RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Request for Continued Examination
Claims 1 and 6-11 are pending in the application, claim 7 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s election.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claim 9 made of record in the office action mailed on 03/04/2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed 07/02/2026.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostertag et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4,978,394) in view of Udagawa et al. (JP2010-280607).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ostertag et al. teaches metal oxide coated aluminum pigments having a platelike shape (i.e. flaky aluminum particle). (Abstract). The metal oxide coating includes a titanium oxide having an oxidation less than 4 (i.e. having a formula TiOx wherein x is less than 2) (col. 4, lines 22-30). The color of the pigment may be black blue (col. 3, lines 45-52) as the lower oxidation state TiO is known to be a dark color (col. 3, lines 26-30) but can have a variety of other interference colors including blue, yellow, gold, red, violet, green based on the thickness of the titanium oxide coating. (col. 3, lines 1-12). Additional metal oxide layers, including amorphous silica (formed by hydrolysis of a salt material or reduction of chlorides of silicon) may be formed on the surface of the titanium oxide layer. (col. 3, line 53 – col. 4, line 9). The reference therefore discloses a coating film comprising a titanium oxide layer and an amorphous silicon compound layer in this order on an aluminum particle surface as claimed.
Ostertag et al. does not disclose the thickness of the titanium oxide layer in the range of 100 nm or more and 1000 nm or less as claimed.
Udagawa et al. teaches a cosmetic composition including a pigment containing a monolayer of low order titanium oxide on a plate-shaped particle. (Abstract). Udagawa et al. further teaches that the low order titanium oxide can be used to form black colored pigments (page 5, 2nd full paragraph) and can be controlled to have a layer thickness in the range of 10 to 1000 nm, especially 140 nm, overlapping with the presently claimed range. (see Manufacturing Examples). Udagawa et al. further teaches that low order titanium oxide coating has a general formula TiOx and that when x approaches 1.0, the light absorption becomes strong implying a darker (i.e. blacker) color. (page 3, bottom half).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a lower order titanium oxide layer having a layer thickness in the range of 10 to 1000 nm.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a layer thickness in the range taught in Udagawa et al. which overlaps with the presently claimed range in view of the teachings in the secondary reference that suitable ranges for low order titanium oxide coatings lie in the range of 10-1000 nm in the prior art and that workable examples with 140 nm can be suitably used as an interference pigment. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Furthermore, the reference teaches that the overall color, from darker to lighter, can be controlled by the layer thickness as well as the relative ratio of Ti to O in the low order coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have found it obvious to optimize both thickness and color of the coating composition to achieve the desired color characteristic depending on preferred aesthetic goals.
With respect to the value of “x” in the “TiOx” of the claimed titanium oxide layer, Ostertag et al. teaches a lower order titanium oxide by reducing TiO2 such that the oxidation state is less than 4 (col. 3, lines 22-33) which implies a value of “x” as claimed to be 2 or less, overlapping with the presently claimed range of 1.10 to 1.90 as presently claimed.
Furthermore, Udagawa et al. teaches low-order titanium oxide materials include values of 1.0 to less than 2.0, altering the color characteristics from dark to light. (pages 3-4 of the machine translation of Udagawa et al.). Udagawa et al. therefore teaches TiOx where the x values overlap with the claimed range of 1.10 to 1.90, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a TiOx material having a value of generally less than 2.0 according to the teachings of Ostertag et al. or more specifically between 1.0 and 2.0 according to the combination of the teachings of Ostertag and Udagawa et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a TiOx reduced oxide material where x is less than 2 or between 1.0 to 2.0 in view of the teachings in the prior art the oxidation state of the reduced titanium oxide affects the color and light absorption properties. This would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to find a value of x to achieve the desired color and light absorption properties for the dark colored lower oxidation state titanium oxide coating use in the metal pigment in Ostertag et al.
Regarding claim 9, Ostertag et al. teaches metal oxide coated aluminum pigments having a platelike shape (i.e. flaky aluminum particle). (Abstract). The metal oxide coating includes a titanium oxide having an oxidation less than 4 (i.e. having a formula TiOx wherein x is less than 2) (col. 4, lines 22-30). The color of the pigment may be black blue (col. 3, lines 45-52) as the lower oxidation state TiO is known to be a dark color (col. 3, lines 26-30) but can have a variety of other interference colors including blue, yellow, gold, red, violet, green based on the thickness of the titanium oxide coating. (col. 3, lines 1-12). Additional metal oxide layers, including amorphous silica (formed by hydrolysis of a salt material or reduction of chlorides of silicon) may be formed on the surface of the titanium oxide layer. (col. 3, line 53 – col. 4, line 9). The reference therefore discloses a coating film comprising a titanium oxide layer and an amorphous silicon compound layer in this order on an aluminum particle surface as claimed.
Ostertag et al. does not disclose the thickness of the titanium oxide layer in the range of 100 nm or more and 1000 nm or less as claimed.
Udagawa et al. teaches a cosmetic composition including a pigment containing a monolayer of low order titanium oxide on a plate-shaped particle. (Abstract). Udagawa et al. further teaches that the low order titanium oxide can be used to form black colored pigments (page 5, 2nd full paragraph) and can be controlled to have a layer thickness in the range of 10 to 1000 nm, especially 140 nm, overlapping with the presently claimed range. (see Manufacturing Examples). Udagawa et al. further teaches that low order titanium oxide coating has a general formula TiOx and that when x approaches 1.0, the light absorption becomes strong implying a darker (i.e. blacker) color. (page 3, bottom half).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a lower order titanium oxide layer having a layer thickness in the range of 10 to 1000 nm.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a layer thickness in the range taught in Udagawa et al. which overlaps with the presently claimed range in view of the teachings in the secondary reference that suitable ranges for low order titanium oxide coatings lie in the range of 10-1000 nm in the prior art and that workable examples with 140 nm can be suitably used as an interference pigment. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Furthermore, the reference teaches that the overall color, from darker to lighter, can be controlled by the layer thickness as well as the relative ratio of Ti to O in the low order coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have found it obvious to optimize both thickness and color of the coating composition to achieve the desired color characteristic depending on preferred aesthetic goals.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostertag et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4,978,394) in view of Udagawa et al. (JP2010-280607), further in view of Miyamoto et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0306160).
Ostertag in view of Udagawa et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Ostertag et al. does not disclose the layer thickness of the silicon oxide layers applied onto the titanium oxide layer.
Miyamoto et al. teaches a colored metallic pigment having an amorphous silicon oxide layer formed on the surface of the metallic particles wherein the layer thickness of the amorphous silicon oxide layer is more than 500 nm. (Abstract). Miyamoto et al. teaches that a thickness of more than 500 nm, there will be a high shift in color tone for imparting an interference effect. (par. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a silicon oxide layer thickness in the range disclosed in Miyamoto et al. for the silicon oxide layer of Ostertag et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a layer thickness of a silicon oxide layer as taught in Miyamoto et al. in view of the teaching in the reference of the applied color tone shifting and interference effect.
Regarding claim 8, Ostertag et al. does not disclose at least one of a base layer and a resin layer as an outermost layer of the coating film.
Miyamoto et al. teaches a colored metallic pigment including an amorphous silicon oxide layer on a surface of the metallic pigment. (Abstract). Miyamoto et al. teaches the inclusion of an outermost resin (i.e. polymer) layer to protect the metal pigment and impart chemical, moisture and weather resistance. (par. [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an outermost polymer coating to the metallic flakes of Ostertag et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include an outermost polymer coating onto the flakes in order to impart improved weathering/chemical/water resistance to the metal flake to avoid deterioration thereof and create a product having improved durability.
Miyamoto et al. teaches a colored metallic pigment including an amorphous silicon oxide layer on a surface of the metallic pigment. (Abstract). Miyamoto et al. teaches the inclusion of an outermost resin (i.e. polymer) layer to protect the metal pigment and impart chemical, moisture and weather resistance. (par. [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an outermost polymer coating to the metallic flakes of Argoitia et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include an outermost polymer coating onto the flakes in order to impart improved weathering/chemical/water resistance to the metal flake to avoid deterioration thereof and create a product having improved durability.
Claims 6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostertag et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4,978,394) in view of Udagawa et al. (JP2010-280607), further in view of Andes et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2003/0209169).
Ostertag in view of Udagawa et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Ostertag in view of Udagawa et al. does not disclose the layer thickness of the silicon oxide layers applied onto the titanium oxide layer.
Andes et al. teaches multilayer pigments including a metal substrate material coated with two or more metal oxide layers. (Abstract). The metal oxide layers include amorphous SiO2, TiO2 and/or Fe2O3. (par. [0021]-[0022]) and the thickness of the amorphous SiO2 layer, which is described as a low refractive index material, lies in the range of 10-1000 nm (par. [0025] [0025]) for controlling the intensification or attenuation of the wavelengths through interference. (par. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the to control the thickness of the amorphous silica layers in Ostertag et al. to lie in the range of 10-1000 nm as disclosed in Andes et al., which overlaps with the presently claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to control the thickness such that the amorphous silica layer lies in the range of 10 to 1000 nm for controlling the intensification or attenuation of the wavelengths through interference (par. [0020]), thereby creating a color variation effect.
Regarding claims 10-11, Ostertag in view of Udagawa et al. does not teach that the thickness of the titanium oxide layer is greater than the amorphous silica layer.
Andes et al. teaches that the two or more oxide layer containing multilayer pigment may include careful selection of the individual thickness of each low/high refractive index material for obtaining strong variation in color based on the viewing angle and that the thickness can be tuned based on the field of application. (par. [0019]-[0020]). This implies that each of the layers may have different thickness, including one which is thinner or thicker than the underlying layer, based on the result effective nature of the coating thickness for altering the color of the multilayer pigment in Andes et al. Furthermore, the teaching of a thickness range of 10-1000 nm for the amorphous silica layer of Andes et al. would result in embodiments wherein the combination with Ostertag and Udagawa et al. would have a silica layer that has a lower thickness than the underling reduced titanium oxide layer, given the teaching in Udagawa et al. that the thickness thereof is in the range of 10-1000nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the thickness of the amorphous silica layer produced by the combination of Ostertag in view of Udagawa et al. to have a thickness that is lower than the underlying reduced titanium oxide layer in the multilayer pigment of Ostertag et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a thickness of the amorphous silica layer that is less than the underlying reduced titanium oxide layer in order to adjust the optical and color properties by creating an angle dependent color as taught in Andes et al.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed 07/02/2026 regarding the rejection of claim 1 of record have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Ostertag et al. does not teach a TiOx material where x lies in the range of 1.1 to 1.9. The Examiner disagrees. The broad teaching in Ostertag of a titanium oxide having an oxidation state of less than 4 would imply a composition overlapping with the presently claimed value of x. Furthermore, Udagawa et al. teaches controlling a value of x to between 1.0 and 2.0 for tunable color and hue of the reduced oxide material, as discussed in the claim rejections above.
As such, the claims remain unpatentable for at least the reasons made of record in the present office action.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/28/2026