DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 are pending in the application. In view of the Amendment, newly discover art, new error(s) found in the claims, and in the Non-Final Rejection dated 08/21/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. This new Non-Final Rejection is to replace/supersede the prior Final Rejection dated 08/29/2024.
This new Non-Final Rejection is to replace/supersede the prior Non-Final Rejection dated 08/21/2025. The new Non-Final Rejection office action is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “specific duration” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “specific duration” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The phrase “a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration” is overly broad since “specific duration” has no clear limit. Consider revising as recited in the specification – “compare the magnetic field density measured at two or more different time instants, and determine a change based on the comparison” [0027] and/or “Hall effect sensor may not need to measure the change in the magnetic field, but instead the controller may be configured to receive the sensor signal and compare the sensor signal value from at least two different time instants, thus determining a change based on the comparison” [0061] to provide clarity to “specific duration”. Examiner is interpreting the “specific duration” to be - - comparing two different time instants - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Philipp (US 5268622 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1).
Regarding claims 1, Philipp discloses trigger apparatus (23) for a power tool (drill, col. 1, lines 16-24, col. 2, lines 33-52, fig. 3) comprising a trigger (45) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (15) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output (17) of the power tool, (col. 2, lines 34-67, figs. 1-4);
the trigger apparatus comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (26) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal (speed control signal) for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, figs. 1-4);
an activation switch (24) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position; a controller (control circuit 10/S) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool (col. 3, lines 1-67- col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4); and
a power module (voltage supply circuit 30/motor speed control module 60) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor (26) and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (on/off switch),
wherein the controller (control circuit 10/S) is configured to continue to power the controller for a specific duration because when trigger is released removes power from the regulated power supply 30 and logic in the control circuit 10 and power is need to have some power for dynamic braking in which on/off switch 24 is bypassed by turning on the FET 92 to provide power for dynamic braking (col.13, lines 24-35). Philipp also teaches having with a RC timing circuit 62, 63 to determine how long the power is supplied, RC delay timing unit 80, 82 and motor speed control module 60 produces a variable time length (col. 5, lines 25-67) and sequencer in the motor speed control module 60 to imitate pulses on motor speed control (col. 6, lines 1-67) and having dynamic braking control (col. 8, lines 12-67). Philipp also teaches having reversing/off switch 21 (middle position (the disable position) of the switch 21) that removes any power to speed control module 60 (col.12, lines 3-20).
Philipp states: “In the middle position (the disable position) of the switch 21, the second movable contact 21" connects the control circuit ground CG to the disable line E and thereby to disable pin 10 of the motor speed control module 60 which positively prevents the module 60 from energizing the motor 15, as an additional safety factor. Thus, unless the reversing switch 21 is physically shifted by the operator from its disable position to either its forward or reverse position, the motor 15 cannot be run” (col.12, lines 3-20) … motor speed control module 60 handles all motor control functions (col.12, lines 43-45).
Philipp fails to disclose the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication.
Conrad et al. teaches having trigger (205) with electrical switch (215), position/hall sensor [0037], with a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]), configured to generate a second activation signal (sensors 310/ Hall-Effect sensors 310a, provide signals) for causing a power module (switching network 305) to continue to power a controller (180) for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication (wireless communication controller 330, data logging, tool data ([0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Given the teachings of Philipp to have a hall sensor/magnetic trigger control system with a power module, a reverse/power off switch, and a bypass braking circuit, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the control circuit and trigger system configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication, to have power conservation (reducing power consumption), safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms after use and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 13-14, Philipp teaches a magnetic element (MAG, fig. 4) for generating a magnetic field, the trigger apparatus is configured such that a movement of the trigger from the first position to the at least one second position causes a change in the magnetic field measured by the linear Hall effect sensor (26), the trigger apparatus (23) is configured such that the trigger being moved from the first position to the second position causes a corresponding change to a positional relationship between the magnetic element and the linear Hall effect sensor by way of movement of the trigger (col. 2, lines 59-67, col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, fig. 3-4).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Philipp teaches the power tool (drill, fig. 3) comprising: the trigger (23); an electric motor (15); and a power supply module (voltage supply circuit 30/motor speed control module 60) for receiving power from a power source (22) and configured to provide power to at least one of the power modules of the trigger apparatus and the electric motor, wherein the powered device is configured to operate the electric motor based on the sensor signal and trigger (23) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (15) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output of the power tool (col. 2, lines 59-67, col. 3, lines 1-67, fig. 3-4, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49);
the trigger apparatus (23) comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (26) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field (col. 2, lines 59-67, col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, fig. 3-4);
an activation switch (24) configured to generate an activation signal (on/off signal), when the trigger is moved from the first position; a controller (control circuit 10/S) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool; and
a power module (voltage supply circuit 30/motor speed control module 60) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor (26) and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Philipp teaches a drive circuit (control circuit 10) for driving the electric motor; wherein the trigger apparatus comprises a controller (voltage supply circuit 30/motor speed control module 60) configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit, based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch (24) is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor (col. 3, lines 1-42, col. 8, lines 12-67, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4). Philipp also teaches the controller (control circuit 10/S) is configured to continue to power the controller for a specific duration because when trigger is released removes power from the regulated power supply 30 and logic in the control circuit 10 and power is need to have some power for dynamic braking in which on/off switch 24 is bypassed by turning on the FET 92 to provide power for dynamic braking (col.13, lines 24-35). Philipp also teaches having with a RC timing circuit 62, 63 to determine how long the power is supplied, RC delay timing unit 80, 82 and motor speed control module 60 produces a variable time length (col. 5, lines 25-67) and sequencer in the motor speed control module 60 to imitate pulses on motor speed control (col. 6, lines 1-67) and having dynamic braking control (col. 8, lines 12-67). Philipp also teaches having reversing/off switch 21 (middle position (the disable position) of the switch 21) that removes any power to speed control module 60 (col.12, lines 3-20).
If argued that Philipp does not teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor–
Conrad et al. teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057] and a wireless communication controller 330 for data logging, tool data ([0057], fig. 8), to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor ([0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Given the teachings of Philipp to have a hall sensor/magnetic trigger control system with a power module, a secondary power off switch, and a separate braking circuit to process signals,, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to include a teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor to have a safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al.
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 16-19, Philipp teaches the trigger apparatus (23) is operable by the user to reversibly move between the first position and the at least one second position; the power module is configured to stop powering the linear Hall effect sensor upon reception of a deactivation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be deactivated (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position and configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position, wherein the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, the activation switch is configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; the controller is configured to receive the deactivation signal from the activation switch and transmit a second deactivation signal to the power module; and the power module is configured to stop powering the controller upon reception of the second deactivation signal (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor and second return would be second deactivation signal, (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, Philipp teaches the linear Hall effect sensor (26) is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably (range of levels, analog) controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field (col. 3, lines 1-15, col. 7, lines 1-67, col. 11, lines 3-29, figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 22, Philipp teaches the power tool is a sander, polisher, grinder, drill or benchtop saw (chuck for variety of tools including drill and saw, (col. 1, lines 16-24, col. 2, lines 33-52, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Philipp teaches the activation switch (24) is not a power switch that connects a power source to components of the trigger apparatus (on/off hall sensor switch with bypass power circuit, (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4) with the bypass for dynamic braking (col.13, lines 24-35). Philipp also teaches having with a RC timing circuit 62, 63 to determine how long the power is supplied, RC delay timing unit 80, 82 and motor speed control module 60 produces a variable time length (col. 5, lines 25-67).
Regarding claim 24, Philipp teaches the controller is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position (control circuit 10/S) is configured to continue to power the controller for a specific duration because when trigger is released removes power from the regulated power supply 30 and logic in the control circuit 10 and power is need to have some power for dynamic braking in which on/off switch 24 is bypassed by turning on the FET 92 to provide power for dynamic braking (col.13, lines 24-35). Philipp also teaches having with a RC timing circuit 62, 63 to determine how long the power is supplied, RC delay timing unit 80, 82 and motor speed control module 60 produces a variable time length (col. 5, lines 25-67) and sequencer in the motor speed control module 60 to imitate pulses on motor speed control (col. 6, lines 1-67) and having dynamic braking control (col. 8, lines 12-67). Philipp also teaches having reversing/off switch 21 (middle position (the disable position) of the switch 21) that removes any power to speed control module 60 (col.12, lines 3-20).
Conrad et al. also teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]) is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position ([0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1) and further in view of Philipp (US 5268622 A).
Regarding claims 1, Pitzen et al. discloses trigger apparatus (40) for a power tool (10) comprising a trigger (45) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (12) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output of the power tool, (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2);
the trigger apparatus comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (54) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal (speed control signal) for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field;
an activation switch (52) configured to generate an activation signal (on/off signal), when the trigger is moved from the first position; a controller (motor control circuitry/electronic printed circuit board col. 8, lines 30-34) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool; and
a power module (standby mode/motor drive circuitry) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (on/off signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Pitzen et al. states: “benefit of disabling the motor drive circuitry and the speed control hall sensor 54 is that the electrical power required by the device 10 is significantly reduced during periods when the trigger assembly 40 is not depressed. This current reduction during a standby mode improves energy efficiency of the device 10. In this manner, the device 10 may optionally include a battery saver feature” (col. 7, lines 12-19).
Pitzen et al. fails to disclose the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication.
Conrad et al. teaches having trigger (205) with electrical switch (215), position/hall sensor [0037], with a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]), configured to generate a second activation signal (sensors 310/ Hall-Effect sensors 310a, provide signals) for causing a power module (switching network 305) to continue to power a controller (180) for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication (wireless communication controller 330, data logging, tool data ([0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Philipp teaches a controller (control circuit 10/S) is configured to continue to power the controller for a specific duration because when trigger is released removes power from the regulated power supply 30 and logic in the control circuit 10 and power is need to have some power for dynamic braking in which on/off switch 24 is bypassed by turning on the FET 92 to provide power for dynamic braking (col.13, lines 24-35). Philipp also teaches having with a RC timing circuit 62, 63 to determine how long the power is supplied, RC delay timing unit 80, 82 and motor speed control module 60 produces a variable time length (col. 5, lines 25-67) and sequencer in the motor speed control module 60 to imitate pulses on motor speed control (col. 6, lines 1-67) and having dynamic braking control (col. 8, lines 12-67). Philipp also teaches having reversing/off switch 21 (middle position (the disable position) of the switch 21) that removes any power to speed control module 60 (col.12, lines 3-20).
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have a hall sensor/magnetic trigger control system with a power module, the controller having an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the controller/microprocessor and trigger system configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication, to have power conservation (reducing power consumption), safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al. and Philipp.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 13-14, Pitzen et al. teaches a magnetic element (44) for generating a magnetic field, the trigger apparatus is configured such that a movement of the trigger from the first position to the at least one second position causes a change in the magnetic field measured by the linear Hall effect sensor (54), the trigger apparatus is configured such that the trigger being moved from the first position to the second position causes a corresponding change to a positional relationship between the magnetic element and the linear Hall effect sensor by way of movement of the trigger (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Pitzen et al. teaches the power tool (10) comprising: the trigger (45); an electric motor (12); and a power supply module for receiving power from a power source and configured to provide power to at least one of the power modules of the trigger apparatus and the electric motor, wherein the powered device is configured to operate the electric motor based on the sensor signal (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2) and trigger (45) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (12) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output of the power tool, (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2);
the trigger apparatus comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (54) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal (speed control signal) for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field;
an activation switch (52) configured to generate an activation signal (on/off signal), when the trigger is moved from the first position; a controller (motor control circuitry/electronic printed circuit board col. 8, lines 30-34) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool; and
a power module (standby mode/motor drive circuitry) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (on/off signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Pitzen et al. teaches a drive circuit (electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board) for driving the electric motor; wherein the trigger apparatus comprises a controller (electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board) configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit, based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch (52) is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
If argued that Pitzen et al. does not teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor–
Conrad et al. teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057] and a wireless communication controller 330 for data logging, tool data ([0057], fig. 8), to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor ([0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Philipp teaches the a trigger apparatus (23) is operable by the user to reversibly move between the first position and the at least one second position; the power module is configured to stop powering the linear Hall effect sensor upon reception of a deactivation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be deactivated (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position and configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position, wherein the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, the activation switch is configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; the controller is configured to receive the deactivation signal from the activation switch and transmit a second deactivation signal to the power module; and the power module is configured to stop powering the controller upon reception of the second deactivation signal (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor and second return would be second deactivation signal, (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to include a teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor to have a safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al. and Philipp.
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 16-19, Pitzen et al. teaches the trigger apparatus (40) is operable by the user to reversibly move between the first position and the at least one second position; the power module is configured to stop powering the linear Hall effect sensor upon reception of a deactivation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be deactivated (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position and configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position, wherein the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, the activation switch is configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; the controller is configured to receive the deactivation signal from the activation switch and transmit a second deactivation signal to the power module; and the power module is configured to stop powering the controller upon reception of the second deactivation signal (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor and second return would be second deactivation signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Pitzen et al. teaches the linear Hall effect sensor (54) is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably (range of levels) controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Pitzen et al. teaches the power tool is a sander, polisher, grinder, drill or benchtop saw (chuck for variety of tools including drill and saw, col. 1, lines 10-35, col. 2, lines 45-67, col. 5, lines 61-67, col. 6, lines 1-24, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Pitzen et al. teaches the activation switch (52) is not a power switch that connects a power source to components of the trigger apparatus (on/off hall sensor switch, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, Pitzen et al. teaches the controller is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2). Conrad et al. also teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]) is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position ([0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1) in view of Philipp (US 5268622 A) and further in view of Philipp (US 20140232316 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Pitzen et al. teaches having electric switches, circuits, and an electronic printed circuit board will have switches col. 8, lines 25-34). Conrad et al. also teaches the activation switch with micro members (printed circuit board (PCB) 165, microcontroller, a digital signal processor [0032-0033, 0096]). Kübeler et al. also teaches having different types of switches (momentary electrical switch [0052] and microcontroller [0111])
Pitzen et al. fails to teach the activation switch is a microswitch and if argued Pitzen et al. fails to teach the linear Hall effect sensor is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field-
Philipp teaches a similar trigger apparatus (33) for a powered device [0075, 0090-0091], comprising a trigger (46/47) with a linear Hall effect sensor (66/70, 68/72) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position (hall sensors 66/70, 68/72 [0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 4-6) and configured to generate a sensor signal for controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field ([0128-0130], figs. 4-6); a power module configured to power (MCC voltage source [0121, 0129, 0160]) the linear Hall effect sensor (regulator 176 powers hall sensors 68/72 [0121, 0160]), upon reception of an activation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be activated ([0121, 0129, 0160], figs. 4-6); and an activation switch that is a microswitch [0395-0399] configured to generate the activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position ([0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 1-6) and the trigger (150) with linear Hall effect sensor (212) mounted on a PCB assembly (82) configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal (signal or sensor output signal to microcontroller 284) for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field [0093-0094].
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the activation switch to be a microswitch to have a more compact/fast switch combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for storing usage data/algorithms purposes as taught by Philipp and to modify the Hall effect sensor to be a linear Hall effect sensor configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for controlling the speed in a more precise manner and easier/ergonomic speed control as taught by Philipp.
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Philipp (US 5268622 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1) and further in view of Philipp (US 20140232316 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Philipp teaches having electric switches, circuits, and control electrode (gate), field effect transistor (FET) switches. Conrad et al. also teaches the activation switch with micro members (printed circuit board (PCB) 165, microcontroller, a digital signal processor [0032-0033, 0096]). Kübeler et al. also teaches having different types of switches (momentary electrical switch [0052] and microcontroller [0111])
Philipp fails to teach the activation switch is a microswitch and if argued Philipp fails to teach the linear Hall effect sensor is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field-
Philipp teaches a similar trigger apparatus (33) for a powered device [0075, 0090-0091], comprising a trigger (46/47) with a linear Hall effect sensor (66/70, 68/72) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position (hall sensors 66/70, 68/72 [0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 4-6) and configured to generate a sensor signal for controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field ([0128-0130], figs. 4-6); a power module configured to power (MCC voltage source [0121, 0129, 0160]) the linear Hall effect sensor (regulator 176 powers hall sensors 68/72 [0121, 0160]), upon reception of an activation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be activated ([0121, 0129, 0160], figs. 4-6); and an activation switch that is a microswitch [0395-0399] configured to generate the activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position ([0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 1-6) and the trigger (150) with linear Hall effect sensor (212) mounted on a PCB assembly (82) configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal (signal or sensor output signal to microcontroller 284) for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field [0093-0094].
Given the teachings of Philipp to have electric switches, circuits, and control electrode (gate), field effect transistor (FET) switches, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the activation switch to be a microswitch to have a more compact/fast switch combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for storing usage data/algorithms purposes as taught by Philipp and to modify the Hall effect sensor to be a linear Hall effect sensor configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for controlling the speed in a more precise manner and easier/ergonomic speed control as taught by Philipp.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20040024361 A1- trigger with linear Hall sensor generate an analog output voltage which is proportional to the magnetic flux
US 20220134532 A1 analog and linear hall sensors to measure flux as function of trigger position and see references cited, form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731