DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 08/22/2025. Claims 1, 13, 18, and 20 are currently amended. Claims 22 is new. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13, and 15-22 are pending review in this action.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 20 have overcome the objection in the previous Office Action.
The objections to claims 1 and 14-21 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 18 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the previous Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim 1 and dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Johnson is not relied upon to teach the limitation “the first recess is tapered from the bottom surface of the first recess toward a top of the first recess” as required by amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 13, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2011/0262785 A1) in view of Hermann (US 2014/0093760 A1) and Gratzmuller (US 4,078,121).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses an electrochemical cell module (battery pack 100, FIG. 1, [0013]), comprising: a housing (container 60, depicted but not labeled in FIG. 1, see FIG. 4, [0013]) including a main surface plate (end plate 30, FIG. 1, [0013]) and a side plate (plate orthogonal to 30 in FIG. 1) in contact with the main surface plate (30) (see FIG. 1), the main surface plate (30) having a first surface (inside wall 32, FIG. 1, [0013]); an electrochemical cell (10, FIG. 1, [0013]) located in the housing (60), the electrochemical cell (10) being plate-shaped and having a main surface (back main face 14, FIG. 1, [0013]), the electrochemical cell (10) being configured to charge and discharge through an electrochemical reaction (cell is in a battery pack, [0013]); a pressure plate (20, FIG. 1, [0013]) located in the housing (60), the pressure plate (20) facing the first surface (32) and being in contact with the main surface (14) (see FIG. 1A); and a spring (damping element 40, FIG. 1, [0013]) to urge the pressure plate (20) and the main surface plate (30) ([0013]).
Johnson does not disclose wherein the first surface (32) has a first recess, the spring (40) has a first end received in the first recess and in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first recess, and wherein the first recess is tapered from the bottom surface of the first recess toward a top of the first recess.
Hermann teaches an electrochemical cell module, comprising: a main surface plate (806, FIG. 8, [0162]) having a first surface with a first recess (FIG. 8C, [0163]), a pressure plate (804, FIG. 8, [0162]), and a spring (802, FIG. 8. [0162]) having a first end received in the first recess and in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first recess (FIG. 8C, [0163]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson to add a first recess to the main surface plate, such that the spring has a first end received in the first recess and in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first recess, because Hermann teaches that doing so will help keep the spring in position ([0163]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Johnson in view of Hermann does not disclose wherein the first recess is tapered from the bottom surface of the first recess toward a top of the first recess.
Gratzmuller teaches a spring having (27, FIG. 1, C4 L1) having a first end received in a first recess (body 1, FIG. 1, C3 L39), wherein the first recess (1) is tapered from a bottom surface of the first recess toward a top of the first recess (along beveled edge 37, FIG. 1, C4 L35). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann such that the first recess is tapered from a bottom surface of the first recess toward a top of the first recess because Gratzmuller teaches that doing so enables secure and quick installation of the spring (C4 L30-47). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches (see Johnson) wherein the pressure plate (20) has a second surface (second surface in annotated figure 1 below) in contact with the electrochemical cell (10) and a third surface (third surface in annotated figure 1 below) opposite to the second surface (second surface), the pressure plate (20) has a second recess (seat, see [0016] and annotated figure 1 below), on the third surface (third surface), and the spring (40) has a second end (second end in annotated figure 1 below) received in the second recess (seat).
Annotated figure 1
Regarding claim 3, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the pressure plate (20) has a first protrusion (first protrusion in annotated figure 1 above) on the third surface (third surface).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the main surface plate (30) has a fourth surface (fourth surface in annotated figure 2 below) opposite to the first surface (32), the main surface plate (30) has, on the fourth surface (fourth surface), a first area (first area in annotated figure 2 below) located opposite the bottom surface of the first recess and a second area (second area in annotated figure 2 below) in contact with the side plate (plate orthogonal to main plate 30), and the first area (first area) is located inward from the second area (second area) in the housing (60).
Annotated figure 2
Regarding claim 7, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller does not disclose wherein the pressure plate (20) and the spring (40) are in contact with each other with a bond in between.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller to add a bond between the pressure plate (20) and the spring (40) because Johnson teaches the use of an adhesive to bond between the pressure plate and the cell, wherein the adhesive is resistive to deformation from shear forces ([0015]-[0016]), and because Hermann teaches that parts that may move or scrape against one another should be coated, e.g. with a polymer, to prevent material from shearing off that may prevent problems within an electrochemical device ([0162]).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the first end of the spring (40) is in direct contact with a portion of the bottom surface of the first recess, the portion of the bottom surface defining a greatest depth of the first recess (see Hermann FIG. 8C).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the first recess has inclined side surfaces gradually extending from the bottom surface of the first recess toward the top of the first recess and toward each other, and the spring is distanced away from the side surfaces of the first recess by an empty space (see space between spring 27 and side surface 37 of recess 1 in Gratzmuller Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the main surface plate (30) of the housing (60) has a fourth surface (fourth surface in annotated figure 2 above) opposite to the first surface (32), the fourth surface (fourth surface) defining an exterior surface of the housing (60) (see FIGS. 1, 4, and 5).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the fourth surface (fourth surface) of the main surface plate (30) has a first area (first area in annotated figure 2 above) opposite to the bottom surface of the first recess, and a second area (second area in annotated figure 2 above) at an end of the main surface plate (30) in contact with the side plate (plate orthogonal to main plate 30) of the housing (60), and the first area (first area) is located more inwardly compared with the second area (second area) (see annotated figure 2 above).
Claims 4, 5, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2011/0262785 A1) in view of Hermann (US 2014/0093760 A1) and Gratzmuller (US 4,078,121), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2017/0062783 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller does not disclose wherein the main surface plate (30) has a protrusion.
Kim teaches an electrochemical cell module (200, FIG. 2, [0057]), comprising: a housing including a main surface plate (201, FIGS. 2 and 9, [0058]) and a side plate (202, FIG. 2, [0061]) in contact with the main surface plate (201), the main surface plate (201) having a protrusion (reinforcing rib 218, FIG. 9, [0110]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller by adding a protrusion (reinforcing rib) to the main surface plate because Kim teaches that doing so increases the strength of the plate ([0111]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller and Kim teaches wherein the main surface plate (30) is rectangular and has a long side and a short side as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (32), the main surface plate (30) is joined to the side plate (plate orthogonal to 30) of the housing (60) at the long side (see Johnson FIG. 1), and the protrusion of the main surface plate (30) extends in a direction intersecting the long side (Kim teaches that the reinforcing rib is aligned in this direction, see FIG. 9 and [0111]).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller does not disclose wherein the first protrusion has a strip shape.
Kim teaches an electrochemical cell module (200, FIG. 2, [0057]), comprising: a housing including a plate (201, FIGS. 2 and 9, [0058]) and a side plate (202, FIG. 2, [0061]) in contact with the plate (201), the plate (201) having a protrusion (reinforcing rib 218, FIG. 9, [0110]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller by changing the shape of the first protrusion to have a strip shape (to form a reinforcing rib) because plate because Kim teaches that doing so increases the strength of the plate ([0111]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Annotated figure 1
Regarding claim 16, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the pressure plate (20) has a long side and a short side shorter than the long side (see annotated figure 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the first protrusion (first protrusion) extends on the third surface (third surface) in a direction along the short side to reach the long side of the pressure plate (20).
Kim teaches an electrochemical cell module (200, FIG. 2, [0057]), comprising: a housing including a plate (201, FIGS. 2 and 9, [0058]) and a side plate (202, FIG. 2, [0061]) in contact with the plate (201), the plate (201) having a protrusion (reinforcing rib 218, FIG. 9, [0110]); wherein the protrusion (218) extends in a horizontal direction across the plate (201) (see FIG. 9). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller by changing the shape of the first protrusion extend horizontally along the pressure plate, thereby extending in a direction along the short side to reach the long side, because plate because Kim that such a horizontal protrusion (reinforcing rib) provides strength in the height direction ([0111]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson in view of Hermann, Gratzmuller and Kim teaches wherein the pressure plate (20) has a plurality of second recesses (seats) including the second recess (seat) on the third surface (third surface) (see annotated figure 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the first protrusion (first protrusion) extends on the third surface (third surface) between two second recesses (seats) adjacent to each other in a direction along the long side of the pressure plate (20).
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann, Gratzmuller and Kim by adding a plurality of protrusions to the pressure plate, which would mean that one defined as the first protrusion would extend on the third surface between two second recesses adjacent to each other in a direction along the long side of the pressure plate because Kim teaches that the plate should be provided with a plurality of protrusions spaced apart from each other in a height direction to provide uniform strength ([0111]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson in view of Hermann, Gratzmuller, and Kim teaches wherein the first protrusion (first protrusion) is of a same material as the pressure plate (20) (reinforcing ribs 218 are formed from the same material as the plate 201 on which they are formed, see Kim Figs. 5-8).
Regarding claim 20, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches does not disclose wherein the main surface plate (30) of the housing (60) has a protrusion on the first surface (32) or on the fourth surface (fourth surface).
Kim teaches an electrochemical cell module (200, FIG. 2, [0057]), comprising: a housing including a main surface plate (201, FIGS. 2 and 9, [0058]) and a side plate (202, FIG. 2, [0061]) in contact with the main surface plate (201), the main surface plate (201) having a protrusion (reinforcing rib 218, FIG. 9, [0110]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller by adding a protrusion (reinforcing rib) to the fourth surface of the main surface plate because Kim teaches that a protrusion protruding in a direction away from the electrochemical cell increases the strength of the plate ([0110]-[0111]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2011/0262785 A1) in view of Hermann (US 2014/0093760 A1) and Gratzmuller (US 4,078,121), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo (US 2021/0344057 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller does not disclose wherein the bottom surface of the first recess has a through-hole.
Seo teaches an electrochemical cell module (1, Fig. 1, [0030]), comprising: a housing (20, Fig. 1, [0030]) including a main surface plate (23, Fig. 2, [0035]); an electrochemical cell located in the housing (cell stack 10 is an aggregate of battery cells 11, Fig. 2, [0030]), the electrochemical cell being plate-shaped (Fig. 2); a pressure plate located in the housing (30, Fig. 3, [0030]), the pressure plate (30) facing the first surface and being in contact with the cell (cell pressing plate is bonded to the outermost battery cell, Fig. 4, [0042]); and a spring (40, Fig. 3, [0032]) to urge the pressure plate (30) and the main surface plate (23) ([0042]); wherein the portion of the main surface plate (30) in contact with the spring (40) has a through-hole (H1, Fig. 5, [0050]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller by adding a through-hole to the bottom surface of the first recess because Seo teaches that the through-hole can accommodate a swelling gauge to enable the identification of damaged cells ([0046],[0050]). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2011/0262785 A1) in view of Hermann (US 2014/0093760 A1) and Gratzmuller (US 4,078,121), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Narukawa (US 5,834,133).
Regarding claim 22, Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller teaches wherein the main surface plate (30) of the housing (60) has a fourth surface (fourth surface in annotated figure 2 below) opposite to the first surface (32), the fourth surface (fourth surface) defining an exterior surface of the housing (60) (see FIGS. 1, 4, and 5), the fourth surface (fourth surface) of the main surface plate (30) includes: a first area (first area in annotated figure 2 below) opposite to the bottom surface of the first recess, and a second area (second area in annotated figure 2 below) at an end of the main surface plate (30) in contact with the side plate (plate orthogonal to main plate 30) of the housing (60).
Annotated figure 2
Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller does not disclose wherein the first area (first area) is located more inwardly in a direction toward an interior of the electrochemical cell (10) compared with the second area (second area). However, Johnson teaches that the main surface plate (30) may be welded to the housing (60) ([0018]).
Narukawa teaches a battery (A1, Fig. 1, C6 L27-29) comprising a housing (1, Fig. 1, C6 L30) including a main surface plate (sealing plate 6, Fig. 1, C6 L61) and a side portion (side portion in annotated figure 3 below) in contact with the main surface plate (6), an electrochemical cell (electrode roll 5, Fig. 1, C7 L28) located in the housing (1); wherein the main surface plate (6) of the housing has a fourth surface (fourth surface in annotated figure below), the fourth surface (fourth surface) defining an exterior surface of the housing (1), the fourth surface (fourth surface) of the main plate (6) includes: a first area (first area in annotated figure below), and a second area (laser-welded portion, Fig. 1) at an end of the main surface plate (6) in contact with the side portion (side portion) of the housing (1), and the first area (first area) is located more inwardly in a direction toward an interior of the electrochemical cell (5) compared with the second area (laser-welded portion). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrochemical cell module of Johnson in view of Hermann and Gratzmuller such that the first area is located more inwardly in a direction toward an interior of the electrochemical cell compared with the second area because Nakamura teaches that such a configuration is known in the art (Fig. 1). Further, Johnson teaches the electrochemical cell module may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0027]).
Annotated figure 3
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723