Request for Continued Examination
DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are pending and are examined on their merits.
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendments in the response filed on January 26th 2026 are acknowledged. Applicant has amended the claims to be directed towards a granular formulation of the composition. As neither Long nor Tortillard provide any suggestion of solid/granulated formulations, the amendments have overcome the previous 103 rejections of the claims and said rejections are thereby withdrawn.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messina (U.S. Patent No. 9,572,348 issued on February 21st 2017) in view of Long (GB2213724A published on August 23rd 1989), EFSA (European Food Safety Authority (EFSA); Brancato et al., Review of the existing maximum residue levels for denathonium benzoate according to Article 12 of Regulation (EC) No 396/2005. EFSA J. 2018 Mar 22;16(3):e05232), and Blum (U.S. Patent No. 5,891,919 issued on April 6th 1999).
Claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are directed towards an insect-repellent composition (see claims 1, 7, 8, 9) comprising:
0.01 – 25 % denatonium benzoate (see claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9)
1 – 25 % of a carrier selected from sodium lauryl sulfate, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl pyridine, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, styrene acrylic, alkoxylates, kaolin clay, clove, cinnamon, cator oil, peppermint, garlic, and walnut shells (see claims 1, 7, 8)
In a granular formulation (See claims 1, 7, 8)
Messina teaches the following composition:
(Messina, col. 16).
As each of Messina’s Mint oil, Castor oil, and Cinnamon oil concentration ranges carry significant overlap with applicant’s 1-25% range, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider applicant’s carrier concentration ranges to be prima facie obvious (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Messina further teaches denatonium benzoate as one of the “other ingredients” (Messina, col. 17). Messina does not teach a particular concentration for the denatonium benzoate, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in developing a composition wherein the denatonium benzoate concentration is within applicant’s range of 0.01% to 25%, because such a range encompasses the typical concentrations of denatonium compounds used in repellent compositions. For example, see:
Long, who teaches a repellent composition with a denatonium benzoate concentration of 0.125 g/L (0.0125 wt%) (Long, claim 4)
EFSA, who describes the application of a 0.11 g/L (0.011 wt%) denatonium benzoate composition (EFSA, pg. 9)
Blum teaches a concentration of 0.01 to 15% denatonium capsaicinate in repellent compositions (Blum, col. 4).
One of ordinary skill in the art developing a repellent composition similar to Messina’s, comprising denatonium benzoate would therefore have a reasonable expectation of success in optimizing the denatonium benzoate concentration to the range of 0.01-25%, a concentration range well-supported in the art for denatonium compounds in repellent compositions, and the described denatonium concentration range is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding the granular formulation, Messina teaches that the above composition can be in a granular form (Messina, col. 17). As each of the limitations of claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are obvious, claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are therefore prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629