DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 06/22/2026, have been entered. Claim 1 is amended; claims 3-9 and 11-14 stand as originally or previously presented; claims 2 and 10 are cancelled; and claims 15-16 are new. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 12/23/2025 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art and the originally cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (JP 2014102987 A), in view of Kushida et al. (US 20200235426 A1, hereinafter Kushida) and Miyashita et al. (US 20170352916 A1, hereinafter Miyashita).
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 13, Ohashi discloses the limitations for a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract) for a solid-state battery (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte is used in an all-solid state battery, [0050]) comprising a lithium-ion conductive sulfide (Ohashi, solid electrolyte exhibiting excellent lithium ion conductive performance, [0036]) containing elemental lithium (Li), elemental phosphorus (P), and elemental sulfur (S) (Ohashi, for excellent lithium ion conductive performance, the solid electrolyte produced in the present invention is preferably a solid electrolyte containing Li, P, and S as main components, [0036]), wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte further comprises an ester compound (Ohashi, an additive, e.g. an ester compound, can be added to the container containing the solvent, [0023]) and a solvent (Ohashi, as the solvent, a hydrocarbon solvent can be used, [0018]).
While Ohashi does not explicitly disclose that the sulfide solid electrolyte has at least one peak observed in a chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in a spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement electrolyte and has a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm,
the Applicant discloses that the noted peak is derived from a hydrogen atom that is bound to a carbon atom located adjacent to an oxygen atom in an ester linkage (see e.g. Instant Specification [0017]) and the FWHM indicates that an ester linkage site is bound to the surface of the lithium-ion conductive sulfide (see e.g. Instant Specification [0015]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the presence of a hydrogen atom that is bound to a carbon atom located adjacent to an oxygen atom in an ester linkage, and the ester linkage site being bound to the surface of the lithium-ion conductive sulfide is critical to the recited peak such that the sulfide solid electrolyte would necessarily possess the recited peak.
Thus, it would be reasonable to determine that the reaction between the sulfide solid electrolyte and the ester of Ohashi would result in a presence of a hydrogen atom that is bound to a carbon atom located adjacent to an oxygen atom in an ester linkage and the ester linkage site being bound to the surface of the lithium-ion conductive sulfide.
As Ohashi discloses a substantially similar sulfide solid electrolyte comprising
an ester linkage having hydrogen bonded to carbon adjacent to oxygen (Ohashi, an additive, e.g. an ester compound, can be added to the container containing the solvent, [0023]), it is submitted that the sulfide solid electrolyte of Ohashi would necessarily exhibit the recited peak between 3.4 – 4.8 ppm in 1H-NMR and a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, as set forth in MPEP 2112.01 (1).
Ohashi does not explicitly disclose that the sulfide solid has a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less.
With respect to the limitations a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less, it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited sulfide solid electrolyte.
Applicant discloses that the peak area corresponds to the amount of the ester compound contained in the sulfide solid electrolyte (see Instant Specification [0027-0028]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the amount of the ester compound contained in the sulfide solid electrolyte, i.e. a total amount of the ester compound and the organic solvent is 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less and a mass ratio of an amount of the ester compound to a total amount of the ester compound and the organic solvent is 0.05 or more is critical to the recited peak area range such that it would fulfil the recited measurements and necessarily possess the inherent properties (Claims 11 and 13) (see e.g. Instant Specification [0033-0034]).
Ohashi discloses that from the view point of making it easy to prevent adhesion of the coarse raw material to the media during grinding, the amount of the ester compound added is preferably 0.01% by weight or more (Ohashi, [0028]; the Examiner notes that while Ohashi does not disclose a mass ratio of ester compound to the total mass of the solvent and ester compound, the disclosed ester compound amount of 0.01% by weight or more would overlap the claimed mass ratio of 0.05 or more).
As Ohashi discloses a substantially similar sulfide solid electrolyte comprising
an ester linkage having hydrogen bonded to carbon adjacent to oxygen and a substantially similar amount of ester compound added to the sulfide solid electrolyte, it is submitted that the sulfide solid electrolyte of Ohashi would necessarily exhibit a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, as set forth in MPEP 2112.01 (1).
Ohashi discloses a total amount of the ester compound (Ohashi, from the view point of making it easy to prevent adhesion of the coarse raw material to the media during grinding, the amount of the ester compound added is preferably 0.01% by weight or more, [0028]) and the organic solvent is 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less (Ohashi, the finely divided sulfide solid electrolyte is dried for a predetermined time to remove the solvent and additives, [0032]; the Examiner notes that drying will still leave small traces of solvent and additives, which would overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less).
Ohashi discloses that the additive functions as a dispersant for the coarse raw material (Ohashi, [0031]).
Ohashi is silent regarding the ester includes butyl pivalate, and the sulfide solid electrolyte having an argyrodite-type crystal structure.
Kushida discloses a sulfide solid electrolyte (Kushida, solid electrolyte composition, Abstract) comprising an ester, wherein the ester includes butyl pivalate (Kushida, solid electrolyte composition includes a dispersion medium (C), wherein the dispersion medium includes an ester compound, and the ester compound includes butyl pivalate, Abstract, [0174, 0184]).
Kushida teaches that the dispersion medium disperses the solid electrolyte, the active material, the conductive auxiliary agent, the binder particles, and the like (Kushida, [0174]).
Ohashi and Kushida are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a solid electrolyte including an ester.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use butyl pivalate of Kushida as the additive dispersant of Ohashi, in order to disperse the components in the solid electrolyte composition.
Miyashita discloses a sulfide solid electrolyte having an argyrodite-type crystal structure (Miyashita, sulfide-based solid electrolyte which includes a compound having a crystal phase of a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure, [0076]). Miyashita teaches that by having a sulfide-based solid electrolyte which includes a compound having a crystal phase of a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure, cycle characteristics can be enhanced and a generation amount of hydrogen sulfide can be suppressed when being left to stand in the air and which can maintain high conductivity even when being left to stand in dry air (Mayashita, Abstract, [0076]).
Ohashi and Mayashita are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a sulfide solid electrolyte.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely design the sulfide solid electrolyte of Ohashi to have a crystal phase of a cubic argyrodite-type crystal structure, as taught by Miyashita, in order to enhance cycle characteristics enhanced and suppress a generation amount of hydrogen sulfide when being left to stand in the air and which can maintain high conductivity even when being left to stand in dry air.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for an electrode mixture (Ohashi, negative electrode active material layer, [0051]) comprising the sulfide solid electrolyte and an active material (Ohashi, includes a negative electrode active material, a sulfide solid electrolyte, and a binder, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for a solid electrolyte layer comprising the sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, solid electrolyte layer includes a sulfide solid electrolyte and a binder, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for a solid-state battery comprising the sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, an all-solid-state battery in which the sulfide solid electrolyte is used in one or more layers, [0051]).
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract), wherein the organic solvent comprises an aromatic hydrocarbon or an aliphatic hydrocarbon (Ohashi, examples of hydrocarbon solvents that can be used include aromatic hydrocarbons such as benzene, [0018]).
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (JP 2014102987 A), in view of Kushida et al. (US 20200235426 A1, hereinafter Kushida) and Miyashita et al. (US 20170352916 A1, hereinafter Miyashita), as applied to Claim 1 above, and as evidenced by Abe et al. (JP 2003026631 A, hereinafter Abe).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract), wherein the ester compound is an ester compound (Kushida, solid electrolyte composition includes a dispersion medium (C), wherein the dispersion medium includes an ester compound, and the ester compound includes butyl pivalate, Abstract, [0174, 0184]) of a carboxylic acid and an alcohol. It is evidenced by Abe that butyl pivalate is produced from the reaction of pivalic acid and n-butanol (Abe, [0035]; the Examiner notes that pivalic acid is a carboxylic acid and butanol is an alcohol).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract), wherein the ester compound (Kushida, solid electrolyte composition includes a dispersion medium (C), wherein the dispersion medium includes an ester compound, and the ester compound includes butyl pivalate, Abstract, [0174, 0184]) is represented by structural formula (1) below (Kushida, solid electrolyte composition includes a dispersion medium (C), wherein the dispersion medium includes an ester compound, and the ester compound includes butyl pivalate, Abstract, [0174, 0184]),
wherein x represents an integer of 0 to 2 (Kushida, x = 2 hydrogen atoms, Abstract, [0174, 0184]), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (Kushida, R1 = branched alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms, Abstract, [0174, 0184]), and R2 each independently represent a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group having 1 to 7 carbon atoms (Ohashi, R2 = linear alkyl group having 3 carbon atoms, Abstract, [0174, 0184]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses the limitations for a method for producing a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, method for producing a sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract), the method comprising:
a step of wet-pulverizing a slurry (Ohashi, wet mechanical milling was performed at a predetermined rotation and revolution speed for a predetermined time to pulverize the raw material and obtain a sulfide solid electrolyte material, [0054]) containing a lithium-ion conductive sulfide (Ohashi, lithium sulfide and diphosphorus pentasulfide, [0052]), an organic solvent (Ohashi, dehydrated heptane, [0052]), and an ester compound (Ohashi, ester compound is used as the additive, [0027]), the lithium-ion conductive sulfide containing elemental lithium (Li), elemental phosphorus (P), and elemental sulfur (S) sulfide (Ohashi, lithium sulfide and diphosphorus pentasulfide, [0052]), wherein the ester compound is an ester compound of a carboxylic acid and an alcohol (Gadewar, ethyl acetate is produced by the esterification of acetic acid with ethanol, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ohashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ohashi discloses a sulfide solid electrolyte (Ohashi, sulfide solid electrolyte, Abstract), wherein the organic solvent is at least one of an aromatic hydrocarbon and an aliphatic hydrocarbon (Ohashi, examples of hydrocarbon solvents that can be used include aromatic hydrocarbons such as benzene, [0018]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20200220207 A1), in view of Kubo et al. (US 20140004257 A1, hereinafter Kubo), as cited in “Notice of References Cited” filed 12/23/2025, as evidenced by Yang (US 20100124773 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Sato discloses the limitations regarding a method for producing a sulfide solid electrolyte (Sato, Production of a Sulfide Solid Electrolyte Having an Argyrodite-Type Crystal Structure, [0172]),
the method comprising:
a step of wet-pulverizing a slurry (Sato, the sulfide solid electrolyte was particulated by pulverizing using a bead mill while maintaining the slurry in a nitrogen atmosphere, [0179]) containing
a lithum-ion conductive sulfide having an argyrodite-type crystal structure (Sato, as a result of the XRD measurement of the sulfide solid electrolyte, peaks derived from the argyrodite-type crystal structure were observed, [0178]),
an organic solvent (Sato, 30 g of the sulfide solid electrolyte obtained above was dispersed in 660 mL of solvent (dehydrated toluene), [0179]), and
the lithium-ion conductive sulfide containing elemental lithium (Li), elemental phosphorus (P), and elemental sulfur (S) (Sato, the sulfide solid electrolyte comprising Li2S, P2S5, LiBr, and LiCl, [0173]).
Sato is silent regarding an ester compound, wherein the ester compound is an ester compound of a carboxylic acid and an alcohol.
Kubo discloses a method for producing a sulfide solid electrolyte (Kubo, provide a practical slurry having a polar solvent as the dispersion medium for a sulfide solid electrolyte material, Abstract), comprising
a lithum-ion conductive sulfide (Kubo, sulfide solid electrolyte material, [0029]),
an ester compound (Kubo, a dispersion medium consisting of an ester, which may be N-butyl n-butyrate, [0029], Table 2), wherein the ester compound is an ester compound of a carboxylic acid and an alcohol (Kubo, a dispersion medium consisting of an ester, which may be N-butyl n-butyrate, [0029], Table 2).
an organic solvent (Kubo, in addition to the above-mentioned dispersion medium, the slurry of the present invention may further comprise a conventional non-polar solvent such as toluene, [0041]).
As evidenced by Yang, butyl butyrate is produced by the esterification of butyric acid (a carboxylic acid) and butanol (an alcohol), (Yang, [0049]).
Kubo teaches that the dispersion property of the solid component was improved by the dispersion medium (Kubo, [0142]).
Sato and Kubo are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a method of producing a sulfide solid electrolyte.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the N-butyl n-butyrate of Kubo into the particulate pulverizing step of Sato, in order to improve the dispersion property of the solid component.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Sato discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sato discloses the limitations regarding a sulfide solid electrolyte for a solid-state battery manufactured according to the method wherein
a total amount of the ester compound and the organic solvent contained in the sulfide solid electrolyte is 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less (Sato, the treated slurry was placed in a nitrogen substituted Schlenk bottle and dried under reduced pressure to obtain sulfide solid electrolyte (A2), [0179]; the Examiner notes that drying will still leave small traces of solvent and dispersion medium, which would overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less).
MPEP 2112.01 teaches that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to the limitations the sulfide solid electrolyte has at least one peak observed in a chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in a spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement electrolyte and has a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm, and a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less, it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited sulfide solid electrolyte.
Applicant discloses that the noted peak is derived from a hydrogen atom that is bound to a carbon atom located adjacent to an oxygen atom in an ester linkage (see e.g. Instant Specification [0017]), the FWHM indicates that an ester linkage site is bound to the surface of the lithium-ion conductive sulfide (see e.g. Instant Specification [0015]), and the peak area corresponds to the amount of the ester compound contained in the sulfide solid electrolyte (see Instant Specification [0027-0028]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that a hydrogen atom that is bound to a carbon atom located adjacent to an oxygen atom in an ester linkage, and the ester linkage site being bound to the surface of the lithium-ion conductive sulfide is critical to the recited peak such that the sulfide solid electrolyte would necessarily possess the recited peak.
As modified Sato discloses (1) a substantially similar sulfide solid electrolyte comprising an ester linkage having hydrogen bonded to carbon adjacent to oxygen (Kubo, provide a practical slurry having a dispersion medium consisting of an ester, which may be N-butyl n-butyrate, and a conventional non-polar solvent such as toluene for a sulfide solid electrolyte material, Abstract, [0041], Table 2) and
(2) a substantially similar manufacturing method (Sato, the sulfide solid electrolyte was particulated by pulverizing using a bead mill while maintaining the slurry in a nitrogen atmosphere, [0179]) compared to the instant method of wet pulverization (Instant Specification [0035-0038]), and
(3) a total amount of the ester compound and the organic solvent is 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less (Sato, the treated slurry was placed in a nitrogen substituted Schlenk bottle and dried under reduced pressure to obtain sulfide solid electrolyte (A2), [0179]; the Examiner notes that drying will still leave small traces of solvent and dispersion medium, which would overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 mass% or more and 1.5 mass% or less),
it is submitted that the sulfide solid electrolyte of modified Sato would necessarily exhibit the recited peak between 3.4 – 4.8 ppm in 1H-NMR and a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm and a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtain,ed by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less.
Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities, it appears reasonable that the sulfide solid electrolyte of modified Sato would inherently possess physical properties, e.g. H-NMR measurements, such that the sulfide solid electrolyte of modified Sato would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations, i.e. at least one peak observed in a chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in a spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement electrolyte and has a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm, and a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less.
Assuming, arguendo, that such properties are not inherent, it is submitted that before the effective filing date of the current invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would find such properties obvious over the instant sulfide solid electrolyte. The skilled artisan would reasonably find that the disclosed sulfide solid electrolyte of modified Sato is so similar to the instant sulfide solid electrolyte that the prior art sulfide solid electrolyte of modified Sato would also exhibit at least one peak observed in a chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in a spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement electrolyte and has a full width at half maximum of the peak observed in the chemical shift range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is from 0.2 ppm to 1.0 ppm, and a peak area observed in the range of 3.4 ppm to 4.8 ppm in the spectrum obtained by 1H-NMR measurement is 1.0 x 109 or more and 2.0 x 1010 or less,.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-7, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ohashi et al. (JP 2014102987 A), in view of Kushida et al. (US 20200235426 A1, hereinafter Kushida) and Miyashita et al. (US 20170352916 A1, hereinafter Miyashita), as noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752