DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carraro (DE 19522893 A1) in view of Ko (US 20010034922 A1).
In re claim 1, Carraro discloses a multifunction machine for cleaning and sanitizing surfaces and environments that has a body-machine (a multifunctional cleaner for domestic use, Fig. 1: 10 and releases, steam, see [0009]) that comprises:
a waste suction group (collecting container, 11) comprising a motor (connected to a device, not shown for generating a negative pressure and for receiving the sucked in substances, see [0030]);
a wet filtration and collection unit (container, 19) comprising a tank which is partly filled with a liquid (chamber, Fig. 3: 19a, contains the water);
a steam generating unit (auxiliary tank, 17) configured to generate steam and expel the steam towards said surfaces and environments (capable of generating steam with heating device, 129 towards surfaces and environments);
a primary circuit (combination of opening, 13 and outlet nozzle, 15) comprising a first inlet (opening, 13) and a first outlet (outlet nozzle, 15) obtained in said body-machine (in body, of cleaning device, 10);
wherein the first inlet (opening, 13), the tank (chamber, Fig. 3: 19a, contains the water), the motor (connected to a device, not shown for generating a negative pressure and for receiving the sucked in substances, in cover, 12 which carries the devices, see [0030]), and the first outlet (outlet nozzle, 15) are connected sequentially (see Fig. 1);
wherein said body machine (a multifunctional cleaner for domestic use, Fig. 1: 10 and releases, steam, see [0009]) further comprises:
a secondary circuit (valve, Fig. 2: 25, that redirects the detergent, 19b in the separate compartment/chamber, see Fig. 2)
Carraro does not disclose further comprises:
a secondary circuit configured to generating ions-containing air, comprising second inlet and a second outlet obtained in said body-machine and
an ionizing device placed on said secondary circuit between said second inlet and second outlet’
wherein the secondary circuit is structurally separated from the steam generating unit.
However, Ko teaches a steam sterilizing vacuum cleaner, further comprises:
a secondary circuit (circuit includes a water inlet, 23 and discharge opening, 60) configured to generating ions-containing air, comprising second inlet (a water inlet, 23) and a second outlet (discharge opening, 60) obtained in said body-machine (carbon plates 21 and 21’ are between water inlet, 23 and steam outlet, 24, see Fig. 3); and an ionizing device (carbon plates 21 and 21’ which electric current is applied with separate positive and negative electrodes, see [0023]) placed on said secondary circuit between said second inlet and second outlet (carbon plates 21 and 21’ are between water inlet, 23 and steam outlet, 24, see Fig. 3),
wherein the secondary circuit (secondary circulation circuit includes a water inlet, 23 and steam outlet, 24) is structurally separated from the steam generating unit (shows a cross-section of a wall, in Fig. 2 that separates from steam generating unit inside vacuum cleaner body, 30).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Carraro with the teachings of a secondary circuit configured to generating ions-containing air, comprising second inlet and a second outlet obtained in said body-machine and an ionizing device placed on said secondary circuit between said second inlet and second outlet wherein the secondary circuit is structurally separated from the steam generating unit as taught by Ko because it provides a steam-sterilizing system which has great economical efficiency with a simple structure as well as provides greater improvement in sterilization and cleaning (Ko.: [0005]).
In re claim 2, Carraro as modified teaches the machine according to claim 1.
Carraro as modified does not teach wherein said ionizing device comprises pointed delivery elements located at said second outlet for the delivery of ions into the environment.
However, Ko teaches a steam sterilizing vacuum cleaner,
wherein said ionizing device (carbon plates 21 and 21’ which electric current is applied with separate positive and negative electrodes, see [0023]) comprises pointed delivery elements (combination electric cord, Fig. 5: 93, nozzle, 81, and steam discharge hose, 26, and steam spray plate, 51) located at said second outlet for the delivery of ions into the environment (chemical reaction takes place between saline water and two carbon plates, which results in water vapor of high temperature and pressure and oxygen is a negatively charged ion, generated and mixed together into steam to exit, steam outlet, 24, for improved sterilization; see [0028]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Carraro as modified with the teachings of wherein said ionizing device comprises pointed delivery elements located at said second outlet for the delivery of ions into the environment as taught by Ko because it provides a steam-sterilizing system which has great economical efficiency with a simple structure as well as provides greater improvement in sterilization and cleaning (Ko.: [0005]).
In re claim 4, Carraro as modified teaches the machine according to claim 1,
wherein said primary circuit (combination of opening, 13 and outlet nozzle, 15) and secondary circuit (valve, Fig. 2: 25, that redirects the detergent, 19b in the separate compartment/chamber, see Fig. 2) are separated from each other (separated from each other, see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carraro (DE 19522893 A1), in view of Ko (US 20010034922 A1) and in further view of Coshow (US 3594849 A).
In re claim 3, Carraro as modified teaches the machine according to claim 1.
Carraro as modified does not teach,
wherein said delivery elements each comprises an electrical supply conduit having a free end that comprise a plurality of bristles each of which is designed to release ions.
However, Ko teaches a steam sterilizing vacuum cleaner,
wherein said delivery elements (combination electric cord, 93, nozzle, 81, and steam discharge hose, 26, and steam spray plate, 51) each comprises an electrical supply conduit (combination of electric cord, 93 and discharge hose, 26) having a free end of which is designed to release ions (one end connected to carbon plates to discharge opening, 60 and steam spray plate, 51, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Carraro as modified with the teachings of wherein said delivery elements each comprises an electrical supply conduit having a free end that comprise a plurality of bristles each of which is designed to release ions as taught by Ko because it provides a steam-sterilizing system which has great economical efficiency with a simple structure as well as provides greater improvement in sterilization and cleaning (Ko.: [0005]).
Lastly, Coshow teaches a cleaning apparatus, opposite free end that comprises a plurality of bristles (cleaning head, Fig. 1: 4, preferably being a bristle brush, see Col 2: Lines 74 – 75 and Col. 3: Lines 1 - 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Ko/Bassett with the teachings of an opposite free end that comprises a plurality of bristles as taught by Coshow because the bristles can help loosen debris and buildup for more effective cleaning and sanitizing.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carraro (DE 19522893 A1), in view of Ko (US 20010034922 A1), and in further view of Jong et al (KR 2009028299 A).
In re claim 6, Carraro as modified teaches the machine according to claim 1.
Carraro as modified teaches does not teach,
further comprising an emitting source of UV, or UV-C rays.
However, Jong et al teaches a cleaner E.g. Steam Cleaner, For Sucking E.g. Bacteria, Has Disinfection Unit, Filter Coated With Titanium Oxide Material And UV Ray Unit And Light Catalyst Unit Set In Dust Collector Container, Where Ray Unit Is Protected By Member, comprising an emitting source of UV, or UV-C rays (UV ray unit, Fig. 2: 30).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Ko/Bassett with the teachings of an emitting source of UV, or UV-C rays as taught by Jong et al. because it helps to sterilize harmful creature such as bacteria, tick, mold and Escherichia coli, in the dust collection unit, and contaminant, thus providing antibiotic and deodorization and self-purification effects (Jong et al: see page 2 of 14).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 112b rejection for claim 6, applicant’s argument has overcome the rejection and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 27, 2025 have been fully considered.
In regards to applicant’s argument of claim rejections under 35 USC 103 of claim 1, that none of the references discloses, teaches, or suggests the wet filtration and collection unit in the first circuit, nor the secondary circuit. Based on the interview summary on June 5, 2025, the examiner agrees and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made unpatentable over Carraro (DE 19522893 A1), in view of Ko (US 20010034922 A1), that provides “multiple compartments/chambers/tanks and two pathways”; see rejection of the same above.
Therefore, claim 1 as set forth is rejected and therefore regarding the dependent claims 2 – 4 and 6 are not allowable over the art of record.
Conclusion
/SHARONDA T FELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723