DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 4/8/24 is acknowledged. Claim 28 was added on a later date.
Based on applicant’s persuasive arguments, previously withdrawn claims 2, 4, 18 and 19 are hereby reinstated
Claims 29-31 are part of the air channeling device of the coating facility, which were part of the non-elected invention as of 4/8/24. Therefore, they are held as withdrawn from consideration. However, applicant may rejoin them upon finding of allowability of the active claims, as combination of the filter and air-channeling device.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1: “a disposable structure composed of one or more thermally decomposable disposable components located within the filter housing.”
The only disclosure appears to support this sems to be figure 2 A-C. Fig. 2A shows a paneled structure 86 with slots 102. Figure 2B shows the media. The claim element has, therefore, the media 96 disposable (that can be burned.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 28 are confusing with the added elements in c)-e). Unclear whether the filter structure and filter device are the same or different. If different, this would appear mixing the embodiments of figures 2 and 3 together. Similarly, filter carrier structure and filter housing.
Claims 3, 28 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 is limited to a specific disposable component. Claim 3 adds more disposable components in steps a)-e), and also makes in step e) the filter device as a whole regenerable, which makes claim 3 broader than claim 1 from which it depends. Claim 28 adds more disposables, including the entire structure as disposable.
Claim 36 only repeats what is in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 17-20, 28 and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Link et al (US 9,321,070) in view of Nystrom et al (US 6,162,270) and Slama et al (US 2017/01366483.).
Claims broadly recite a paint booth filtration system having an air channeling device (claim 37), a filter module having a module housing, a filter devices having filter housing and disposable structure for components in the filter housing (like the media) in claim 1. Other dependent claims recite what combination of elements are disposable and regenerable.
This Link reference belongs to the applicant. Link teaches the plenum or air-channeling device, which is part of the paint booth, and is not disposable, and to which the filter module is connected during operation. Link substantially teaches the details claimed. Claim 28 has all elements disposable under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Link’s teaching, comparing the background description, is moving away from reusable parts to disposable parts.
Link is the US version of the DE patent cited by applicant (DE 10 2011 108 631 A1) as teaching a paint booth overspray filter system. Applicant’s invention is described as an improvement over this, characterized by providing more regenerable parts.
Applicant’s claims are directed to such a filter module, with varying degree of regenerable material usage (as alternatives) as further recited in the dependent claims, the rest being of disposable materials like paper and plastic.
Link does not appear to teach regenerable materials for the filter module. However, such material usage is known in this art, as is seen in the teaching of Nystrom. Nystrom teaches a downdraft paint booth (abstract) having a metallic filter (steel: col. lines 26-40) that can withstand regeneration by heat, and is reusable. The filter is removed and cleaned using heat or cleaning chemical solution – see col. 7, lines 15 – col. 8 line 12, and 8 line 47 – col. 9 line 36.
Nystrom teaches in details the need for re-usable filters in the background art. Having reusable filters are also common sense to reduce waste. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use the teaching of Nystrom in the teaching of Link for such improvements as suggested by Nystrom.
Link’s fig. 1 is substantially similar to applicant’s fig. 1. Link teaches the air-channeling device as claimed, with the filter modules connected as claimed – see Id. Details of the filter module are seen in figures 3-4 and 6.
Col. 7 lines 48-60 of Link teaches the listed disposable filter materials of the dependent claims.
Link’s teaching of the filter structure is seen in figures 3, 4 and 6, and col. 6, lines 48-63. This includes flat filter plates (flat media) and honeycomb designs, but fails to teach “two or more filter devices” as in claim 1 and vertically stacking as in claim 34. However, having plurality of these filters stacked instead of just one large filter, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In fact, one would do so to reduce the size of these filters for easy handling. See MPEP 2144.04 for change in shape, size, making integral or separable are prima facie obvious.
Slama teaches filters for similar applications (like automobile painting booth overspray: [0006]) which are made of paper or plastic materials and made in the form of media filters in housings in foldable box-like structures like what is suggested as alternates by Link in col. 6, lines 58-63. Plurality of these structures can be easily loaded and stacked into the module housing of link, fig. 3. Slama teaches in [0025] that these filters are inexpensive, have extended surface area, and can be fitted in conventional modular wall frames known in industrial coating applications. Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Slama in the teaching of Link for the advantages taught by Slama.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/26 have been fully considered but they are moot – new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777