DETAILED ACTION
All previous claims (claims 1-30) are cancelled.
Claims 31-38 are newly added, are pending, and are currently under consideration.
All previous Grounds of Rejection are withdrawn since all previously pending claims are cancelled. Applicant’s arguments directed to the previous grounds of rejection are not found persuasive since all said grounds are withdrawn since said claims are cancelled.
All rejections made herein are New Grounds since only newly added claims are pending in the Application.
New Grounds of Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112(pre-AIA ), First Paragraph
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The response filed 09/25/2025 has introduced NEW MATTER into the claims.
Claim 38 recites “a step of adding a surfactant to the results of step (ii) is inserted between steps (ii) and (iii)”, which was not previously encompassed by the claims or the specification as originally filed. While surfactants are taught, the specific location of this steps was not taught.
35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112(pre-AIA ), Second Paragraph
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 35, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 35 recites the broad recitation of “acetone, ethanol, dichloromethane, isopropyl alcohol,” the claim also recites “preferably from dichloromethane, ethanol and isopropyl alcohol” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 31-33 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims, as written, do not sufficiently distinguish over compositions comprising curcumin, chlorogenic acid, catechin, and an encapsulating agent (such as starch) as they exist naturally because the claims do not particularly point out any non-naturally occurring differences between the claimed composition and the naturally occurring compositions. The claimed composition reads upon naturally occurring green coffee, green tea, and turmeric, which comprise chlorogenic acid, catechin, curcumin, and starch.
In the absence of the hand of man, naturally occurring compositions (e.g. green coffee, green tea, and turmeric) are considered non-statutory subject matter (Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 206 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1980)). It should be noted that the mere purity of a naturally occurring product does not necessarily impart patentability (Ex parte Siddiqui, 156 U.S.P.Q. 426 (1996)). However, when purification results in a new utility, patentability is considered (Merck Co. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp 68 (1967), 155 U.S.P.Q. 139, (District Court, New Jersey, 1967)). The examiner suggests narrowing the scope of claim 31 to include the limitations of claim 34 which require modified starch or maltodextrin which are not naturally occurring. See MPEP 2105.
Response to Arguments
It is noted that the prior ground of rejection was withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of all previously pending claims, and the New Ground of Rejection set forth above is being made in light of the Newly Added claims. Applicant’s statements in the Remarks are not found persuasive.
Applicant has not established that the process limitations result in a composition that is materially different from the components as they exist in nature. Applicant has not established what the improved bioavailability is compared with, Applicant has not established if the solvent or other method steps result in a different product with significantly more properties compared with said components as they exist in nature. Further, the scope of claim 31 is significantly broader from any examples or data provided in the specification of declaration of the Instant Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-38 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling (US 2017/0157194) as evidenced by Onsando et al (2016).
Ling teaches a composition comprising 30-75% green tea extract, 20-55% turmeric extract, and 25% or 45% green coffee bean extract (see entire document, for instance, claim 1 and [0045]). It is noted that the instant Specification evidences that turmeric comprises curcumin and green tea comprises catechin. It is further noted that Onsando evidences that green tea comprises chlorogenic acid (see Onsando, Abstract) and the Instant Specification evidences that green coffee beans comprise chlorogenic acid (see Instant Specification, [0004]). The composition can be in the form of a tablet, capsule, pill, granule, etc. (see entire document, for instance, [0028]). The green tea extract, green coffee extract, and turmeric extract are taught as being mixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable stabilizer or excipient to form capsules, tablets, film-coated tablets, or injection fluids (see entire document, for instance, [0015]). It is noted that film-coated tablets and capsules are by definition encapsulated, and the materials included within a tablet or the solvent utilized in a suspension could be considered encapsulating components. Ling further teaches that the amount of excipient will depend on the quality of the active, and an excipient can perform more than one function (see entire document, for instance, [0020]). The composition can further comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see entire document, for instance, claim 4). Ling additionally teaches the presence of fillers such as maltodextrin (see entire document, for instance, [0023]). Ling further teaches that surfactants can be present, such as Tween 80 (see entire document, for instance, [0026]).
It is noted that properties of a composition are necessarily present when the composition is present. For instance, the effect of the combination on bioavailability, the improvements in therapeutic or pharmacological effects, the potential uses of the composition, are all aspects that are necessarily present when the composition is present. It is noted that MPEP 2112.01 states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” It is further noted that optional ingredients are not required to be present.
Ling, while teaching the use of encapsulated compositions, does not directly teach the amount of the encapsulating agent. Ling further, while teaching the inclusion of excipients, does not directly state that an encapsulating agent are present.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of the excipients present. One would have been motivated to do so since Ling directly states that the amount of the excipient employed depends on the active agent. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since excipients and solvents are conventionally utilized in the formation of tablets, capsules, pills, granules, and injection fluids. It is further noted that in the instant claims, the solvent is removed, therefore, the final product does not comprise the solvent.
With regard to the process limitations present in the product claims, MPEP 2113 states that "product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps", and “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant Application the prior art teaches a composition comprising the same elements, wherein Applicant has not established that the specific method steps result in a structurally different composition from the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments and Declaration
It is noted that the prior ground of rejection was withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of all previously pending claims, and the New Ground of Rejection set forth above is being made in light of the Newly Added claims. Applicant argue in the Remarks filed 09/25/2025 that Ling teaches green tea extract but not green coffee extract. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection set forth above which directly cites Ling teaching green coffee extract. As such, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611