Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Amendment filed 9/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18-24 remain pending on the application. Claims 18-21 are withdrawn, pursuant to Applicant’s election filed 12/17/2024.
Applicant argues:
The Office Action at page 7 acknowledges that Ouyang modified by Lim does not
disclose the steam sterilization mode of claim 1. However, the Office Action asserts that Tan discloses the steam sterilization mode.
Tan discloses that when the humidity detected by a humidity sensor is lower than a set humidity, the fan is rotated at high speed, and when the detected humidity is higher than the set humidity, the fan is rotated at low speed or stopped. In other words, Tan discloses controlling the fan so that the indoor humidity is maintained at the set humidity.
This may correspond to the feature of "a smart care mode, control the steam
generator, during a heating operation by controlling a compressor and the fan, to discharge the humidified air together with heat-exchanged air, thereby continuously adjusting a temperature and humidity," of claim 1, but cannot correspond to the feature of "a steam sterilization operation performed based on the termination of the heating operation or the deactivation of the smart care mode" of claim 1.
Thus, even if Tan is applied to Ouyang modified by Lim, it would merely result in adjusting the fan speed to maintain a set humidity during a heating/humidifying operation. The combination would not yield the feature of claim 1, namely, "a steam sterilization operation, in which the flow path is sterilized based on the termination of the heating operation or the deactivation of the smart care mode."
As explained before, the termination of the smart care mode and start of the steam sterilization operation is interpreted in light of Applicant’s Specification.
According to Applicant’s Specification par. 338, the difference between a regular humidification operation and the steam sterilizing operation is that the fan operates at a low speed (par. 338: During the humidification operation, the humidification fan is operated with the humidification wind. When setting the humidification wind, the rotational speed of the humidification fan is determined based on the rotational speed of the indoor fan. In the case of steam sterilization, the humidification fan rotates with low-speed sterilization wind and slowly flows steam air).
Ouyang teaches using steam in the “smart care mode” as well (pg. 6 last par.: the humidifying system used as humidifying and heating function. the working mode is electric heating steam humidifying method. heater made of stainless steel sheathed heaters to provide heat required for water vaporization. heater control mode by the controller by the humidity and temperature with the set humidity and temperature comparison in detection box, solid relay output by pulse output control to control the humidification amount. the working principle is: adding deionized water to the humidification system of the water container, heating water is composed of electric heater, water boils to generate steam, with high temperature and high pressure produced by the blower air to everywhere in the box to reach the humidity requirement needed by the device) such that differing fan speed is interpreted to differentiate the smart care mode and the steam sterilization mode.
Tan teaches wherein the humidifier fan speed may be reduced after an initial humidification operation because the humidity is higher than desired (pg. 9 last par.: realizing real-time adjusting indoor humidity, or when the real-time indoor humidity detected by the humidity detector is greater than the preset indoor humidity, said controller controlling the humidifying fan 90 off or reducing the rotation speed to reduce the humidification fan 90 blows to the humidified air in the weight plate 61). The fan rotation speed being lower than before reads on a low-speed sterilization air flow.
Here, the state of the device with the lower fan speed is interpreted to be the steam sterilization mode, which occurs after the smart care mode that is defined by higher fan speed. The initial phase of humidification can simply be interpreted as the smart care mode and when the fan speed decreases, the smart care mode is interpreted to end and the steam sterilization operation is interpreted to start.
As for the newly added limitation, “for sterilizing a flow path through which the humidified air flows from the steam generator to the discharge outlet”, steam has sterilizing properties and the device of Ouyang already uses steam, so the steam produced by the device of Ouyang would perform the intended use of sterilizing a flow path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (CN 106501697 A) in view of Lim (EP 2977688 A1) and Tan (CN 107504567 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ouyang teaches An air conditioner (abstract: climate condition control system), comprising:
a fan (pg. 3 par. 1: axial flow fan) configured to discharge air (NOTE: an axial flow fan would be capable of discharging air);
a cabinet assembly (Fig. 1) defining a discharge outlet (pg. 3 par. 4: the heater processing air to stir, then out of the device shell, the air circulation between the in outer of the device shell body; NOTE: there must be an outlet in the cabinet in order for air to exit the device shell);
a water tank disposed in the cabinet assembly and configured to store water (pg. 6 last par.: water container);
a steam generator disposed in the cabinet assembly; and configured to receive the water from the water tank, the steam generator being configured to convert the water into steam to produce humidified air (pg. 6 last par.: the working principle is: adding deionized water to the humidification system of the water container, heating water is composed of electric heater, water boils to generate steam);
a humidification fan coupled to the steam generator and configured to supply filtered air to the steam generator (pg. 6 last par.: with high temperature and high pressure produced by the blower air to everywhere in the box to reach the humidity requirement needed by the device);
and a controller configured to control an operation the air conditioner (pg. 6 last par.: controller),
wherein, in a smart care mode the controller controls operation of the steam generator; and during a heating operation controls a compressor and the fan, thereby discharging the humidified air together with heat-exchanged air to continuously adjust a temperature and humidity (pg. 6 last par.: the humidifying system used as humidifying and heating function. the working mode is electric heating steam humidifying method. heater made of stainless steel sheathed heaters to provide heat required for water vaporization. heater control mode by the controller by the humidity and temperature with the set humidity and temperature comparison in detection box, solid relay output by pulse output control to control the humidification amount. the working principle is: adding deionized water to the humidification system of the water container, heating water is composed of electric heater, water boils to generate steam, with high temperature and high pressure produced by the blower air to everywhere in the box to reach the humidity requirement needed by the device; pg. 6 2nd last par.: control system according to different measured temperature set temperature, combined heating output, humidifying output, cooling speed and other process parameters, real-time dynamic adjusting the working condition of the compressor (compressor switch, refrigeration valve switch, a valve switch and so on) to ensure under the premise of guaranteeing the temperature rising; NOTE: thus, the device is capable of both controlling the steam generator and steam blower to increase humidity and controlling the compressor to adjust the temperature, when both the temperature and humidity have a set point).
Ouyang does not teach a suction inlet. Ouyang teaches air circulation (pg. 3 par. 4: the heater processing air to stir, then out of the device shell, the air circulation between the in outer of the device shell body) wherein air goes out of the device, so there is already a need for air to be sucked back in, in order for air to circulate.
Lim teaches a duct for taking in air that will be exhausted (par. 25: and a supply air damper which adjusts an inflow rate of the supply air which is supplied to the indoor through the duct; par. 26: The air handling unit 1 may include a return air damper which adjusts an inflow rate of the return air and an exhaust air damper which adjusts a flow rate of the exhaust air EA which is discharged to the outdoor).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ouyang modified by Lim to have an air suction inlet in its cabinet assembly, as taught by Lim, in order to allow air to recirculate in and out of the cabinet.
Ouyang modified by Lim does not teach
and based on the termination of the heating operation or the deactivation of the smart care mode, control the steam generator and the humidification fan to perform a steam sterilization operation for sterilizing a flow path through which the humidified air flows from the steam generator to the discharge outlet, and wherein the controller is configured to control the steam generator to produce steam and to control the humidification fan with low-speed sterilization air flow during the steam sterilization operation.
According to Applicant’s Specification par. 338, the difference between a regular humidification operation and the steam sterilizing operation is that the fan operates at a low speed (par. 338: During the humidification operation, the humidification fan is operated with the humidification wind. When setting the humidification wind, the rotational speed of the humidification fan is determined based on the rotational speed of the indoor fan. In the case of steam sterilization, the humidification fan rotates with low-speed sterilization wind and slowly flows steam air).
Tan teaches an air conditioner with a humidifier (abstract: The invention claims an indoor machine of air conditioner, the air conditioner and humidifying method of air conditioner, the air conditioner indoor machine comprises shell and indoor heat exchanger set in the shell, a humidifying device and a humidifying fan). Tan teaches wherein the humidifier fan speed may be reduced after an initial humidification operation because the humidity is higher than desired and increased after the humidity is lower than expected (pg. 9 last par.: For example, when real-time indoor humidity detected by the humidity detector is less than the preset indoor humidity, said controller controls the starting or increasing the humidification fan 90 speed to increase the humidifying fan 90 blows to the humidified air in the weight plate 61, so as to increase the humidity of the air stream realizing real-time adjusting indoor humidity, or when the real-time indoor humidity detected by the humidity detector is greater than the preset indoor humidity, said controller controlling the humidifying fan 90 off or reducing the rotation speed to reduce the humidification fan 90 blows to the humidified air in the weight plate 61). The fan rotation speed being lower than before reads on a low-speed sterilization air flow.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the device of Ouyang modified by Lim to lower the humidifier fan speed when the humidity is higher than the set point and increase the fan speed when the humidity is lower than a set point, as taught by Tan, in order to maintain the desired humidity in the target space.
It is noted that when the temperature is higher than the set point, then the previous smart care mode of Ouyang modified by Lim, defined by the higher fan speed, would end and the steam sterilization operation, defined by the lower fan speed, would begin.
In regards to, for sterilizing a flow path through which the humidified air flows from the steam generator to the discharge outlet, steam has sterilizing properties and the device of Ouyang already uses steam and has a steam generator and discharge outlet, so the steam produced by the device of Ouyang would perform the intended use of sterilizing a flow path.
Regarding claim 22, Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising: a steam guide that guides the humidified air discharged from the steam generator to the discharge outlet, and wherein, during the steam sterilization operation, the controller is configured to control the steam generator and the humidification fan for sterilizing the steam guide.
Ouyang is silent with respect to a steam guide between the steam generator and the discharge outlet.
Tan teaches an air duct, which is interpreted to be a steam guide, for conveying humidified air between the steam generator and the outlet (pg. 9 par. 3: In the present embodiment, the indoor heat exchanger 50 is set in the air channel and back from the air return into the airflow passes through the indoor heat exchanger 50, exchanges heat with the indoor heat exchanger 50 to form air flow, and flows to the air outlet from the air entering the room. Therefore, the humidifying device 60 arranged in the air duct, when the humidifying fan 90 blown by the water vapour generated in the humidifying tray 61, steam can directly enter into the air passage to mix with the air flow, effective humidifying the airflow).
This structure would enable Ouyang to perform its function of conveying humidified air into an environment.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ouyang to have a steam guide connecting the steam generator and the discharge outlet in the form of an air duct, as taught by Tan, in order to fulfill its intended function of conveying humidified air into an environment.
Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan thus reads on wherein, during the steam sterilization operation, the controller is configured to control the steam generator and the humidification fan for sterilizing the steam guide (see Tan modification in claim 1 rejection regarding the steam sterilization operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-10, 12-16, 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, but does not teach wherein, when the smart care mode is set, the controller is configured to execute one of a high speed mode or a comfortable mode, and to automatically switch between the high speed mode and the comfortable mode to adjust an indoor temperature and humidity.
This is because under the interpretation of the smart care mode of Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan in claim 1, the smart care mode would end after the fan speed lowers and is not defined by switching back and forth between a high speed mode and a comfortable mode. Specifically, in light of Applicant’s Specification par. 418 (The controller controls the fan in the high speed mode and maintains the high speed mode or switches the mode to the comfortable mode based on the first reference temperature being reached or being not reached to control the operation thereof based on the temperature and the humidity) the high speed mode is a mode in which the fan operates at a faster speed than the comfortable mode.
Claims 3-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 23 are allowed as dependent on claim 2.
Regarding claim 24, Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, and teaches wherein the steam generator comprises a first heater having a first capacity and a second heater having a second capacity (pg. 6 last par.: the humidifying system used as humidifying and heating function. the working mode is electric heating steam humidifying method. heater made of stainless steel sheathed heaters) but does not teach and wherein the controller is configured to operate either the first heater or the second heater in the smart care mode, and to operate both of the first heater and the second heater during the steam sterilization operation.
Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify Ouyang modified by Lim and Tan to teach this because in the steam sterilization operation of the prior art device, the fan speed lowers for the purpose of decreasing the humidity back to the set point and it would not make sense to then increase the heater output, which would increase the humidity.
Conclusion
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/ELIZABETH A ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1796