DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1) and further in view of Slate et al. (US 20020188419 A1).
Regarding claims 1, Pitzen et al. discloses trigger apparatus (40) for a power tool (10) comprising a trigger (45) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (12) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output of the power tool, (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2);
the trigger apparatus comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (54) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal (speed control signal) for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field;
an activation switch (52) configured to generate an activation signal (on/off signal), when the trigger is moved from the first position and a first deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; a controller (motor control circuitry/electronic printed circuit board col. 8, lines 30-34) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool; and
a power module (standby mode/motor drive circuitry) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (on/off signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Pitzen et al. states: “benefit of disabling the motor drive circuitry and the speed control hall sensor 54 is that the electrical power required by the device 10 is significantly reduced during periods when the trigger assembly 40 is not depressed. This current reduction during a standby mode improves energy efficiency of the device 10. In this manner, the device 10 may optionally include a battery saver feature” (col. 7, lines 12-19).
Pitzen et al. fails to disclose the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a period of time ending upon expiry of a timer in the power module, the second activation signal causing the timer to be reset, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication.
Conrad et al. teaches having trigger (205) with electrical switch (215), position/hall sensor [0037], with a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]), configured to generate a second activation signal (sensors 310/ Hall-Effect sensors 310a, provide signals) for causing a power module (switching network 305) to continue to power a controller (180) for a specific duration, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication (wireless communication controller 330, data logging, tool data ([0050-0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Slate et al. teaches having a trigger activation signal via switches (14- trigger release switch and an end-of-stroke switch) that is asserted to allow a controller (microprocessor 12/injector vacuum control 10/RAM 18) to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication when trigger cycle completed (abstract, 0026-0027, 0031, 0038, 0047-0051], figs. 1-9).
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have a hall sensor/magnetic trigger control system with a power module, the controller having an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a period of time ending upon expiry of a timer in the power module, the second activation signal causing the timer to be reset, and wherein the second activation signal is asserted to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication to allow the controller to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication, to have power conservation (reducing power consumption), safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al. and Slate et al.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 13-14, Pitzen et al. teaches a magnetic element (44) for generating a magnetic field, the trigger apparatus is configured such that a movement of the trigger from the first position to the at least one second position causes a change in the magnetic field measured by the linear Hall effect sensor (54), the trigger apparatus is configured such that the trigger being moved from the first position to the second position causes a corresponding change to a positional relationship between the magnetic element and the linear Hall effect sensor by way of movement of the trigger (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Pitzen et al. teaches the power tool (10) comprising: the trigger (45); an electric motor (12); and a power supply module for receiving power from a power source and configured to provide power to at least one of the power modules of the trigger apparatus and the electric motor, wherein the powered device is configured to operate the electric motor based on the sensor signal (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2) and trigger (45) operable by a user to move from a first position to at least one second position so as to control a rotation speed of an electric motor (12) of the power tool to control a speed of a rotary output of the power tool, (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2);
the trigger apparatus comprising: a linear Hall effect sensor (54) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position, and configured to generate a sensor signal (speed control signal) for controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field;
an activation switch (52) configured to generate an activation signal (on/off signal), when the trigger is moved from the first position; a controller (motor control circuitry/electronic printed circuit board col. 8, lines 30-34) for receiving the sensor signal and for generating one or more control signals to control the rotation speed of the electric motor to thereby control the speed of the rotary output of the power tool; and
a power module (standby mode/motor drive circuitry) configured to power the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller upon reception of the activation signal (on/off signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Pitzen et al. teaches a drive circuit (electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board) for driving the electric motor; wherein the trigger apparatus comprises a controller (electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board) configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit, based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch (52) is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
If argued that Pitzen et al. does not teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor–
Conrad et al. teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057] and a wireless communication controller 330 for data logging, tool data ([0057], fig. 8), to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor ([0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Philipp teaches the a trigger apparatus (23) is operable by the user to reversibly move between the first position and the at least one second position; the power module is configured to stop powering the linear Hall effect sensor upon reception of a deactivation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be deactivated (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position and configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position, wherein the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, the activation switch is configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; the controller is configured to receive the deactivation signal from the activation switch and transmit a second deactivation signal to the power module; and the power module is configured to stop powering the controller upon reception of the second deactivation signal (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor and second return would be second deactivation signal, (col. 3, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 33-67, col. 11, lines 1-49, figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to include a teach a drive circuit for driving the electric motor and the trigger apparatus comprises a controller configured to generate one or more control signals to control the drive circuit based on the sensor signal; and the activation switch is configured to disable at least one input of the drive circuit when the trigger is at the first position so as to interrupt an operation of the electric motor to have a safety shut off, for storing/recording usage data/algorithms and/or timed operation/modes purposes as taught by Conrad et al. and Philipp.
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 16-19, Pitzen et al. teaches the trigger apparatus (40) is operable by the user to reversibly move between the first position and the at least one second position; the power module is configured to stop powering the linear Hall effect sensor upon reception of a deactivation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be deactivated (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor) configured to generate an activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position and configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position, wherein the controller is configured to generate a second activation signal for causing the power module to continue to power the controller for a specific duration, the activation switch is configured to generate the deactivation signal when the trigger is moved to the first position; the controller is configured to receive the deactivation signal from the activation switch and transmit a second deactivation signal to the power module; and the power module is configured to stop powering the controller upon reception of the second deactivation signal (trigger position turns on/ff hall effect sensor and second return would be second deactivation signal, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Pitzen et al. teaches the linear Hall effect sensor (54) is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably (range of levels) controlling the rotation speed of the electric motor based on the change in the magnetic field (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Pitzen et al. teaches the power tool is a sander, polisher, grinder, drill or benchtop saw (chuck for variety of tools including drill and saw, col. 1, lines 10-35, col. 2, lines 45-67, col. 5, lines 61-67, col. 6, lines 1-24, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Pitzen et al. teaches the activation switch (52) is not a power switch that connects a power source to components of the trigger apparatus (on/off hall sensor switch, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, Pitzen et al. teaches the controller is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position (col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 6, lines 40-67, col. 7, lines 1-40, figs. 1-2). Conrad et al. also teaches a controller (electronic processor 180/microcontroller, digital signal processor [0033-0045, 0057]) is configured to generate the second activation signal: (i) periodically to reset a timer triggered by the activation signal whether the linear Hall effect sensor and the controller are to be powered, and/or (ii) upon the trigger being moved back to the first position ([0057, 0077-0079], figs. 8 and 16), record mode/timed mode, [0006-0008, 0043-0092, figs. 1-23).
Claim(s) 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pitzen et al. (US 5553675 A) in view of Conrad et al. (US 20170083014 A1) in view of Slate et al. (US 20020188419 A1) and further in view of Philipp (US 20140232316 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Pitzen et al. teaches having electric switches, circuits, and an electronic printed circuit board will have switches col. 8, lines 25-34). Conrad et al. also teaches the activation switch with micro members (printed circuit board (PCB) 165, microcontroller, a digital signal processor [0032-0033, 0096]). Kübeler et al. also teaches having different types of switches (momentary electrical switch [0052] and microcontroller [0111])
Pitzen et al. fails to teach the activation switch is a microswitch and if argued Pitzen et al. fails to teach the linear Hall effect sensor is configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field-
Slate et al. teaches having a microcomputer system with switches (14- trigger release switch and an end-of-stroke switch [0011, 0026, 0030, 0042-0045]) that is asserted to allow a controller (microprocessor 12/injector vacuum control 10/RAM 18) to perform processing for data logging or wireless communication when trigger cycle completed (abstract, 0026-0027, 0031, 0038, 0047-0051], figs. 1-9).
Philipp teaches a similar trigger apparatus (33) for a powered device [0075, 0090-0091], comprising a trigger (46/47) with a linear Hall effect sensor (66/70, 68/72) for measuring a change in a magnetic field associated with the trigger being moved from the first position to the at least one second position (hall sensors 66/70, 68/72 [0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 4-6) and configured to generate a sensor signal for controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field ([0128-0130], figs. 4-6); a power module configured to power (MCC voltage source [0121, 0129, 0160]) the linear Hall effect sensor (regulator 176 powers hall sensors 68/72 [0121, 0160]), upon reception of an activation signal for indicating that the trigger apparatus is to be activated ([0121, 0129, 0160], figs. 4-6); and an activation switch that is a microswitch [0395-0399] configured to generate the activation signal, when the trigger is moved from the first position ([0082-0083, 0128-0130], figs. 1-6) and the trigger (150) with linear Hall effect sensor (212) mounted on a PCB assembly (82) configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal (signal or sensor output signal to microcontroller 284) for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field [0093-0094].
Given the teachings of Pitzen et al. to have an electrical circuit/electronic printed circuit board to process signals and Slate et al. with having a microcomputer system with switches, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the activation switch to be a microswitch to have a more compact/fast switch combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for storing usage data/algorithms purposes as taught by Philipp and to modify the Hall effect sensor to be a linear Hall effect sensor configured to generate a non-binary sensor signal for variably controlling the operation of the powered device based on the change in the magnetic field combined with the trigger and/or circuit/circuit board, and/or for controlling the speed in a more precise manner and easier/ergonomic speed control as taught by Philipp.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 16-19, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20040024361 A1- trigger with linear Hall sensor generate an analog output voltage which is proportional to the magnetic flux
US 20220134532 A1 analog and linear hall sensors to measure flux as function of trigger position
US 20200252774 A1 processor 226 interfacing with the trigger 212 to perform data logging and see references cited, form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731