DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 25 February 2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 7, 10 and 11. Claims 4-5 were previously canceled. Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Reply to Applicant’s Remarks
Applicant’s remarks filed 25 February 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112:
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 25 February 2026 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101:
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 25 February 2026 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections previously set forth.
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103:
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks, filed 25 February 2026, with regard to the rejections of claims 1-3 and 6-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered. Applicant’s argument is moot because the argument is directed toward new limitations that have not been previously considered. As such, Applicant’s amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejection set forth in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. control unit in claims 2-3 and 6-9;
The structure of the “control unit” is described in the Specification as “a CPU, ROM, RAM, I/O” (Specification, para 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN107817794, hereinafter Zhang, the paragraph numbers are cited based on the attached machine translated copy) in view of Pieper (US20140081568).
As to claims 1, 10 and 11, Zhang teaches a work vehicle, an automatic travel method for a work vehicle and an automatic travel system for a work vehicle capable of automatic travel along a travel route that is set parallel to a reference route generated based on a first reference point and a second reference point set in advance, while identifying an own vehicle position thereof using a satellite positioning system, wherein (see at least Zhang para 0006, para 0050):
when automatic travel is being performed, a first control reference position and a second control reference position are set based on the first and second reference points, respectively, and
(see at least Zhang para 0017: the processor determines whether the work in the area enclosed by the boundary is completed based on the current position and the end point of the driving trajectory, and if so, generates a control instruction, i.e. activating a notification device at the end point, i.e. 1st or 2nd reference point, to control the tractor to perform agricultural operations on the boundary; para 0019 for generating cruise command when at the end point; para 0034 for starting point and end point of AB lines; para 0035: when reaching end point B, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device; para 0036: when reaching end of line AB, lifting agricultural tools and when reaching starting point, put down the tools, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system; also see Fig. 1, 2; see para 0016 for control unit, also see para 0036, 0049).
one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position to a third control reference position identified on the basis of a third reference point which is different from the first reference point and the second reference point, and after the change, the notification device is activated on the basis of the third control reference position instead of one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position (see at least Zhang para 0019 for generating cruise command when at the end point; para 0034 for starting point and end point of AB lines, A1B1 lines, i.e., generating cruise command at end point B1 which is a third reference position point different from A and B, and when reaching B1, the notification is generated based on end point B1; para 0035: when reaching end point B1, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device; para 0036: when it reaches point B1, the controller generates a control command to control the lifting of the farm implement, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system based on end point B1; also see Fig. 1, 2; para 0036, 0040, 0049).
wherein the third reference point is set to the own vehicle position at a time a predetermined operation is performed by an operator (see at least Zhang para 0034 for current position of each point on the inner straight line in real time to determine turning position; para 0035: obtain real time position and attitude of the tractor and control the tractor to turn at the turning position…when reaching point B, the control device issues a control instruction…toward A1…and B1 along A1B1 line; para 0036: …the controller also obtains the lifting point and landing point of the agricultural implement based on the width of the agricultural implement and the coordinates of the boundary. When the tractor drives toward the boundary and reaches the lifting point, The agricultural implement is lifted to suspend agricultural operations; when the tractor leaves the boundary and reaches the landing point, the agricultural implement is lowered to perform agricultural operations. para 0042: input the width of the …and the driving trajectory will be generated, i.e., operator operation; also see para 0033, para 0038, Fig. 2).
Zhang further teaches the first control reference position, second control reference position, and the third control reference position are line segments going through the first reference point, second reference point, and third reference point respectively and the automatic travel is performed based on the third control reference position (see at least Zhang Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para 0022, para 0034-0036).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the first control reference position, second control reference position, and the third control reference position are different line segments.
Pieper is directed to generating a swath coverage pattern for a given working area to be traversed by a vehicle or equipment attached. Pieper teaches the first control reference position, second control reference position, and the third control reference position are different line segments (see at least Pieper para 0064-0065, para 0074-0079, Fig. 3, Fig. 8 and related text).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang so as to include the first control reference position, second control reference position, and the third control reference position are different line segments in view of Pieper et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that shifting the reference point/line when the vehicle is working on land that has complicated/irregular geometric shapes of Pieper can be used in a similar manner to automatically control the vehicle in Zhang, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Zhang and Pieper because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a method to navigate the work vehicle to automatically follow constructed paths in farmlands of various shapes (see at least Pieper para 0017).
As to Claim 2, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a control unit is capable of changing one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position to the third control reference position, both when the automatic travel is being performed and when the automatic travel is not being performed (see at least Zhang para 0034 for you can enter the width of the agricultural implement, the starting point and end point of the first AB line, and the turning radius on the display to form multiple parallel AB lines, and B1...B6 are the turning position, i.e., the end point are generated and serves as reference position, no matter the automatic travel is being performed or not).
As to Claim 3, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a control unit changes one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position, which is on a rear side of a working direction, to the third control reference position when the third reference point is set in a work area defined on the basis of the first reference point and the second reference point while the automatic travel is being performed (see at least Zhang para 0034 for you can enter the width of the agricultural implement, the starting point and end point of the first AB line, and the turning radius on the display to form multiple parallel AB lines, the starting point and end point of the first line AB constitute the direction of line AB and B1...B6 are the turning position, i.e., A, B are the first and second reference position and upcoming end point B1 can be third reference position, Fig. 2).
As to Claim 7, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising:
a control unit that activates a notification device, if the own vehicle position approaches a first control reference position identified based on the first reference point or a second control reference position identified based on the second reference point when the automatic travel is being performed (see at least Zhang, para 0035: when reaching end point B, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device; para 0036: when reaching end of line AB, lifting agricultural tools and when reaching starting point, put down the tools, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system; also see Fig. 1, 2; see para 0016 for control unit, also see para 0049), wherein
after the change, the notification device is activated based on the third control reference position instead of one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position when one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position is changed to the third control reference position (see at least Zhang para 0034-0036:…enter the width of the agricultural implement, the starting point and end point of the first AB line, and the turning radius on the display to form multiple parallel AB lines, the starting point and end point of the first line AB constitute the direction of line AB and B1...B6, ., the end point are generated and serves as reference position, no matter the automatic travel is being performed or not are the turning position, A, B are the first and second reference position and upcoming end point B1 can be third reference position…when reaching end point B, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device…when reaching end of line AB, lifting agricultural tools and when reaching starting point, put down the tools, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system; Fig. 2), wherein
the third reference point is set based on the own vehicle position when the operator of the work vehicle performs a specified operation (see at least Zhang para 0034 for current position of each point on the inner straight line in real time to determine turning position; para 0035: obtain real time position and attitude of the tractor and control the tractor to turn at the turning position…when reaching point B, the control device issues a control instruction…toward A1…and B1 along A1B1 line; para 0042: input the width of the …and the driving trajectory will be generated, i.e., operator operation; also see para 0033, para 0038, Fig. 2) .
As to Claim8, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the control unit identifies a working direction when the automatic travel is started and changes one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position, which is on a rear side of the working direction, to the third control reference position when the third reference point is set in a work area defined based on the first reference point and the second reference point while the automatic travel is not being performed (see at least Zhang para 0034 for you can enter the width of the agricultural implement, the starting point and end point of the first AB line, and the turning radius on the display to form multiple parallel AB lines, the starting point and end point of the first line AB constitute the direction of line AB and B1...B6, ., the end point are generated and serves as reference position, no matter the automatic travel is being performed or not are the turning position, A, B are the first and second reference position and upcoming end point B1 can be third reference position, Fig. 2).
As to Claim 9, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the control unit changes one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position, which is closer to the own vehicle position, to the third control reference position when the third reference point is set outside a work area defined based on the first reference point and the second reference point (see at least Zhang para 0034 for you can enter the width of the agricultural implement, the starting point and end point of the first AB line, and the turning radius on the display to form multiple parallel AB lines, the starting point and end point of the first line AB constitute the direction of line AB and B1...B6 are the turning position, i.e., A, B are the first and second reference position and upcoming end point B1 can be third reference position which is outside the area between A and B and is the next closer end point, Fig. 2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Pieper as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Runde (US20180373257, hereinafter Runde).
As to claim 6, Zhang in view of Pieper teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising:
the own vehicle position reaches a first control reference position or a second control reference position when the automatic travel is being performed (see at least Zhang para 0017: the processor determines whether the work in the area enclosed by the boundary is completed based on the current position and the end point of the driving trajectory, and if so, generates a control instruction, i.e. activating a notification device at the end point, i.e. 1st or 2nd reference point, to control the tractor to perform agricultural operations on the boundary; para 0019 for generating cruise command when at the end point; para 0034 for starting point and end point of AB lines; para 0035: when reaching end point B, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device; para 0036: when reaching end of line AB, lifting agricultural tools and when reaching starting point, put down the tools, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system; also see Fig. 1, 2; see para 0016 for control unit, also see para 0049),
wherein the control unit sets one of the first control reference position and the second control reference position to a third control reference point identified based on a third reference point different from the first reference point and the second reference point, and the work vehicle is configured to change the position, and after the change and the work vehicle is controlled based on the third control reference position instead of either the first control reference position or the second control reference position (see at least Zhang para 0019 for generating cruise command when at the end point; para 0034 for starting point and end point of AB lines, A1B1 lines, i.e., generating cruise command at end point B1 which is a third reference position point different from A and B, and when reaching B1, the notification is generated based on end point B1; para 0035: when reaching end point B1, control device generates a control instruction, i.e. notification to the steering device; para 0036: when it reaches point B1, the controller generates a control command to control the lifting of the farm implement, i.e. generating notification to the actuating system based on end point B1; also see Fig. 1, 2; para 0049).
wherein the third reference point is set based on the own vehicle position when the operator of the work vehicle performs a specified operation (see at least Zhang para 0034 for current position of each point on the inner straight line in real time to determine turning position; para 0035: obtain real time position and attitude of the tractor and control the tractor to turn at the turning position…when reaching point B, the control device issues a control instruction…toward A1…and B1 along A1B1 line; para 0042: input the width of the …and the driving trajectory will be generated, i.e., operator operation; also see para 0033, para 0038, Fig. 2).
Zhang modified by Pieper does not teach a control unit that stops the work vehicle when the own vehicle position reaches a first or second control reference position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Runde teaches the stop and start motion occurs when the tractor needs to execute a three-point turn at the end of a field row (see at least Runde para 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang so as to include a control unit that stops the work vehicle when the own vehicle position reaches a first or second control reference position in view of Runde et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that three-point turn at the end of field row of Runde can be used in a similar manner to move the vehicle between rows in Zhang, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Zhang and Runde because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a method to move the vehicles between adjacent tracks where the area of the headland is limited (see at least Runde para 0060).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
Inquiry
/HONGYE LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664