DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-18, 21-25 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 103) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made Cai US Patent No.:( US 11,191,036 B2) hereinafter referred as Cai, in view of Li US Patent Application No.:(US 2018/0049129 A1) hereinafter referred as Li.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-16, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Cai US Patent No.:( US 11,191,036 B2) hereinafter referred as Cai, in view of Li US Patent Application No.:(US 2018/0049129 A1) hereinafter referred as Li.
For claim 1, Cai teaches a method performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
obtaining a first power based at least in part on path-loss of a link between the first (UE) and a base station (S604 figure 7)(S606a fig. 7) (Column 14, lines 60-67)- (Column 15, lines 1-8 ), (Column 24, lines 31-36) (Column 24, lines 65-67) and one or more network parameters configured by the base station (Column 20, lines 6-12);
obtaining a second power based at least in part on path-loss of a sidelink between the first (UE) and a second (UE) (S602b fig. 7) (Column 23, lines 12-19) (Column 24, lines 17-21) and (Column 12, lines 45-48) and the one or more network parameters( Column 19, lines 61-67). However, Cai disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the selecting, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmitting data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink as recited in claim 1.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the selecting, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power (paragraph [0144], lines 3-11); and
transmitting data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power (paragraph [0164], lines 3-31),
wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE (paragraph [0082], lines 1-13) and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink (paragraph [0080], lines 5-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the selecting, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmitting data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink as taught by Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai.
The selecting, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmitting data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink can be modify/implemented by combining the selecting, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmitting data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) that reduce latency, enhanced reliability through HARQ feedback, improved system capacity for large-scale deployments like industrial IoT, and direct, network-bypassing communication for devices like those in Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) or public safety scenarios. In addition the comparison of the powers and selecting the best power for a good communication with a better signal strength, becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable with good QOS.
For claim 4, Cai teaches the method, further comprising: if the first power is less than the second power, comparing a quality-of-service parameter of the sidelink and a threshold value (column 1, lines 50-67); and
transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power based on a comparison result of the quality-of-service parameter and the threshold value (column 9, lines 35-38).
For claim 5, Cai disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value as recited in claim 5.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value (paragraphs [0145], lines 1-7 and [0164], lines 3-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value as taught by Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai.
The transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value can be modify/implemented by combining the transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or below the threshold value, the comparison of the powers and selecting the best power for a good communication with a better signal strength make the method/device more efficient and reliable with good QOS.
For claim 6, Cai teaches the method, wherein:
transmitting data on the sidelink using the first power is further based on determining, based on the comparison result, that the quality-of-service parameter is equal to or above the threshold value (column 12, lines 29-31) and (column 14, lines 28-35).
For claim 7, Cai disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the quality-of-service parameter includes a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof as recited in claim 7.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the quality-of-service parameter includes a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof (paragraph [0082], lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the quality-of-service parameter includes a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof as taught by Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai.
The quality-of-service parameter includes a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof can be modify/implemented by combining the quality of service parameter includes a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the quality of service parameter including a priority level, a latency, a reliability, or some combination thereof that will help the communication to be more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 10, Cai teaches the method, further comprising: transmitting a power adjustment request to the base station (column 13, lines 20-28); adjusting the transmission power upon receipt of a power adjustment command from the base station (column 20, lines 6-10); and transmitting data on the sidelink using the adjusted transmission power (column 24, lines 31-38).
For claim 11, Cai teaches the method, wherein the power adjustment command is a transmission power control command (column 9, lines 63-67)- (column 10, lines 1-9).
For claim 12, Cai teaches the method, wherein the power adjustment command comprises a power adjustment amount (column 14, lines 45-50).
For claim 13, Cai teaches a method performed by a base station the method comprising:
receiving a power adjustment request from UE in response to the first UE determining that it cannot meet a sidelink reception quality for the second UE based at least in part on the first UE transmitting data on a sidelink between the first UE and the second UE (column 14, lines 35-56) (Column 23, lines 12-19) (Column 24, lines 17-21);
generating a power adjustment command in response to the power adjustment request (Column 15, lines 45-50); and
transmitting the power adjustment command to the first UE (Column 15, lines 51-57), wherein the power adjustment command is used to adjust transmission power on the sidelink between the first UE and a second UE (Column 16, lines 1-40). However, Cai disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuring one or more network parameters in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for a sidelink between a first user equipment (UE) and a second user equipment UE; the use of a lesser one of a first power and a second power, the first power and the second power determined based at least in part on the one or more network parameters as recited in claim 13.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the configuring one or more network parameters in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for a sidelink between a first user equipment (UE) and a second user equipment UE (paragraph [0080], lines 5-22); the use of a lesser one of a first power and a second power (paragraph [0144], lines 3-11), the first power and the second power determined based at least in part on the one or more network parameters (paragraph [0082], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuring one or more network parameters in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for a sidelink between a first user equipment (UE) and a second user equipment UE; the use of a lesser one of a first power and a second power, the first power and the second power determined based at least in part on the one or more network parameters as taught by Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai.
The configuring one or more network parameters in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for a sidelink between a first user equipment (UE) and a second user equipment UE; the use of a lesser one of a first power and a second power, the first power and the second power determined based at least in part on the one or more network parameters can be modify/implemented by combining the configuring one or more network parameters in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for a sidelink between a first user equipment (UE) and a second user equipment UE; the use of a lesser one of a first power and a second power, the first power and the second power determined based at least in part on the one or more network parameters with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) that reduce latency, enhanced reliability through HARQ feedback, improved system capacity for large-scale deployments like industrial IoT, and direct, network-bypassing communication for devices like those in Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) or public safety scenarios. In addition the comparison of the powers and selecting the best power for a good communication with a better signal strength, becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable with good QOS.
For claim 14, Cai teaches the method, wherein the power adjustment command is a transmission power control command (column 9, lines 63-67)- (column 10, lines 1-9).
For claim 15, Cai teaches the method, wherein the power adjustment command comprises a power adjustment amount (column 14, lines 45-50).
For claim 16, Cai teaches the method, further comprising: adjusting transmission power on a link between the first UE and the base station (S606a and S606b fig. 7) (Column 24, lines 65-67)- (Column 25, lines 5-8).
For claim 21, Cai teaches an apparatus comprising a first user equipment, the apparatus further comprising:
at least one memory;
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE to:
obtain a first power based at least in part on path-loss of a link between the first UE and a base station (S604 figure 7)(S606a fig. 7) (Column 14, lines 60-67)- (Column 15, lines 1-8 ), (Column 24, lines 31-36) and one or more network parameters configured by the base station (Column 20, lines 6-12);
obtain a second power based at least in part on path-loss of a sidelink between the first user equipment and a second UE (S602b fig. 7) Column 23, lines 12-19) (Column 24, lines 17-21) and (Column 12, lines 45-48) and the one or more network parameters (Column 19, lines 61-67). However, Cai disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the compare the first power and the second power; select, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmit data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink as recited in claim 21.
Li from the same or analogous art teaches the compare the first power and the second power (paragraph [0144], lines 3-11); select, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power (paragraph [0164], lines 3-15); and transmit data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power (paragraph [0164], lines 15-31), wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE (paragraph [0082], lines 1-13) and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink (paragraph [0080], lines 5-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the compare the first power and the second power; select, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmit data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink as taught by Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai.
The compare the first power and the second power; select, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmit data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink can be modify/implemented by combining the compare the first power and the second power; select, based at least in part on the comparing, a lesser one of the first power and the second power; and transmit data on the sidelink using the selected lesser one of the first power and the second power as transmission power, wherein the one or more network parameters are additional to the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the path-loss of the sidelink between the first UE and the second UE and are configured by the base station in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Li into the power control based on path loss and power value of Cai. As disclosed in Li, the motivation for the combination would be to use the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) that reduce latency, enhanced reliability through HARQ feedback, improved system capacity for large-scale deployments like industrial IoT, and direct, network-bypassing communication for devices like those in Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) or public safety scenarios. In addition the comparison of the powers and selecting the best power for a good communication with a better signal strength, becoming the method/device more efficient and reliable with good QOS.
For claim 22, Cai teaches first UE, wherein the one or more network parameters configured by the base unit station in a Physical Sidelink Share Channel (PSSCH) resource configuration for the sidelink (S606a and S606b fig. 7) (column 11, lines 16-26), (Column 24, lines 65-67).
For claim 23, Cai teaches the method, wherein: the first power is a function of the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the one or more network parameters configured by the base station (S604 fig. 7) ( column 24, lines 23-32); and the second power is a function of the path-loss of the sidelink and the one or more network parameters (S603 fig. 7) ( column 24, lines 33-38).
For claim 25 Cai teaches the UE, wherein: the first power is a function of the path-loss of the link between the first UE and the base station and the one or more network parameters configured by the base station (S604 fig. 7) ( column 24, lines 23-32); and the second power is a function of the path-loss of the sidelink and the one or more network parameters (S603 fig. 7) ( column 24, lines 33-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17-18, 24 and 26 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642