DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amended Claims 1, 8, and 10, cancelled Claims 3-5, 7, 11-13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, and 24, and withdrawn Claims 14, 15, 18, 21, 22, and 25-29 in the response filed on 7/13/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-10, and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8-10, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2010130712 (“De Belie et al.”), in view of Anbu et al. “Formations of calcium carbonate minerals by bacteria and its multiple applications.” SpringerPlus, vol. 5, no. 1, 1 Mar. 2016 (“Anbu et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20140248681 (“Soens et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, De Belie et al. teaches a biologically active structural material comprising one or more inert substrates, one or more precipitating microorganisms, and an aqueous nutrient medium (Abstract, Page 6: Lines 29-35, Page 8: Lines 7-31, and Page 9: Lines 5-10 and 21-23). De Belie et al. further teaches that the precipitating microorganisms Sporosarcina pasteurii with an Accession number of the BCCM culture collection (Gent, Belgium) of LMG 7130 (Page 4: Line 28 and Table 3).
De Belie et al. does not teach its S. pasteurii is from the culture collection MTCC 1761 (i.e. deposited laboratory strain of S. pasteurii in the Indian MTCC collection). While De Belie et al. teaches one or more matrix forming elements (e.g. cellulose, silica sol-gel alginate, ceramic materials or any other organic or inorganic material) capable of enrobing the one or more precipitating microorganisms in place (Page 8: Lines 30-33), De Belie et al. does not teach it comprising gelatin.
Anbu et al. recognizes that S. pasteurii MTCC 1761 is also a precipitating microorganism that helps produce CaCO3 (Abstract and Page 2: 2nd ¶ under Microbially induced calcite precipitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use S. pasteurii MTCC 1761 in view of cost savings, accessibility, etc.
Soens et al. teaches a biologically active structural material comprising one or more inert substrates, one or more precipitating microorganisms (e.g. Myxococcus xanthus), an aqueous nutrient medium, and one or more matrix forming elements comprising gelatin, wherein the one or more matrix forming elements are capable of enrobing one or more precipitating microorganisms in place (Abstract, [0008]-[0011], [0042], [0047], [0052], [0069]-[0074], and [0078]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have De Belie et al.’s one or more matrix forming elements comprise of gelatin to retain and protect the microorganism within the biologically active structural material (Abstract). Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute alginate, for example, for the gelatin material taught by Soens et al. in view of the art recognized functional equivalence of the two materials. Substitution of equivalents requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Grover Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
With regards to Claim 2, De Belie et al. teaches the one or more inert substrates is sand (Page 8: Lines 27-29).
With regards to Claim 8, De Belie et al. teaches the aqueous nutrient medium (bacterial nutrient broth) comprises an inorganic compound NaCl (Page 9: Lines 25-26).
With regards to Claim 9, De Belie et al. teaches the aqueous nutrient medium comprises an organic compound glucose (Page 9: Line 27).
With regards to Claim 10, the prior art of record teaches one or more matrix forming elements as set forth above. De Belie et al. does not teach its one or more matrix forming elements are present in an amount of from about 1.5% to about 5% by weight based on a total weight of the biologically active structural material.
However, Soens et al. teaches that in its biologically active structural material, 1 to 5 wt% of a matrix forming elements are added thereto (Abstract, [0047], [0052], [0069]-[0074], and Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have De Belie et al.’s structural material contain about 1.5% to about 5% by weight of one or more matrix forming elements to ensure the integrity of the enrobing the microorganisms in place.
With regards to Claim 30, De Belie et al. teaches a method for forming a biopolymeric building material comprising desiccating or drying a mortar comprising the biologically active structural material (Abstract and Page 1: Lines 23-24).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2010130712 (“De Belie et al.”), in view of Anbu et al. “Formations of calcium carbonate minerals by bacteria and its multiple applications.” SpringerPlus, vol. 5, no. 1, 1 Mar. 2016 (“Anbu et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20140248681 (“Soens et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20090203070 (“Devroe et al.”).
De Belie et al. teaches the usage of microorganism to accelerate carbonation and to increase compressive strength of structural materials. The microorganism metabolize nutrients within the structural material in order to produce CO2 which results in accelerated CaCO3 formation and hence increased strength of the structural material (Abstract).
De Belie et al. does not teach microorganism Synechococcus sp. Strain PCC 7002 in its biologically active structural material.
However, Devroe et al. teaches microorganism Synechococcus sp. Strain PCC 7002 to produce products of interest, such as structural material cement, wherein Synechococcus sp. Strain PCC 7002 uses CO2 from cement production facilities ([0078], [0080], [0084], [0143], and [0151]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Synechococcus sp. Strain PCC 7002 in De Belie et al.’s biologically active structural material as it is a known microorganism that efficiently convert CO2 and light into a structural material ([0002], [0143], and [0151]).
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785