DETAILED ACTION
The instant application is a U.S. national phase of PCT/EP2020/055299, filed February 28, 2020 with foreign priority EP19160379.4, filed March 1, 2019.
Claims 15-16 and 19-20 are canceled. Currently claims 1-14, 17-18, and 21-24 are pending; and claims 1-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 17, 18, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maertens et al. (WO 2012/007481 A2, cited in PTO-892 mailed 8/2/2024, hereinafter “Maertens”) in view of Chandran et al. (Biotechnol. Prog. 2003, 19, 808-814, cited in PTO-892 mailed 12/19/2025, hereinafter “Chandran”), Weisser et al. (JOURNAL OF BACTERIOLOGY, June 1995, p. 3351–3354, hereinafter “Weisser”), and Lendenmann et al. (APPLIED AND ENVIRONMENTAL MICROBIOLOGY, 1996, Vol. 62: 5, 1493–1499, cited in PTO-892 mailed 8/2/2024, hereinafter “Lendenmann”).
Maertens teaches genetically engineered organisms for the production of bio-products, such as specialty saccharides, inter alia, in fermentative processes (abstract). Maertens teaches the engineered microorganisms produce a desired product, such as carbohydrate, by reducing or eliminating the activity of enzymes catalyzing reactions converting metabolites from the 'biomass and/or bio-catalytic enzyme and/or cofactor supplementation part' into metabolites from the 'production pathway' part and vice versa, e.g. by reducing or eliminating/knocking-out at least one, some or all the genes encoding for enzymes performing reactions which convert the production pathway intermediates into biomass precursors (pg. 6, lines 8-13). For example, Maertens teaches a mutant strain comprises the main reactions able to convert a glucose-1-phosphate to biomass production were eliminated, and thus the glucose-1-phosphate accumulated intracellularly, which meets the limitation in claim 13 (pg. 33, Example 4). Maertens teaches such carbohydrate products are 1,2-fucosyllactose, 1,3-fucosyl lactose, 1,4-fucosyllactose, inter alia, which meets the limitation of claim 14 (pg. 9, lines 10-15). Maertens teaches a microorganism that is modified to force the cell to produce fructose-6-phosphate which is an intermediate in the synthesis of GDP-fucose which meets the limitation of claim 17 (pg. 4, lines 21-22). Maertens teaches the engineered organism further comprises a glycosyltransferase which meets the limitation of claim 18 (pg. 15, lines 28-29). Maertens further teaches in Example 34, a Saccharomyces cerevisiae is modified to produce glucose-6-phosphate from sucrose, but because sucrose phosphorylase competes for sucrose with invertase, the genes coding for invertase activity are knocked out which meets the limitation of claim 21 (pg. 54, lines 3-6). Maertens teaches a gene encoding a phosphofructokinase is rendered non-functional, which meets the limitation of claim 22 (pg. 13, lines 18-22). Maertens teaches a biosynthesis pathway for 1,2 fucosyllactose, wherein glucose-1-P and fructose are utilized (pg. 80, Figure 10).
Maertens does not teach that the engineered microbe has a monosaccharide transporter for translocating a monosaccharide from the culture medium into the cell, wherein the transporter is encoded by the glf gene of Zymomonas mobilis, nor that the microorganism further produces an increased synthesis of phosphoenolpyruvate (PEP), nor engineered to overexpress pckA encoding a phosphoenolpyruvate carboxykinase or ppsA encoding a phosphoenolpyruvate synthase.
However, Chandran teaches PEP availability in the biosynthesis of shikimic acid (title). The highest titers and yields of shikimic acid biosynthesized from glucose in 1 L fermenter runs were achieved using E. coli SP1.lpts/pSC6.090B, which expressed both Z. mobilis glf-encoded glucose facilitator protein and Z. mobilis glk-encoded glucose kinase in a host deficient in the phosphoenolpyruvate:carbohydrate phosphotransferase system (abstract). Chandran teaches PTS-catalyzed phosphoryl group transfer from phosphoenolpyruvate drives (Figure 2) the transport of glucose into the microbial cytoplasm and phosphorylates glucose to form the glucose 6-phosphate required for glycolysis, wherein one molecule of phosphoenolpyruvate is converted into pyruvic acid for each molecule of glucose transported into the cytoplasm (pg. 808, col. 2, para 1). Chandran evaluated in one approach, pyruvic acid generated by PTS mediated glucose transport was recycled to phosphoenolpyruvate using amplified, ppsA-encoded phosphoenolpyruvate synthase (Figure 2), which converts pyruvic acid to phosphoenolpyruvate along with conversion of ATP to AMP and one molecule of inorganic phosphate (Figure 2), which meets the limitation of claim 24 (pg. 809, col. 1, para 2). Expenditure of phosphoenolpyruvate during glucose transport was avoided in a second approach by supplanting or augmenting PTS-mediated glucose transport with heterologous expression of the Zymomonas mobilis glf encoded glucose facilitator (Figure 2), wherein transport of glucose into the cytoplasm by Glf-mediated facilitated diffusion does not expend either phosphoenolpyruvate or ATP, though ATP is expended during the subsequent conversion of cytoplasmic glucose into glucose 6-phosphate catalyzed by glk-encoded glucokinase (Figure 2) (pg. 809, col. 1, para 2). Chandran teaches simultaneous operation of both Glf-mediated and PTS-mediated glucose transport in E. coli SP1.1/pSC5.112B led to one of the highest titers and yields of shikimic acid (pg. 813, col. 1, para 1).
Weisser also teaches functional expression of the glucose transporter glf leading to restoration of glucose and fructose uptake in E. coli mutants (title), further underlining this glucose facilitator’s ability of importing glucose and fructose in the medium.
Maertens, Chandran, and Weisser do not teach the engineered microorganisms were cultured in a medium wherein the main carbon source is a monosaccharide mixture comprising glucose and fructose.
However, Lendenmann teaches kinetics of simultaneous utilization of sugar mixtures by E. coli in continuous culture (title). Lendenmann teaches E. coli was cultured in a mixture of glucose and galactose, as well as mixtures of glucose and fructose (pg. 1494, col. 2, para 2; pg. 1497, col. 2, para 2). Lendenmann teaches growth with glucose-fructose mixtures resulted in a constant total flux through PTSs because both of these sugars are PTS sugars, and this may have led to a high and constant level of expression of PTS components enzyme I and protein Hpr, which are known to be synthesized constitutively, but when grown with PTS-carbohydrates leads to a 2-5-fold increase in the expression of these genes (pg. 1497, col. 2, para 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a genetically engineered microorganism with a reduced/diminished activity of consumption of a sugar phosphate and glycosyltransferase, as well as diminished expression of a gene encoding a protein competing with the biosynthesis of the desired carbohydrate, to produce said desired carbohydrate, 2’-fucosyllactose, as taught by Maertens, and modify the microbe with the glf gene derived from Z. mobilis, which would inherently produce enhanced synthesis of PEP relative to a wild-type, and culture said engineered microbe in a culture medium with a mixture of glucose and fructose as taught by Lendenmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a mixture of glucose and fructose, as these are the basic components of sucrose, which was the main carbon source of the engineered microbe taught by Maertens, as well as both monosaccharides can be imported by the glf gene as taught by Chandran and Weisser. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the engineered microbe taught by Maertens with a glucose transport facilitator (glf), which would reduce the cell’s energy expenditure (ATP) that is used in endogenous PTS system, as well as provide monosaccharides for biomass production and 1,2-fucosyllactose production, as outlined in Figure 10 taught by Maertens.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maertens, Lendenmann, Chandran, and Weisser as applied to claims 13, 14, 17, 18, 21-22, 24 above, and further in view of Jennewein et al. (WO 2010/142305 A1, cited in PTO-892 mailed 8/2/2024, hereinafter “Jennewein”).
Maertens teaches the engineered microorganism can comprise genes encoding for permeases that convert the activated saccharide into a specialty product (pg. 15, lines 20-26). Neither Maertens, Chandran, Weisser, nor Lendenmann teach the engineered microorganism comprises an exporter protein or permease that exports the desired carbohydrate.
However, Jennewein teaches engineered cells for the production of oligosaccharides comprising a protein of the sugar efflux transporter family (SET) (abstract). Jennewein teaches the overexpression of SET exporter proteins leads to efficient export of oligosaccharides, such as 3’-fucosyllactose (pg. 7, para 4; pg. 20, Example 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to genetically engineer a microorganism taught by Maertens with the glf gene derived from Z. mobilis taught by Chandran, and engineer the cell to overexpress a SET protein that exports the desired carbohydrate into the culture medium as taught by Jennewein, while culturing the engineered microbe in the carbon source mixture taught by Lendenmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a suitable export protein in the genetically engineered cell to efficiently export the desired carbohydrate for harvesting the sugar, without needing to disrupt the cell’s integrity with conventional centrifugation techniques that would lyse the cell as taught by Jennewein.
Double Patenting
Claims 13, 14, 17, 18, and 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,475 B2 (‘475) in view of Chandran and Weisser.
Regarding instant claims 13 and 22, claim 1 of ‘475 recites a method for production of oligosaccharide of interest which comprises a galactose-β1,4-glucose moiety at its reducing end. The method comprises providing a genetically engineered microbial cell and cultivating in a mixture of glucose and fructose as a main carbon source which anticipates these limitations of instant claim 13. Claim 15 of ‘475 recites the microbial cell comprises a deletion or functional inactivation of a glucose-6-phosphate isomerase which anticipates the limitations of instant claims 13 and 22. Glucose-6-phosphate isomerase is a protein identified as leading to a consumption of intracellular sugar phosphate in instant claims 13 and 22. Claims 1, 5, and 7 of ‘475 recites the engineered cell comprises at least one glucose transporter for translocating glucose from the culture medium into the microbial cell's cytoplasm, and can be selected from diffusion proteins or glucose translocating permeases, and the said transporter is expressed or overexpressed.
‘475 does not recite the genetically engineered microbial cell further comprises a monosaccharide transporter that is encoded by the glf gene of Z. mobilis, nor that the microorganism further produces an increased synthesis of PEP.
However, Chandran teaches PEP availability in the biosynthesis of shikimic acid (title). The highest titers and yields of shikimic acid biosynthesized from glucose in 1 L fermenter runs were achieved using E. coli SP1.lpts/pSC6.090B, which expressed both Z. mobilis glf-encoded glucose facilitator protein and Z. mobilis glk-encoded glucose kinase in a host deficient in the phosphoenolpyruvate:carbohydrate phosphotransferase system (abstract). Chandran teaches PTS-catalyzed phosphoryl group transfer from phosphoenolpyruvate drives (Figure 2) the transport of glucose into the microbial cytoplasm and phosphorylates glucose to form the glucose 6-phosphate required for glycolysis, wherein one molecule of phosphoenolpyruvate is converted into pyruvic acid for each molecule of glucose transported into the cytoplasm (pg. 808, col. 2, para 1). Chandran evaluated in one approach, pyruvic acid generated by PTS mediated glucose transport was recycled to phosphoenolpyruvate using amplified, ppsA-encoded phosphoenolpyruvate synthase (Figure 2), which converts pyruvic acid to phosphoenolpyruvate along with conversion of ATP to AMP and one molecule of inorganic phosphate (Figure 2), which meets the limitation of claim 24 (pg. 809, col. 1, para 2). Expenditure of phosphoenolpyruvate during glucose transport was avoided in a second approach by supplanting or augmenting PTS-mediated glucose transport with heterologous expression of the Zymomonas mobilis glf encoded glucose facilitator (Figure 2), wherein transport of glucose into the cytoplasm by Glf-mediated facilitated diffusion does not expend either phosphoenolpyruvate or ATP, though ATP is expended during the subsequent conversion of cytoplasmic glucose into glucose 6-phosphate catalyzed by glk-encoded glucokinase (Figure 2) (pg. 809, col. 1, para 2). Chandran teaches simultaneous operation of both Glf-mediated and PTS-mediated glucose transport in E. coli SP1.1/pSC5.112B led to one of the highest titers and yields of shikimic acid (pg. 813, col. 1, para 1).
Weisser also teaches functional expression of the glucose transporter glf lead to restoration of glucose and fructose uptake in E. coli mutants (title), further underlining this glucose facilitator’s ability of importing glucose and fructose in the medium.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method recited in ‘475 of constructing a genetically engineered microbe for production of an oligosaccharide cultured in a monosaccharide mixture comprising glucose and fructose, wherein the glucose transporter recited in ‘475 is encoded by the glf gene derived from Z. mobilis as taught by Chandran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a glucose transporter encoded by the glf gene as this monosaccharide transporter is known in the art to efficiently take up glucose and fructose as taught by Weisser. Furthermore, the genetically engineered microbe recited in ‘475 modified with the glf gene would inherently produce an increased synthesis of PEP relative to the wild-type, since the glucose diffused through the glucose facilitator would not require PEP for transport, thus increasing PEP abundance in the cell.
Regarding instant claim 14, claim 2 of ‘475 recites the oligosaccharide is selected from 2′-fucosyllactose, 3-fucosyllactose, 2′,3-difucosyllactose, 3′-sialyllactose, 6′-sialyllactose, 3-fucosyl-3′-sialyllactose, lacto-N-tetraose, lacto-N-neotetraose, lacto-N-fucopentaose I, lacto-N-fucopentaose II, lacto-N-fucopentaose III, lacto-N-fucopentaose V, lacto-N-difucosylhexose I, lacto-N-difucosylhexaose II, lacto-N-sialylpentaose LSTa, LSTb, LSTc.
Regarding instant claim 17, claim 1 of ‘475 recites the engineered cell comprises an UDP-galactose biosynthesis pathway.
Regarding instant claim 18, claim 1 of ‘475 recites the engineered cell comprises at least one β-1,4-galactosyltransferase being able to galactosylate free glucose to intracellularly produce lactose, which is a type of glycosyltransferase, thus anticipating the claim.
Regarding instant claim 23, claims 16 and 17 of ‘475 recites the engineered cell comprises an exporter protein or permease exporting the desired oligosaccharide from the cell, wherein the exporter is a sugar efflux transporter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Remarks directed to the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 13, 14, 17, 18, and 21-22, Applicant argues Maertens teaches a genetically engineered microbial cell with a split metabolism into a “production part” and a “biomass part”, and such split metabolism engineered cells, the sugar, i.e. sucrose in Fig. 4, is internalized and converted into glucose-1-phosphate (the activated saccharide) and fructose (the non-activated saccharide), such that the fructose is used for biomass production and the glucose-1-phosphate is used for bio-product synthesis. Thus, Applicant argues one of skill in the art further engineering a cell in view of Maertens, would be inclined (i) to modify the cell by eliminating glucose internalization, (ii) to grow the cells in presence of exogenous sucrose, and (iii) not to grow the cells in presence of exogenous glucose, as it would be expected the modified metabolism would not uptake such glucose. Applicant argues there is no indication from Maertens that any such increase of PEP synthesis might be beneficial. The examiner’s attention is respectfully directed to Examples 6 and 24 of Maertens, where ptsG is knocked out for cellobiose production in E. coli or UDP-glucose production (see tables 4 and 18). In the Tables, it is described that such knock-out prevents the reaction Glu +PEP -> G6P +Pyr (where ptsG uses PEP (phosphoenolpyruvate) to synthesize glucose-6-phosphate). However, if ptsG is knocked-out, no synthesis of glucose-6-phosphate is catalyzed. And thus, PEP would not be needed. As such, one of skill in the art would not be motivated to look to references to increase PEP biosynthesis. Applicant argues Chandran relates to the biosynthesis of shikimic acid, not to the biosynthesis of a carbohydrate. In Chandran it can be seen that PEP is a direct precursor of shikimic acid and therefore increase of PEP has a direct benefit. Even if one of skill in the art would look to increase PEP in a method of Maertens, which assumption is disputed as discussed above, they would not turn to a reference describing PEP increase in production of shikimic acid with an expectation that such increase would have a direct impact on biosynthesis of a carbohydrate. Applicant further argues one of skill in the art would not look to Weisser to modify a method described in Maertens in order to re-introduce glucose uptake.
Finally, Lendenmann is again cited as describing “simultaneous utilization of sugar mixtures by E. coli in continuous culture,” where the E. coli was able to use all sugars which resulted in higher expression of components in the phosphotransferase system (PTS). (Office Action mailed December 19, 2025, p. 6-7.) As detailed above, Maertens as a primary reference would discourage use of a method including culture of an engineered microorganism in a glucose containing system, as the cell of Maertens has been engineered so it does not uptake glucose.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Maertens teaches a genetically modified E. coli that is engineered to accumulate an intracellular sugar phosphate (i.e. fructose-6-P) by knocking out specific genes that force production of 1,2’-fucosyllactose (Figure 10). The Examiner agrees that the E. coli in Maertens is engineered to uptake sucrose, then split glucose and fructose intracellularly into a split reaction, wherein the glucose is used for energy/biomass and the fructose is used in the desired product biopathway (Fig. 10). Maertens teaches the genes pgi, pfkA, gmm (mannose-1-phosphate guanylyltransferase, corresponding to manC in instant), wcaJ are knocked out, the same genes in the instant as indicating a diminished or decreased expression to accumulate intracellular phosphorylated sugars. Maertens discloses the main goal of the cell is to convert the activated saccharide or the saccharide into biomass and shifts the equilibrium of the reaction that splits the sugar towards the activated saccharide and saccharide. In this way, the life maintaining drive of the cell acts as a pulling mechanism for the product pathway. This pulling effect is created by biomass synthesis as it ensures the accumulation of the first substrate molecule of the production pathway, which, as such and in turn, also pushes the production pathway, by catabolizing one part of the sugar moiety, the cell is always supplied with the necessary cofactors and the needed energy requirements for production of the specialty bio-product. Furthermore, Lendenmann teaches mixed monosaccharides mixtures are closer to natural ecosystems for growth of heterotrophic microorganisms and the ability to utilize simultaneously many of the potentially available carbonaceous compounds at concentrations lower than those observed during single-substrate growth is a crucial factor for the efficient and fast growth of microorganisms in natural systems, which would suggest engineering microbial growth kinetics on mixed sugars would result in a desired product while maintaining biomass. Chandran and Weissler teach the glf gene and it’s connection in transporting glucose and/or fructose into the cell while simultaneously phosphorylating said sugar. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the aforementioned references to utilize both glucose and fructose sugars in a genetically engineered cell to produce desired carbohydrate and maintain biomass. Although Maertens’ cell is engineered to uptake sucrose, the engineered intracellular pathways are the same, and it would be obvious based on the teachings of Lendenmann, Chandran, and Weissler to incorporate the glf transporter for efficient uptake of glucose or fructose in a mixture. Thus, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over US Patent No. 11713475 for claims 13, 14, 17, 18, and 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. (Remarks, pg. 9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/JESSICA EDWARDS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1657