rejections to further prosecute the claimed invention. Claims 1-7 are pending in this case.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
3. Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enicks et al (KR 20160002911).
Enicks discloses glass substrates having a thickness of less than about 100 microns (paragraph 35) where a brush may be used to scrub the surface of the glass substrate (paragraph 39) where Table 1 of the instant specification discloses using brush cleaning. Because Enicks discloses a glass substrate with the same materials as claimed and preferentially disclosed, the glass of Enicks will inherently possess the number of deposited contaminants, as in claims 1-4 and 6.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4130514 (JP ‘514).
JP ‘514 discloses a cleaned glass substrate, such as Corning 7059 (paragraph 36) where the instant specification discloses using commercially available thin glass including “7059” manufacturing by Corning in paragraph 20 of the published specification. JP ‘514 includes brush scrub cleaning (paragraph 40) where Table 1 of the instant specification discloses using brush cleaning. Although JP ‘514 does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the glass film, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
JP ‘514 does not appear to explicitly teach the number of deposited contaminants on a surface of the glass or flexibility, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the glass layer No. 7059 manufactured by Corning is carried out using material (glass) and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the glass discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed number of deposited contaminants on a surface of the glass and flexibility, as in claims 1-4.
Concerning claim 5, JP ‘514 discloses a cleaned glass substrate, such as Corning 7059 (paragraph 36) where the instant specification discloses using commercially available thin glass including “7059” manufacturing by Corning in paragraph 20 of the published specification. JP ‘514 includes brush scrub cleaning (paragraph 40) where Table 1 of the instant specification discloses using brush cleaning. Although JP ‘514 does not explicitly disclose the length of the glass sheet, length modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 6, JP ‘514 discloses a cleaned glass substrate, such as Corning 7059 (paragraph 36) where the instant specification discloses using commercially available thin glass including “7059” manufacturing by Corning in paragraph 20 of the published specification. JP ‘514 includes brush scrub cleaning (paragraph 40) where Table 1 of the instant specification discloses using brush cleaning. Although JP ‘514 does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the glass film, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
JP ‘514 does not appear to explicitly teach the number of deposited contaminants on a surface of the glass or flexibility, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the glass layer No. 7059 manufactured by Corning is carried out using material (glass) and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the glass discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed number of deposited contaminants on a surface of the glass and flexibility.
Concerning claim 7, JP ‘514 discloses a cleaned glass substrate, such as Corning 7059 (paragraph 36) where the instant specification discloses using commercially available thin glass including “7059” manufacturing by Corning in paragraph 20 of the published specification. JP ‘514 includes brush scrub cleaning (paragraph 40) where Table 1 of the instant specification discloses using brush cleaning. Although JP ‘514 does not explicitly disclose the length of the glass sheet, length modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enicks et al (KR 20160002911).
Enicks is taken as above. Enicks discloses glass substrates having a thickness of less than about 100 microns (paragraph 35) where a brush may be used to scrub the surface of the glass substrate (paragraph 39). Although Enicks does not explicitly disclose the length of the glass sheet, length modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04, as in claims 5 and 7.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tsukane et al. (U.S. 4,831,608) are moot based on grounds of new rejection.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781