DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-13, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 02/05/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-13, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottas et al. (US 2015/0287933 A1) in view of Sugino et al. (WO 2016/129672 A1) and Zeng et al. (US 2016/0293853 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 02/05/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottas et al. (US 2015/0287933 A1) in view of Sugino et al. (WO 2016/129672 A1) and Kim et al. (KR 10-2018-0012499).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied upon national phase publication US 2018/0037546 A1 as the English equivalent of publication WO 2016/129672 A1 (herein referred to “Sugino et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2018-0012499 (herein referred to as “Kim et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Kottas et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device for the construction of displays and light sources ([0039]):
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120), hole-transporting layer (125), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), and cathode (160) ([0032]); Kottas et al. discloses its inventive compounds are useful as hosts (in the light-emitting layer) and/or electron-blocking layer materials (Abstract; [0091]). Kottas et al. further discloses the use of a phosphorescent (emissive) dopant materials, including transition metal complexes which can be combined with its inventive host material (in the light-emitting layer) ([0092]). Kottas et al. disclose a formulation comprising its inventive compound, which can further include solvent and/or “wide variety of” host material(s) ([0100]-[0101]). However, Kottas et al. does not explicitly disclose a compound of Applicant’s formula (1) nor at least one compound of Applicant’s formulae (2j), (2k), and (2l).
Sugino et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
(page 14); an embodiment is disclosed:
(pages 75-76) such that Y = O, n = m = 0, o = p = 0, X = C, L = single bond, X1 = N, and Ar1 = aryl group which has 6 aromatic ring atoms (phenyl) of Applicant’s formula (1). Sugino et al. discloses its inventive compound as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device which, when used, results in a device with high luminous efficiency and long life (Abstract; [0060]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the compound as disclosed by Sugino et al. (above) (as additional host material) into the formulation as disclosed by Kottas et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Sugino et al., which discloses that the utilization of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high luminous efficiency and long life. However, Kottas et al. in view of Sugino et al. does not explicitly disclose at least one compound of Applicant’s formulae (2j), (2k), and (2l).
Kim et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 17 of Kim et al.) such that u = v = w = s = 0 and Ar3 = Applicant’s Formula Ar-3 (with R3 = H) of Applicant’s Formula (2k) as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in increased light-emitting efficiency of an organic EL device ([0064], [0103]). It would have been obvious to further incorporate the above compound as disclosed by Kim et al. into the formulation as disclosed by Kottas et al. in view of Sugino et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kim et al. which discloses its inventive compounds to be host materials, the use of which results in an organic EL device with improved light-emitting efficiency.
Response to Arguments
9. The Applicant’s arguments on pages 16-17 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786