The rejection of claims 1 and 3-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Hintz (US-20050176834-A1) in view of Na (Thermal Stability of Poly (acrylonitrile-methyl acrylate) Copolymers) is withdrawn in view of amendments and arguments.
Response to Arguments & Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joy (US-20070088093-A1) in view of Palmer (US-20130047892-A1).
With regard to claim 1, Joy teaches a superabsorbent composition comprising superabsorbent particles (para.[0035]) comprising a polymerizable, unsaturated acid group-containing monomer (e.g., methacrylic acid, para. [0014]), a neutralization component (e.g., sodium hydroxide, para. [0004]), and an internal crosslinking agent (para. [0013]). Furthermore, Joy teaches the use of surfactants, such as anionic surfactants, to the surface of the polymer particles (paras. [0028–0029]). This disclosure reads on the claimed superabsorbent composition, which comprises superabsorbent polymer particles containing a crosslinked polymer of a partially neutralized (meth)acrylic acid water-soluble ethylene-based unsaturated monomer, an internal crosslinking agent, and a surface-localized additive.
However, Joy does not teach the claimed carboxylic acid-based additive.
In the same field of endeavor, Palmer teaches aqueous dispersion polymers comprising acrylic monomers, such as methacrylic acid (para. [0043]), salt buffers for neutralization (para. [0048]), and reactive surfactants (para. [0013]).
Furthermore, Palmer specifically teaches the use of reactive anionic surfactants, such as monododecyl maleate, which reads on the structural requirements of the claimed Chemical Formula 1 and 1-1. Palmer demonstrates that these reactive surfactants possess a polymerizable moiety capable of participating in free-radical emulsion polymerization reactions. Leading the resulting latex is incorporated into a coating (e.g., paint), the concentration of free surfactant is minimized, preventing interference with target coating properties and avoiding degradation of substrate adhesion (paras. [0013]–[0014]).
Additionally, Palmer describes a monomer emulsion composed of water-immiscible monomer droplets stabilized by the surfactant molecules, yielding empty micelles (colloidal surfactant vesicles), and monomer-swollen micelles (para. [0050]). This disclosure reads on the claimed surfactant capable of forming a micelle structure on the particles.
With regard to the carboxylic acid-based additive, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the surfactant of Joy in view of Palmer. Specifically, to another anionic surfactant such as monododecyl maleate as established in Palmer. Joy would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to employ an anionic surfactant to the surface of a superabsorbent polymer (para [0028]). Palmer would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to employ an anionic surfactant, specifically monododecyl maleate, to optimize micelle structures, improve coating properties, and reduce adhesion (paras. [0013 and 0050]). Collectively, these prior art references teach analogous component formulations, specifically combining methacrylic acid with an anionic surfactant. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to try this modification in order to achieve the benefits of optimized micelle coating and adhesion. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result of a micelle structure coating formed on the polymer’s surface. Specifically, Joy discloses the application of an anionic surfactant to the particles’ surface. Furthermore, Palmer teaches that an anionic surfactant, such as monododecyl maleate, forms a micelle structure. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claims 3-7, Joy does not explicitly teach the claimed carboxylic acid additive. However, Joy does teach that the surfactant can be anionic (para [0029]).
In the same field of endeavor, Palmer teaches monododecyl maleate (para [0014]), which corresponds to monododecyl maleate, A as C12H25, B1 as -OCO-, B2 as -CH=CH-, carboxylic acid-based additive, and Chemical Formulae 1-1.
As stated above, the combined teachings teach the carboxylic acid-based additive.
With regard to claim 8, Joy teaches that the surfactant is utilized in an amount from 0 to about 5 wt. % based on the weight of the polymer particle surface (see para. [0028]), which reads on the claimed range.
With regard to claim 9, Joy teaches that the superabsorbent polymers include internal crosslinking and surface crosslinking, wherein the surface crosslinking process occurs post-polymerization (paras. [0011] and [0025]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
September 30, 2026