DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed December 16, 2024, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Huang et al. and Nichols et al. (cited in the previous Office Action) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite a “resin composition obtained by blending a resin (S) containing a polyarylene ether (A) modified with a functional group and a thermoplastic resin (B), and a carbon fiber (C), wherein the carbon fiber (C) is not a carbon member containing a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group.” Applicant argues that the disclosure of Huang is related to a composition comprising a reinforcing agent having a surface coating of a polar group functionalized polyarylene ether, which would not read on the claimed carbon fiber (C) that is not a carbon member containing a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group. The Examiner recognizes that the teachings of Huang are limited to wherein the polar group functionalized polyarylene ether is applied as a surface coating to a reinforcing agent, however, Nichols contemplates that polar group functionalized polyarylene ether are known as suitable within the art for both surface coating reinforcing agents (col. 11, ln. 43-55) and also for incorporation via blending with other resins and reinforcing agents (col. 13, ln. 1-12). Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize both methods of incorporating polar group functionalized polyarylene ether to compositions comprising reinforcing agents as suitable for improving compatibility of said reinforcing agents with thermoplastic resins.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments are considered fully responded to within the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a recitation of a component which the claimed composition does not contain. As it is unclear what component is intended to be excluded from the composition, the claim cannot be meaningfully searched and compared to the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 5,426,171, hereinafter referred to as “Huang”) in view of Nichols et al. (US 6,063,872, hereinafter referred to as “Nichols”).
As to Claim 1: Huang teaches a resin composition comprising a thermoplastic resin and a solid reinforcing agent, which includes the claimed carbon fiber (column 2, lines 4-10), said reinforcing agent having a surface coating of a polar group-functionalized polyarylene ether (Abstract) including polyphenylene ethers comprising a functional group (column 3, lines 22-25). Huang does not explicitly teach the amounts for the functionalized polyarylene ether and carbon fiber components. However, Huang teaches that the solid reinforcing agent (which may be comprised of carbon fiber and a surface coating of a polar group functionalized polyarylene ether) comprises 1 to 75 parts by weight of the composition and the thermoplastic resin comprises 25 to 99 parts by weight of the composition (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the surface coating comprises 0.001 to 10 wt% of the uncoated reinforcing agent weight (column 3, lines 1-5). Thus, based on the disclosed ranges and relative amounts for the thermoplastic resin and reinforcing agent having a surface coating of a polar group-functionalized polyarylene ether combined with the teaching of the amount of surface coating relative to the uncoated reinforcing agent weight, Huang necessarily teaches an overlapping range for an amount of the claimed modified polyphenylene ether. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to have done so would have been, as Huang suggests, that the overlapping portion is a useable range for an amount of a functionalized polyarylene ether relative to a thermoplastic resin.
Huang is silent towards the polyarylene ether being a fumaric acid-modified polyphenylene ether, however, Huang contemplates the functionalization of polyarylene ethers with polar groups having reactive unsaturation (i.e., ethylenic unsaturation) in addition to the desired polar group functionality and teaches that the functional group is preferably maleic anhydride (column 1, lines 43-51).
Nichols teaches a related molding composition comprising a syndiotactic monovinylidene aromatic polymer (Abstract) which may be styrene (column 2, lines 5-15) (i.e., a thermoplastic resin), a reinforcing agent which may be carbon fiber (column 10, lines 26-30), and further comprising a polyarylene ether that may be a polar group functionalized polyarylene ether with polar groups including maleic anhydride (column 11, lines 1-24) or fumaric acid (Claim 17 of Nichols). Huang and Nichols are considered analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely, compositions comprising at least a thermoplastic resin, a reinforcing agent, and a polar group functionalized polyarylene ether. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the maleic anhydride functionalized polyarylene ether of Huang with the fumaric acid functionalized polyarylene ether of Nichols based on the teaching of Nichols that maleic anhydride and fumaric acid are equivalent polar groups for modifying polyarylene ethers known within the art to improve compositions thereof by acting as compatibilizers to improve adhesion between a reinforcing agent and a thermoplastic polymer (column 11, lines 34-38).
Huang teaches that the reinforcing agent has a surface coating of a polar group-functionalized polyarylene ether (Abstract) and blends comprising the same, but does not explicitly teach wherein the reinforcing agent/carbon fiber member is not a carbon member containing a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group.
Nichols contemplates that polar group functionalized polyarylene ether are known as suitable within the art for both surface coating reinforcing agents (col. 11, ln. 43-55) and also for incorporation via blending with other resins and reinforcing agents (col. 13, ln. 1-12). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art would to alternatively blend the polyarylene ether modified with a functional group of Huang with a reinforcing agent and the motivation would have been that Nichols teaches that both pre-coating the reinforcing agent with a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group and blending the polyarylene ether modified with a functional group with a reinforcing agent and other resins are known within the art as suitable for improving compatibility of said reinforcing agents with thermoplastic resins. Furthermore, as both Huang and Nichols contemplate the addition of polar group functionalized polyarylene ethers for the same purpose (i.e., compatibilizer for reinforcing agent additives for resins), blending the respective components of Huang as opposed to using a reinforcing agent with a surface coating of a polar group-functionalized polyarylene ether would not appear to render the invention of Huang inoperable, but would instead align with the goal of Huang (i.e., improved compatibility between a reinforcing additive and thermoplastic resin).
As to Claims 5-6: Huang and Nichols teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Huang further teaches that the solid reinforcing agent (which may be comprised of carbon fiber and a surface coating of a polar group functionalized polyarylene ether) comprises 1 to 75 parts by weight of the composition and the thermoplastic resin comprises 25 to 99 parts by weight of the composition (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the surface coating comprises 0.001 to 10 wt% of the uncoated reinforcing agent weight (column 3, lines 1-5). Thus, based on the disclosed ranges and relative amounts for the thermoplastic resin and reinforcing agent having a surface coating of a polar group-functionalized polyarylene ether combined with the teaching of the amount of surface coating relative to the uncoated reinforcing agent weight, Huang necessarily teaches an overlapping range for an amount of carbon fiber. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to have done so would have been, as Huang suggests, that the overlapping portion is a useable range for an amount of carbon fiber reinforcing agent for a thermoplastic resin composition.
As to Claims 7 and 8: Huang and Nichols teach the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Huang further teaches that the thermoplastic resin may include polycarbonates, homopolymers and copolymers of styrene (i.e., polystyrene based resin), or polyamides (column 2, lines 24-42).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 5,426,171, hereinafter referred to as “Huang”) in view of Nichols et al. (US 6,063,872, hereinafter referred to as “Nichols”) and further in view of Nomura et al. (US20180134856, hereinafter referred to as “Nomura).
As to Claim 9: Huang and Nichols teach the composition of claim 1 (see above).
Huang does not teach the source of the carbon fiber component.
Nomura teaches a composite material including carbon fibers, a polyamide-based resin (i.e., thermoplastic resin), and a polyarylene ether-based resin (Abstract of Nomura) optionally containing carboxylic acid functional groups ([00145]). Nomura further teaches that the carbon fibers may be PAN-based, pitch based, phenol based, or vapor grown carbon fibers ([0088]). Huang and Nomura are considered analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely resin compositions comprising polyarylene ethers, thermoplastics, and carbon fibers. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PAN-based, pitch based, phenol based, or vapor grown carbon fibers within the composition taught by Huang because Nomura teaches that these are useable carbon fiber types for functionalized polyarylene ether thermoplastic composites.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/022,964 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the copending application are drawn to resin compositions comprising at least a thermoplastic resin, carbon fibers, and a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group wherein the polyarylene ether functionality recited in both the instant application (claim 1) and the copending application (claims 7 and 8) is the same (i.e., a dicarboxylic acid-modified polyarylene ether wherein the dicarboxylic acid-modified polyarylene ether is a fumaric acid-modified polyarylene ether). The instant application claims a polyarylene ether modified with a functional group (claim 1) in an overlapping amount with the claimed range in the copending application (claim 1). Further, the instant application recites a composition wherein the thermoplastic resin may be polystyrene based (claims 7 and 8), while the copending application recites that the thermoplastic resin comprises a polystyrene-based resin or syndiotactic polystyrene (claims 1 and 2), which reads on the instantly claimed polystyrene-based resin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.L.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767