DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 9, 12, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brubaker [US 2017/0200197 in view of Hill et al [US 2019/0299577]
Claims 1-5. (Canceled)
Claim 6. (Currently Amended) A non-wrap non-digital passive warning safety device for a motor vehicle comprising a sheet of flexible material readily detachable and connectable to an external portion of a motor vehicle (the HDS including other elements such as a perforated vinyl sheet screen, carbon fiber composite 7 with adhere, adhesive layer is attached to the external vehicle such as the outer surface of the tailgate's glass or plastic video display for retrofit or replacement installations, see Figs. 9, 10, 18-20, para [0066, 0071, 0107-0109, 0122, 0123, 0139, 0300]), and
non-magnetic by way of attachment means for such readily detachable connectability, the sheet material being arranged to be wholly within the bounds of at least a portion of the outer surface of the vehicle when attached thereto (the HDSs may be integrated such a perforated vinyl sheet screen, carbon fiber composite 7 may become an aesthetically-integral part of vehicle body panel(s) and/or contour(s) such as
attached on a pickup truck's tailgate, flat sides, door or other automobile panels (see
Figs. 10, 18-20, para [0065, 0093, 0097, 0108, 0299, 0300]),
the sheet material having an outer surface which is at least partially reflective and
including a warning text and/or pattern printed thereon, wherein the sheet material
further comprises portions which comprise perforations or comprise portions of a
perforated mesh (the HDS surface of the perforated vinyl sheet or carbon fiber
composite 7 screen comprising reflecting surface to simulate the color and texture, see
Figs. 9, 10, 18-20, para [0102, 0107-0109, 0122, 0123, 0281, 0300, 0336]); and
further wherein the warning text and/or warning is non-changeable and removable from the material, once printed (in some examples, a perforated, printed vinyl, sheeting may be applied to the module. The vinyl sheeting may simulate the color and texture of a cardboard box. In some examples, perforated, printed vinyl sheeting maybe used in combination with integrated digital video flatscreen televisions. This may simulate the color and texture of the immediately surrounding cardboard box surface as a background to pictorial graphics and text (see para [0281]). The appearance of box corrugations, cardboard coloring, and any permanent graphics may be printed on a perforated vinyl sheet to deliver the desired cardboard box coloration and corrugated effect (see Figs. 18-20, para [030]). But
Brubaker fails to disclose sheet of removable PVC flexible material. However, Brubaker teaches that in examples, a vehicle's surface may comprise reflective, painted, colored, mirrored, matt, tinted, transparent or illuminated objects or perforated materials. These materials may also have standards to which they generally adhere. Additionally, the vehicle's surface may include printed signs, stickers, and animated mechanical or electronic devices attached and/or removed by their owners. In examples, HDS may be used by automotive designers and engineers the opportunity to integrate and optimize the graphic and visual performance of aesthetic and operational elements of a vehicle's communications. For example, an HDS may be used to introduce a prioritized display so as to include the potential standardization of critical imagery and an opportunity to link the communications of one vehicle to many to an external environment counterpart or threat in real time (see Figs. 1, 18-20, para [0071, 0100, 0300]).
Hill et al suggests that the vehicle body is attached with a self-adhesive assembly 40 comprising film layer 21 with a surface topography, for example embossed film layer 21 with embossed imaging surface 26, a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 4 and a release liner 60. For example, film layer 21 is a plastic, for example polyvinyl chloride (pvc), which has been embossed with discrete raised projections, for example by an embossing roller comprising an embossing cylinder with depressions corresponding to the raised projections in film layer 21. The discrete raised projections are optionally of regular geometric form for example truncated pyramids or truncated cones, in a regular or irregular layout, for example in a square grid or random layout, or are of irregular geometric form in a regular or irregular layout. Adhesive layer 4 is optionally a solvent acrylic-based pressure-sensitive adhesive and release liner 60 is optionally a paper liner with a release surface optionally comprising a silicone coating. In FIG. 1B, perforation holes 10 are formed throughout the assembly, for example by punch perforation or laser. Perforation holes are typically 1.0 mm to 3.0 mm diameter with a pvc plastic film layer 21. FIG. 1C illustrates optional additional liner 80 applied to perforated release liner 60 to form composite liner 15. FIG. 1D shows optional design layer 14 applied to the perforated film layer 21, for example by inkjet printing, screen printing or litho printing. In FIG. 1E, overlaminate 30, for example of pvc or polyester, typically 50-300 micron thick, is applied to film layer 21, for example by a layer of pressure-sensitive adhesive or heat-activated adhesive (see Figs. 1, 2, para [0009, 0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use or substitute the perforated flexible PVC film of Hill et al to the adhesive painted perforated flexible plastic/vinyl sheet of Brubaker for protecting the sign, text or imaged surface from abrasion or environmental damage.
Claim 7. (Original) A safety device according to claim 6, wherein the outer surface has a
chevron-style pattern in heavily contrasting fluorescent colours (reads upon the HDS displays of printed images, text colors and patterns, see para [0093, 0382, 0300]).
Claim 8. (Cancelled)
Claim 9. (Previously Amended) A safety device according to claim 6, wherein the sheet material is detachably connectable to a rear portion of the vehicle (the adhesive layer for attaching and detaching, removable or replacement, see Fig. 10, para [0066, 0100]).
Claims 10 and 11. (Cancelled)
12. (Previously Amended) A safety device according to claim 6, wherein the sheet material is printed with micro-prismatic reflective material (reads upon the contoured reflective LED, OLED, AMOLED or other elements such as a perforated viny! sheet is limit lateral angles such as overlay micro-louver privacy screens, see para [0084, 0109, 0336]).
Claims 13-22. (Cancelled)
Consider claim 23. Brubaker fails to disclose comprising re-chargeable lights attached to the outer surface of the sheet material. However, Brubaker teaches that in some examples, a perforated, printed vinyl, sheeting may be applied to the module. The vinyl sheeting may simulate the color and texture of a cardboard box. In some examples, perforated, printed vinyl sheeting maybe used in combination with integrated digital video flatscreen televisions. This may simulate the color and texture of the immediately surrounding cardboard box surface as a background to pictorial graphics and text (see para [0281]). The masks of the LED, OLED, AMOLED, or other elements of the composite since different structures can be designed to increase or decrease a display's lateral viewing angle. Additionally, advancements in electrically-charged masks or matrix layers, liquid mirrors (such as those produced by Texas Instruments), forms of polarization, electronic shuttering and other concepts can be employed to create new types of fixed or variable lateral fields of view, depending upon the nature and display intent of the content queued (see para [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to on skill in the art to recognize that the electric charging the masks or matrix layers to create new types of fixed or variable lateral fields of view is functionally as the charging and/or recharging of the perforated printed vinyl or PVC sheet to provide a greater illumination the perforated printed sheet for easily and comfortable observing and/or viewing by a person or nearby vehicle.
Claims 24-28. (Cancelled)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment and arguments, filed on 12/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 6 under Brubaker and Nichol et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hill et al, which is replacing of reference Nichol et al in order to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Claim 6 is quite clear. It defines a sheet of flexible PVC which has a warning printed thereon which is reflective in at least a portion thereof, which is attributable to the nature of the printing ink. There is no display, nor adhesion, nor is it a part of an aesthetically- integral part of the vehicle body or contours. It is unclear why the Examiner is construing the present invention as having an adhesive layer. This is not remotely intimated by the present invention, nor is it a component of the claim. Indeed, the Examiner concedes at Page 5 of the Office Action that Brubaker does not teach a sheet of PVC flexible material but then concludes that other elements such as a perforated vinyl sheet screen, carbon fiber composite 7 with adhere (seq.) adhere, adhesive layers attached to the vehicle. The present flexible sheet is detachably connected, not adhesively attached to the vehicle.
(B) Further, Nichol does not add or overcome the deficiencies of Brubaker which would be perquisite to negate the patentability hereof. Inexplicably, the Examiner is using Nichol to suggest that an adhesive, when adhered to glass, would support the weight of a light emitting device. There is no light emitting device recited in Claim 6.
(C) Concededly, dependent Claim 23 suggests that rechargeable lights may be provided as the outer surface of the sheet material.
Response to the arguments:
(A) As cited and discussed in claim 6 above, wherein it is obvious to combine, use or substitute the perforated flexible PVC film of Hill et al to the adhesive painted perforated flexible plastic/vinyl sheet of Brubaker for protecting the sign, text or imaged surface from abrasion or environmental damage, since the perforated flexible plastic or vinyl sheet material is structured and functionally equivalent as of the PVC film being used on many applications including displaying message, advertising, warning, etc.
(B) A new reference of Hill et al replaced for Nichol et al in order to make the rejection smoother, as discussed in claim 6 above and in section (A).
(C) It is obvious to on skill in the art to recognize that the electric charging the masks or matrix layers to create new types of fixed or variable lateral fields of view is functionally as the charging and/or recharging of the perforated printed vinyl or PVC sheet to provide a greater illumination the perforated printed sheet for easily and comfortable observing and/or viewing by a person or nearby vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tezuna discloses the article attached with the adhesive sheet include articles to which the adhesive sheet is attached as a replacement for a coating film such as articles to which adhesive sheets for displaying and marking or adhesive sheets for decoration are attached. Specific examples of the article include articles for displaying and marking to which adhesive sheets are attached as tapes for warning danger, line tapes and marking tapes; articles to which adhesive sheets used for interior and exterior decorations of show windows and buildings, decoration of automobiles and motor cycles with marking sheets and stickers and decoration of door sash portions of automobiles are attached; and articles to which adhesive sheets having a substrate having the retroreflection property are attached to marks for roads, railroads and related facilities as reflection sheets. Preferable examples among these articles include decorative articles for door sash portions of automobiles comprising an acrylic adhesive sheet attached to a coated metal plate using the primer of the present invention as the intermediate layer. [US 2003/0104214]
Dome discloses the sheet of advertising material 10 or the second embodiment of the sheet of advertising material 10a wherein the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a is applied to a vehicle 102. In the third use of the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a, the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a includes a front surface and a rear surface, with adhesive applied to a top portion of the rear surface (or less than the entire rear surface) of the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a. The sheet of advertising material 10, 10a is then applied to vehicle 102. Preferably, the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a is applied to the rear bumper 100 of the vehicle 102, with the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a hanging below the bottom 104 of the rear bumper 100. However, it is contemplated that the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a could be applied anywhere to the vehicle 102. For example, the sheet of advertising material could be applied to a front door 106, a rear door 108 or a rear side window 110. Accordingly, when a person drives the vehicle 102 having the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a applied thereto, the person advertises the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a to all people watching the vehicle (e.g., on the road or parked). Furthermore, the person driving the vehicle can tear the sheet of advertising material 10, 10a along one of the perforated lines 14 (or 20 and/or 22). [US 2006/0230654]
Cejka discloses the safety element reflective element is produced from a usually available magnetic flexible foil and highly reflective flexible foil with a layer of red, yellow, orange or white colour in usual and/or fluorescent, design. The fluorescent design increases visibility even in daylight. These two materials are fixed to each other with an adhesive and/or by thermal melting. The reflective magnetic triangle is immediately functional. The time delay between the accident and installation of this product is therefore minimal and covers the time until installation of the obligatory folding warning triangle. The bottom magnetic flexible layer is adhesive enough to adhere to the car body, to partly adjust to it and stay fixed until its subsequent removal. The magnetic layer need not adhere to the car body with its entire surface; fifty per cent of its contact surface is enough to fix it in place. [US 2012/0188642]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
01/07/2025