DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Withdrawal of Objections and Rejections
2. Applicant's response, filed 07/27/2026, has been fully considered.
In view of the amendment and remarks from 07/27/2026, the following rejections are withdrawn:
claims 4 and 17 under 35 USC § 112(b)
claims 2 and 15 under 35 USC § 112(d)
claims 1-5, 11, 13-18, 24 and 26 under 35 USC § 103 over Hicks in view of Stanczyk
The following rejections and/or objections are either maintained or newly applied for claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27. They constitute the complete set applied to the instant application. Herein, "the previous Office action" refers to the Final Rejection of 05/14/2026.
Status of the Claims
3. Claims 2, 6-7, 10, 12, 15, 19-20, 23 and 25 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 are pending.
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 are rejected.
Priority
4. This application is a 371 of PCT/US2020/020866 (03/04/2020) which claims priority from Application No. 62/813,491 (03/04/2019) as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 02/08/2022. As detailed on the 02/08/2022 filing receipt, the application claims priority as early as 03/04/2019. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. The effective filing date of claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 is 03/04/2019.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recited “and” at the end of the 9th claim element which should be removed for proper claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
6. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter the invention. Dependent claims are rejected similarly, unless otherwise noted below. The following issues cause the respective claims to be rejected under 112(b) as indefinite:
Claim 27 recites “the normalized joint loads” which is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis. The term “normalized joint loads” has not been previously recited. The examiner suggests an amendment to “normalized joint loads” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13 and 27), and a system (claim 14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26), each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter.
[Step 1: claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims are found to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) and mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) are as follows.
Mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) include:
• "calculating/calculate … at least one of joint loading data or gait mechanics data based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation" (independent claims 1 and 14);
• "calculating/calculate … a net joint damage index based on the joint loading data compared to the historical data, wherein the net joint damage index comprises a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient" (independent claims 1 and 14) and
• "adjusting/adjust … one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads" (independent claims 1 and 14).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind and/or by mathematical operation. Without further detail as to the methodology involved in calculating a net joint damage index after the joint load has been compared to the historical data, under the BRI, one may simply, for example, use pen and paper to perform mathematical steps to arrive at a calculated net joint damage index. Further support for the mathematical techniques used in the claims is provided in the specification at [0044-0045], which describes calculating a net joint damage index after the joint load has been compared to the historical data; and [0051] which describes that the biomechanical simulation may be used to calculate the net joint damage. Thus, the recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• "generate kinematic data and anthropometric data based on the physical characteristics" (independent claims 1 and 14);
• "comparing/compare … at least one of the joint loading data or the gait mechanics data to historical data, wherein the historical data comprises data from a population of healthy individuals and a plurality of previously created biomechanical simulations of patients, the comparing identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient" (independent claims 1 and 14); and
• "determining/determine … a treatment strategy based on the comparison, wherein the treatment strategy comprises one or more of operative, non-operative, and postoperative interventions; wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index; and providing, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician" (independent claims 1 and 14).
Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of generating kinematic data and anthropometric data based on the physical characteristics (i.e. which constitutes data evaluation), comparing data available and making a decision based on a comparison and determining a treatment strategy based on the comparison a data value.
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Instant claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 recite additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• "tracking, by a patient monitoring system having sensors on or directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities" (independent claims 1 and 14);
• "creating/create, by the computer system, a patient-specific biomechanical simulation based on the patient data" (independent claims 1 and 14);
• "receiving, by a computer system, in communication with the patient monitoring system, patient data comprising the kinematic data and the anthropometric data" (independent claim 14);
• "providing, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician" (independent claims 1 and 14);
• "outputting/output the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system" (independent claim 14);
• "simulating/simulate, by the computer system, a plurality of different treatment strategies using the patient-specific biomechanical simulation, wherein the determined treatment strategy is determined from the plurality of simulated different treatment strategies" (claims 8 and 21);
• "transmitting/transmit, by the computer system, the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to at least one of a computer-assisted surgical system or a clinician computer system" (claims 9 and 22);
• "computer system" (claims 1, 8-9, 14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27);
• "computer-assisted surgical system" (claims 9 and 22);
• "computer-implemented" (claims 1-5, 8-9, 11 and 13);
• "simulating, by the computer system, a virtual joint replacement surgery on an affected joint by altering a model of affected bones within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation and replacing the affected joint with a three-dimensional model of a joint replacement implant” (claim 27); and
• "iteratively adjusting one or more of a make, a size, or a position of the joint replacement implant within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation until a desired biomechanical response comprising the normalized joint loads is achieved” (claim 27).
Dependent claims 3-5 and 15-18 recite further details about the patient data received. Dependent claims 11, 13, 24 and 26 recite further details about the treatment strategies determined.
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
The recited limitations in claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 are interpreted as requiring the use of a computer. Hence, the claims explicitly recite steps executed by computers and therefore can be described as computer functions or instructions to implement on a generic computer. Further steps directed to additional non-abstract elements of a computing device/computer do not describe any specific computational steps by which the "computer parts" perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. The instant claims state nothing more than that a generic computer performs the functions that constitute the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Limitations of claims 1 and 14 are considered to perform the claimed abstract idea with a computer, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); since steps that can be performed mentally and merely performing the mental process in a computer environment do not negate the fact that something that can be carried out in the human mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.C.
Limitations of claim 27 read on an “apply it” step because the results of the judicial exceptions are merely being applied to the simulation and the simulation is not performing the judicial exceptions themselves. Therefore, there is no integration of said judicial exception into a real life practical application.
The recited "tracking physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities", "creating a simulation" and "simulating treatment strategies" read on data gathering activity because the simulations are utilized to gather information that is used as input to the judicial exceptions; not amounting to a practical application. The type of data doesn’t change that it is mere data gathering or conventional computer receiving means.
Claims directed to "receiving/transmitting" read on receiving or transmitting data over a network -Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 - MPEP 2106.05(a) pertains; which constitutes just necessary data gathering and therefore correspond to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)).
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27 recite a computer or computer functions, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions; which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versa ta Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il)(i)).
Claims directed to the simulation of treatment strategies by a computer system recite steps known in the art as conventional as discussed in the instant specification: “As would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, there are a number of computational tools that may be used to create the simulation including, but not limited to, LifeModeler by LifeModeler, Inc., AnyBody Modeling System by AnyBody Technology, and OpenSimulator, which is an open-10-source multi-platform” [0042]. As discussed above regarding the treatment limitations cannot integrate a judicial exception as mere data gathering activity.
With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Vaughan (“A review of virtual reality based training simulators for orthopaedic surgery” Medical Engineering and Physics 38:59–71 (2016); cited in the 02/07/2025 PTO 892) discloses a simulator for hip injuries in human bodies using a wireless electromagnetic motion (i.e. kinematic data) tracking system is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example,( pg. 64 col. 1 para. 5).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24 and 26-27: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 101
8. The Remarks of 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below:
Applicant asserts in pg. 8 para. 2:
With respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) explains that claims may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application by "applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition." The claims as amended do precisely this. Claims 1 and 14 now recite that, in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention, the computer system adjusts one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads, and outputs the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system. These limitations are not mere data gathering or generic computer implementation. Rather, the claims require applying the biomechanical analysis to effect a particular treatment-joint replacement surgery-through specific technological means. The adjusted surgical parameters are output to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system, which are particular machines integral to the claim. The claims thus apply the analysis to a specific technological application tied to particular machines and manufacture, satisfying the requirements of MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) and MPEP § 2106.05(b).
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive because, the argued “determining a treatment strategy” reads on mere instructions provided and there is no evidence of a treatment being affirmatively applied. MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) states that the Examiners should keep in mind that in order to qualify as a "treatment" or "prophylaxis" limitation for purposes of this consideration, the claim limitation in question must affirmatively recite an action that effects a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. If the limitation does not actually provide a treatment or prophylaxis, e.g., it is an intended use of the claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the "treatment or prophylaxis" consideration.
Regarding the particular machine argument, while MPEP 2106.05(b) does set forth that the application of a judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong 2, this requires that the particular machine apply the judicial exception. In the instant claims, the simulation results are used as input for the recited adjusting step – “adjusting/adjust one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads”, reason why the steps directed to “simulating” reads on data gathering activities – serving for the input required by the judicial exceptions MPEP 2106.05(b)(III) sets forth that if the use of a machine contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step), it would not integrate a judicial exception.
Applicant asserts in pg. 8 para. 4:
With respect to Step 2B, the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements that amounts to significantly more than any abstract idea. The combination of tracking patient physical characteristics during activities, creating a patient-specific biomechanical simulation, calculating a holistic net joint damage index across multiple joints including adjacent joints, com paring to data from healthy populations to identify irregular mechanics, optimizing surgical parameters to normalize joint loads, and outputting those parameters to a robotic or computer-aided surgical system or fabricating patient-specific instrumentation represents an unconventional technological solution to the problem of determining appropriate treatment strategies for patients with joint conditions. This is not routine or conventional activity previously known in the industry. Furthermore, new claim 27 further details the technical optimization process recited in claims 1 and 14. Claims 27 recites that the adjusting comprises simulating a virtual joint replacement surgery on an affected joint by altering a model of affected bones within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation and replacing the affected joint with a three-dimensional model of a joint replacement implant, and iteratively adjusting one or more of a make, a size, or a position of the joint replacement implant within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation until a desired biomechanical response comprising the normalized joint loads is achieved. This is a specific, technical, iterative simulation-based process - not a mental process or abstract mathematical calculation. The claims recite concrete manipulation of three-dimensional models within a biomechanical simulation tied to a specific surgical outcome, further demonstrating integration into a practical application.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. MPEP 2106.05(d) sets forth that, at Step 2B, it is the additional elements which are examined to determine whether they are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. Step 2B instructs that an inventive concept cannot be provided the by judicial exception. An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966)). The argued “calculating a holistic net joint damage index”, "optimizing surgical parameters" and related adjusting steps pointed to be Applicant are considered to recite a judicial exception as described above and are therefore not considered at Step 2B.
The identified additional elements have been evaluated for conventionality under Step 2B as described in the Claim Rejections above. As explained, the courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claims directed to the simulation of treatment strategies by a computer system recite steps known in the art as conventional as discussed in the instant specification: “As would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, there are a number of computational tools that may be used to create the simulation including, but not limited to, LifeModeler by LifeModeler, Inc., AnyBody Modeling System by AnyBody Technology, and OpenSimulator, which is an open-10-source multi-platform” [0042]. As discussed above regarding the treatment limitations cannot integrate a judicial exception as mere data gathering activity.
With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Vaughan (“A review of virtual reality based training simulators for orthopaedic surgery” Medical Engineering and Physics 38:59–71 (2016); cited in the 02/07/2025 PTO 892) discloses a simulator for hip injuries in human bodies using a wireless electromagnetic motion (i.e. kinematic data) tracking system is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example,( pg. 64 col. 1 para. 5).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
9. Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hicks (“Is My Model Good Enough? Best Practices for Verification and Validation of Musculoskeletal Models and Simulations of Movement” J. Biomech. Eng. 137(2):020905 (2015) ) - as cited on the 05/14/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of Stanczyk ("Modelling of heat transfer in biomechanics–a review. Part II. Orthopaedics." Acta of Bioengineering and Biomechanics 4(2):3-31 (2002) - as cited on the 05/14/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of OToole ("Biomechanics for preoperative planning and surgical simulations in orthopaedics." Computers in biology and medicine 25.2:183-191 (1995) – newly cited) in view of Mootanah ("Development and validation of a computational model of the knee joint for the evaluation of surgical treatments for osteoarthritis." Computer methods in biomechanics and biomedical engineering 17.13:1502-1517 (2014) – newly cited).
Claim 1 recites:
tracking, by a patient monitoring system having sensors on or directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities;
generating kinematic data and anthropometric data by the patient monitoring system based on the physical characteristics;
receiving, by a computer system, in communication with the patient monitoring system, patient data comprising the kinematic data and the anthropometric data; creating, by the computer system, a patient-specific biomechanical simulation based on the patient data;
calculating, by the computer system, at least one of joint loading data or gait mechanics data based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation;
comparing, by the computer system, at least one of the joint loading data or the gait mechanics data to historical data, wherein the historical data comprises data from a population of healthy individuals and a plurality of previously created biomechanical simulations of patients, the comparing identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient;
• Hicks teaches the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system for improving the diagnosis and treatment of the many conditions that limit human mobility (i.e. directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities) (pg. 020905-1 col. 1 para. 3), essential for applications like designing assistive devices, planning rehabilitative treatment and understanding the fundamental principles of human locomotion (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1); wherein mathematical formulation of the physical system—the equations of motion— enables the modeler to calculate accelerations, velocities, and positions over time (i.e. tracking, by a patient monitoring system having sensors on or directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities and calculating, by the computer system, at least one of joint loading data or gait mechanics data based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation) (pg. 020905-7 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the model comprises datasets of comprehensive set of anthropometric and motion data (i.e. generating kinematic data and the anthropometric data) (pg. 020905-20 col. 2 para. 3); wherein motion capture experiments are used for obtaining kinematic data with the use of sensors (i.e. receiving, by a computer system, in communication with the patient monitoring system, patient data comprising the kinematic data and the anthropometric data) (pg. 020905-9 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the validation of the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system can be done by comparison of the present model to the many walking simulations available in the literature (pg. 020905-5 col. 2 para. 2) by comparing muscle–tendon dynamics to ultrasound data, or predicted joint loads to data from instrumented joint replacements (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1) and comparing muscle paths and kinematics to imaging data (pg. 020905-20 Table 2) (i.e. comparing, by the computer system, at least one of the joint loading data or the gait mechanics data to historical data, wherein the historical data comprises a plurality of previously created biomechanical simulations of patients); wherein Hicks teaches comparing calculated joint angles and moments to those reported by previous studies, such as kinematics and kinetics for walking and running at multiple speeds for healthy individuals that are readily available in the literature (pg. 020905-8 col. 1 para. 2) (i.e. wherein the historical data comprises data from a population of healthy individuals); wherein simulations can also be used to identify the sources of pathological movement based on the estimation of internal loading of the musculoskeletal system (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 3) (i.e. the comparing identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient); wherein the outputs of a musculoskeletal model are compared to experimental moment arms and passive and active net joint moments (pg. 020905-11 col. 1 para. 2).
calculating, by the computer system, a net joint damage index based on the joint loading data compared to the historical data, wherein the net joint damage index comprises a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint;
determining, by the computer system, a treatment strategy based on the comparison, wherein the treatment strategy comprises one or more of operative, non-operative, and postoperative interventions; wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index; and
providing, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician and
in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention;
adjusting, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads; and
outputting the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system.
• Hicks teaches the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system for improving the diagnosis and treatment of the many conditions that limit human mobility (pg. 020905-1 col. 1 para. 3), essential for applications like designing assistive devices, planning rehabilitative treatment (i.e. determining, by the computer system, a treatment strategy) and understanding the fundamental principles of human locomotion (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1); wherein a multibody dynamics engine is used to calculate motions and forces for the system of interest (pg. 020905-9 col. 2 para. 5); wherein model formulations can provide net internal joint moments (i.e. calculating the net joint index since it refers to net forces and moments applied to joints during activities) (pg. 020905-7 col. 2 para. 6) and the anthropometry of bodies could also be estimated on a subject-specific basis (pg. 020905-9 col. 2 para. 2); wherein said computational modeling can be used as a tool for planning musculoskeletal surgery designing – operative - training programs to reduce sports injuries, and prototyping powered prosthesis – non-operative and post operative - that aid locomotion (i.e. wherein the treatment strategy comprises one or more of operative, non-operative, and postoperative interventions; wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index) (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 2).
• Hicks does not teach “a net joint damage index .. wherein the net joint damage index comprises a net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient …wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index”. Hicks teaches that the simulated contact forces and moments take into account the friction of the motion (pg. 020905-20 Table 3); which is classified as a dissipative component (pg. 020905-7 col. 2 para. 4). However, Stanczyk teaches that dissipative energy occurs in the form of heat generation and dissipation that takes place every time the joint is used leading to potential thermal damage (i.e. which reads on analysis of joint damage) (pg. 25 para. 7); wherein different measures are taught for treating said implanting issues (i.e. wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index) (pg. 20 para. 3).
• Hicks does not teach “a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint.” However, Mootanah teaches it as the development and validation of a computational model of the knee joint for the evaluation of surgical treatments for osteoarthritis (pg. 1502 Title); wherein the model allows the creation of adjacent anatomical structures which includes common contact areas between adjacent tissue creating a common boundary between the adjacent femur and cartilage surfaces (pg. 1504 Fig. 3)
• Hicks does not teach “providing, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician … in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention; adjusting, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads.” However, Otoole teaches “in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention; adjusting, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation” as a surgical simulator (pg. 183 Abstract); wherein the simulator provides the surgeon with clinically meaningful feedback concerning the proposed surgery through such measures as the stress-strain distribution in the bone, the per cent surface contact between implant and bone, the force required to press-fit and dislodge the implant and other biomechanically relevant metrics (pg. 184 para. 6); wherein the simulation is iterated in an attempt to optimize the mechanical outcome of the procedure via as a parametric adjustments as the surgeon simply examines various surgical options (i.e. providing, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician) (pg. 185 para. 4). Additionally, Mootanah teaches “biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads” as a 3D knee joint computational model developed and validated to predict knee joint contact forces and pressures for different degrees of malalignment of total knee joint (pg. 1502 Abstract); wherein force values were normalized to the corresponding maximum compartmental force (pg. 1510 col. 2 para. 3).
• Hicks does not teach “outputting the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system.” However, Otoole teaches as a surgical simulator (pg. 183 Abstract) that utilizes computational mechanics to provide a more realistic prediction of the mechanical consequences of the surgery (pg. 189 para. 5); wherein the simulation must be iterated to optimize the mechanical outcome of the procedure via as a parametric adjustments as the surgeon simply examines various surgical options (pg. 185 para. 4); wherein said simulator can allow the surgeon to plan the procedure in a computer environment and then execute this plan with a precise robot (pg. 184 para. 3).
Claims 3 and 16 recites:
wherein the patient monitoring system comprises a sensor of the sensors configured to detect the kinematic data associated with a patient
• Hicks teaches that in a motion capture experiment, kinematic data (obtained from optical markers (i.e., sensors) or inertial measurement units) are measured (pg. 020905-8 col. 2 para. 1); where the physical model system is the human or animal neural and/or muscular system (pg. 020905-2 col. 1 para 2).
Claims 4 and 17 recites:
wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an accelerometer or a piezoelectric device configured to be coupled to the patient
• Hicks teaches a model for computational simulations where the physical model system is the human or animal neural and/or muscular system acting on a rigid multibody skeletal structure, possibly in interaction with external devices (pg. 020905-2 col. 1 para 2) involving comparison of the acceleration computed from kinematic data to the acceleration generated by measured ground reaction forces (pg. 020905-10 col. 2 para. 4).
Claims 5 and 18 recites:
wherein the patient monitoring system comprises a camera configured to detect the kinematic data associated with a patient, the kinematic data comprising motion capture data
• Hicks teaches a model for computational simulations where the physical model system is the human or animal neural and/or muscular system acting on a rigid multibody skeletal structure, possibly in interaction with external devices (i.e. monitoring system) (pg. 020905-2 col. 1 para 2); wherein the sources for subject-specific data for the described computational modeling include data from a typical motion capture analysis like optical marker (i.e. comprising camera sensors) trajectories, ground reaction forces, and electromyography signals, along with data collected from imaging or cadaver studies to help define musculoskeletal dynamics and geometry (pg. 020905-5 col. 2 para. 1); including case-studies involving running activities for human subjects (i.e. monitoring system) (pg. 020905-17 Fig. 10).
Claims 11 and 24 recites:
wherein the non-operative intervention comprises a recommendation for at least one of physical therapy of using a brace
Claims 13 and 26 recites:
wherein the operative intervention comprises a total or partial joint replacement surgery
• Hicks teaches a computational modeling that can be used as a tool for planning musculoskeletal surgery designing training programs to reduce sports injuries, and prototyping powered prosthesis that aid locomotion (i.e. plurality of treatment strategies including operative represented by “surgery” as in claims 13 and 26 – and non-operative represented by “prototyping powered prosthesis that aid locomotion” as in claims 11 and 24) (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 2); wherein instrumented knee replacements aid the validation of the presented method (i.e. total or partial joint replacement surgery) (pg. 020905-5 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim 14 recites:
track, by a patient monitoring system having sensors on or directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities;
generate kinematic data and anthropometric data by the patient monitoring system based on the physical characteristics;
create, by the computer system, a patient-specific biomechanical simulation based on the patient data;
calculating, by the computer system, at least one of joint loading data or gait mechanics data based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation;
compare, by the computer system, at least one of the joint loading data or the gait mechanics data to historical data, wherein the historical data comprises data from a population of healthy individuals and a plurality of previously created biomechanical simulations of patients, the comparing identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient;
• Hicks teaches the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system for improving the diagnosis and treatment of the many conditions that limit human mobility (i.e. directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities) (pg. 020905-1 col. 1 para. 3), essential for applications like designing assistive devices, planning rehabilitative treatment and understanding the fundamental principles of human locomotion (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1); wherein mathematical formulation of the physical system—the equations of motion— enables the modeler to calculate accelerations, velocities, and positions over time (i.e. track, by a patient monitoring system having sensors on or directed toward a patient, physical characteristics of the patient's body while the patient performs a plurality of activities and calculating, by the computer system, at least one of joint loading data or gait mechanics data based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation) (pg. 020905-7 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the model comprises datasets of comprehensive set of anthropometric and motion data (i.e. generate kinematic data and the anthropometric data) (pg. 020905-20 col. 2 para. 3); wherein motion capture experiments are used for obtaining kinematic data with the use of sensors (pg. 020905-9 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the validation of the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system can be done by comparison of the present model to the many walking simulations available in the literature (pg. 020905-5 col. 2 para. 2) by comparing muscle–tendon dynamics to ultrasound data, or predicted joint loads to data from instrumented joint replacements (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1) and comparing muscle paths and kinematics to imaging data (pg. 020905-20 Table 2) (i.e. compare, by the computer system, at least one of the joint loading data or the gait mechanics data to historical data, wherein the historical data comprises a plurality of previously created biomechanical simulations of patients); wherein Hicks teaches comparing calculated joint angles and moments to those reported by previous studies, such as kinematics and kinetics for walking and running at multiple speeds for healthy individuals that are readily available in the literature (pg. 020905-8 col. 1 para. 2) (i.e. wherein the historical data comprises data from a population of healthy individuals); wherein simulations can also be used to identify the sources of pathological movement based on the estimation of internal loading of the musculoskeletal system (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 3) (i.e. the comparing identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient); wherein the outputs of a musculoskeletal model are compared to experimental moment arms and passive and active net joint moments (pg. 020905-11 col. 1 para. 2).
calculate, by the computer system, a net joint damage index based on the joint loading data compared to the historical data, wherein the net joint damage index comprises a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint;
determine, by the computer system, a treatment strategy based on the comparison, wherein the treatment strategy comprises one or more of operative, non-operative, and postoperative interventions; wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index; and
provide, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician and
in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention;
adjust, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads; and
output the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system.
• Hicks teaches the computational modeling and simulation of the human neuromusculoskeletal system for improving the diagnosis and treatment of the many conditions that limit human mobility (pg. 020905-1 col. 1 para. 3), essential for applications like designing assistive devices, planning rehabilitative treatment (i.e. determine, by the computer system, a treatment strategy) and understanding the fundamental principles of human locomotion (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1); wherein a multibody dynamics engine is used to calculate motions and forces for the system of interest (pg. 020905-9 col. 2 para. 5); wherein model formulations can provide net internal joint moments (i.e. calculate the net joint index since it refers to net forces and moments applied to joints during activities) (pg. 020905-7 col. 2 para. 6) and the anthropometry of bodies could also be estimated on a subject-specific basis (pg. 020905-9 col. 2 para. 2); wherein said computational modeling can be used as a tool for planning musculoskeletal surgery designing – operative - training programs to reduce sports injuries, and prototyping powered prosthesis – non-operative and post operative - that aid locomotion (i.e. wherein the treatment strategy comprises one or more of operative, non-operative, and postoperative interventions; wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index) (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 2).
• Hicks does not teach “a net joint damage index .. wherein the net joint damage index comprises a net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient …wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index”. Hicks teaches that the simulated contact forces and moments take into account the friction of the motion (pg. 020905-20 Table 3); which is classified as a dissipative component (pg. 020905-7 col. 2 para. 4). However, Stanczyk teaches that dissipative energy occurs in the form of heat generation and dissipation that takes place every time the joint is used leading to potential thermal damage (i.e. which reads on analysis of joint damage) (pg. 25 para. 7); wherein different measures are taught for treating said implanting issues (i.e. wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the net joint damage index) (pg. 20 para. 3).
• Hicks does not teach “a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint.” However, Mootanah teaches it as the development and validation of a computational model of the knee joint for the evaluation of surgical treatments for osteoarthritis (pg. 1502 Title); wherein the model allows the creation of adjacent anatomical structures which includes common contact areas between adjacent tissue creating a common boundary between the adjacent femur and cartilage surfaces (pg. 1504 Fig. 3)
• Hicks does not teach “provide, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician …in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention; adjust, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads.” However, Otoole teaches “in response to the determined treatment strategy comprising an operative intervention; adjust, by the computer system, one or more joint replacement surgery parameters based on the patient-specific biomechanical simulation” as a surgical simulator (pg. 183 Abstract); wherein the simulator provides the surgeon with clinically meaningful feedback concerning the proposed surgery through such measures as the stress-strain distribution in the bone, the per cent surface contact between implant and bone, the force required to press-fit and dislodge the implant and other biomechanically relevant metrics (i.e. provide, by the computer system, the determined treatment strategy to a clinician) (pg. 184 para. 6); wherein the simulation is iterated in an attempt to optimize the mechanical outcome of the procedure via as a parametric adjustments as the surgeon simply examines various surgical options (pg. 185 para. 4). Additionally, Mootanah teaches “biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads” as a 3D knee joint computational model developed and validated to predict knee joint contact forces and pressures for different degrees of malalignment of total knee joint (pg. 1502 Abstract); wherein force values were normalized to the corresponding maximum compartmental force (pg. 1510 col. 2 para. 3).
• Hicks does not teach “output the adjusted joint replacement surgery parameters to a robotic surgical system or computer-aided surgical system.” However, Otoole teaches as a surgical simulator (pg. 183 Abstract) that utilizes computational mechanics to provide a more realistic prediction of the mechanical consequences of the surgery (pg. 189 para. 5); wherein the simulation must be iterated to optimize the mechanical outcome of the procedure via as a parametric adjustments as the surgeon simply examines various surgical options (pg. 185 para. 4); wherein said simulator can allow the surgeon to plan the procedure in a computer environment and then execute this plan with a precise robot (pg. 184 para. 3).
Claim 27 recites:
simulating, by the computer system, a virtual joint replacement surgery on an affected joint by altering a model of affected bones within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation and replacing the affected joint with a three-dimensional model of a joint replacement implant; and
iteratively adjusting one or more of a make, a size, or a position of the joint replacement implant within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation until a desired biomechanical response comprising the normalized joint loads is achieved
• Hicks does not teach the recitation above. However, Mootanah teaches the development and validation of a computational model of the knee joint for the evaluation of surgical treatments for osteoarthritis (i.e. replacing the affected joint with a three-dimensional model of a joint replacement implant) (pg. 1502 Title); wherein the 3D computational knee model was created from high-resolution radiological images to emulate passive sagittal rotation (full-extension to 658-flexion) and weight acceptance where model can be further developed for subject-specific surgical planning (i.e. virtual joint replacement surgery on an affected joint by altering a model of affected bones within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation) (pg. 1502 Abstract); wherein force values were normalized to the corresponding maximum compartmental force (pg. 1510 col. 2 para. 3). Additionally, Otoole teaches as a surgical simulator (pg. 183 Abstract) that utilizes computational mechanics to provide a more realistic prediction of the mechanical consequences of the surgery (pg. 189 para. 5); wherein the simulation must be iterated to optimize the mechanical outcome of the procedure via as a parametric adjustments as the surgeon simply examines various surgical options (pg. 185 para. 4); wherein said simulator can allow the surgeon to plan the procedure in a computer environment and then execute this plan with a precise robot (pg. 184 para. 3) (i.e. iteratively adjusting one or more of a make, a size, or a position of the joint replacement implant within the patient-specific biomechanical simulation until a desired biomechanical response).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 24 and 26-27, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Hicks in view of Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah because all references disclose methods for modeling and investigating musculoskeletal systems. The motivation would have been to:
• incorporate the criteria of thermal/chemical damage to the bone tissue in computed calculations (pg. 17 para. 6 Stanczyk);
• include considerations for bone remodeling work into the simulation to help predict the consequences of the operative procedure giving insight to the surgeon concerning the likely mechanical results of a surgery in the future (pg. 189 para. 4 Otoole) and
• accurately predict normalized intra-articular pressure and forces for different loading conditions and could be further developed for subject-specific surgical (pg. 1502 Abstract Mootanah).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute modeling musculoskeletal method of Hicks to the methods by Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for modeling and investigating musculoskeletal systems.
10. Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah as applied to claims 1 and 14 above further in view of Seth (“OpenSim: a musculoskeletal modeling and simulation framework for in silico investigations and exchange” Procedia IUTAM 2:212–232 (2011)), as cited on the 05/14/2026 Form PTO-892.
Claims 8 and 21 recite:
wherein the memory further stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computer system to: simulate a plurality of different treatment strategies using the patient-specific biomechanical simulation, wherein the determined treatment strategy is further based on the plurality of simulated different treatment strategies
• Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole or Mootanah teach the recited limitation above. However, Seth teaches a musculoskeletal modeling and simulation software framework that builds musculoskeletal models, simulate movement, and analyze resulting behaviors to be used for predicting effective surgical and rehabilitation treatments (pg. 213 para. 1).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 8 and 21, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah in view of Seth because all references disclose methods for modeling and investigating musculoskeletal systems. The motivation would have been to reach the ultimate goal of musculoskeletal modeling and simulation which is the prediction of outcome due to treatment or intervention (pg. 230 para. 2 Seth).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute modeling musculoskeletal method of Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah to the methods by Seth because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for modeling and investigating musculoskeletal systems.
11. Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah as applied to claims 1 and 14 above further in view of Vaughan (“A review of virtual reality based training simulators for orthopaedic surgery” Medical Engineering and Physics 38:59–71 (2016)), as cited on the 05/14/2026 Form PTO-892. Any newly recited portions are necessitated by claim amendment.
Claims 9 and 22 recite:
wherein the memory further stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computer system to: transmit the patient-specific biomechanical simulation to at least one of a computer- assisted surgical system or a clinician computer system
• Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole or Mootanah teach the recited limitation above. However, Vaughan teaches a computer-assisted surgery system (HipNav) that includes kinematic joint models and tools for predicting femoral range of motion, bone motion, and optimal alignment based on implant placement for use in-vivo, the data and preoperative plans are transferred to a computer station in the operating room for interactive in-vivo surgical navigation (pg. 62 col. 1 para. 1)
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 9 and 22, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah in view of Vaughan because all references disclose methods for simulation of orthopaedic motion for improving treatment strategies. The motivation would have been to reduce the learning curve during the in-vivo procedure and design customized surgical guides (pg. 69 col. 1 para. 2 Vaughan).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute simulation of orthopaedic motion for improving treatment method of Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole and Mootanah to the methods by Vaughan because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for simulation of orthopaedic motion for improving treatment strategies.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 103
12. The Remarks of 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below:
Applicant asserts in pg. 10 para. 2:
The Office Action alleges that Hicks teaches "net internal joint moments" and that Stanczyk teaches thermal damage accumulation, and that the combination renders obvious the claimed "net joint damage index." Applicant respectfully submits that this mapping is improper for at least the following reasons. Hicks' "net internal joint moments" are biomechanical force calculations used for model validation purposes, not a damage index. Hicks teaches that model formulations "can also provide net internal joint moments," which refers to the forces and moments applied to joints during activities for purposes of validating simulation accuracy. See Hicks, page 020905-7, column 2, paragraph 6. This is fundamentally different from the claimed "net joint damage index," which is a holistic metric that quantifies potential damage across multiple joints. Stanczyk' s discussion of thermal damage relates to an entirely different technical context. Stanczyk investigates "the problem of the temperature distribution in an artificial joint when the joint is being used" to establish whether thermal damage can occur due to frictional heating. See Stanczyk, page 25, paragraph 7. Stanczyk's thermal damage accumulation concerns heat-induced damage to the same artificial joint being articulated - not a holistic assessment of potential damage across multiple joints including adjacent unaffected joints as recited in the amended claims The claims as amended now require that the net joint damage index comprises "a holistic net measure of potential joint damage suffered by a patient across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint." Neither Hicks nor Stanczyk teaches or suggests assessing damage to adjacent or unaffected joints. The claims address the systemic effects of joint conditions on the patient's other joints, which is not disclosed in the cited references.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive because Hicks was not a prior art applied to teach “damage index” therefore the arguments are not consonant to what the examination stated; and the prior art to Stanczyk addresses the argued “damage index” in detail. "One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references" (MPEP 2145 § IV). This argument is unpersuasive, because it analyzes the teachings of the references separately and independently, whereas the rejection is based on the combined teachings of the references. While none of the references teach all claim limitations, and the examiner does not dispute Applicant’s identification of material missing from each one, all the claim limitations are taught by the combination of references, as explained previously. Additionally, the argued “holistic metric” and “a holistic assessment of potential damage” are newly amended recitations and as such, have been addressed by the newly cited art to Mootanah. The prior art to Mootanah addresses the argued “assessing damage to adjacent or unaffected joints” in detail as explained in the Claim Rejections above.
Thus there is no gap in the teachings as argued. Obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to arrive at the claimed inventions using a combination of teachings by the prior art to incorporate the criteria of thermal/chemical damage to the bone tissue in computed calculations (pg. 17 para. 6 Stanczyk), to include considerations for bone remodeling work into the simulation to help predict the consequences of the operative procedure giving insight to the surgeon concerning the likely mechanical results of a surgery in the future (pg. 189 para. 4 Otoole); to accurately predict normalized intra-articular pressure and forces for different loading conditions and could be further developed for subject-specific surgical (pg. 1502 Abstract Mootanah); to reach the ultimate goal of musculoskeletal modeling and simulation which is the prediction of outcome due to treatment or intervention (pg. 230 para. 2 Seth) and to reduce the learning curve during the in-vivo procedure and design customized surgical guides (pg. 69 col. 1 para. 2 Vaughan).
Applicant asserts in pg. 11 para. 2:
The claims as amended require comparing to "data from a population of healthy individuals" for the express purpose of "identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient." Even assuming Hicks discloses that kinematics and kinetics for healthy individuals are available in the literature, Hicks uses such data only to validate model accuracy (i.e., to confirm that a new simulation framework reproduces normal walking as a "good match to the many walking simulations available in the literature"). See Hicks, page 020905-5, column 2, paragraph 2; page 020905-8, column 1. Hicks does not compare patient data to healthy-population data to identify irregular mechanics and loading in an individual patient, and does not use any such comparison to calculate a net joint damage index or to determine a treatment strategy. The claimed comparison is functionally distinct: it operates on patient-specific data to detect patient-specific irregularities that drive the downstream damage index and treatment determination, rather than to confirm whether a model is accurate.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive because Hicks address the argued “comparing to data from a population of healthy individuals for the express purpose of identifying irregular mechanics and loading in the patient” by teaching the comparison of the present model to the many walking simulations available in the literature (pg. 020905-5 col. 2 para. 2) by comparing muscle–tendon dynamics to ultrasound data, or predicted joint loads to data from instrumented joint replacements (pg. 020905-1 col. 2 para. 1); comparing muscle paths and kinematics to imaging data (pg. 020905-20 Table 2); and comparing calculated joint angles and moments to those reported by previous studies, such as kinematics and kinetics for walking and running at multiple speeds for healthy individuals that are readily available in the literature (pg. 020905-8 col. 1 para. 2); wherein simulations comparisons can also be used to identify the sources of pathological movement based on the estimation of internal loading of the musculoskeletal system (pg. 020905-22 col. 1 para. 3) while comparing the output of the musculoskeletal model to experimental moment arms and passive and active net joint moments (pg. 020905-11 col. 1 para. 2). The described teachings by Hicks reads on the argued “compare patient data to healthy-population data to identify irregular mechanics and loading in an individual patient.”
Applicant asserts in pg. 11 para. 3:
Neither Hicks nor Stanczyk teaches or suggests adjusting joint replacement surgery parameters to normalize joint loads, or outputting such parameters to a robotic or computer-aided surgical system. Hicks is directed to the verification and validation of musculoskeletal models and simulations, and Stanczyk is directed to thermal damage arising from frictional heating, bone-cement polymerization, and bone cutting and drilling; neither reference optimizes surgical parameters or interfaces with any surgical system. Because Hicks and Stanczyk fail to teach or suggest these limitations, claims 1 and 14 are patentable for this additional and independent reason. Although Vaughan is applied only against dependent claims 9 and 22, Vaughan does not remedy these deficiencies. Vaughan is a review of virtual-reality based training simulators for orthopaedic surgery and, at most, describes computer-assisted systems that predict optimal implant alignment and placement and transfer preoperative plans to a computer station in the operating room for interactive surgical navigation. See Vaughan, page 62, column 1, paragraph 1. Vaughan does not teach or suggest iteratively adjusting joint replacement surgery parameters within a patient-specific biomechanical simulation to normalize joint loads, nor does it teach or suggest calculating a net joint damage index that comprises a holistic net measure of potential joint damage across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint. Accordingly, no combination of Hicks, Stanczyk, Seth, and Vaughan teaches or suggests the claimed subject matter. Even setting aside the foregoing, the Office Action has not established a proper rationale to combine the references. The Office Action characterizes the proposed combination of Hicks and Stanczyk as "the simple substitution of one known element for another" and offers only a generic motivation "to incorporate the criteria of thermal/chemical damage to the bone tissue in computed calculations." This reasoning is conclusory and does not explain how substituting Stanczyk' s thermal-damage criterion into Hicks's model-validation framework would yield the claimed net joint damage index - a holistic measure of potential joint damage across a plurality of joints including joints adjacent to an affected joint. Stanczyk' s thermal-damage criterion concerns cyclic heat accumulation in the single artificial joint being articulated and provides no measure of damage to adjacent or unaffected joints. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have had no reason to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention, and the combination, even if made, would not produce the claimed subject matter.
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive the arguments described above pertain to newly amended recitations and prior art to Hick, Stanczyk, Otoole, Mootanah, Seth and Vaughan address all the argued claim elements which have been described in detail in the Claim Rejections above. Thus, there is no gap in the teachings as argued. Obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to arrive at the claimed inventions using a combination of teachings by the prior art to incorporate the criteria of thermal/chemical damage to the bone tissue in computed calculations (pg. 17 para. 6 Stanczyk), to include considerations for bone remodeling work into the simulation to help predict the consequences of the operative procedure giving insight to the surgeon concerning the likely mechanical results of a surgery in the future (pg. 189 para. 4 Otoole); to accurately predict normalized intra-articular pressure and forces for different loading conditions and could be further developed for subject-specific surgical (pg. 1502 Abstract Mootanah); to reach the ultimate goal of musculoskeletal modeling and simulation which is the prediction of outcome due to treatment or intervention (pg. 230 para. 2 Seth) and to reduce the learning curve during the in-vivo procedure and design customized surgical guides (pg. 69 col. 1 para. 2 Vaughan).
Conclusion
13. No claims are allowed.
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685