DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received January 13, 2026:
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-15 and 17 are pending. Claims 3-4, 8-10 and 16 have been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0153059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0234691) in view of Nachman et al. (US 10,236,134), Yamashita (US 2019/0157729), Hashimoto et al. (US 2013/0004822) and Lee (US 2020/0153059), referred to hereinafter as Lee (2).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a battery pack (Para. [0041]) comprising unit modules (Fig. 10, #401-406) each of the unit modules including two or more battery cells connected to each other in series (Para. [0023]) (i.e. two or more battery modules, each of the modules including a cell stack in which one or more battery cells are stacked) and a cover (Fig. 5, #200) (i.e. module frame) comprising the two plate-shaped battery cells (Para. [0061]) (i.e. and a module frame accommodating the cell stack therein), a heat dissipation support member (Fig. 10, #500) surrounding lower ends of the unit modules (i.e. a pack frame accommodating the two or more battery modules therein such that a first side of the module frame, see Fig. 11, #200, of each of the two or more battery modules is positioned adjacent to a first side of the pack frame, see also annotated Fig. 11 below), a water-cooled heat exchange member (Fig. 10, #600) (i.e. a heat sink disposed on the first side of the module frame so as to define a space between the cell stack and the heat sink) and a thermally conductive medium which may be a thermally conductive epoxy-based bond (Para. [0040]) (i.e. one thermally conductive resin layer) disposed at contact interfaces between the heat dissipation support member and the unit modules #401-407 (Para. [0073]) (i.e. one thermally conductive resin layer located in the space so as to directly contact the cell stack of each of the battery modules, the thermally conductive resin layer conforming to the cell stack of each of the battery modules and to the heat sink, wherein the battery modules share the one thermally conductive resin layer such that the cell stack in one of the battery modules and the cell stack in another of the battery modules are in contact with the one thermally conductive resin layer).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach the thermally conductive resin layer conforms by having solidified in the space from a flowable state while in contact with the cell stack and the heat sink.
Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 11
However, Nachman et al. teaches an electro chemical energy storage device (e.g. a battery cell or battery pack) comprising a plurality of batteries and comprising a thermal conductive substance (col. 3, lines 1-7) such as an adhesive (col. 2, lines 8-11) such as thermosets (col. 3, lines 52-56) which is adhered to the battery (col. 3, lines 57-59) wherein a thermal conductive adhesive is used to secure the battery to a housing of a battery case (col. 6, lines 17-21) in the form of a layer (col. 6, line 33-34) and the thermal conductive substance is applied to the battery (col. 6, line 59- col. 7, line 2) (i.e. placed in contact with the cell stack) as an adhesive for example via solidifying after curing to create a layer on the battery (col. 6, lines 24-26 and col. 7, lines 3-11) as an adhesive to couple the battery to a housing (col. 7, lines 3-11) or another material (col. 6, line 21-22) (i.e. conforms by having solidified in a space from a flowable state to adhere to a battery and another material).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermally conductive sheet resin layer (i.e. thermally conductive resin layer) of Lee et al. in contact with the cell stack and heat sink, to incorporate the teaching of a thermal conductive layer applied to the battery and then solidifying after curing while applied to the battery to adhere the battery to another material (in this case, a thermally conductive medium or heat sink of Lee et al.) as taught by Nachman et al., as it would be capable of bonding the battery (i.e. the cells) to another material (col. 6, lines 17-22), provide increased strength or tear resistance (col. 5, line 35-46) and reduce a peak temperature caused by a short of the battery by efficiently spreading heat (col. 2, lines 23-34). Thus, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al. would provide a thermally conductive resin layer conforming to the cell stack and to the heat sink by having solidified in the space from a flowable state while in contact with the cell stack and heat sink.
Nachman et al. does not teach wherein each module frame of the two or more battery modules is open along the respective first side such that the one thermally conductive resin layer makes direct contact with the one or more battery cells within the two or more battery modules.
However, Yamashita teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1, #1) a plurality of intervening member (Para. [0043] and Fig. 1, #31) comprising a plurality of cells (Fig. 1, #21) (i.e. two or more battery modules comprising a module frame accommodating the cell stack therein), the intervening member comprising a communication passage (Fig. 1, #35k) (i.e. wherein each module frame of the battery modules is open along a respective first side) such that a heat conductive layer (Fig. 1, #70) is filled into the communication passage (Para. [0035]) provided between bottom faces of the cells (Para. [0056]) so has to transmit heat of the cells to a cooler (Fig. 1, #60) and the heat conductive layer comprising a silicon-based resin (Para. [0056]) (i.e. such that a one thermally conductive resin layer makes direct contact with one or more battery cells within two or more battery modules) (see also Fig. 2, #70),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermally conductive medium (i.e. thermally conductive resin layer) and module frame as taught by Lee et al., to incorporate the teaching of each module frame of the two or more battery modules is open along the respective first side such that the one thermally conductive resin layer makes direct contact with the one or more battery cells within the two or more battery modules, as such a thermally conductive resin layer, would provide a high heat transfer amount of the heat conductive layer, and the maximum temperature of the cells would be restrained to be low (Para. [0074]).
Lee et al. does not teach the thermally conductive resin layer is in direct contact with the heat sink.
However, Hashimoto et al. teaches a thermally conductive sheet (Fig. 15, #12) comprising resin materials (Para. [0075]) (i.e. the thermally conductive resin layer) in direct contact with a cooling plate (Fig. 15, #61) (i.e. the heat sink).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermally conductive medium and the water-cooled heat exchange member (i.e. the thermally conductive resin layer and the heat sink) of Lee et al. to incorporate the teaching of the thermally conductive resin layer in direct contact with the heat sink as taught by Hashimoto et al., as it is possible to improve thermal coupling between the battery assembly and the cooling plate (Para. [0076]).
Lee et al. does not teach the heat sink is accommodated in the pack frame.
However, Lee (2) teaches a battery pack (Para. [0008]) comprising a unit cooling member (Fig. 7, #200) (i.e. a heat sink) that may be integrated with a case (Fig. 7, #80) (i.e. pack frame) that constitutes the unit module (Fig. 7, #100) (i.e. the heat is accommodated in the pack frame).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat-exchange member Lee et al. to incorporate the teaching of the heat sink integrated with the pack frame as taught by Lee (2), as it would simplify manufacturing as the process to connect the unit module to the cooling member would be omitted (Para. [0082]). Furthermore, as one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed and in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; The combination of the heat-exchange member Lee et al. with the heat sink integrated with the pack frame as taught by Lee (2) would yield the predictable result of providing a heat sink for cooling a battery and a pack frame for the module. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed as the combination would yield the predictable result of providing a heat sink for cooling a battery and a pack frame for the module. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the thermally conductive medium comprises thermally conductive epoxy-based bond (Para. [0040]) (i.e. a thermally conductive adhesive material).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the cover (Fig. 5, #500) is a U-shaped frame (i.e. wherein at least one of the module frame of the two or more battery modules is a U-shaped frame).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the cover (Fig. 5, #200) (i.e. at least one of the module frame of the two or more battery modules) is a mono frame having first and second ends which are open, the first and second ends being on opposite sides of the module frame from one another and extending transverse to the first side of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. – Figure 5 and 8 below).
Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 5 & 8
Regarding Claim 11, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the unit modules (i.e. the two or more battery modules) (Fig. 10, #401-406) wherein adjacent ones of the two or more battery modules have side surfaces that abut one another (see Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches wherein the one or more battery cells of the cell stack (see Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 5 & 8 above, #10 & #20) of each of the two or more battery modules are stacked along a direction parallel to the first side (see Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 5 & 8 above, first side) of the respective module frame, wherein the thermally conducive medium (i.e. the thermally conductive resin layer) is disposed at contact interfaces between the heat dissipation support member (#500) and the unit modules (#401-407) (Para. [0073]) (i.e. such that each of the one or more battery cells is in contact with the thermally conductive resin layer).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the water-cooled heat exchange member (Fig. 10, #600) (i.e. heat sink) mounted at the lower end of the heat dissipation support member (Fig. 10, #500) in the battery module (Para. [0071]) wherein the space defined between the cell stack (see the stack inside the unit modules #401-406 in Fig. 10) and the heat sink terminates at locations spaced apart from respective first end and second ends of each of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 10 below wherein the module frame is spaced apart from the termination locations), the first and second ends being on opposing sides of the module frame from one another and extending transverse to the first side of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. Fig. 8 above).
Annotated Lee et al. Fig. 10
Regarding Claim 14, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the water-cooled heat exchange member (Fig. 10, #600) (i.e. heat sink) mounted at the lower end of the heat dissipation support member (Fig. 10, #500) in the battery module (Para. [0071]) wherein the space defined between the cell stack (see the stack inside the unit modules #401-406 in Fig. 10) and the heat sink terminates at locations adjacent to respective opposing side surfaces of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. Fig. 10 above) and the side surfaces [of the module frame] extending transverse to the first side of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. Fig. 8 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the battery pack of claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches a device including such a battery pack (Para. [0042]) (i.e. a device comprising one or more of the battery pack of claim 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the battery pack of claim 1 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches the thermally conductive medium (i.e. the thermally conductive resin layer) disposed at contact interfaces between the battery cells and the module case (Para. [0040]) (i.e. an entire length of the cell stack is in direct contact with the thermally conductive resin layer, as the contact interfaces between the battery cells and the module case extend the entire length of the cell stack) (see also Fig. 10, #540).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0234691) in view of Nachman et al. (US 10,236,134), Yamashita (US 2019/0157729), Hashimoto et al. (US 2013/0004822) and Lee (US 2020/0153059), referred to hereinafter as Lee (2), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (US 2012/0141851).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee et al. as modified by Nachman et al., Yamashita, Hashimoto et al. and Lee (2) teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 5 as explained above.
Lee et al. further teaches a cartridge having a frame structure (Fig. 9, #320) (i.e. a cover) positioned on a second side of the cover (i.e. positioned on a second side of the U-shaped module frame), the second side of the module frame being an opposite side of the module frame from the first side of the module frame (see Annotated Lee et al. – Figures 8, wherein “A” is the second side and “B” is the first side) .
Annotated Lee et al. – Fig. 8 & 10
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach the U-shaped frame is welded to the cover to define a connection portion.
However, Hou et al. teaches an energy storage device supporting and a method for packaging an energy storage device (Para. [0026]) wherein a housing (i.e. frame) and cover are configured to house at least one electrochemical cell (Para. [0027]) and the cover is secured to the cell housing via welding to form a continuous seam (i.e. the frame is welded to the cover to define a connection portion).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover and cartridge of Lee et al. to incorporate the teaching of welding to from a continuous seam as taught by Hou et al., as it would improve reliability of the enclosure and provide a longer path for thermal loss in the system (Para. [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed January 13, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments regarding the newly amended limitations do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection to reject the newly amended limitations in light of the amendment. Applicant’s arguments are drawn to Lee which is not relied upon to teach the newly amended limitations as a heat sink in direct contact with the one thermally conductive resin layer is taught by Hashimoto and the heat sink accommodated in the pack frame is taught by Lee (2) and thus, are not persuasive in light of the newly cited prior art.
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729