DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Liu further teaches wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB (Section 0180, regulatory requirement for HF requires HF not exceed 45 dBm in EIRP, this renders a scenario wherein the HF EIRP limits are between 0 and 45 dBm which further renders a scenario wherein EIRP for HF ranges from 15 dBm to 40 dBm, for example, which is difference of 25 dBm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2020/0145927) in view of Ly et al. (US 2018/0124710) and in further view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0332541).
Regarding Claim 6, Sun teaches a terminal comprising: a control section that, when a percentage of an uplink symbol scheduled by an uplink scheduling within a unit period is larger than a percentage of a symbol schedulable for uplink transmission within the unit period, follows the uplink scheduling and configures maximum output power of the uplink symbol by applying a value that reduces the maximum output power (Section 0047, percentage of symbols allocated over a particular period exceeds the capability then reduction of maximum power occurs, while Sun does teach the feature of restricting the UL scheduling said restriction is a limitation of the UL scheduling, in other words the UL scheduling still occurs but in a limited fashion, Sun therefore teaches the application step following the limited scheduling); and a transmission section that transmits the uplink symbol based on the reduced maximum output power configured by applying the value (Section 0047, the UE will transmit the uplink symbol), wherein information of the reduced maximum output power configured by applying the value is used for restriction of the uplink scheduling by a base station (Section 0047, the signaled capability, which the power backoff is based on, is used for uplink scheduling by the base station thus said scheduling is also based on said power backoff, said scheduling is restricted), wherein the transmission section transmits the uplink symbol with an uplink transmission power (Section 0047, uplink power is controlled via power reduction), the uplink transmission power being determined based on an association between the value and the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission (Section 0047, the power reduction value is applied if the percentage of UL symbols exceeds the capability thus there is an association between the value and the percentage of the UL symbols); and in the association, the greater the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission, the greater the value (Section 0047, the power reduction value can vary thus rendering a scenario wherein the greater the percentage of UL symbols that exceeds the capability the greater the power reduction value).
Sun does not teach wherein the configured maximum output power is based on a power class, wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal, wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB.
Ly, which also teaches the power control, teaches wherein the maximum output power is based on a power class (Section 0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun with the above features of Ly for the purposes of better exploiting the frequency characteristics of a channel and providing a lower peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) as taught by Ly.
Sun in view of Ly does not teach wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal, wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB.
Liu, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal (PLEASE NOTE: Applicants’ specification teaches wherein the total radiated power and equivalent isotropic radiated power are in disjunctive form, Section 0168, Pcmax is based on the EIRP therefore applying the Pp,mpr values to limit the Pcmax is effectively applying the Pp,mpr values to limit the EIRP that said Pcmax is based on), wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB (Section 0180, regulatory requirement for HF requires HF not exceed 45 dBm in EIRP, this renders a scenario wherein the HF EIRP limits are between 0 and 45 dBm which further renders a scenario wherein EIRP for HF ranges from 15 dBm to 40 dBm, for example, which is difference of 25 dBm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Sun in view of Ly with the above features of Liu for the purpose of providing wireless power control that scales efficiently with increased number of power control parameters and settings as taught by Liu.
Regarding Claim 9, Sun teaches a transmission method comprising: when a percentage of an uplink symbol when scheduled by an uplink scheduling within a unit period is larger than a percentage of a symbol schedulable for uplink transmission within the unit period, following, by a terminal, the uplink scheduling and configuring maximum output power of the uplink symbol by applying, by the terminal, a value that reduces the maximum output power (Section 0047, percentage of symbols allocated over a particular period exceeds the capability then reduction of maximum power occurs, while Sun does teach the feature of restricting the UL scheduling said restriction is a limitation of the UL scheduling, in other words the UL scheduling still occurs but in a limited fashion, Sun therefore teaches the application step following the limited scheduling); and transmitting by the terminal the uplink symbol based on the reduced maximum output power configured by applying the value (Section 0047, the UE will transmit the uplink symbol), wherein information of the reduced maximum output power configured by applying the value is used for restriction of the uplink scheduling by a base station (Section 0047, the signaled capability, which the power backoff is based on, is used for uplink scheduling by the base station thus said scheduling is also based on said power backoff, said scheduling is restricted), wherein the terminal transmits the uplink symbol with an uplink transmission power (Section 0047, uplink power is controlled via power reduction), the uplink transmission power being determined based on an association between the value and the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission (Section 0047, the power reduction value is applied if the percentage of UL symbols exceeds the capability thus there is an association between the value and the percentage of the UL symbols); and in the association, the greater the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission, the greater the value (Section 0047, the power reduction value can vary thus rendering a scenario wherein the greater the percentage of UL symbols that exceeds the capability the greater the power reduction value).
Sun does not teach wherein the configured maximum output power is based on a power class, wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal, wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB.
Ly, which also teaches the power control, teaches wherein the maximum output power is based on a power class (Section 0177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sun with the above features of Ly for the purposes of better exploiting the frequency characteristics of a channel and providing a lower peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) as taught by Ly.
Sun in view of Ly does not teach wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal, wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB.
Liu, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein applying the value reduces at least one of a total radiated power and an equivalent isotropic radiated power of the terminal (PLEASE NOTE: Applicants’ specification teaches wherein the total radiated power and equivalent isotropic radiated power are in disjunctive form, Section 0168, Pcmax is based on the EIRP therefore applying the Pp,mpr values to limit the Pcmax is effectively applying the Pp,mpr values to limit the EIRP that said Pcmax is based on), wherein, for the power class, a lower-limit minimum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power and an upper-limit maximum peak equivalent isotropic radiated power differ by more than 20 dB (Section 0180, regulatory requirement for HF requires HF not exceed 45 dBm in EIRP, this renders a scenario wherein the HF EIRP limits are between 0 and 45 dBm which further renders a scenario wherein EIRP for HF ranges from 15 dBm to 40 dBm, for example, which is difference of 25 dBm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Sun in view of Ly with the above features of Liu for the purpose of providing wireless power control that scales efficiently with increased number of power control parameters and settings as taught by Liu.
Regarding Claims 8, 11, Sun in view of Ly and in further view of Liu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 6, 9. Sun further teaches a transmission operating band of the terminal is frequency range 2 (FR2) (Section 0024).
Regarding Claim 13, Sun in view of Ly and in further view of Liu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 6. Sun further teaches wherein the control section determines the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission associated with the maximum output power configured for the terminal based on an association between candidates for the maximum output power and candidates for the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission; and in the association, the greater the maximum output power, the smaller the percentage of the symbol schedulable for the uplink transmission (Section 0047, the percentage of UL symbols exceeding capability renders a scenario of a higher percentage symbols which leads to a greater maximum power reduction and thus a greater backoff value, one would logically conclude the converse of a smaller percentage of UL symbols leads to less maximum power reduction and thus a smaller backoff value).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun in view of Ly and in further view of Liu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 6. Sun further teaches wherein the value is selected from among a plurality of upper-limit power-reduction candidates associated with respective duty-cycle percentages (Section 0047 teaches wherein the power reduction value can be set at a plurality of percentage values of the maximum power which are the upper-limit power-reduction candidates, said percentage values are applied in relation to the maxUplinkDutyCycle capability percentage values).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
June 8, 2026