DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 17-19, 22-25 and 28-30 have been amended.
Claims: 20 and 26 have not been amended.
Claims: 4, 6-7, 11, 13-16, 21 and 27 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The applicant’s amendments have changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
As indicated in the previous interview summary filed on 09/12/25, the examiner proposed amendments to further amend independent claim 1 and independent claim 8 based on language taken from paragraphs [0107]-[0108] of the applicant’s specification directed towards the use of the order of SYNC sequences used for synchronization and the WUCS information subsequences indicated by the sequences to indicate certain information (i.e. "determine an order between SYNC sequences used for synchronization and information subsequences indicated by the set of sequences; and determine additional information based on the order of SYNC sequences and information subsequences;") in order to put the case in condition for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/19/26 with regards to claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 17-20, 22-26 and 28-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that … independent claims 1 and 8 have been amended to recite, in part, determining "based on the signal, that an identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU, wherein to determine, based on the signal, that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the processor being configured to determine that at least one of the set of one or more sequences matches a configured sequence set or the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern" and "based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU, transition[ing] from the first operation to a second operation and monitor[ing] for a PDCCH resource." Contrary to the recited subject matter, none of the cited references-whether alone or in the proposed combination-teach or suggest the recited subject matter. Oh is completely silent on the recited subject matter. … However, comparing the extracted data from a synchronization pattern to previously stored information, as taught in Oh, is not equivalent to determining "based on the signal, that an identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU, wherein to determine, based on the signal, that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the processor being configured to determine that at least one of the set of one or more sequences matches a configured sequence set or the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern" and "based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU, transition[ing] from the first operation to a second operation and monitor[ing] for a PDCCH resource," as the claims recite (emphasis added). First, the synchronization pattern and the decoded information taught in Oh are not “… the set of one or more sequences…,” as the claims recite (emphasis added). As explained above, Oh decodes wake-up information from the synchronization pattern that synchronizes the wake-up signal, and not from “… the set of one or more sequences…,” as the claims recite (emphasis added). Second, comparing the decoded information to stored information, as taught in Oh, is not equivalent to determining "that at least one of the set of one or more sequences matches a configured sequence set as the claims recite (emphasis added). In fact, Oh is silent on the recited subject matter. Accordingly, Oh cannot be said to teach or suggest the recited subject matter. Moreover, the Office Action does not assert Ljung against the recited subject matter. For any of the above reasons, independent claims 1 and 8 are patentable over the cited references. At least due to their dependence on their respective independent claims, dependent claims are also patentable over the cited references (See Pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Arguments filed on 01/19/26).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments, the combination of the teachings of Oh in view of Jiang together as a whole does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of "based on the signal, that an identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU, wherein to determine, based on the signal, that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the processor being configured to determine that at least one of the set of one or more sequences matches a configured sequence set or the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern" and "based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU, transition[ing] from the first operation to a second operation and monitor[ing] for a PDCCH resource," as will be apparent in the following explanations.
To begin with, the examiner notes that the applicant’s argued limitations are written broad in that there is no explicit indication as to what the recited “identifier” is directed towards and only requires that a determination of the identifier involves either matching the recited one or more sequences to a configured sequence or matching the bit pattern to a configured bit pattern and as such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “identifier” can either be directed towards the identifier being the one or more sequences or the bit pattern and due to the alternative language format “or”, the prior art would need to only show one of the recited matching limitations in order to read upon the applicant’s claimed invention.
With the broadest reasonable interpretation in mind, the examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of Oh, [0055]-[0056], [0068], [0102], [0104] & [0106] seen below:
[0104] The RF receiving unit 1010 receives some of the wake-up signal, and the SFD detector 1203 of the wake-up controller 1021 performs sampling of some of the wake-up signal and detects the SFD (S1503).
[0055] FIG. 5 illustrates the structure of a frame of a wake-up signal according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 5, the frame of the wake-up signal according to the current embodiment includes an SFD field 510 and a data field 520.
[0056] The SFD field 510 is a portion that is added to a conventional frame of a wake-up signal, and contains an SFD.
[0106] If detection of the SFD is successful in operation S1503, the wake-up controller 1021 supplies power to all elements of the RF receiving unit 1010 and the wake-up receiver 1022 (S1504).
[0068] A bit string of the SFD 701 is determined by sampling the SFD value and the OR operation on the sampled values, and the detected SFD is compared to a previously-stored SFD by performing an XNOR operation (S603). If the detected SFD is identical to the previously-stored SFD, a signal indicating that detection of the SFD is successful is generated (S604).
[0102] Referring to FIG. 15, the wake-up controller 1021 turns off the second amplifier 1102 of the RF receiving unit 1010, the wake-up receiver 1022, and the wake-up transmitter 1023 (S1501).
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Oh seen above, Oh, [0068] discloses a bit string (i.e. reads on identifier and bit pattern) of the SFD is determined by sampling the SFD value and the detected SFD is compared to a previously stored SFD and if the detected SFD is identical to the previously stored SFD (i.e. reads on determine that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern), a signal indicating that detection of the SFD is successful is generated and Oh, [0104] discloses the RF receiving unit receives some of the wake-up signal (i.e. reads on based on the signal) and the SFD detector performs sampling of some of the wake-up signal and detects the SFD and Oh, [0102] discloses that the wake-up controller turns off (i.e. reads on first operation) the second amplifier 1102 of the RF receiving unit 1010, the wake-up receiver 1022, and the wake-up transmitter 1023 and Oh, [0106] discloses If detection of the SFD is successful (i.e. reads on based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU) in operation S1503, the wake-up controller 1021 supplies power (i.e. reads on transition to second operation) to all elements of the RF receiving unit 1010 and the wake-up receiver 1022 and Oh, [0055]-[0056] discloses the frame of the wake-up signal according to the current embodiment includes an SFD field 510 and a data field 520 and discloses the SFD field 510 is a portion that is added to a conventional frame of a wake-up signal, and contains an SFD which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the received signal includes the bit string of the SFD that is compared against a previously stored SFD it transitions the device from an off state to a powered on state which reads on applicant’s argued limitations of "based on the signal, that an identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU, wherein to determine, based on the signal, that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the processor being configured to determine that the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern" and "based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU, transition[ing] from the first operation to a second operation”.
In addition, the examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of Jiang, [0071] & [0076] seen below:
[0076] For still yet another example, the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE, so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH. The WUS or go-to-sleep signal may be transmitted in the form of sequence. When the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS or go-to-sleep signal is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS or go-to-sleep signal is located, and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information. When the blind detection is performed unsuccessfully, the UE may try to perform the blind detection on another OFDM symbol (or another group of OFDM symbols). When the sequence detected by the UE is the sequence 2, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is first two OFDM symbols within the sub-frame where the WUS or go-to-sleep signal is located, and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information. When the blind detection is performed unsuccessfully, the UE may try to perform the blind detection on another OFDM symbol (or another group of OFDM symbols). When the sequence detected by the UE is a sequence 3, it is unnecessary for the UE to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH, and the UE may be maintained in the go-to-sleep state.
[0071] In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when the sequence detection result indicates the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed, i.e., the PDCCH may be received subsequently. Otherwise, the UE may be maintained in the go-to-sleep state. As a result, in the embodiments of the present disclosure, it is able for the UE to receive the PDCCH in time or be maintained in the go-to-sleep state in accordance with the state detection result, thereby to reduce the power consumption for the UE.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Jiang seen above, Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed (i.e. reads on monitor a PDCCH resource) and the PDCCH may be received subsequently and Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize and find obvious that a monitoring of the PDCCH is performed during blind detection of the WUS sequence on the PDCCH time domain frequency resource and clearly reads on applicant’s argued limitations of “and monitor[ing] for a PDCCH resource,".
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17-20, 22-26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0150042 herein after referenced as Oh) in view of JIANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0204292 herein after referenced as Jiang).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8, Oh discloses:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: and A method comprising: receive a signal (Oh, Fig. 15 & [0101]-[0102] discloses Fig. 15 illustrates a process of waking up the sensor node (i.e. reads on while the WTRU) by receiving the wakeup signal and discloses the wake-up controller turns off (i.e. reads on is associated with the first operation) the second amplifier of the RF receiving unit, the wake-up receiver and the wakeup transmitter; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0104] discloses the RF receiving unit receives some of the wake-up signal (i.e. reads on receive a signal) and the SFD detector performs sampling of some of the wake-up signal and detects the SFD; Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt; Oh, Fig. 10 & [0078] discloses the apparatus for transmitting and receiving the wake-up signal includes an RF receiving unit, a wake-up transmitting and receiving unit, a sensor node and an RF transmitting unit; Oh, Fig. 10 & [0080]-[0081] discloses the wake-up transmitting and receiving unit includes a wake-up controller and discloses the wake-up controller transmits a control signal to each of the RF receiving unit, the wake-up receiver and wake-up transmitter and controls them; Oh, [0113] discloses the main unit may include a processor connected to a memory system via a mutual connection mechanism. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the sensor node is associated in a sleep mode operation where circuits are turned off when the sensor node receives the wake-up signal).
wherein the signal comprises a bit pattern and a set of one or more sequences associated with the bit pattern; (Oh, Fig. 5 & [0055] discloses the structure of a frame of a wake-up signal includes an SFD field (i.e. reads on bit pattern) and a data field (i.e. reads on set of one or more sequences associated with the bit pattern); Oh, [0057]-[0060] discloses the SFD is a bit string (i.e. reads on bit pattern) for frame synchronization indicating start of a frame in which byte rows next to the SFD are valid and the SFD performs a function of indicating the wake-up signal and discloses the synchronization patterns are generally used in Manchester coding for synchronization of the wake-up signal and the wake-up data and the parity bit may be Manchester decoded by detecting the synchronization patterns and thus the synchronization patterns also have values of 111000 or 000111 and may be used as patterns to be compared and as values transferring timing synchronization and discloses the wake-up data includes a wake-up ID (i.e. reads on set of one sequence) indicating a node to be waken up by the wake-up signal; Oh, [0058] Fig. 5 & discloses the data field includes synchronization patterns 521, wake-up data 522 and a parity bit 523; Oh, [0049] discloses a bit string of an SFD is shorter than that of wake-up data; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0106]-[0107] discloses if detection of the SFD is successful, the wake-up controller supplies power to all elements and discloses if the wake-up controller supplies power to the first amplifier, second amplifier, the envelope detector and the comparator of the RF receiving unit, the RF receiving unit receives the wake-up signal in a complete form and detects the synchronization patterns; Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt; Oh, [0082] discloses the wake-up receiver detects a wake-up signal from a signal that is received by the RF receiving unit and compares a wake-up ID of the detected wake-up signal to a previously stored wake-up ID. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the SFD is a wakeup signal that comprises a bit string pattern that is associated with the set of sequences of the wake-up ID in the wake-up data that also corresponds to different bit string patterns. Applicant’s Claim 5 recites “wherein a combination of the set of one or more sequences indicates one or more of a WTRU group identification (ID) or a WTRU ID” and Applicant’s Specification, [0136]-[0137] recites “the detected bit pattern may carry information (e.g., a first level of information). For example, the bit pattern may be or may include an indication (e.g., a WUS) to the WTRU (e.g., and/or a group of WTRUs) to wake-up from a sleep state” and recites “if the WTRU (e.g., and/or the group of WTRUs) wakes up from the sleep state, the WTRU may detect sequence(s) … The sequence(s) may carry information (e.g., a second level of information). For example, the sequence(s) may carry a WTRU group ID and/or a WTRU ID. The sequence(s) may include information about an upcoming PDCCH resource (e.g., location of the PDCCH)” and Applicant’s Specification, [0115] recites “One or more (e.g., pre-defined) sequences may be used for SYNC, wake-up information, WTRU/WTRU group information, WTRU ID, WTRU group ID, and/or the like.”).
determine, based on the signal, that an identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU, wherein to determine, based on the signal, that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the processor being configured to determine that at least one of (Oh, [0068] discloses a bit string (i.e. reads on identifier and bit pattern) of the SFD is determined by sampling the SFD value and the detected SFD is compared to a previously stored SFD and if the detected SFD is identical to the previously stored SFD (i.e. reads on determine that the identifier indicated by the signal is associated with the WTRU comprises the bit pattern matches a configured bit pattern), a signal indicating that detection of the SFD is successful is generated; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0104] discloses the RF receiving unit receives some of the wake-up signal (i.e. reads on based on the signal) and the SFD detector performs sampling of some of the wake-up signal and detects the SFD. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “the set of one or more sequences matches a configured sequence set or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
and based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU, transition from the first operation to a second operation (Oh, Fig. 15 & [0106] discloses if detection of the SFD is successful (i.e. reads on and based on the determination that the identifier is associated with the WTRU), the wake-up controller supplies power to all elements (i.e. reads on transition to a second operation); Oh, Fig. 15 & [0102] discloses the wake-up controller turns off the second amplifier of the RF receiving unit, the wake-up receiver and the wake-up transmitter (i.e. from the first operation); Oh, [0068] discloses a bit string (i.e. reads on bit pattern) of the SFD is determined by sampling the SFD value and the detected SFD is compared to a previously stored SFD and if the detected SFD is identical to the previously stored SFD (i.e. reads on based on a determination that the bit pattern matches the configured bit pattern), a signal indicating that detection of the SFD is successful is generated; Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode (i.e. reads on first operation) and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up (i.e. reads on transition to a second operation) so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that when the bit string of the SFD matches the stored SFD and the SFD detection is successful, the sensor node transitions from a sleep state where the elements are turned off to an awake state where power is supplied to all the elements. Applicant’s claim 20 recites “wherein the first operation is a sleep state, wherein the second operation is a wakeup state and wherein to transition from the first operation to the second operation comprises a transition from the sleep state to the wake up state”).
Oh discloses a device receives a wakeup signal that includes a data field comprising a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the wake-up signal but fails to explicitly disclose that the wakeup signal is received from a base station and the use of energy detection and also fails to explicitly disclose that the data field comprises additional information directed towards a PDCCH resource and therefore fails to disclose “receive a signal from a base station while the WTRU is associated with a first operation” and “and monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
receive a signal from a base station while the WTRU is associated with a first operation (Jiang, [0037] discloses the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal may be transmitted by the base station (i.e. reads on receive a signal from a base station); Jiang, [0055] discloses it is able to wake up the UE in time or maintain the UE to be in the go-to-sleep state (i.e. reads on while the WTRU is associated with a first operation) in accordance with the state detection result so as to reduce the power consumption for the UE; Jiang, [0050]-[0051] discloses the signal may be transmitted in an on-off keying OOK manner and discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload; Jiang, [0067] discloses the length of a signal sequence included in the signal will not be particularly defined such as 1, 2, 4 or 8 bits; Jiang, [0034] discloses the detection step includes detecting energy, electrical level, sequence content, payload or indication information of a wake-up signal WUS so as to acquire a corresponding detection result; Jiang, [0080] discloses the transmission in the form of the payload of a digital signal may refer to that a corresponding blind detection parameter is represented by a payload of the encoded signal and different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters; Jiang, [0087] discloses the state detection result may correspond to a plurality of blind detection parameters so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the bandwidth parts to be detected by the UE is the bandwidth part 1 and the aggregation level is 1; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information).
and monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource (Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed (i.e. reads on monitor a PDCCH resource) and the PDCCH may be received subsequently; Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, Fig. 3 & [0041] discloses performing blind detection on the PDCCH in accordance with the blind detection parameter; Jiang, [0094] discloses the blind detection parameter may include at least one of bandwidth parts occupied by the PDCCH, a time-frequency-domain resource occupied by the PDCCH; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Oh to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement and determine the corresponding information of the signal (Jiang, [0034] & [0051]) and to reduce power consumption during blind detection and reception of the PDCCH (Jiang, [0085] & [0087]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal utilizing on/off keying OOK that is detected by a receiving device as taught by Oh) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal utilizing on/off keying OOK that is detected by a receiving device, wherein the receiving device utilizes energy detection in order to determine the digital value of the signal and utilizes OFDM symbols and various blind detection parameters such as the resources for the PDCCH and wherein the wakeup signal is transmitted by the base station when the UE is in a sleep state and wherein the sequence of zeros and non-zeros are utilized to indicate various information as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal utilizing on/off keying OOK that is detected by a receiving device (i.e. as taught by Oh & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the bit pattern comprises a set of on and off bits, and wherein to detect the bit pattern based on an energy detection comprises the processor being configured to detect a set of on bits if an energy is above a threshold value and detect a set of off bits if the energy is below the threshold value (Oh, [0035] discloses the comparator determines digital values such as 1 and 0 of the received wireless signal and outputs the digital values and in other words, if a value output from the envelop detector is greater than a predetermined reference value, the comparator determines the digital value as 1 and if the value output from the envelop detector is less than the predetermined reference value, the comparator determines the digital value as 0; Jiang, [0050]-[0051] discloses the signal may be transmitted in an on-off keying OOK manner and discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein a combination of the set of one or more indicates one or more of a WTRU group identification (ID) or a WTRU ID, and wherein a pattern of on and off duration associated with the bit pattern is configured to indicate one (Oh, Fig. 15 & [0111] discloses if the wake-up ID is identical to a previously-stored wake-up ID, the wake-up ID comparator generates an interrupt that is used to wake-up the sensor node; Oh, [0060] discloses the wake-up data includes a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the wake-up signa; Jiang, [0050]-[0051] discloses the signal may be transmitted in an on-off keying OOK manner and discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload).
Regarding claim 17 and claim 23, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein the set of one or more sequences comprises a first sequence set, a second sequence set, and a third sequence set, and wherein the first sequence set comprises a first sequence of non-zero values, the second sequence set comprises a second sequence of non-zero values, and the third sequence comprises a sequence of zero values (Oh, [0059]-[0060] discloses the synchronization patterns may have values of 111000 or 000111 and the wakeup data includes a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the signal; Oh, Fig. 7 & [0067] discloses when an SFD bit is 1, 1 may be sampled at least once for 1 ms and if the SFD bit is 0, all of 250 sampling values are 0 and Fig. 7 shows a sequence of 10100111; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the different data types utilized for the synchronization patterns and wake-up data may correspond to a predetermined sequence sets of 1’s and 0’s).
Regarding claim 18 and claim 24, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 17, (see claim 17) and The method of claim 23 (see claim 23).
wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are different (Oh, [0059]-[0060] discloses the synchronization patterns may have values of 111000 or 000111 and the wakeup data includes a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the signal; Oh, Fig. 7 & [0067] discloses when an SFD bit is 1, 1 may be sampled at least once for 1 ms and if the SFD bit is 0, all of 250 sampling values are 0 and Fig. 7 shows a sequence of 10100111; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Regarding claim 19 and claim 25, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 17, (see claim 17) and The method of claim 23 (see claim 23).
wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are the same (Oh, [0059]-[0060] discloses the synchronization patterns may have values of 111000 or 000111 and the wakeup data includes a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the signal; Oh, Fig. 7 & [0067] discloses when an SFD bit is 1, 1 may be sampled at least once for 1 ms and if the SFD bit is 0, all of 250 sampling values are 0 and Fig. 7 shows a sequence of 10100111; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Regarding claim 20, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the first operation is a sleep state, wherein the second operation is a wake up state, and wherein to transition from the first operation to the second operation comprises a transition from the sleep state to the wake up state (Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0106] discloses if detection of the SFD is successful, the wake-up controller supplies power to all elements; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0102] discloses the wake-up controller turns off the second amplifier of the RF receiving unit, the wake-up receiver and the wake-up transmitter).
Regarding claim 22, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: (see claim 1).
based on a determination that the identifier indicated by the signal is not associated with the WTRU, maintain the first operation (Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0105] discloses if detection of the SFD has failed in operation S1503, the process returns to operation S1502 of supplying power for a period of time).
Regarding claim 26, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The method of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the first operation is a sleep state, wherein the second operation is a wake up state, and wherein to transition from the first operation to the second operation comprises a transition from the sleep state to the wake up state, and wherein the method comprises: based on a determination that the bit pattern does not match the configured bit pattern, maintaining the first operation (Oh, [0076] discloses that sensor nodes connected to the apparatus for transmitting and receiving a wake-up signal according to the current embodiment are in sleep mode and only when a predetermined signal is detected, all circuits are waken up so as to receive the wake-up signal and to generate an interrupt; Oh, Fig. 15 & [0105] discloses if detection of the SFD has failed in operation S1503, the process returns to operation S1502 of supplying power for a period of time).
Regarding claim 28, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the set of one or more sequences is configured to generate an ON symbol associated with the bit pattern, and wherein the ON symbol includes information associated with a PDCCH resource location (Jiang, [0051] discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload; Jiang, [0094] discloses the blind detection parameter may include at least one of a type of a search space of the PDCCH, bandwidth parts occupied by the PDCCH, a time-frequency-domain resource occupied by the PDCCH, etc.; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Oh, [0035] discloses the comparator determines digital values such as 1 and 0 of the received wireless signal and outputs the digital values and in other words, if a value output from the envelop detector is greater than a predetermined reference value, the comparator determines the digital value as 1 and if the value output from the envelop detector is less than the predetermined reference value, the comparator determines the digital value as 0).
Regarding claim 29, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein a PDCCH resource location associated with the PDCCH resource is for an upcoming PDCCH resource, and wherein the bit pattern comprises a first bit, a second bit, and a third bit, wherein a value of the first bit is one, a value of the second bit is one, and a value of the third bit is zero (Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed and the PDCCH may be received subsequently; Oh, Fig. 7 & [0067] discloses when an SFD bit is 1, 1 may be sampled at least once for 1 ms and if the SFD bit is 0, all of 250 sampling values are 0 and Fig. 7 shows a sequence of 10100111; Oh, [0059]-[0060] discloses the synchronization patterns may have values of 111000 or 000111 and the wakeup data includes a wake-up ID indicating a node to be waken up by the signal; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0150042 herein after referenced as Oh) in view of JIANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0204292 herein after referenced as Jiang) in view of Shellhammer et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0273647 herein after referenced as Shell) and further in view of ATUNGSIRI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0153120 herein after referenced as Atung).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the signal is an on/off keying (OOK) signal, wherein the OOK signal comprises a set of OOK symbols using a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols (Oh, [0077] discloses the apparatus for transmitting and receiving the wake-up signal pursues low power while maintaining the reliability of the wake-up signal and thus is implemented by an OOK modulation method; Oh, [0033] discloses a wake-up signal is transmitted by using an on off keying OOK modulation method; Jiang, [0050]-[0051] discloses the signal may be transmitted in an on-off keying OOK manner and discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information).
Oh in view of Jiang discloses transmitting a sequence of a wakeup signal in an OOK manner but fails to explicitly disclose that said sequence is transmitted or received during an on duration and utilizes a Zadoff Chu sequence and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the set of one or more sequences is received while the OOK signal is associated with an on duration, and wherein the set of one or more sequences is associated with a Zadoff Chu sequence”.
In a related field of endeavor, Shell discloses:
wherein the set of one or more sequences is received while the OOK signal is associated with an on duration, (Shell, [0056] discloses additional information may be embedded into “on” subcarriers over the OOK “on” period and the additional information may be encoded as predefined sequences known to the receiver and such information may include, for example, wakeup signal identification information to inform non-WUR receivers of the signal type).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Oh in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Shell for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification via OOK signaling as taught by Oh) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification via OOK signaling, wherein the wakeup identification is transmitted during the on duration of the OOK signal as taught by Shell) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification via OOK signaling (i.e. as taught by Oh & Shell) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Oh in view of Jiang and further in view of Shell fails to disclose “and wherein the set of one or more sequences is associated with a Zadoff Chu sequence”.
In a related field of endeavor, Atung discloses:
and wherein the set of one or more sequences is associated with a Zadoff Chu sequence (Atung, [0103] discloses the different Zadoff-Chu sequence roots indicate the UE ID group whilst the n value in the frequency shift function indicates whether the UE should wake up or go to sleep).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Oh in view of Jiang and further in view of Shell to incorporate the teachings of Atung for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification as taught by Oh) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification, wherein the wakeup identification is transmitted using a Zadoff-Chu sequence as taught by Atung) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup identification via OOK signaling (i.e. as taught by Oh & Atung) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0150042 herein after referenced as Oh) in view of JIANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0204292 herein after referenced as Jiang) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0364505 herein after referenced as Wang).
Regarding claim 30, Oh in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: (see claim 1).
Oh in view of Jiang discloses the transmission of a wakeup signal sequence but fails to explicitly disclose the use of SINR and therefore fails to disclose “determine whether a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) associated with the signal is below a threshold value; and based on a determination that the SINR is below the threshold value, skip using information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal and based on a determination that the SINR is above the threshold value, use information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal”.
In a related field of endeavor, Wang discloses:
determine whether a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) associated with the signal is below a threshold value; and based on a determination that the SINR is below the threshold value, skip using information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal and based on a determination that the SINR is above the threshold value, use information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal (Wang, [0137] discloses when a WUR has determined that the WUF is meant for itself, the WUR may ignore the WUF if the WUF is received below a certain signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio SINR threshold; Wang, Fig. 2 & [0104] discloses wake up frame WUF used by the wake up radios may have the following format depicted in Fig. 2).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Oh in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Wang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine when receive and ignore a wakeup signal (Wang, [0137]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal as taught by Oh) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal, wherein the wakeup signal is received or ignored depending on SINR as taught by Wang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal (i.e. as taught by Oh & Wang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645