DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 04 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-18, and 21 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Therefore, prosecution on the merits continues for claims 1-6 as being drawn to the elected invention, while claims 9-18 and 21 are withdrawn for reading on non-elected invention(s). All arguments have been fully considered with the status of each prior ground of rejection set forth below.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Rejection of claims 1, 4, and 6 under 35 USC 103 over Bedoya et al in view of Yang et al and Ma et al
Applicant's arguments filed 04 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has traversed the rejection, asserting in Pages 6-7 of the Remarks filed 04 May 2026 that Yang et al fail to teach polynucleotides encoding the same chimeric immune receptor that are comprised within separate viral vectors. Applicant cites Paragraph [0165] of Yang et al to support this assertion. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that Yang et al do disclose within an embodiment of their invention the co-transduction of two viral vectors comprising the same encoded chimeric immune receptor. See, for example, Paragraph [0232] of Yang et al. With that, the ordinary artisan would understand that the co-transduction of two viral vectors indicates that the viral vectors are being transduced into the cell simultaneously, as evidenced by Page 1 of the ThermoFisher Scientific reference.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained and amended to encompass the claims as written.
RE: Rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 USC 103 over Bedoya et al in view of Yang et al, Ma et al, and Jensen et al
Applicant's arguments filed 04 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has traversed the rejection, asserting in Pages 7-8 of the Remarks filed 04 May 2026 that Jensen et al disclose the transduction of constructs encoding different CARs instead of the same CAR, as presently claimed. In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, Jensen et al is a secondary reference relied upon to teach that the activity regulator is dominant negative transforming growth factor beta receptor II or dominant negative SHP1 or SHP2.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained and amended to encompass the claims as written.
Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Claim Interpretation
The instant disclosure defines the term “activity modulator” as a molecule made by the
CAR-expressing cell which modulates the activity of the CAR, of a cell expressing the CAR, or of a target
cell. See Page 41 of the instant Specification filed 07 March 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedoya et al (US 2017/0137783, of record) in view of Yang et al (US 2012/0134970 A1, of record) as evidenced by ThermoFisher Scientific (Co-Transfection, 2023), and Ma et al (US 2018/0066034 A1, of record).
Each of Bedoya et al, Yang et al, and Ma et al are considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 1 and 6: Bedoya et al disclose methods of making immune effector cells that can be engineered to express a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR), and reaction mixtures comprising the same (Abstract).
As such, Bedoya et al disclose a method of forming a reaction mixture, wherein a population of immune effector cells are transduced with viral vectors comprising nucleic acids encoding a first CAR and a second CAR under control of an inducible or constitutive promoter such that the CARs are integrated into the genome of the cell, wherein the first CAR and second CAR are the same CAR (Paragraphs [0020], [0032], [0043], [0045], [0048], [0068]-[0070], [0077], [0080], [0109]-[0111], [0309], [0315]-[0316], [0335]-[0336], [0441], [0458]-[0459], [0574], [0576]-[0582]). Bedoya et al further disclose that the first and second CARs comprise antigen binding domains specific for tumor antigens (Paragraphs [0021], [0087]-[0088], [0114]-[0119], [0242], [0336], [0441]-[0442]).
Bedoya et al further disclose that the population of immune effector cells within the reaction mixture can express the first CAR and the second CAR simultaneously (overlapping) or sequentially (Paragraphs [0048], [0077]).
Bedoya et al further disclose that a viral vector comprising an encoded CAR can further comprise a nucleic acid encoding an activity modulator that is operably linked to the CAR (Paragraphs [0561]-[0565]).
Bedoya et al do not explicitly disclose that the first CAR and second CAR are comprised within separate viral vectors, as required by instant claim 1.
Yang et al, however, disclose methods for creating viral vector nucleic acid sequences, wherein nucleic acids encoding the same chimeric immune receptors are comprised within separate viral vectors under control of either an inducible or constitutive promoter and co-transduced into immune effector cells, and wherein the chimeric immune receptors comprise target binding domains specific for tumor antigens (Abstract; Paragraphs [0015]-[0016], [0024]-[0025], [0033]-[0036], [0041], [0043]-[0049], [0052], [0062]-[0064], [0069]-[0070], [0085], [0108], [0115], [0117], [0127], [0138], [0149], [0157], [0159]-[0164], [0167]-[0169], [0173]-[0177], [0183], [0206]-[0207], [0210], [0232], [0251], [0255]). It is of note that the “co-transduction” of immune effector cells is defined as the simultaneous transduction of the immune effector cells with the separate viral vectors, as evidenced by Page 1 of the ThermoFisher Scientific reference.
With that, Ma et al generate immune cells expressing CARs, wherein the immune cells are transduced twice with a lentiviral vector encoding the same CAR. Ma et al further show double transduced T cells expressing an anti-CD5 CAR have decreased surface expression of CD5 compared to single transduced T cells expressing the anti-CD5 CAR (Paragraphs [0057]-[0058], [0303]; Figures 17-18). Thus, Ma et al establish that expressing the same CAR from two different vectors in the same immune cell increases the functional effect of a CAR.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Bedoya et al such that the first and second CARs are comprised within separate viral vectors, and simultaneously co-transduced as detailed in Yang et al. More specifically, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine Bedoya et al with Yang et al because Bedoya et al disclose the co-expression of the same CAR in an immune cell, wherein the CARs are encoded on viral vectors, and Yang et al disclose the co-transduction of viral vectors encoding the same chimeric immune receptors in immune cells. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to have the same CARs encoded within separate vectors for co-transduction, because Ma et al demonstrate expressing the same CAR from two separate vectors in a cell results in the increased functional effect of the expressed CAR. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G). The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of Bedoya et al and Yang et al are concerned with the transduction of immune effector cells with vectors comprising the same chimeric receptor and their co-expression, and Ma et al demonstrate co-expression of the same CAR increased a functional effect of the CAR.
Consequently, Boyega et al as modified by Yang et al as evidenced by ThermoFisher Scientific, and Ma et al render obvious a method of simultaneously transducing cells with two viral vectors (claim 6) to form a reaction mixture, wherein a first viral vector comprises a nucleic acid encoding a CAR and activity modulator, while a second viral vector comprises a nucleic acid encoding the same CAR. As the reaction mixture is a heterogeneous population of immune effector cells comprising either the first CAR and/or the second CAR, this therefore renders obvious the method of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 4: Following the discussion of claim 1, Boyega et al further disclose that the nucleic acid encoding the CAR can be operably linked to a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric chemokine receptor (Paragraph [0569]). As the chimeric chemokine receptor and CAR are under control of the same promoter (Paragraph [0569]), and the CAR can be under control of a constitutive promoter such that it is constitutively active (Paragraphs [0315], [0576], [0582]), this therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claim for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Claims 1-6 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedoya et al (US 2017/0137783, of record) in view of Yang et al (US 2012/0134970 A1, of record) as evidenced by ThermoFisher Scientific (Co-Transfection, 2023), and Ma et al (WO 2016/138491 A1, of record), and further in view of Jensen et al (US 2020/0181624 A1, of record).
The discussion of Bedoya et al in view of Yang et al and Ma et al regarding claim 1 can be observed above and is relied upon herein, the content of which is incorporated in its entirety. Bedoya et al as modified by Yang et al and Ma et al render obvious claims 1, 4, and 6. Jensen et al is considered prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), with an effective filing date of 12 December 2016.
Regarding claims 2-3: As aforementioned in the discussion of claim 1 above, Bedoya et al disclose a viral vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding an activity modulator that is linked to the nucleic acid that encodes for the CAR.
Bedoya et al further disclose that the agent can be an agent which inhibits a molecule that modulates or regulates – or inhibits – T cell function (Paragraph [0562]).
The combination of Bedoya et al, Yang et al, and Ma et al fail to teach that the activity regulator is dominant negative transforming growth factor beta receptor II or dominant negative SHP1 or SHP2, as required by instant claims 2-3.
Jensen et al, however, disclose a system for inducible expression of a chimeric antigen receptor in cells, such as mammalian cells, as well as methods of making such cells (Abstract).
As such, Jensen et al disclose the transduction of the cells with viral vectors, wherein a first viral vector comprises an encoded CAR operably linked to an inducible promoter and further comprises a nucleic acid encoding a modulator of checkpoint signaling and a marker gene, while a second viral vector comprises an encoded transcriptional activator operably linked to a constitutive promoter and further comprises an encoded CAR (Paragraphs [0210], [0213]-[0214], [0228]-[0229], [0231]-[0232], [0256]). Jensen et al further disclose that the modulators of checkpoint signaling include dominant negative transforming growth factor beta receptor II (dn-TGFbetaRII), or dominant negative SHP1 or SHP2 (dn-SHP1/2) (Paragraphs [0210], [0213]-[0214]).
Jensen et al further disclose that the viral vectors can be mixed together for transduction in a cell population (Paragraph [0231]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Bedoya et al in view of Yang et al and Ma et al such that the activity modulator is dn-TGFbetaRII or dn-SHP1/2, as detailed in Jenson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to include dn-TGFbetaRII or dn-SHP1/2 as the activity modulators, as they are genes that inhibit negative checkpoint signaling of the cells (Jensen et al: Paragraphs [0210], [0213]), and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of Bedoya et al and Jensen et al are concerned with the transduction of cells with vectors to form a reaction mixture. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Bedoya et al as modified by Yang et al as evidenced by ThermoFisher Scientific, Ma et al, and Jensen et al render obvious a method of simultaneously transducing cells, wherein the activity modulator linked to the CAR is dn-TGFbetaRII (claim 3) or dn-SHP1/2 (claim 2). This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 5: As aforementioned in the discussion of claim 1 above, Bedoya et al disclose a viral vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding an activity modulator that is linked to the nucleic acid that encodes for the CAR.
Bedoya et al further disclose that the agent can be an agent which inhibits a molecule that modulates or regulates – or inhibits – T cell function (Paragraph [0562]).
The combination of Bedoya et al, Yang et al, and Ma et al fail to teach that the mixture of viral vectors includes at least one viral vector that encodes an activity regulator is dominant negative transforming growth factor beta receptor II, and at least one viral vector that encodes an activity regulator that is dominant negative SHP1 or SHP2, as required by instant claim 5.
Jensen et al, however, disclose a viral vector comprising an encoded CAR operably linked to an inducible promoter and further comprising a nucleic acid encoding a modulator of checkpoint signaling (Paragraphs [0210], [0213]-[0214], [0228]-[0229], [0231]-[0232], [0256]). With that, Jensen et al disclose that the checkpoint signaling modulators can be either dn-TGFbetaRII or dn-SHP1/2 (Paragraphs [0210], [0213]-[0214]).
Jensen et al further disclose that one or more of vectors can be used in conjunction with one another to transduce target cells and provide for inducible expression of a chimeric antigen receptor (Paragraph [0236]). In addition, Jensen et al further disclose that one, two, or three or more alternatives may be combinable in whole or in part (Paragraph [0348]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Bedoya et al in view of Yang et al and Ma et al such that the viral vector mixture comprises at least one viral vector comprising an encoded CAR operably linked to an inducible promoter and further comprising a nucleic acid encoding dn-TGFbetaRII, and at least one viral vector comprising an encoded CAR operably linked to an inducible promoter and further comprising a nucleic acid encoding dn-SHP1/2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have recognized that the viral vector mixture can comprise vectors encoding both checkpoint signaling modulators, as Jensen et al disclose that the alternatives are combinable, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the disclosures of Bedoya et al and Jensen et al are concerned with the transduction of cells with vectors to form a reaction mixture, and Jensen et al reasonably suggest both the encoded checkpoint signaling modulators within embodiments of their invention (Paragraphs [0111], [0210], [0213]-[0214]). See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Consequently, Bedoya et al as modified by Yang et al as evidenced by ThermoFisher Scientific, Ma et al, and Jensen et al render obvious a method of simultaneously transducing cells with a mixture of viral vectors, wherein at least one viral vector encoding the CAR further comprises a nucleic acid encoding dn-TGFbetaRII and another viral vector encoding the CAR further comprises a nucleic acid encoding dn-SHP1/2. This therefore renders obvious the method of the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA G WESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633