DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 7 have been amended.
Claims 4 and 8 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3,5-7 and 9-13 are pending and examined as follows:
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. LU 101137, filed on 02/26/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajic (US2018/0288830) in view of Lee et al (US20060278631) in view of Hadzizukic et al (US7145102).
With regards to claim 1, Sajic discloses an electric heating member (heater element 300, Fig. 3A,3B) comprising: an electrically conductive, flat-shaped textile member uniform thickness having an upper surface and an opposite lower surface arranged in parallel to the upper surface (a non-metallic heating element comprising an electrically-conductive non-woven fiber layer, paragraph 0035, lines 5-8, heater segments 330a-e), a layer of flexible, polymeric plastic material(polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3b) that is adhesively bonded to one out of the upper surface or the lower surface of the textile member (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15), thus covering a major part of the respective surface (fabric/textile material layer 310 covers heater segments 330a-e and majority of polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3B),
an adhesive layer that is adhesively bonded to the other of the surfaces of the textile member that is arranged opposite of the plastic material layer (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate by adhesive of layer 215 and 235, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15),
wherein the electrically conductive textile member includes at least two electrically conductive textile member parts that are arranged side by side and are electrically separated by a kiss cutting process with regard to a direction that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the textile member parts (heater segments 330a-e are separated by slits 350a-d which extends through the top edge of the sheet but not through the bottom edge which is considered a kiss cutting process, paragraph 0047, lines 5-8) , and wherein at least one of the textile member parts is electrically connected to electric terminals that are connectable to an electric heater power supply unit (heater segments 330a-e are connected to busbar segments 320a-f which are connected to power supply and controller 370, Fig. 3A).
Sajic does not disclose where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application and a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer, the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application.
Lee et al teaches where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application (tape strips 44 and adhesive tape 48 is considered uncured because the adhesive is in strip or tape form and can simplify the attachment of heating element 22 to protective layers 24,26, Fig. 3); a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer (adhesive layer 48 which removably bonds the conductive fabric to the release paper 72 is preferably a double-sided acrylic or silicon based adhesive, paragraph 0066, lines 1-2), the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application (laminate fabric heater 22 has a release paper 72 which is part of a flexible heater which is soft and flexible to be applied in various application, paragraph 0062, lines 3-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic and Lee et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic to include the liner of Lee et al because the combination allows for proper alignment of the heating element in production.
Sajic and Lee et al does not disclose the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer.
Hadzizukic et al teaches the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer (layer of two-way tape 80 is adhered (e.g., laminated) to the separator 30 of the heater 16 with release paper (not shown) and the tape 80 is also adhered to the covering 14 of the steering handle 10, col 6, lines 14-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic and Lee et al to include the liner and adhesive layer of Hadzizukic et al because the combination allows for assisting to secure the heater in a variety of ways.
With regards to claim 2, Sajic discloses wherein the textile member is formed by a plurality of more than two textile member parts that are arranged side by side and are electrically separated with regard to a direction that is aligned perpendicular to an extension direction of the textile member parts such that each adjacently arranged two textile member parts are mutually electrically separated (heater segments 330a-e are formed by a plurality of segments that are arranged side by side and are electrically separated by each busbar segment 320a-f, Fig. 3A).
With regards to claim 3, Lee et al discloses wherein each textile member part of the plurality of more than two textile member parts is meandered shaped (fabric heating element 22 is in a meander shape, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 7, Sajic discloses a method of manufacturing an electric heating member (process for manufacture of a laminar heating elements, Title), the method including at least the following steps: providing an electrically conductive, flat-shaped textile member of uniform thickness having an upper surface and an opposite lower surface arranged in parallel to the upper surface (providing a non-metallic heating element comprising an electrically-conductive non-woven fiber layer, paragraph 0035, lines 5-8, heater segments 330a-e) , adhesively bonding a layer of flexible, polymeric plastic material to one of the upper surface or the lower surface of the textile member (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate using adhesive of layers 215,235, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15), thus covering a major part of the respective surface in a direction perpendicular to the respective surface (fabric/textile material layer 310 covers heater segments 330a-e and majority of polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3B), adhesively bonding an adhesive layer to the other of the upper surface or the lower surface of the textile member (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate using adhesive of layers 215,235, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15) and separating by a kiss cutting process the electrically conductive textile member into two or more electrically conductive textile member parts that are arranged side by side (heater segments 330a-e are separated by slits 350a-d which extends through the top edge of the sheet but not through the bottom edge which is considered a kiss cutting process, paragraph 0047, lines 5-8) and are electrically separated with regard to a direction that is aligned perpendicular to an extension direction of the textile member parts such that each two adjacent textile member parts are mutually electrically separated (heater segments 330a-e are connected to busbar segments 320a-f which are connected to power supply and controller 370, Fig. 3A).
Sajic does not disclose where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application and a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer, the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application.
Lee et al teaches where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application (tape strips 44 and adhesive tape 48 is considered uncured because the adhesive is in strip or tape form and can simplify the attachment of heating element 22 to protective layers 24,26, Fig. 3); a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer (adhesive layer 48 which removably bonds the conductive fabric to the release paper 72 is preferably a double-sided acrylic or silicon based adhesive, paragraph 0066, lines 1-2), the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application (laminate fabric heater 22 has a release paper 72 which is part of a flexible heater which is soft and flexible to be applied in various application, paragraph 0062, lines 3-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic and Lee et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic to include the liner of Lee et al because the combination allows for proper alignment of the heating element in production.
Sajic and Lee et al does not disclose the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer.
Hadzizukic et al teaches the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer (layer of two-way tape 80 is adhered (e.g., laminated) to the separator 30 of the heater 16 with release paper (not shown) and the tape 80 is also adhered to the covering 14 of the steering handle 10, col 6, lines 14-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic and Lee et al to include the liner and adhesive layer of Hadzizukic et al because the combination allows for assisting to secure the heater in a variety of ways.
With regards to claim 12, Sajic discloses wherein the kiss cutting process does not separate the flexible, polymeric plastic material through its entire thickness (slits 350a-d separate the segments 330a but not the layer 340, Fig. 3A,3B).
Claim(s) 5,6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Rock et al (US 6,373,034).
With regards to claim 5, Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al does not teach wherein the electrically conductive textile member is made for the most part from polyamide, polyester or a combination of both.
Rock et al teaches wherein the electrically conductive textile member is made for the most part from polyamide, polyester or a combination of both (an electric heating fabric article 10 is formed by joining a stitch yarn 22 and a loop yarn 25 wherein stich yarn 22 is a polyester yarn, paragraph 0027, lines 3-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al, Hadzizukic et al and Rock et al before him or her, to modify the textile member of Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al to include the yarn of Rock et al because the combination allows for a textile member that is versatile and used in many applications.
With regards to claim 6, Rock et al teaches wherein the electrically conductive textile member (fabric body 12 is made of stich yarn 22 and loop yarn 25, paragraph 0030, lines 1-3) comprises warp and weft yarns (stitch yarn 22 and loop yarn 25, Fig. 5-11), and wherein the two or the more than two electrically conductive textile member parts are aligned such that extension directions of the two or the more than two textile member parts form an acute angle with the warp yarns or the weft yarns that lies in a range between 15° and 75° (stich yarn 22 and loop yarn 25 are cross stitched at a 45 degree angle, Fig. 5-11).
With regards to claim 9, Sajic discloses wherein the step of adhesively bonding a layer of flexible, polymeric plastic material is carried out using printing process (that are adhesively bonded to layers 230 and 240 via a solid film/adhesive layer 215, 235 having an adhesive on both sides which is printed, paragraph 0040, lines 3-6).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Gardner et al (US 6,483,087).
With regards to claim 10, Sajic discloses an electric heating member (heater element 300, Fig. 3A,3B) comprising: an electrically conductive, flat-shaped textile member uniform thickness having an upper surface and an opposite lower surface arranged in parallel to the upper surface (a non-metallic heating element comprising an electrically-conductive non-woven fiber layer, paragraph 0035, lines 5-8, heater segments 330a-e), a layer of flexible, polymeric plastic material(polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3b) that is adhesively bonded to one out of the upper surface or the lower surface of the textile member (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15), thus covering a major part of the respective surface (fabric/textile material layer 310 covers heater segments 330a-e and majority of polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3B),
an adhesive layer that is adhesively bonded to the other of the surfaces of the textile member that is arranged opposite of the plastic material layer (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate by adhesive of layer 215 and 235, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15),
wherein the electrically conductive textile member includes at least two electrically conductive textile member parts that are arranged side by side and are electrically separated by a kiss cutting process with regard to a direction that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the textile member parts (heater segments 330a-e are separated by slits 350a-d which extends through the top edge of the sheet but not through the bottom edge which is considered a kiss cutting process, paragraph 0047, lines 5-8) , and wherein at least one of the textile member parts is electrically connected to electric terminals that are connectable to an electric heater power supply unit (heater segments 330a-e are connected to busbar segments 320a-f which are connected to power supply and controller 370, Fig. 3A).
Sajic does not disclose where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application and a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer, the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application.
Lee et al teaches where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application (tape strips 44 and adhesive tape 48 is considered uncured because the adhesive is in strip or tape form and can simplify the attachment of heating element 22 to protective layers 24,26, Fig. 3); a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer (adhesive layer 48 which removably bonds the conductive fabric to the release paper 72 is preferably a double-sided acrylic or silicon based adhesive, paragraph 0066, lines 1-2), the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application (laminate fabric heater 22 has a release paper 72 which is part of a flexible heater which is soft and flexible to be applied in various application, paragraph 0062, lines 3-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic and Lee et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic to include the liner of Lee et al because the combination allows for proper alignment of the heating element in production.
Sajic and Lee et al does not teach wherein the object that the electric heating member is attached to is a vehicle steering wheel.
Gardner et al teaches wherein the object that the electric heating member is attached to is a vehicle steering wheel (thermoplastic laminate fabric heater wherein the heater applies to a steering wheel, col 8, lines 25-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al before him or her, to modify the textile member of Sajic and Lee et al to include an application to a steering wheel as taught by Gardner et al because the combination allows for enhanced heating of a steering wheel.
Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al does not teach the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer.
Hadzizukic et al teaches the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer (layer of two-way tape 80 is adhered (e.g., laminated) to the separator 30 of the heater 16 with release paper (not shown) and the tape 80 is also adhered to the covering 14 of the steering handle 10, col 6, lines 14-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al, Gardner et al and Hadzizukic et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al to include the liner and adhesive layer of Hadzizukic et al because the combination allows for assisting to secure the heater in a variety of ways.
With regards to claim 11, Sajic discloses an electric heating member (heater element 300, Fig. 3A,3B) comprising: an electrically conductive, flat-shaped textile member uniform thickness having an upper surface and an opposite lower surface arranged in parallel to the upper surface (a non-metallic heating element comprising an electrically-conductive non-woven fiber layer, paragraph 0035, lines 5-8, heater segments 330a-e), a layer of flexible, polymeric plastic material(polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3b) that is adhesively bonded to one out of the upper surface or the lower surface of the textile member (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15), thus covering a major part of the respective surface (fabric/textile material layer 310 covers heater segments 330a-e and majority of polymeric insulating film 340, Fig. 3A,3B),
an adhesive layer that is adhesively bonded to the other of the surfaces of the textile member that is arranged opposite of the plastic material layer (insulating material 314 may comprise a material in which top layer 310 and bottom layer 340 have bonded together in a way that they are no longer discretely separable, or the layers may still be discretely identifiable this bonding the heater segments 330a-e as a laminate by adhesive of layer 215 and 235, paragraph 0049, lines 6-15),
wherein the electrically conductive textile member includes at least two electrically conductive textile member parts that are arranged side by side and are electrically separated by a kiss cutting process with regard to a direction that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the textile member parts (heater segments 330a-e are separated by slits 350a-d which extends through the top edge of the sheet but not through the bottom edge which is considered a kiss cutting process, paragraph 0047, lines 5-8) , and wherein at least one of the textile member parts is electrically connected to electric terminals that are connectable to an electric heater power supply unit (heater segments 330a-e are connected to busbar segments 320a-f which are connected to power supply and controller 370, Fig. 3A).
Sajic does not disclose where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application and a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer, the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application.
Lee et al teaches where the adhesive layer is uncured so that the electrical heating member can be subsequently attached to an object during a simplified installation of the electric heating member where the adhesive layer simplifies installation of the electric heating member in a 3-D application (tape strips 44 and adhesive tape 48 is considered uncured because the adhesive is in strip or tape form and can simplify the attachment of heating element 22 to protective layers 24,26, Fig. 3); a liner that is attached to the uncured adhesive layer (adhesive layer 48 which removably bonds the conductive fabric to the release paper 72 is preferably a double-sided acrylic or silicon based adhesive, paragraph 0066, lines 1-2), the liner is configured for removal from the uncured adhesive layer before or during installation of the electric heating member in the 3-D application (laminate fabric heater 22 has a release paper 72 which is part of a flexible heater which is soft and flexible to be applied in various application, paragraph 0062, lines 3-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic and Lee et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic to include the liner of Lee et al because the combination allows for proper alignment of the heating element in production.
Sajic and Lee et al does not teach the electric heating member installed in an antenna member of a capacitive sensing device for automotive application.
Gardner et al teaches the electric heating member installed in an antenna member of a capacitive sensing device for automotive application (thermoplastic laminate fabric heater wherein the heater applies to a transmitter/receiver of reflector antennas, col 8, lines 45-48).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al before him or her, to modify the textile member of Sajic and Lee et al to include an application to an antenna as taught by Garnder et al because the combination allows for enhanced heating a component of an automotive vehicle.
Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al does not teach the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer.
Hadzizukic et al teaches the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer (layer of two-way tape 80 is adhered (e.g., laminated) to the separator 30 of the heater 16 with release paper (not shown) and the tape 80 is also adhered to the covering 14 of the steering handle 10, col 6, lines 14-17).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al, Gardner et al and Hadzizukic et al before him or her, to modify the adhesive layer of Sajic, Lee et al and Gardner et al to include the liner and adhesive layer of Hadzizukic et al because the combination allows for assisting to secure the heater in a variety of ways.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandra et al (WO2006113918A2).
With regards to claim 13, Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al does not teach wherein the electrically conductive flat shaped textile member comprises a layer of electrically conductive material attached galvanically by electroplating.
Chandra et al teaches wherein the electrically conductive flat shaped textile member comprises a layer of electrically conductive material attached galvanically by electroplating (the fabric 12 and layer 26 may be over plated using conventional electroplating, page 4, lines 1-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sajic, Lee et al, Hadzizukic et al and Chandra et al before him or her, to modify the textile member of Sajic, Lee et al and Hadzizukic et al to include an application of electroplating as taught by Chandra et al because the combination allows a process of making a heater that prevents parts from coming apart.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach the amended limitations of claims 1 and 7.
Examiners response: Claims 1 and 7 have been amended to include “the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer”. Hadzizukic et al teaches the adhesive layer covering a major part of the other surface and the liner is configured for removal so as to expose the uncured adhesive layer (layer of two-way tape 80 is adhered (e.g., laminated) to the separator 30 of the heater 16 with release paper (not shown) and the tape 80 is also adhered to the covering 14 of the steering handle 10, col 6, lines 14-17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761