DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/25/2026. As directed by the amendment: Claim 1 has been amended and claims 10-12 have been added, thus, claims 1-5 and 10-12 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the preceding 112b rejection on page 8:
Applicant's present amendment resolves the preceding office actions stated 112b rejection of claim 1-5.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the independent claims on page 8-11:
Applicant argues that the prior art relied upon in the preceding office action does not teach the following limitations of the presently amended claims:
“wherein the miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device is configured to dynamically adjust an infusion rate during a single infusion process by selectively activating the one or the another one of the at least two driving portions, or alternately activating both of the one driving portion and the another one driving portion, to push the wheel teeth” as well as “when the driving unit rotates in the returning direction, all of the at least two driving portions of the driving unit slide synchronously on a surface of the wheel teeth, the driving wheel is not pushed so as to stop rotating”
In this regard applicant particularly argues certain manners that the prior art of record could be considered to be dispensing in a continuous manner rather than an intermittent manner because the prior art of Dilanni’s drive wheel 256 allegedly does not stop moving and thus administers a continuous rather than incremental infusion and consequently can’t be considered to read on the independent claims.
Examiner notes that the preceding office action’s interpretation of the disclosure of Dilanni only considers Dilanni’s arm 264a as the claimed driving portion and Dilanni’s first ratchet wheel 258a as the claimed driving wheel and further notes that charging the claimed power unit, SMA wire portion 260a, causes member 264 to rotate and bias arm 264a against ratchet wheel 258a to cause a consequent rotation of wheel 256 and upon removing the charge from wire portion 260a the member 264 rotates so far that arm 264a is no longer biasing wheel 258a and instead slides over its teeth, but member 264 is not rotated so far that the arm 264b, which examiner does not rely upon or reference as teaching/disclosing the claimed driving portion, biases against ratchet wheel 258b and moves wheel 256, see paragraph 33-38 of Dilanni. Thus applicant’s arguments do not accurately represent/discuss the subject matter of the prior art which is relied upon, and further demonstrating that the prior art of Dilanni does disclose/teach an incremental infusion in that infusion is dosed in increments when a driving portion is activated by a power unit to deliver an incremental dose of medicament per each incremental activation of a driving portion. The same manner that applicant considers the disclosed invention to dispense medicament incrementally.
Further regarding the aforementioned claim language applicant particularly argues certain manners that the prior arts of record alone could be considered incapable of performing the claimed function of selecting one of the claimed drive portions or alternating their activation to arrive at a dynamically adjusted infusion rate.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
See examiner's rejection as necessitated by the amendment, below, detailing the manner that disclosures/teaching of the prior render the claimed subject matter anticipated/obvious.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims on page 12:
Applicant argues that their preceding arguments render the independent claims allowable, and consequently likewise the dependent claims are allowable.
See examiner’s discussion above, and examiner's rejection as necessitated by the amendment, below, detailing the prior art relied upon with discloses/teaches the limitations of the presently amended claims.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1:
“power unit…[cooperates with rebound unit] to apply force to the driving unit to rotate the driving unit”, emphasis added to highlight the claim limitation in question.
“rebound unit …[cooperates with rebound unit] to apply force to the driving unit to rotate the driving unit”, emphasis added to highlight the claim limitation in question.
Regarding claim 1:
power unit
From applicant’s specification: "The power unit 180 is a linear actuator. In the embodiment of the present invention, the power unit 180 is an electrically driven linear actuator or an electrically heated linear actuator…. the power unit 180 may be other types, eg. mini-airbag, etc.."
rebound unit
From applicant’s specification: "In the embodiment of the present invention, the rebound unit 170 is a spring. In other embodiments of the present invention, the rebound unit 170 can also be an elastic piece, an elastic plate, an elastic rod, etc. The type and material selection of the rebound unit 170 are not specifically limited herein, as long as it can satisfy the condition of making the driving unit 150 rotate in the return direction. "
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050238507 A1, henceforth written as Dilanni, in view of CN 106139311 A, henceforth written as Yang, US 20030199824 A1, henceforth written as Mahoney, and US 20030199825 A1, henceforth written as Flaherty.
Regarding Claim 1,
Dilanni discloses:
A miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device, comprising an infusion unit, comprising:
(fluid delivery device 200; fig 1)
a drug storage unit, --
(reservoir 230; fig 1)
--a piston
(plunger 236; fig 2+5)
and a rigid screw,
(paragraph 33; threaded drive rod 252 ; fig 2+5)
wherein the piston is arranged in the drug storage unit; --
(paragraph 32)
--a rotating shaft,
(pivot point 162; fig 4 )
a driving unit
(rotatable drive engaging member 262; fig 4-5)
and a driving wheel provided with wheel teeth,
(paragraph 36; first ratchet wheel 258a has teeth (not enumerated) ; fig 1-5)
wherein the driving unit comprises a driving portion,
(paragraph 38; contact surface (not enumerated) of arm 264a for mating with teeth (not enumerated) of ratchet wheel 258a; fig 4)
the driving unit rotates around the rotating shaft in a driving direction and a returning direction,
(paragraph 36; member 262 reciprocally pivots about point 162, either toward direction 20 or toward direction 22; fig 4-5)
when the driving unit rotates in the driving direction, one driving portion -- push the wheel teeth to rotate the driving wheel -- which engages the rigid screw to move forward in a non-rotating way, --
(paragraph 32-33+36-38; when member 262 is pulled in direction 20 its arm 264a drives rotation of ratchet wheel 258a to subsequently rotate drive wheel 256 and therein advance drive rod 252; fig 1-4)
when the driving unit rotates in the returning direction the driving portion of the drive unit slide synchronously on a surface the wheel teeth, the driving wheel is not pushed so as to stop rotating;
(paragraph 32-38; when SMA portion 260a is uncharged after being initially charged, member 262 rotates toward direction 22 and returns to a neutral position, but does not rotate so far toward direction 22 that an element such as arm 264b biases another element such as ratchet 258b to rotate wheel 256, rather ratchet 258a, the claimed driving wheel, is no longer pushed and stops rotating when member 262 rotates in the returning direction)
--and a power unit --
(SMA wire portion 260a; fig 5)
wherein the power unit -- apply force to the driving unit to rotate the driving unit; --
(paragraph 33-34+36-38; portion 260a is charged and consequently contracts to rotate member 262 toward direction 20; fig 5)
--an infusion needle, wherein one end of the infusion needle is in communication with an outlet of the drug storage unit, and the other end of the infusion needle pierces a skin surface to achieve drug infusion;--
(paragraph 31; transcutaneous access tool 272 fluidically communicates a pierced patient and reservoir 230; fig 1)
wherein the rotating shaft is perpendicular to a rotating axis of the driving wheel,
(fig 2-5 illustrates that pivot point 162 is perpendicular to a rotating axis of wheel 258a)
wherein after a completion of the [driving portion rotating in the driving direction], the -- driving portion slides for a distance in the returning direction along the rotating shaft
(paragraph 36-38; arm 264a rotating in a returning direction disengages from wheel 258a, therein sliding in a return direction along axis of the pivot point 162; fig 2-5)
wherein the miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device is configured to dynamically adjust an infusion rate during a single infusion process by selectively activating the one driving portions, or [alternating activation of a driving portion], to push the wheel teeth
(paragraph 33-38; control circuitry of the invention controls the activation of the claimed driving portion by distributing a charge to SMA wire portion 260a to selectively activate arm 264a to push ratchet wheel 258a, and is capable of alternating activation of arm 264a to push the teeth of ratchet wheel 258a, to distribute a certain number of increments/unit doses of medicament)
Dilanni discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a metal piece, -- the metal piece, fixedly connected to the rigid screw, is arranged on the piston;-- at least one position detector, wherein the metal piece and the position detector interact to generate signals;
However, Yang teaches a drug delivery system with position detecting unit:
a metal piece, (magnet sheet 6; fig 1-2+4)
the metal piece, fixedly connected to the rigid screw, is arranged on the piston;
(magnet sheet 6 is embedded on the piston 3, and fixed to screw 4 such that a linear displacement of screw 4 has a consequent movement of detecting part 6; fig 1-2+4)
at least one position detector, (sensors 5a-b; fig 1-2+4)
wherein the metal piece and the position detector interact to generate signals;
(paragraph 34; linear movement of piston 3, to include magnet sheet 6, results in a change of magnetic field(s) around position sensor 5a-b and consequently a corresponding signal is produced tracking injection progress)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the piston position detection teachings of Yang to the disclosure of Dilanni in order to advantageously cooperate multiple sensors to determine a real piston displacement tracking injection progress in a more accurate and reliable manner, see paragraph 34 of Yang.
The modified device of Dilanni in view of Yang teaches the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, it remains silent regarding:
wherein the driving unit comprises at least two driving portions, -- when the driving unit rotates in the driving direction, one driving portion of the at least two driving portions or another one driving portion of the at least two driving portions to push the wheel teeth to rotate the driving wheel or both of the one driving portion and the another one driving portion to alternately push the wheel teeth to rotate the driving wheel which engages the rigid screw to move forward in a non-rotating way, when the driving unit rotates in the returning direction, all of the at least two driving portions of the driving unit slide synchronously on a surface of the wheel teeth; -- wherein the miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device is configured to dynamically adjust an infusion rate during a single infusion process by selectively activating the one or the another one of the at least two driving portions, or alternately activating both of the one driving portion and the another one driving portion, to push the wheel teeth
Notably, Mahoney teaches drive mechanism for a patient infusion device:
wherein the driving unit comprises at least two driving portions, --
(paragraph 107; cam 374 includes first pawl 376 and second pawl 378; fig 14)
--when the driving unit rotates in the driving direction, one driving portion of the at least two driving portions or another one driving portion of the at least two driving portions to push the wheel teeth to rotate the driving wheel or both of the one driving portion and the another one driving portion to alternately push the wheel teeth to rotate the driving wheel which engages the rigid screw to move forward in a non-rotating way,
(paragraph 106-107; when pawls 376 378 move in direction A, they individually and alternately rotate the gear 314; fig 14)
when rotating in the returning direction, all of the driving portions of the driving unit slide synchronously on a surface of the wheel teeth, the driving wheel is not pushed so as to stop rotating;
(paragraph 107; when pawls 376 378 move in direction B, they do not rotate, therein sliding over synchronously, the gear 314; fig 14)
wherein the miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device is configured to dynamically adjust an infusion rate during a single infusion process by selectively activating the one or the another one of the at least two driving portions, or alternately activating both of the one driving portion and the another one driving portion, to push the wheel teeth
Examiner notes that depending on the disposition of pawls 376 378 relative to a singular tooth of gear 314, where the control device, processor 50, calls for an increment of medicament to be infused, that increment may be dispensed by either pawl 376 or pawl 378, depending on whether an end of pawl 376 is closer to a mating surface of a tooth of gear 314 or if pawl 378 is closer to a mating surface of a tooth of gear 314. Further, where a multitude of increments are necessitated during a dosing protocol, pawls 376 378 alternate which one of them engages with a mating surface of a tooth of gear 314 to deliver these subsequent increments. Paragraph 59-66+84 detailing the manner that the invention is capable of executing multiple infusion modes where only a single increment/dose is distributed, thus teaching a singular activation of one or another driving portion depending on their predisposition relative to a gear tooth, or multiple subsequent increments/doses, therein teaching alternating activation.
Further, it would be similarly obvious to implement the multiple driving portions having different lengths for engaging a singular drive wheel’s teeth and the control system teachings for activating a driving portion for delivering media as taught by Mahoney to the driving portion and control system of Dilanni, by duplicating each tip of arm 264a and 264b of Dilanni which engages with a respective wheel 258a 258b of Dilanni such that each tip is offset for engaging with the matched wheel in the manner taught by Mahoney, therein arriving at a pair of claimed driving portions engaging and disengaging with a Dilanni’s driving wheel, ratchet wheel 258a, in the claimed manner, in order to advantageously arrive at an injection gear drive which can provide a finer actuation cycle, and therein deliver finer amounts of media per actuation and consequently improve the accuracy and variability of the invention’s fluid injection rate, see paragraph 103+107 of Mahoney.
The modified device of Dilanni in view of Yang, and Mahoney teaches the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, it remains silent regarding:
an adhesive patch, wherein the adhesive patch attaches the infusion unit to the skin surface,
However, Mahoney further teaches a patient infusion device including:
an adhesive patch, wherein the adhesive patch attaches the infusion unit to the skin surface,
(paragraph 70; device 10 provided with an adhesive layer (not enumerated/illustrated) on the housing 20)
Further, it would be similarly obvious to implement the adhesive patch taught by Mahoney to the modified invention in order to adhere the device to a patient, as it is an art recognized means for making the invention portable and therein improving a patient’s capacity to adhere to infusion recommendations while ambulating, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(A), paragraph 70 of Mahoney, and paragraph 4-6 of Dilanni.
The modified device of Dilanni in view of Yang, and Mahoney teaches the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, it remains silent regarding:
a rebound unit, --
wherein the power unit and the rebound unit cooperate with each other to apply force to the driving unit to rotate the driving unit; --
However, Flaherty further teaches a patient infusion device including:
a rebound unit,
(spring 248; fig 7-9)
wherein the power unit and the rebound unit cooperate with each other to apply force to the driving unit to rotate the driving unit;
(paragraph 61-66; when shape memory element 246 is charged, it contracts to resist the bias of spring 248 and rotate wheel 244 in a first direction to advance screw 202 and dispense medicament, and when charge is removed from element 246 the spring 248 rotates wheel 244 in the opposing direction; fig 7-9)
Examiner also notes Flaherty also discloses an equivalent means for rotating a ratchet wheel comprising opposing shape memory elements 290 268 in fig 13-15, as opposed to a shape memory element opposing a spring as demonstrated in fig 7-9.
Further, it would be similarly obvious to apply Flaherty’s teachings of utilizing a spring to return a rotating body to a home position in an opposite direction as the direction of actuation by a charged/contracted shape memory wire acting on the rotating body to the presently modified invention, by disposing multiple of Flaherty’s spring 248 to be biased by the contraction of Dilanni’s shape memory portions 260ab and return member 262 to a home position after a charge of the shape memory element is removed and therein disposing Flaherty’s rebound unit in the claimed configuration with Dilanni’s drive unit and drive wheel, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which combines linear actuator equivalents know for the same purpose of biasing a rotating member to and from a neutral rotation position, see MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding claim 2,
Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, and the following limitations of the present claim:
wherein, the rigid screw is a metal screw,
(Dilanni: paragraph 33; rod 252 is made of metal)
However, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty is silent regarding:
the metal piece is electrically connected with the metal screw, so that the metal piece and the position detector constitute a capacitor, and an linear movement of the metal piece causes a change in capacitance making the position detector generate an electrical signal of the signals.
However, Yang further teaches an alternative embodiment of its drug delivery system with position detecting unit:
the metal piece (paragraph 37; metal key 6'; fig 5) is electrically connected with the metal screw (screw 4; fig 5),
Note, in present combination screw 4 of Yang is replaced by the rigid metal screw 202 of Mahoney, therein an electrically conductive screw. As metal key 6’ has an electrical charge, see paragraph 37 of Yang, the physical connection to screw 4 of Yang and like-wise to rigid metal screw 202 of Mahoney will constitute a type of electrical connection.
so that the metal piece and the position detector constitute a capacitor,
(paragraph 37; position sensor 5a-d is a capacitive sensor for detecting electric field of metal key 6'; fig 5)
and an linear movement of the metal piece causes a change in capacitance making the position detector generate an electrical signal of the signals.
(paragraph 37, "the metal key 6 has an associated electric field, electric field change caused by each position sensor sensing piston 3 displacement"; fig 5)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the magnetic position detector of Yang with capacitance position detector further taught by Yang in order to arrive at a modified infusion device which is “more accurate and reliable” as it does not rely on common electrical fields which can face more interference phenomena, see paragraph 37 of Yang.
Regarding claim 3, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty teaches:
wherein, the metal piece is a magnetic metal piece,
Yang: (magnet sheet 6; fig 1-4)
the at least one position detector comprises position detectors,
Yang: (position sensors 5a-b; fig 1-4)
and each of the position detectors is magnetic induction detector,
Yang: (paragraph 34, "each position sensor sensing piston 3 displacement caused by the change of the magnetic field", consequently position sensors 5a-b detect magnetic inductance)
an linear movement of the magnetic metal piece causes a change in a magnetic field around each of the position detectors to make each of the position detectors generate a magnetic signal of the signals.
Yang: (paragraph 34; linear movement of piston 3, to include magnet sheet 6, results in a change of magnetic field(s) around position sensor 5a-b and consequently a corresponding signal is produced)
Regarding claim 4, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses:
The miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device of claim 1, wherein, the infusion unit further includes a clutch structure movably disposed on the driving wheel,
Dilanni: (fig 11, shows thread engaging mechanism 240 movably disposed on wheel 258a)
the rigid screw passes through the clutch structure,
Dilanni: (fig 11 shows drive rod 252 passing through thread engaging mechanism 240)
and the clutch structure is provided with an internal thread that cooperates with the rigid screw,
Dilanni: (thread engaging mechanism 240 has threaded areas 244a-b engaging screw drive rod 252; fig 11)
the driving wheel drives the clutch structure to rotate which, with the internal thread, pushes the rigid screw to move forward in a non-rotating way.
Dilanni: (paragraph 47-49; O-shaped ring 501 provides enough anti-rotation friction which along with thread engaging mechanism cause drive rod 252 and plunger 236 to move forward, linearly, in reservoir 230 in a non-rotating manner; fig 5+11-12)
Regarding claim 5, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses:
The miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device of claim 1, wherein, the infusion unit further includes a blocking wall, and the driving unit stops rotating upon contacting the blocking wall.
Dilanni: (paragraph 36-37; points 164ab, therein a blocking wall, stop member 262 from rotating upon being contacted by its legs 268ab; fig 4)
Regarding Claim 10,
Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above.
However, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty is silent regarding:
wherein vertical projections of front ends of any two of the at least two driving portions on the driving unit do not coincide.
However, Mahoney further teaches:
wherein vertical projections of front ends of any two of the two driving portions on the driving unit do not coincide,
(paragraph 107; a difference in length of pawls 376 378 in the pushing direction A, is less than a single tooth pitch, such the claimed t1 is less than the claimed T; examiner further notes in paragraph 103 that a distinct embodiment’s pawls 346 348 gear engaging surfaces are out of phase, therein having a difference in a pushing direction, of a single tooth pitch, the claimed T; fig 14)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the multiple driving portions having different lengths for engaging a singular drive wheel’s teeth as taught by Mahoney to the driving portion of Dilanni, by duplicating each tip of arm 264a and 264b of Dilanni which engages with a respective wheel 258a 258b of Dilanni such that each tip on arm 264a is offset for engaging with the matched wheel 258a in the manner taught by Mahoney, therein arriving at a pair of claimed driving portions engaging and disengaging with a Dilanni’s driving wheel, ratchet wheel 258a, in the claimed manner, in order to advantageously arrive at an injection gear drive which can provide a finer actuation cycle, and therein deliver finer amounts of media per actuation and consequently improve the accuracy and variability of the invention’s fluid injection rate, see paragraph 103+107 of Mahoney.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Machinery’s Handbook 27th edition’s chapter on Ratchet Gearing, henceforth written as Machinery’s Handbook.
Regarding Claim 11,
Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device of claim 10, wherein a number of the at least two driving portions provided on the driving unit is n (n≥2), if the distance, in a pushing direction, between the vertical projections of the front ends of any two adjacent ones of the driving portions which cooperate with the driving wheel is t, and a wheel tooth pitch is T, then t is some proportion of T.
Mahoney: (paragraph 107; a difference in length of pawls 376 378 in the pushing direction A, is less than a single tooth pitch, such the claimed t1 is less than the claimed T; examiner further notes in paragraph 103 that a distinct embodiment’s pawls 346 348 gear engaging surfaces are out of phase, therein having a difference in a pushing direction, of a single tooth pitch, the claimed T.)
However, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty is silent regarding:
wherein a number of the at least two driving portions provided on the driving unit is n (n≥2), if the distance, in a pushing direction, between the vertical projections of the front ends of any two adjacent ones of the driving portions which cooperate with the driving wheel is t, and a wheel tooth pitch is T, then t = T/n.
However, Machinery’s handbook teaches result effective variables impacting the rotary relationship between pawls and gears on pages 2119-2120 that by positioning “a number of driving pawls side byside (mating with a ratchet wheel) and proportioning their lengths according to the pitch of the teeth, a very fine feed can be obtained”.
Examiner notes as taught by Machinery’s handbook, a multiple pawl to single gear system is not always limited to pawls having a distance therebetween less than a tooth pitch in order to achieve such a fine feed result. As an example, where there are four pawls, A, B, C, and D and each of their mating surfaces are separated by a half tooth pitch from the nearest pawl mating surface, the furthest separated pawls, e.g. A and D, will be separated by 1.5 tooth pitches and the pawl system will be capable of the same intermittent rotary motion as another pawl-gear system with only two pawls that are likewise separated by a half tooth pitch.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to routinely optimize the driving portion lengths of the modified device of Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty by incorporating Machinery’s Handbook’s teachings of varying different driving portion lengths relative to a tooth pitch to effect a gear rotation feed rate, in order to advantageously arrive at an injection gear drive which can provide a finer actuation cycle, and therein deliver finer amounts of media per actuation and consequently improve the accuracy and variability of the invention’s fluid injection rate, see page 2296-2297 of Machinery’s handbook.
Regarding Claim 12,
Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The miniature patch-type intelligent control infusion device of claim 10, wherein the at least two driving portions comprise two driving portions, the driving unit is provided with the two driving portions, and the two driving portions are matched with the driving wheel, if the distance, in a pushing direction, between the vertical projections of the front ends of the two driving portions is ti, and a tooth pitch is T, then ti is some proportion of T.
Mahoney: (paragraph 107; a difference in length of pawls 376 378 in the pushing direction A, is less than a single tooth pitch, such the claimed t1 is less than the claimed T; examiner further notes in paragraph 103 that a distinct embodiment’s pawls 346 348 gear engaging surfaces are out of phase, therein having a difference in a pushing direction, of a single tooth pitch, the claimed T.)
However, Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty is silent regarding:
wherein the at least two driving portions comprise two driving portions, the driving unit is provided with the two driving portions, and the two driving portions are matched with the driving wheel, if the distance, in a pushing direction, between the vertical projections of the front ends of the two driving portions is ti, and a tooth pitch is T, then ti = 3T/2.
However, Machinery’s handbook teaches result effective variables impacting the rotary relationship between pawls and gears on pages 2119-2120 that by positioning “a number of driving pawls side byside (mating with a ratchet wheel) and proportioning their lengths according to the pitch of the teeth, a very fine feed can be obtained”.
Examiner notes as taught by Machinery’s handbook, a multiple pawl to single gear system is not always limited to pawls having a distance therebetween less than a tooth pitch in order to achieve such a fine feed result. As an example, where there are four pawls, A, B, C, and D and each of their mating surfaces are separated by a half tooth pitch from the nearest pawl mating surface, the furthest separated pawls, e.g. A and D, will be separated by 1.5 tooth pitches and the pawl system will be capable of the same intermittent rotary motion as another pawl-gear system with only two pawls that are likewise separated by a half tooth pitch.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to routinely optimize the driving portion lengths of the modified device of Dilanni in view of Yang, Mahoney, and Flaherty by incorporating Machinery’s Handbook’s teachings of varying different driving portion lengths relative to a tooth pitch to effect a gear rotation feed rate, in order to advantageously arrive at an injection gear drive which can provide a finer actuation cycle, and therein deliver finer amounts of media per actuation and consequently improve the accuracy and variability of the invention’s fluid injection rate, see page 2296-2297 of Machinery’s handbook.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783