DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-17, 19-21 are pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
“Engagement structure” in claims 1, 16, and 17 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Page 16, line 29 – Page 17, line 7 of the instant specification describes the engagement means as a change in profile, enlargement, crimping, welding, milling, cold heading, or expanding of the needle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 3, 6-7, 11-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacson (US 2018/0289932) in view of Solar (US 2013/0310767).
Regarding claim 1, Isaacson discloses an intravenous catheter apparatus (20, Fig 2A) comprising: a tubular catheter (24, Fig 2A)having a proximal end and a distal end mounted to a catheter hub (26, Fig 2A); a needle (22, Fig 2A) defining an axial direction (A) has a wall defining a lumen, a bevel and having a needle shaft (34, Fig 2B) with a needle tip (36, Fig 2B) at a distal end and a needle hub (46, Fig 2B) mounted to the proximal end of the needle shaft, wherein the axial direction (A) extends from the proximal end of the needle shaft to the distal end of the needle shaft; a needle guard (50, Fig 2C) arranged movably on the needle shaft (Para 0042-0043; See Figs 2B-C); wherein said needle shaft extends through said tubular catheter such that said needle tip of said needle protrudes from said distal end of said tubular catheter (Para 0039); wherein said needle is provided with an engagement means (54, Fig 2B) adapted to engage with said needle guard in order to prevent said needle guard from sliding off said needle tip (Para 0045); wherein said needle has at least one opening (38, Fig 2B) having at least one slanted cut with a width extending from the circular wall of the needle shaft perpendicular to the axial direction (A) to the lumen of the needle, wherein the engagement means is located at a predetermined distance away from the at least one opening, such that the engagement means is separate from and not physically incorporated within the opening (See Fig 2B).
Isaacson is silent regarding wherein the at least one opening has two sides in that one of the sides is generally straight and the other side is angled, the straight side and the angled side being located at a respective transition between the circular wall of the needle shaft and the at least one opening, wherein the angled side is located spaced apart from the straight side and at an angle relative to the circular wall of the needle shaft of between 0° and 89°, wherein the straight side extends perpendicular to the axial direction (A) from the outer surface of the circular wall of the needle shaft to the interior surface of the circular wall of the needle shaft, and wherein the width of the at least one opening perpendicular to the axial direction (A) either increases in value in the axial direction (A) or decreases in value in the axial direction (A)
Solar teaches an cannula (1204, Fig 12A) wherein said cannula has at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A) having at least one slanted cut with a width extending from the circular wall of the cannula shaft perpendicular to the axial direction (A) to the lumen of the cannula; and wherein the at least one opening has two sides in that one of the sides is generally straight (See annotated Fig 12B) and the other side is angled (See annotated Fig 12B), the straight side and the angled side being located at a respective transition between the circular wall of the cannula shaft and the at least one opening, wherein the angled side is located spaced apart from the straight side and at an angle relative to the circular wall of the cannula shaft of between 0 and 89 degrees (See Fig 12B wherein the angled side is at an acute angle), wherein the straight side extends perpendicular to the axial direction (A) from the outer surface of the circular wall of the needle shaft to the interior surface of the circular wall of the cannula shaft (See Fig 12B), and wherein the width of the at least one opening perpendicular to the axial direction (A) either increases in value in the axial direction (A) or decreases in value in the axial direction (A) (See Fig 12A) (Para 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening to be shaped as taught by Solar in order to have an opening that can prevent skiving of tissue when moved in a distal direction (Para 0071).
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A -Solar) has the at least one slanted cut at an angle increasing in value opposite to the direction of the needle tip towards the proximal end of the needle (Para 0071 -Solar; the chamfered portion 1213 can extend in the distal direction such that the angle increases away from the tip).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A -Solar) has the at least one slanted cut at an angle increasing in value in the direction of the needle tip towards the distal end of the needle (See Fig 12B -Solar).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A -Solar) has a length and a width of varying dimensions (See Fig 12A - Solar; As the opening is irregularly shaped, the length and width varies depending on the particular slice it is taken at).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A -Solar) has at least one slanted cut comprising a radial cut having a radius wherein the radius of the at least one slanted cut has varying length (See Fig 12A - Solarr; Depending on where the radius is taken alone the opening, the radius will vary)
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one slanted cut of the at least one opening (1212, Fig 12A -Solar) has a shape selected from the group consisting oval, elliptical, square, rectangular, triangular, circular, polygonal, and irregular (the shape is at least irregular and thus meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) can be positioned on the needle shaft so as to face in a direction that is substantially similar to the direction in which the bevel (bevel at tip 36, Fig 2B -Isaacson) of the needle faces (See position of opening 38 and bevel near tip 36 in Fig 2B -Isaacson).
Regarding claim 13, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) is provided closer to the needle tip (See Fig 2B -Isaacson).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) defines a distance between the needle tip and the at least one opening, and wherein the distance between the needle tip and the at least one opening is arranged such that the opening is covered by the catheter tube (Para 0038 -Isaacson; the opening is arranged such that flashback can be observed, thus the catheter tube must cover the opening 38).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) can be positioned anywhere from just proximal of the needle tip (36, Fig 2B -Isaacson) to just distal of the catheter hub (See Fig 2B -Isaacson; the opening is near the needle tip).
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) is provided in between the engagement means (54, Fig 2B -Isaacson) and the needle tip (36, Fig 2B - Isaacson) (See Fig 2B -Isaacson).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the needle shaft defines a circumference, and wherein the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) is provided anywhere on the circumference of the needle shaft except on the bottom of the needle shaft in a direction opposite to the bevel of the needle (See Fig 2B -Isaacson; the opening is provided on a portion of the circumference facing the same direction as the bevel of the needle).
Regarding claim 20, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the at least one opening (38, Fig 2B -Isaacson as modified by Solar) has a shape like a perforation forming an opening of a size being enough to allow a blood flashback therethrough (Para 0038 -Isaacson).
Regarding claim 21, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses the needle shaft (34, Fig 2B -Isaacson) comprises at least one aperture (distal opening of needle, best seen in Fig 3B) on the needle shaft.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacson (US 2018/0289932) in view of Solar (US 2013/0310767) and further in view of Baid (US 2016/0235949).
Regarding claim 17, the modified invention of Isaacson and Solar discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the engagement means is provided in between the needle tip and the opening.
Baid teaches Baid discloses an intravenous catheter apparatus (device of Fig 7) comprising: a tubular catheter (10, Fig 1) having a proximal end (end of catheter near catheter hub 40, Fig 7) and a distal end (end of catheter furthest from catheter hub 40, see Fig 7) mounted to a catheter hub (40, Fig 7); a needle (12, Fig 1) defining an axial direction (A) has a wall defining a lumen (18, Fig 1), a bevel (bevel near tip 14, Fig 7) and having a needle shaft with a needle tip (14, Fig 1) at a distal end and a needle hub (“needle hub”, Para 0007) mounted to the proximal end of the needle shaft; a needle guard (30, Fig 7) arranged movably on the needle shaft; wherein said needle shaft extends through said tubular catheter such that said needle tip of said needle protrudes from said distal end of said tubular catheter (See state depicted in Fig 1); wherein said needle is provided with an engagement means (26, Fig 1) adapted to engage with said needle guard in order to prevent said needle guard from sliding off said needle tip (Abstract); and wherein said needle has at least one opening (28, Fig 1), wherein the engagement means is provided in between the needle tip and the opening (See Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positions of at least one opening and the engagement means disclosed by Burkholz to have the engagement means provided in between the needle tip and the opening as taught by Baid since Baid teaches that the position of the engagement means and the opening can be swapped (and would produce the same result of providing a stop for the needle guard and opening for flashback as described in Para 0056 and Para 0058) and thus were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made. It has been held that substituting parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026, on pages 6-8, regarding the 112f claim interpretation have been full considered but are not persuasive. Applicant states that interpretation under 112(f) does not apply if persons of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification understand the term to have sufficiently definite meaning as the name for the structure that performs the function. The term “engagement structure” does not have a definite meaning of structure; one would have to turn to the specification to definitively indicate a change in profile, enlargement, crimping, welding, milling, cold heading, or expanding of the needle as the engagement structure recited by Applicant.
Applicant again argues that the claim language does not meet the 3-prong analysis. As detailed in the final office action mailed 01/25/2024:
The limitation uses the term “structure”
The term structure is modified by functional language, “adapted to engage with said needle guard in order to prevent said needle guard from sliding off said needle tip”, and linked by a transition word (i.e., adapted to).
The term “structure” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. There is no structure or material claimed that can perform the function noted above. Additionally, the claim fails to provide an act for performing the engagement since it doesn’t describe how it engages. The claim essentially states that the engagement structure engages.
Applicant states that “the claimed element ‘engagement structure’ is a term that one of ordinary skill in that art, after reading the specification, would understands to have sufficiently definite meaning”. Examiner points out that 112(f) interpretation is only giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), in light of and consistent with the written description of the invention in the application (MPEP 2181(I)) and is not a rejection. Thus, the Examiner maintains the 112(f) interpretation as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026, on pages 8-9 regarding the modification of Isaacson in view of Solar would change the principle of operation of Isaacson have been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant points out the differences between the catheter of Solar and the needles of Isaacson. This is not relevant to the rejection as the rejection relies on Isaacson to teach an opening shape that prevents skiving of the tissue (Para 0071 -Solar). None of the other structural elements of Solar are imported into Isaacson and thus the principle of operation of Isaacson would remain the same.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026, on pages 9-10 regarding Solar is structurally different than the opening recited in claim 1 have been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that the chamfered portion 1213 is not part of the opening 1212 and thus the opening lacks all of the structural limitations of claim 1. The specification of Solar directly contradicts that in Para 0071 that states “The opening 1212 can include a scallop-shaped or other tapered, beveled, or chamfered portion 1213 that can extend in the proximal direction”. Thus, Solar’s opening 1212 including portion 1213 does meet all of the limitations of the opening of claim 1 as detailed in the rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026, on pages 10-11 regarding Inoue and Solar conflicting have been fully considered but are moot as there is no current rejection that relies on Inoue. Inoue is provided simply as related prior art and thus has not been combined or compared to Solar in any Office Action or rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783