DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 5, 9, 14-21, 28, 31, 44, 47, 178, 182, 188-189 and 203 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 9, 14-21, 28, 31, 44, 182, 188-189 and 203 are rejected. Claims 47 and 178 are objected to.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previously presented 35 USC 102 and 112a rejections as well as the 112d rejections of claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 recites compounds where L1-B is broader in scope than independent claim 1 which requires that
Or
etc.
Instant claim 17 recites the compound of claim 1 wherein
.
When L1-B is
, this definition of X allows for rings other than those specified in claim 1. For instance, claim 17 embraces compounds of this type where X is unsubstituted cyclobutyl whereas claim 1 only provides for one of the following:
.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
To overcome this issue the Examiner recommends that Applicant amend claim 17 to recite:
The compound or salt of claim 1,
wherein
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 203 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2248829-58-3, which entered Registry on November 18th, 2018.
CAS Registry No. 2248829-58-3 is drawn to N-(4-Ethyl-5-methyl-2-thiazolyl)-1-(4-pyridinylmethyl)-1H-pyrrole-2-carboxamide, which has the following structure:
.
CAS Registry No. 2248829-58-3 is identical to instant compound A82 of claim 203.
Claim 203 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2248870-86-0, which entered Registry on November 18th, 2018.
CAS Registry No. 2248870-86-0 is drawn to N-(5-Cyclopropyl-2-thiazolyl)-1-(4-pyridinylmethyl)-1H-pyrrole-2-carboxamide, which has the following structure:
.
CAS Registry No. 2248870-86-0 is identical to instant compound A75 of claim 203.
Claim 203 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2248894-89-3, which entered Registry on November 18th, 2018.
CAS Registry No. 2248894-89-3 is drawn to N-Methyl-N-(4-methyl-2-thiazolyl)-1-(4-pyridinylmethyl)-1H-pyrrole-2-carboxamide, which has the following structure:
.
CAS Registry No. 2248894-89-3 is identical to instant compound A118 of claim 203.
Claim 203 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2248986-96-9, which entered Registry on November 18th, 2018.
CAS Registry No. 2248986-96-9is drawn to N-(6-Methyl-2-benzothiazolyl)-1-(4-pyridinylmethyl)-1H-pyrrole-2-carboxamide, which has the following structure:
.
CAS Registry No. 2248986-96-9 is identical to instant compound A73 of claim 203.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 9, 14-21, 28, 31, 44, 182, 188-189 and 203 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-11, 17, 21, 26, 39, 43, 45, 47, 49, 51, 62, 64-68, 72, 76, 80, 88, 97 and 196-197 of co-pending Application No. 18/019,885 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 64 discloses the following compound (Table A):
.
Compound A52 is embraced by instant Formula (III) where R4 is C1 alkyl, m is 1, L2 is C1 alkylene, R2 is H, L1-B is
and there are 0 instances of G and E (corresponding to instant claims 1, 14-17, 19-21, and 31).
Co-pending claim 97 discloses the following compound (Table B):
.
Compound B48 is embraced by instant Formula (IIIA) where L1-B is
and there are 2 instances of G, where G is halo and C1 alkyl (corresponding to instant claims 1, 5, 9, 14-18, 19, 28 and 44).
Regarding instant claim 203, the co-pending application discloses the following compound in claim 64:
.
Compound A21 is analogous to instant compound A275 depicted below:
.
Co-pending compound A21 differs from instant compound A275 by the presence of a methyl substituent where the instant compound has a hydrogen. “Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties.” In re Deuel 34 USPQ2d 1210 at 1214. Furthermore MPEP 2144.09 (II) states: “Compounds which are […] homologs (…) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).” It is well established that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, 199 U.S.P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978) and In re Lohr, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548, 549 (C.C.P.A. 1963).
The motivation to make a substitution of a hydrogen for an alkyl group stems from the fact that a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the compounds would have the same utility as the compounds taught by the co-pending application. In the interest of generating additional compounds that have the same utility as the compounds taught by the co-pending application, a person having ordinary skill in the art would seek to make additional compounds that are most closely related to compounds specifically taught by the co-pending application that have been demonstrated to have the desired utility. The replacement of hydrogen for an alkyl group falls under the well-established doctrine of homology, which assumes that homologous compounds are likely to have similar properties. Therefore, the instantly claimed compound which differs by hydrogen/alkyl, over the compound of the co-pending application is unpatentable absent a showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.09 (VIII) states “A prima facie case of obviousness based on structural similarity is rebuttable by proof that the claimed compounds possess unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).”
Regarding instant claim 189, the co-pending application teaches a method of treating cancer by administering the co-pending compounds (claims 196 and 197).
Instant claim 182 recites a method of inhibiting protein secretion in a cell comprising contacting the cell with the instant compounds in an effective amount. A person of ordinary skill would recognize this as a natural consequence of administering the compound to treat a disease where it would be expected to contact the recited proteins in the biological system.
Regarding instant claim 188, with respect to the fact that the claims of the co-pending case are drawn to compounds and compositions while the instant claims are drawn to methods of treating inflammation or an inflammatory disease, Applicant is directed to Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. 95 USPQ2d 1797, Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F.3d 1373 [68 USPQ2d 1865] (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 [86 USPQ2d 1001] (Fed. Cir. 2008) for analogous situations. The instantly claimed utility is disclosed in paragraph [0010] of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5, 9, 15-19, 21, 28, 31, 44, 182, and 188-189 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 11, 14-17, 20-21, 23, 28, 32, 34, 38-40, 42, and 49-50 of copending Application No. 18/841,805 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 38 discloses compounds from Table A or B including the following:
.
Regarding instant claims 1, 5, 9, 15-19, 21, 28, 31, 44, 182, and 188-189 are copending compound B18 is embraced by instant formula (III) where R4 is absent (m is 0), L2 is C1alkylene, R2 is H, L1-B is
, G is N(RN)2, RN is H.
Copending compound B22 reads on instant claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 31, 182, and 188-189 where R4 is F (m is 1), L2 is C1alkylene, R2 is H, L1-B is
, and there are 0 instances of G.
Regarding instant claim 182, copending claim 42 recites a method of inhibiting protein secretion in a cell comprising contacting the cell with the copending compound in amount effective to inhibit secretion wherein the protein is PD-1.
Regarding instant claims 188-189, copending claims 49-50 disclose methods of treating inflammation and cancer by administering the copending compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 47 and 178 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626