DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 17, 23 and 28 have been amended.
Claims: 31-32 have been added.
Claims: 18-19, 24-25 and 29-30 have not been amended.
Claims: 4, 6-7, 11, 13-16, 20-22 and 26-27 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The applicant’s amendments filed 06/09/26 have changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 17-19, 23-25 and 28-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
As indicated in the previous interview summary filed on 09/12/25, the examiner proposed amendments to further amend independent claim 1 and independent claim 8 based on language taken from paragraphs [0107]-[0108] of the applicant’s specification directed towards the use of the order of SYNC sequences used for synchronization and the WUCS information subsequences indicated by the sequences to indicate certain information (i.e. "determine an order between SYNC sequences used for synchronization and information subsequences indicated by the set of sequences; and determine additional information based on the order of SYNC sequences and information subsequences;") in order to put the case in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shellhammer et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0152333 herein after referenced as Shell) in view of Cox et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0029302 herein after referenced as Cox).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8, Shell discloses:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: and A method for implementing in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: receive a wake-up signal from a base station, (Shell, Fig. 7 & [0109] discloses Accordingly, at 720, AP 105-c (i.e. reads on a base station) may transmit (i.e. reads on receive from) the wakeup signal (i.e. reads on wake-up signal) representing the wakeup message to STA 115-c (i.e. reads on a WTRU). Upon receipt of the wakeup signal, STA 115-c may decode the wakeup signal at 725. Based on the decoding e.g., where STA 115-c determines that a wakeup message is intended for STA 115-c, STA 115-c may activate a primary radio at 730. At 735, STA 115-c and AP 105-c may exchange data or other communications; Shell, [0049] discloses FIG. 11 illustrates a block diagram of a system including a base station that supports MC-OOK waveform coding in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure; Shell, Fig. 15 & [0163] discloses Device 1505 may be an example of or include the components of STA 115 as described above … Device 1505 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including STA multicarrier waveform manager 1515, processor 1520, memory 1525, software 1530, transceiver 1535, antenna 1540, I/O controller 1545, and wakeup radio 1555. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more busses e.g., bus 1510. Transceiver 1535 may include a primary radio, which may be an example of a primary radio 116 described with reference to FIG. 1. Wakeup radio 1555 may be an example of a wakeup radio 117 described with reference to FIG. 1).
wherein the wake-up signal comprises a bit pattern on an on/off keying (OOK) signal (Shell, [0145] discloses STA multicarrier waveform manager 1215 may receive a multicarrier wakeup signal at a first radio of a wireless device, where the multicarrier wakeup signal (i.e. reads on wake-up signal comprises) is modulated using a set of OOK patterns (bit pattern on an OOK signal), each of the set of OOK patterns including one or more on portions and one or more off portions, a first OOK pattern used to generate a first waveform representing a first bit value, and a second OOK pattern used to generate a second waveform representing a second bit value, decode the multicarrier wakeup signal based on the set of OOK patterns, and activate a second radio of the wireless device based on the decoding; Shell, [0053] discloses using On/Off Keying OOK to receive communications during a low-power state).
and a set of one or more or more ON symbols of the bit pattern, and wherein the bit pattern and the set of one or more(Shell, [0089]-[0090] discloses In other examples, additional information may be encoded into subcarriers or tones 405 during “on” symbol periods (i.e. reads on transmitted on one or more ON symbols of the bit pattern) e.g., carried on subcarriers during the OOK “on” period, but not during the OOK “off” period. The additional information may be encoded as predefined sequences (i.e. reads on set of one or more sequences) known to the receiver … Such information may include, for example, wakeup signal identification information … The additional information (i.e. reads on and the set of one or more sequences) may be the same as information (i.e. reads on both convey a codepoint) conveyed through OOK modulation (i.e. reads on wherein the bit pattern) described above with reference to FIG. 2 e.g., information of a wakeup message or may be different information and discloses In the case where information bits are encoded as predefined sequences known to the receiver, 2.sup.N sets of sequences may be defined for N-bit information granularity. That is, 2.sup.N sets of sequences may be defined for the subcarrier set 410 of a symbol period, with each sequence corresponding to one combination of that N-bit information set. For example, 2 information bits may be encoded in a single symbol e.g., symbol period using 4 different sets of tone sequences; Shell, [0064] discloses The OOK patterns used to generate the multicarrier wakeup signal may include multiple “on” and “off” time periods during one or more OFDM symbol period to represent a single bit value e.g., one information bit).
determine the codepoint based on at least one of the bit pattern or the set of one or more(Shell, Fig. 7 & [0109] discloses Accordingly, at 720, AP 105-c may transmit the wakeup signal representing the wakeup message to STA 115-c. Upon receipt of the wakeup signal, STA 115-c may decode the wakeup signal (i.e. reads on based on at least one of the bit pattern or the set of one or more sequences) at 725. Based on the decoding e.g., where STA 115-c determines (i.e. reads on determine) that a wakeup message is intended for STA 115-c (i.e. reads on the codepoint), STA 115-c may activate a primary radio at 730. At 735, STA 115-c and AP 105-c may exchange data or other communications; Shell, [0089] discloses The additional information may be encoded as predefined sequences known to the receiver … Such information may include, for example, wakeup signal identification information … The additional information may be the same as information conveyed through OOK modulation described above with reference to FIG. 2 e.g., information of a wakeup message or may be different information; Shell, [0055] discloses A radio of a receiver may receive a wakeup message including the encoded multicarrier waveform and identify an OOK “on” or OOK “off” signal by comparing the received multicarrier waveform to a threshold, such as comparing the measured receive power associated with the received multicarrier waveform to a threshold receive power value; Shell, [0161] discloses Tone sequence identifier 1450 identify, in the one or more on portions of the multicarrier wakeup signal, a tone sequence on a set of subcarriers, and identify the one or more information bits associated with the one of the set of tone sequences. In some cases, decoding the one or more information bits based on the identified tone sequence includes determining that the identified tone sequence is one of a set of tone sequences used to encode information bits during on portions of multicarrier wakeup signals. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that wakeup signal identification information is the same for both sequence and OOK pattern and is utilized in determining whether the wakeup signal is intended for the station).
and based on a determination that the codepoint is associated with the WTRU, (Shell, Fig. 7 & [0109] discloses Accordingly, at 720, AP 105-c may transmit the wakeup signal representing the wakeup message to STA 115-c. Upon receipt of the wakeup signal, STA 115-c may decode the wakeup signal at 725. Based on the decoding e.g., where STA 115-c determines (i.e. reads on based on a determination) that a wakeup message is intended for STA 115-c (i.e. reads on that the codepoint is associated with the WTRU), STA 115-c may activate a primary radio at 730. At 735, STA 115-c and AP 105-c may exchange data or other communications).
Shell discloses a station STA receiving a wakeup signal WUS from an access point AP and based on decoding the wakeup signal to determine that the wakeup message is intended for itself, activate a primary radio in order to exchange data or other communications with the AP, wherein the wakeup signal is modulated using OOK and includes sequences but fails to explicitly recite the type of sequences being Zadoff-Chu and fails to explicitly recite that the exchanging of data and communications includes monitoring a PDCCH and therefore fails to disclose “Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences” and “and based on a determination that the codepoint is associated with the WTRU, monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).”
In a related field of endeavor, Cox discloses:
Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences (Cox, [0114] discloses In one embodiment, the sequence can be any constant amplitude zero autocorrelation CAZAC sequence, e.g., a Zadoff-Chu ZC sequence (i.e. reads on ZC sequences). For example, NPSS/NSSS, PSS or DMRS can be used. To differentiate the sequence from a legacy NPSS/NSSS/PSS, a ZC sequence with a different root index and/or of a different length may be used; Cox, [0113] discloses In general, the sequence should facilitate easy detection using low power receivers and maintain very low cross-correlation with existing signals defined in LTE or NB-IoT, such as the Narrowband Primary Synchronization Signal NPSS, Narrowband Secondary Synchronization Signal NSSS, or UL).
and based on a determination that the codepoint is associated with the WTRU, monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Cox, [0199] discloses The UE may thus receive 4 possible signals. The first signal may include WUSG1 and GTS. If only the UEs in WUSG1 are being paged, then the eNB may transmit a combination of WUSG1 and GTS during the WUS occasion. The UEs monitoring the WUS occasion may detect this signal and match (i.e. reads on based on the determination) the signal to their own group (i.e. reads on the codepoint is associated with the WTRU) or to the GTS. If the UEs belong to WUSG1, a positive match results and the UEs may wake up to monitor the PDCCH (i.e. reads on monitor for a PDCCH). However, if the UEs belong to WUSG2, the UEs may obtain a positive correlation with the GTS signal and would thus go back to sleep; Cox, [0201]-[0203] discloses In a fourth set of embodiments, different WUS sequences may be assigned for different WUS group combinations within the same WUS occasion and discloses The first sequence may be WUSG1. When the UEs receive this sequence, both sets of UEs may decode the WUS, get a match and determine that the WUS is for the WUSG1 group. Thus, only UEs belonging to WUSG1 would wake-up, while UEs belonging to WUSG2 would go back to sleep and discloses The benefit of this approach is that the missed detection probability may not increase due to the transmit power split between two signals. … This solution may also have the benefit of re-using resources and also lowering power savings through less frequent wake-ups; Cox, [0112] discloses The WUS resource may be configured for the UE or group of UEs via higher layer signaling. The eNB may first send a WUS on the WUS occasion WO resource when there is DL control message such as a Paging message on a PDCCH or data on a PDSCH to be sent during a paging occasion when the UE is in idle mode DRX or during the On Duration in when the UE is in cDRX. … The UE in idle mode DRX or cDRX may use a wake-up receiver to detect the WUS and may only wake up the baseband processor when a WUS is detected. The WUS may comprise a sequence and may additionally include a payload; Cox, [0125] discloses The WUS can include a payload in addition to a preamble. The payload may include the ID of UEs to wake up for monitoring paging message or for monitoring the M/N PDCCH during connected DRX states; Cox, [0195] discloses To effect this, in a first set of embodiments a UE-specific ID may be used as a payload within the WUS. In this case, the WUS payload may contain the UE-specific ID; Cox, [0229] discloses As above, the WUS ideally would be quite simple and use a low-order modulation scheme such as OOK, FSK, and DBPSK, etc.; Cox, [0094] discloses The physical downlink control channel PDCCH may carry information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel, among other things).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shell to incorporate the teachings of Cox for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize sequences that facilitate easy detection and differentiates from legacy sequences (Cox, [0113]-[0114]) and to allow the system to receive downlink paging message when available (Cox, [0112] & [0199]) and to provide the benefit of re-using resources and also lowering power savings through less frequent wake-ups while ensuring that the missed detection probability may not increase due to the transmit power split between two signals (Cox, [0201]-[0203]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Shell, [0188]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a station STA receiving a wakeup signal WUS from an access point AP and based on decoding the wakeup signal to determine that the wakeup message is intended for itself, activate a primary radio in order to exchange data or other communications with the AP, wherein the wakeup signal is modulated using OOK and includes sequences as taught by Shell) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a station STA receiving a wakeup signal WUS from an access point AP and based on decoding the wakeup signal to determine that the wakeup message is intended for itself, activate a primary radio in order to exchange data or other communications with the AP, wherein the wakeup signal is modulated using OOK and includes sequences, wherein the sequences are Zadoff-Chu ZC sequences and wherein the communications include monitoring the PDCCH when the sequences or the wake up signal indicates a same group ID or UE ID as taught by Cox) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a station STA receiving a wakeup signal WUS from an access point AP and based on decoding the wakeup signal to determine that the wakeup message is intended for itself, activate a primary radio in order to exchange data or other communications with the AP, wherein the wakeup signal is modulated using OOK and includes sequences (i.e. as taught by both Shell & Cox) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein the OOK signal comprises a set of OOK symbols using a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols (Shell, [0054] discloses Shell, [0075] discloses For example, the transmitter may not transmit a signal during time segment 315-a and may transmit a multicarrier waveform during time segment 315-b e.g., an OOK “off” period followed by an OOK “on” period representing one OOK pattern. In some cases, this structure may represent a zero bit waveform. In another example, transmitter may transmit a multicarrier waveform during time segment 315-a and not transmit during time segment 315-b e.g., an OOK “on” period followed by an OOK “off” period representing a second OOK pattern. This structure may represent one information bit. In some examples, waveform 300-a may be representative of a multicarrier wakeup signal and may span an integer multiple of OFDM symbols. In other examples, waveform 300-a may span a non-integer multiple of OFDM symbols; Shell, [0064] discloses The OOK patterns used to generate the multicarrier wakeup signal may include multiple “on” and “off” time periods during one or more OFDM symbol period to represent a single bit value e.g., one information bit; Shell, [0054] discloses For example, the transmitter may power 13 subcarriers of a 64-point orthogonal frequency division multiplexing OFDM waveform e.g., where the 13 subcarriers of the 64-point OFDM waveform represent 4 MHz of bandwidth of a 20 MHz channel) for 4 microseconds to produce an OOK “on” signal. In some cases, the radio may indicate an OOK “off” signal by not transmitting anything. For example, the radio may not power any subcarriers of a 64-point OFDM waveform, including the 13 subcarriers).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein the bit pattern comprises a set of ON and OFF bits, and wherein to detect the bit pattern based on an energy detection comprises the processor being configured to detect a set of ON bits if an energy is above a threshold value and detect a set of OFF bits if the energy is below the threshold value (Shell, [0073] discloses Wakeup radio 117-a may receive the multicarrier waveform over first communication link 205. In some examples, wakeup radio 117-a may identify an OOK “on” or OOK “off” signal by comparing the received multicarrier waveform to a threshold. For example, if the received multicarrier waveform is greater than the threshold, wakeup radio 117-a may read the signal as a one bit e.g., OOK “on” signal, and if the received multicarrier waveform is less than the threshold, wakeup radio 117-a may read the signal as a zero bit e.g., OOK “off” signal. In some cases, the threshold may be a non-optimal threshold. Thus, in some cases, wakeup radio 117-a may accumulate, sum, determine, or otherwise obtain the energy of a transmitted signal over in a first time segment and may obtain energy of the transmitted signal in a second time segment. Wakeup radio 117-a may then determine the difference between the accumulated energy of the first time segment and the second time segment to determine the bit value transmitted. In some examples, wakeup radio 117-a may compare the difference to a constant threshold of zero. If the difference is greater than zero, wakeup radio 117-a may read the signal as a one bit. If the difference is less than zero, wakeup radio 117-a may read the signal as a zero bit. In other examples, the difference may be compared to thresholds other than zero; Shell, [0053] discloses For example, the wireless device may select an energy threshold for decoding a signal modulated using OOK).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein a combination of the set of one or more sequences indicates one or more of a WTRU group identification (ID) or a WTRU ID, and wherein a pattern of ON and OFF duration associated with the bit pattern is configured to indicate one or more of a WTRU group ID or a WTRU ID (Shell, [0089] discloses The additional information may be encoded as predefined sequences known to the receiver … Such information may include, for example, wakeup signal identification information … The additional information may be the same as information conveyed through OOK modulation described above with reference to FIG. 2 e.g., information of a wakeup message or may be different information; Cox, [0112] discloses The WUS resource may be configured for the UE or group of UEs via higher layer signaling. The eNB may first send a WUS on the WUS occasion WO resource when there is DL control message such as a Paging message on a PDCCH or data on a PDSCH to be sent during a paging occasion when the UE is in idle mode DRX or during the On Duration in when the UE is in cDRX. … The UE in idle mode DRX or cDRX may use a wake-up receiver to detect the WUS and may only wake up the baseband processor when a WUS is detected. The WUS may comprise a sequence and may additionally include a payload; Cox, [0125] discloses The WUS can include a payload in addition to a preamble. The payload may include the ID of UEs to wake up for monitoring paging message or for monitoring the M/N PDCCH during connected DRX states; Cox, [0195] discloses To effect this, in a first set of embodiments a UE-specific ID may be used as a payload within the WUS. In this case, the WUS payload may contain the UE-specific ID; Cox, [0201] discloses In a fourth set of embodiments, different WUS sequences may be assigned for different WUS group combinations within the same WUS occasion).
Regarding claim 31 and claim 32, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8, further comprising: (see claim 8).
perform a transition of a first power operation of the WTRU to a second power operation of the WTRU, wherein the first power is lower than the second power based on a determination that the codepoint is associated with the WTRU; and maintain the WTRU in the first power operation based on a determination that the codepoint is not associated with the WTRU (Cox, [0199] discloses The UE may thus receive 4 possible signals. The first signal may include WUSG1 and GTS. If only the UEs in WUSG1 are being paged, then the eNB may transmit a combination of WUSG1 and GTS during the WUS occasion. The UEs monitoring the WUS occasion may detect this signal and match the signal to their own group or to the GTS. If the UEs belong to WUSG1, a positive match results and the UEs may wake up to monitor the PDCCH. However, if the UEs belong to WUSG2, the UEs may obtain a positive correlation with the GTS signal and would thus go back to sleep; Shell, Fig. 7 & [0109] discloses Accordingly, at 720, AP 105-c may transmit the wakeup signal representing the wakeup message to STA 115-c. Upon receipt of the wakeup signal, STA 115-c may decode the wakeup signal at 725. Based on the decoding e.g., where STA 115-c determines that a wakeup message is intended for STA 115-c, STA 115-c may activate a primary radio at 730. At 735, STA 115-c and AP 105-c may exchange data or other communications; Shell, [0101] discloses Based on the decoding, STA 115-b may activate a primary radio at 630. The primary radio may be a WLAN radio, including a WLAN transceiver, or a WWAN radio, including a WWAN transceiver. STA 115-b may activate the primary radio by sending a signal to the primary radio in order to power on the primary radio; Shell, [0152] discloses Radio activation component 1335 may activate a second radio of the wireless device based on the decoding and determine whether to activate the second radio of the wireless device based on the comparing).
Claim(s) 17-19, 23-25 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shellhammer et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0152333 herein after referenced as Shell) in view of Cox et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0029302 herein after referenced as Cox) and further in view of JIANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0204292 herein after referenced as Jiang).
Regarding claim 17 and claim 23, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The method of claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein the set of one or more ZC sequences comprises a first sequence, a second sequence, and a third sequence and wherein the first sequence comprises a first sequence of non-zero values, the second sequence comprises a second sequence of non-zero values, (Shell, [0119] discloses In some cases, the fixed sequence of tones includes a first BPSK 1 tone on a first of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK 1 tone on a second of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK 1 tone on a third of the set of subcarriers, a first BPSK −1 tone on a fourth of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK −1 tone on a fifth of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK −1 tone on a sixth of the set of subcarriers, a DC tone on a seventh of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK −1 tone on an eighth of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK 1 tone on a ninth of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK −1 tone on a tenth of the set of subcarriers, a sixth BPSK −1 tone on an eleventh of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK 1 tone on a twelfth of the set of subcarriers, and a seventh BPSK −1 tone on a thirteenth of the set of subcarriers).
Shell in view of Cox discloses transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information but fails to explicitly recite a sequence of zero values and therefore fails to disclose “and the third sequence comprises a sequence of zero values.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
and the third sequence comprises a sequence of zero values (Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1; Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0094] discloses the blind detection parameter may include at least one of a type of a search space of the PDCCH, bandwidth parts occupied by the PDCCH, a time-frequency-domain resource occupied by the PDCCH, etc.; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0087] discloses the state detection result may correspond to a plurality of blind detection parameters so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the bandwidth parts to be detected by the UE is the bandwidth part 1 and the aggregation level is 1; Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed and the PDCCH may be received subsequently; Jiang, [0051] discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shell in view of Cox to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce power consumption during blind detection and reception of the PDCCH (Jiang, [0085] & [0087]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Shell, [0188]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information as taught by Shell) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information, wherein the additional information includes sequences of zeroes and ones and indicates various different information including the resource location of the PDCCH as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes additional information (i.e. as taught by Shell & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 18 and claim 24, Shell in view of Cox and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 17, (see claim 17) and The method of claim 23 (see claim 23).
wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are different (Shell, [0092] discloses In yet another example, each OOK “on” period may include a random data sequence in subcarrier set 410 to increase diversity e.g., different data sequences to diversify the waveform. For each “on” symbol period(s) of the OOK pattern, random sequences of tones may be sent e.g., over the tones 405 within subcarrier set 410. Diversity may be increased by sending a different data sequence for each OOK “on” period; Shell, [0119] discloses In some cases, the fixed sequence of tones includes a first BPSK 1 tone on a first of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK 1 tone on a second of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK 1 tone on a third of the set of subcarriers, a first BPSK −1 tone on a fourth of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK −1 tone on a fifth of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK −1 tone on a sixth of the set of subcarriers, a DC tone on a seventh of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK −1 tone on an eighth of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK 1 tone on a ninth of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK −1 tone on a tenth of the set of subcarriers, a sixth BPSK −1 tone on an eleventh of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK 1 tone on a twelfth of the set of subcarriers, and a seventh BPSK −1 tone on a thirteenth of the set of subcarriers; Cox, [0201] discloses In a fourth set of embodiments, different WUS sequences may be assigned for different WUS group combinations within the same WUS occasion).
Regarding claim 19 and claim 25, Shell in view of Cox and further in view of Jiang discloses:
The WTRU of claim 17, (see claim 17) and The method of claim 23 (see claim 23).
wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are the same (Shell, [0119] discloses In some cases, the fixed sequence of tones includes a first BPSK 1 tone on a first of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK 1 tone on a second of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK 1 tone on a third of the set of subcarriers, a first BPSK −1 tone on a fourth of the set of subcarriers, a second BPSK −1 tone on a fifth of the set of subcarriers, a third BPSK −1 tone on a sixth of the set of subcarriers, a DC tone on a seventh of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK −1 tone on an eighth of the set of subcarriers, a fourth BPSK 1 tone on a ninth of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK −1 tone on a tenth of the set of subcarriers, a sixth BPSK −1 tone on an eleventh of the set of subcarriers, a fifth BPSK 1 tone on a twelfth of the set of subcarriers, and a seventh BPSK −1 tone on a thirteenth of the set of subcarriers).
Regarding claim 28, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the one or more ON symbols of the bit pattern include information (Shell, [0089] discloses In other examples, additional information may be encoded into subcarriers or tones 405 during “on” symbol periods e.g., carried on subcarriers during the OOK “on” period, but not during the OOK “off” period. The additional information may be encoded as predefined sequences known to the receiver … Such information may include, for example, wakeup signal identification information … The additional information may be the same as information conveyed through OOK modulation described above with reference to FIG. 2 e.g., information of a wakeup message or may be different information).
Shell in view of Cox discloses transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information but fails to explicitly recite that said additional information includes a location for the PDCCH and therefore fails to disclose “information associated with a PDCCH resource location.”
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
information associated with a PDCCH resource location (Jiang, [0094] discloses the blind detection parameter may include at least one of a type of a search space of the PDCCH, bandwidth parts occupied by the PDCCH, a time-frequency-domain resource occupied by the PDCCH, etc.; Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0087] discloses the state detection result may correspond to a plurality of blind detection parameters so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the bandwidth parts to be detected by the UE is the bandwidth part 1 and the aggregation level is 1; Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed and the PDCCH may be received subsequently; Jiang, [0051] discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shell in view of Cox to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce power consumption during blind detection and reception of the PDCCH (Jiang, [0085] & [0087]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Shell, [0188]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information as taught by Shell) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information, wherein the additional information includes sequences of zeroes and ones and indicates various different information including the resource location of the PDCCH as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information (i.e. as taught by Shell & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 29, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, (see claim 1).
(Shell, [0098] discloses The OOK patterns may include one or more “on” portions and one or more “off” portions. … In some cases, a first OOK pattern may include a first “on” portion followed by a first “off” portion, and a second OOK pattern may include a second “off” portion followed by a second “on” portion. In some examples, multiple “on” and “off” portions may be included in one or more OOK patterns; Shell, [0056] discloses One OOK pattern may represent a certain bit value e.g., a bit value of zero, while another OOK pattern may represent a different bit value e.g., a bit value of one … Based on the OOK pattern of “on” and “off” powered sub-carriers, the transmitted signal may represent either a one bit or a zero bit, for example; Shell, [0080] discloses For example, the order of the OOK “on” periods and OOK “off” periods of eight time segments 315 together representing the OOK pattern, may be a pseudo random code, such as a maximum length PN sequence or a maximum length PN sequence with an appended zero).
Shell in view of Cox discloses transmitting a wakeup signal that includes sequences indicating additional information but fails to explicitly recite that said additional information includes a location for the PDCCH and therefore fails to disclose “wherein a PDCCH resource location associated with the PDCCH resource is for an upcoming PDCCH resource,”.
In a related field of endeavor, Jiang discloses:
wherein a PDCCH resource location associated with the PDCCH resource is for an upcoming PDCCH resource (Jiang, [0076] discloses the sequence detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be transmitted in the form of a sequence and when the sequence detected by the UE in accordance with the sequence of the WUS is the sequence 1, it means that the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a subframe where the WUS signal is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0094] discloses the blind detection parameter may include at least one of a type of a search space of the PDCCH, bandwidth parts occupied by the PDCCH, a time-frequency-domain resource occupied by the PDCCH, etc.; Jiang, [0085] discloses the payload detection result may correspond to the time-frequency-domain resource to be detected by the UE so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the time-frequency domain resource to be detected by the UE is a first OFDM symbol within a sub-frame where the WUS is located and at this time the UE may perform the blind detection in accordance with this information; Jiang, [0087] discloses the state detection result may correspond to a plurality of blind detection parameters so as to further reduce the power consumption for the UE during the blind detection on the PDCCH and the WUS signal may be used to transmit a 2-bit payload and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the bandwidth parts to be detected by the UE is the bandwidth part 1 and the aggregation level is 1; Jiang, [0071] discloses when the sequence detection result indicate the predetermined sequence, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be performed and the PDCCH may be received subsequently; Jiang, [0051] discloses the state detection may include detecting an on-state or an off-state of the signal and for example, the state may be detected in accordance with noncorrelated energy or electrical level and when the energy or electrical level is non-zero, the signal may be determined to be in the on-state and when the energy or electrical level is zero, it may be determined to be in the off-state and the WUS may be a signal corresponding to OOK and may also be used to represent a payload; Jiang, [0080]-[0083] discloses the payload detection result may refer to specific bits where different bits may correspond to different blind detection parameters and discloses the payload may correspond to the aggregation level of PDCCH and when the detected 2-bit payload is 11, it means that the aggregation level of the PDCCH to be detected by the UE is 4 or 8 and when the detected 2-bit payload is 00, it is unnecessary to perform the blind detection on the paging signal or the PDCCH and discloses the payload may correspond to the type of search space to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the search space to be detected by the UE is search space 1 and discloses the payload may correspond to the DCI format to be detected by the UE and when the detected 2 bit payload is 11 it means that the DCI format to be detected by the UE is the DCI format 1).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shell in view of Cox to incorporate the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce power consumption during blind detection and reception of the PDCCH (Jiang, [0085] & [0087]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Shell, [0188]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes additional information as taught by Shell) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes additional information, wherein the additional information includes sequences of zeroes and ones and indicates various different information including the resource location of the PDCCH as taught by Jiang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal that includes additional information (i.e. as taught by Shell & Jiang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shellhammer et al. (US Patent Publication 2018/0152333 herein after referenced as Shell) in view of Cox et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0029302 herein after referenced as Cox) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2019/0364505 herein after referenced as Wang).
Regarding claim 30, Shell in view of Cox discloses:
The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: (see claim 1).
Shell in view of Cox discloses the transmission of a wakeup signal sequence but fails to explicitly disclose the use of SINR and therefore fails to disclose “determine whether a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) associated with the signal is below a threshold value; and based on a determination that the SINR is below the threshold value, skip using information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal and based on a determination that the SINR is above the threshold value, use information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal”.
In a related field of endeavor, Wang discloses:
determine whether a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) associated with the signal is below a threshold value; and based on a determination that the SINR is below the threshold value, skip using information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal and based on a determination that the SINR is above the threshold value, use information associated with the set of one or more sequences indicated by the signal (Wang, [0137] discloses when a WUR has determined that the WUF is meant for itself, the WUR may ignore the WUF if the WUF is received below a certain signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio SINR threshold; Wang, Fig. 2 & [0104] discloses wake up frame WUF used by the wake up radios may have the following format depicted in Fig. 2).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shell in view of Cox to incorporate the teachings of Wang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine when receive and ignore a wakeup signal (Wang, [0137]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Shell, [0188]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal as taught by Shell) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal, wherein the wakeup signal is received or ignored depending on SINR as taught by Wang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting a wakeup signal (i.e. as taught by Shell & Wang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645