DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 15 and 21 as well as cancelation of claims 2, and 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-13, 15 and 17-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, 13, 17-18, and 20-21 recites the limitation "the cover layer" in pages 2-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-12, 15, and 19 are rejected due to their dependency with claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Ho (US Patent US-6174747-B1) in the view of Gerhard (US Patent US-11336078-B2), hereinafter Gerhard.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a semiconductor laser diode (Fig. 2g laser device), comprising a semiconductor layer sequence grown in a vertical direction (Fig. 2g layers 40, 42-46 are semiconductor layers grown in “y” direction, see annotated figure below & column 2 lines 50-55) and having an active layer (Fig. 2g quantum-well active layer 44) that is configured and provided to generate light during operation (it is inherent that layer 44 is configured and provided to generate light during operation) in at least one active region (annotated figure 2g represents the active region) extending in a longitudinal direction (it is inherent that device in Fig. 2g has a “z” direction; therefore quantum-well active layer 44 generates light in the z direction, see annotated figure below.), and
a transparent electrically conductive cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) on the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is on semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46), wherein
the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g layer sequence 40, 42-46) terminates in a vertical direction (annotated figure below “y” direction) with a top side (Fig. 2g top side of ridge formed by layer 46 & 48), and the top side (Fig. 2g top side of ridge formed by layers 46 & 48) comprises a contact region (Fig. 2g the p-GaInP reduced layer 48) arranged in the vertical direction (arrange in “y” direction) above the active region (Fig. 2g layer 48 are above the active region indicated in the annotated figure below)
and at least one cover region (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure below) directly adjoining the contact region in a lateral direction perpendicular to the vertical and longitudinal directions (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46 directly adjoins layers 48 and 50 in “x-z” directions),
the cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) is applied contiguously on the top side to the contact region (Fig. 2g layer 56 is on top side of layer 48) and the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g layer 56 is on the top side of the bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure below),
the cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) is applied directly to the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is applied directly to the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46) at least in the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is applied directly at the bottom sides of 46),
at least one element defining the at least one active region (Fig. 2g portion of lateral edges of the active region indicated in the annotated figure below ) is present which is covered by the cover layer (Fig. 2g portion of lateral edges of the active region are covered by the bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure below), and
the semiconductor laser diode is free of dielectric materials on the top side (Fig. 2g top side of the ridge formed by 46 & 48 is free of dielectric materials since all layers are semiconductor materials see column 2 lines 50-55), wherein the semiconductor laser diode has no dielectric material at all on the top side or any side of the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46 are dielectric free) and the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46) terminates laterally (Fig. 2g ends of layer sequence 40, 42-46, see annotated figure below) with the at least one cover region on a side of the at least one cover region facing away from the contact region (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46 are on the sides of the end layer sequence 40, 42-46 facing away layer 48).
and wherein the cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) comprises a first layer comprising a first transparent conductive oxide at least in the contact region (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is located in region of layer 48).
Ho fails to teach wherein the cover layer comprises a second layer comprising a second transparent conductive oxide different from the first transparent conductive oxide in the at least one cover region, and the second transparent conductive oxide is at least partially covered by the first transparent conductive oxide such that the first layer covers the second layer in the at least one cover region and the second transparent conductive oxide has a lower optical absorption than the first transparent conductive oxide.
However, Gerhard teaches the cover layer (Fig. 5b first cladding layer 4) comprises a first layer comprising a first transparent conductive oxide (Fig. 5b region 42 is made of ZnO, see column 14 lines 62-63) at least in the contact region (Fig. 5b region 42 is located at contact layer 21) and a second layer comprising a second transparent conductive oxide (Fig. 5b region 41 is made of ITO, see column 14 lines 62-63) different from the first transparent conductive oxide (Fig. 5b region 41 is made of ITO while region 42 made of ZnO, see column 14 lines 62-63), and the second transparent conductive oxide is at least partially covered by the first transparent conductive oxide (Fig. 5b region 41 is partially covered by region 42) such that the first layer covers the second layer (Fig. 5b region 42 covers region 41 at second surface partial region 242) and the second transparent conductive oxide (Fig. 5b region 41) has a lower optical absorption than the first transparent conductive oxide (column 14 lines 39-63 states “Furthermore, the electrical contact layer 14 can comprise or be made of a material which has a higher electrical contact resistance than the material of the first cladding layer 4 so that a poor current injection can be achieved in combination with a high optical absorption in these regions…. A similar effect can also be achieved, for example, in a modification corresponding to the example of FIG. 5 with ITO in the first regions 41 and ZnO in the second regions 42.” Therefore, region 41 in fig. 5b has a lower optical absorption than region 42 since the presence of ZnO in partial region 242 forms a high optical absorption in 242 regions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ho with a second layer comprising a second transparent conductive oxide different from the first transparent conductive oxide in the at least one cover region as taught by Gerhard (e.g. having a layer of ZnO on top of ITO layer 56 from Ho where ZnO is located in the at least bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure above) because it would allow to have regions with high optical absorption (from Gerhard column 14 lines 39-63).
Regarding claim 3, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1, wherein a metallic contact element (from Ho Fig. 2g metal layer 58) is arranged on the side of the cover layer facing away from the semiconductor layer sequence (from Ho Fig. 2g metal layer 58 is arranged on the top side of ITO 56 facing away from the semiconductor sequence 40, 42-46).
Regarding claim 4, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to clam 3, wherein the contact element (from Ho Fig. 2g metal layer 58) is a bonding layer for wire bonding or soldering on the semiconductor laser diode (from Ho column 2 lines 25-30 states “this invention forms an oxide semiconductor having a heavy carrier concentration thereon after finishing the basic structure of a ridge waveguide semiconductor light-emitting device, then forms a metal layer for interconnection”; therefore metal layer 58 is a bonding layer for wire bonding or soldering on semiconductor layers 40, 42-46).
Regarding claim 5, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1, wherein the at least one element defining the active region (from Ho Fig. 2g edges of the ridge formed by layer 46 also defines the active region since current flows through the ridge, see column 2 lines 10-16) comprises a ridge formed in the contact region of the top side (from Ho Fig. 2g ridge formed by layers 46, & 48).
Regarding claim 6, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 5, wherein the ridge (from Ho Fig. 2g ridged formed by 46, & 48) is formed by a part of the semiconductor layer sequence (from Ho Fig. 2g layer 46 is part of the semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46).
Regarding claim 7, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 5, wherein the ridge (from Ho Fig. 2g ridged formed by 46, & 48) forms a ridge waveguide structure for index guidance of the light generated in the active region (from Ho column 4 lines 11-14 states “the method of this invention can be more easily applied to fabricate a ridge waveguide semiconductor light-emitting device ”; Fig. 3 shows the optical output of the ridge waveguide device from Fig. 2g).
Regarding claim 9, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 6, wherein the ridge (from Ho Fig. 2g ridged formed by 46, & 48) comprises a transparent electrically conductive contact layer (from Ho Fig. 2g ridged formed by 46, & 48 comprises ITO layer 56).
Regarding claim 13, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1, wherein a metallic contact layer or a transparent electrically conductive contact layer (from Ho Fig. 12 p-GaAs cap layer 50), which is covered by the cover layer (from Ho Fig. 12 layer 50 is covered by 56), is arranged directly adjacent to the top side in the contact region (from Ho Fig. 12 layer 50 is adjacent to the top side of 48) on the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence (from Ho Fig. 12 layer 50 is on the top side of semiconductor sequence 40, 42-46).
Regarding claim 15, Ho modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1; wherein the second layer is arranged only in the at least one cover region (from Ho modified device would have ZnO from Gerhard on top of ITO layer 56 from Ho where ZnO is located in the at least bottom sides of 46).
Regarding claim 17, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of contact regions are present on the top side, a plurality of active regions are present in the active layer during operation, and a respective contact region is arranged above each of the active regions in the vertical direction, the contact regions are separated from each other by cover regions of a plurality of cover regions, and a plurality of elements defining the active regions are present which are covered by the cover layer (from Ho column 4 lines 15-19 states “although a semiconductor light-emitting device having a single ridge waveguide is described in the above embodiment, the method of this invention can be used to fabricate a device having a plurality of ridge waveguides”; therefore, duplication of Fig. 2g would have plurality of contact regions 48 are present on the top side, a plurality of active regions, like illustrated in claim 1, are present in the active layer, 44, during operation; and a respective contact region, 48, is arranged above each of the active regions in the vertical direction, 48 is above 44, the contact regions are separated from each other by cover regions of a plurality of cover regions, 48 separated by bottom side of 46 as per annotated figure in claim 1, and a plurality of elements defining the active regions are present which are covered by the cover layer, portion of active region lateral edges covered by 56).
Regarding claim 18, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 17, wherein the cover layer is arranged contiguously over the plurality of contact regions and the plurality of cover regions (from Ho column 4 lines 15-19 states “although a semiconductor light-emitting device having a single ridge waveguide is described in the above embodiment, the method of this invention can be used to fabricate a device having a plurality of ridge waveguides”; therefore duplication of Fig. 2g would result of cover layer, 56. is arranged contiguously over the plurality of contact regions, plurality of 48, and the plurality of cover regions, bottom sides 46 as illustrate in annotated figure in claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 17, wherein the cover layer is divided into sections separated from each other and each of said sections is associated with an active region (from Ho column 4 lines 15-19 states “although a semiconductor light-emitting device having a single ridge waveguide is described in the above embodiment, the method of this invention can be used to fabricate a device having a plurality of ridge waveguides”; therefore duplication of Fig. 2g would result the cover layer, 56, is divided into sections separated from each other, separation of 56 being defined by the bottom side of 46 as per annotated figure in claim 1, and each of said sections is associated with an active region, each section would define an active region as per annotated figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ho’s modified device teaches a method of manufacturing semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1, in which the semiconductor layer sequence (from Ho Fig. 2g semiconductor sequence 40, 42-46) having the active layer (from Ho Fig. 2g active layer 44) and the top side (from Ho Fig. 2g top side of the ridge formed by 46 & 48) with the contact region (from Ho Fig. 2g 48) and the at least one cover region is provided (from Ho Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure in claim 1), the at least one element defining the active region is formed (from Ho Fig. 2g active region, see annotated figure in claim 1), and the cover layer (from Ho Fig. 2g 56) is applied contiguously to the contact region (from Ho Fig. 2g 56 is applied contiguously to layer 48) and the at least one cover region (from Ho Fig. 2g 56 is applied contiguously to bottom side of 46, see annotated figure in claim 1).
Claim 8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US Patent US-6174747-B1) in the view of Gerhard (US Patent US-11336078-B2), as per claims 1 and 5, in further view of Ohno (US Patent US-20140014998-A1), hereinafter Ohno.
Regarding claim 8, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 5, comprises a ridge (from Ho Fig. 2g ridge formed by 46 & 48).
Ho modified device fails to teach the ridge has a height which is so small that no index guidance of the light generated in the active region is caused by the ridge.
However, Ohno teaches in Fig. 7 very thin mesa structure #20X with a thickness preferable of 10nm, see paragraph [00119]. Therefore, mesa #20X is almost a flat ridge. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ho’s device in the view of Gerhard with a very thin ridge as taught by Ohno because it would increase the efficiency (from Ohno [0119] “If the distance between the upper surface and the lower surface of the mesa structure 20X is 50 nm or more, light distribution is drawn to the upper portion of the mesa structure 20X and spatially different from the light-emitting portion, thereby causing a decrease in efficiency”).
Regarding claim 11, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 1.
Ho fails to teach wherein the at least one element defining the active region comprises a damaged semiconductor structure in the at least one cover region, and wherein the damaged semiconductor structure comprises semiconductor material which is damaged by plasma and/or ion bombardment.
However, Ohno teaches a semiconductor layer sequence grown in a vertical direction (for example Fig .3 shows the cross section of the semiconductor layers where layers #10-#16 are formed sequentially on the c-axis direction which is normal vector of the (0001) plane, see paragraphs [0064] and [0053]) defining the active region (for example Fig. 3 the side edges of mesa structure #20 may be an element defining the area of light distribution #60 from Fig. 4 – see figure below) comprises a damaged semiconductor structure in the at least one cover region (for example Fig. 4 light distribution #60 comprises a high-resistive surface #15s; paragraph [0057] states “the cladding electrode 22 is in Schottky contact with the side portion of the p-type cladding layer 15 located at each side of the mesa structure 20 -see a high-resistive surface 15s in FIG. 3-”; “the upper surface of the side portion of the p-type cladding layer 15 located at each side of the mesa structure 20 is exposed to chlorine-based plasma, and becomes the high-resistive surface 15s”; therefore high-resistive surface 15s can be called a damaged semiconductor structure); and wherein the damaged semiconductor structure (Fig. 3 high resistivity surface #15s) comprises semiconductor material (Fig. 3 high resistivity surface #15s comprises a semiconductor material, see paragraph [0071] ) which is damaged by plasma and/or ion bombardment (paragraph [0076] states “ the upper surface of the side portion of the p-type cladding layer 15 located at each side of the mesa structure 20 is exposed to chlorine-based plasma, and becomes the high-resistive surface 15s.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ho’s device in the view of Gerhard by having a damaged semiconductor structure in the at least one cover region (e.g. having bottom sides of 46 from Ho being exposed to plasma as taught by Ohno ) as taught by Ohno because cover regions would have a high-resistance surface allowing the current to flow only through the mesa (from Ohno paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 11, wherein the damaged semiconductor structure (from Ohno Fig. 3 15s) is formed at the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence (from Ohno Fig. 3 15s is formed at the top side of semiconductor layer sequence 10-16).
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US Patent US-6174747-B1) in the view of Gerhard (US Patent US-11336078-B2), as per claim 5, in further view of Cohen (Foreign Patent CN-102099976-B) hereinafter Cohen.
Regarding claim 10, Ho’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser diode according to claim 5.
Ho modified device fails to teach the ridge is formed by a transparent electrically conductive contact layer formed by a transparent conductive oxide.
However, Cohen teaches a semiconductor laser device (for example Fig. laser device #5) having a ridge formed by a transparent electrically conductive contact layer formed by a transparent conductive oxide (for example Fig. 5 ridge #504 made of indium tin oxide ITO, see paragraph [0045] from the translated document).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ho’s device in the view of Gerhard with a ridge made of TCO as taught by Cohen because having a ridge made of TCO may reduce the fabrication steps because etching steps would be eliminating to form a ridge; in addition, prior art has demonstrated TCO is suitable for the intended purpose of functioning as a ridge waveguide (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US Patent US-6174747-B1) in the view of Cohen (Foreign Patent CN-102099976-B), hereinafter Cohen, and Gerhard (US Patent US-11336078-B2) hereinafter Gerhard.
Regarding claim 21, Ho teaches a semiconductor laser diode (Fig. 2g laser device), comprising:
a semiconductor layer sequence grown in a vertical direction Fig. 2g layers 40, 42-46 are semiconductor layers grown in “y” direction, see annotated figure below & column 2 lines 50-55) and having an active layer (Fig. 2g quantum-well active layer 44) that is configured and provided to generate light during operation (it is inherent that layer 44 is configured and provided to generate light during operation) in at least one active region (annotated figure 2g in claim 1 represents the active region) extending in a longitudinal direction (it is inherent that device in Fig. 2g has a “z” direction; therefore quantum-well active layer 44 generates light in the z direction, see annotated figure in claim 1); and
a transparent electrically conductive cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) on the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is on semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46), wherein
the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g layer sequence 40, 42-46) terminates in a vertical direction (annotated figure in claim 1 “y” direction) with a top side (Fig. 2g top side of ridge formed by layer 46 & 48), and the top side (Fig. 2g top side of ridge formed by layers 46 & 48) comprises a contact region (Fig. 2g the p-GaInP reduced layer 48) arranged in the vertical direction (arrange in “y” direction) above the active region (Fig. 2g layer 48 are above the active region indicated in the annotated figure below)
and at least one cover region (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure in claim 1) directly adjoining the contact region in a lateral direction perpendicular to the vertical and longitudinal directions (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46 directly adjoins layers 48 and 50 in “x-z” directions),
the cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) is applied contiguously on the top side to the contact region (Fig. 2g layer 56 is on top side of layer 48) and the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g layer 56 is on the top side of the bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure in claim 1),
the cover layer (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56) is applied directly to the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is applied directly to the top side of the semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46) at least in the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g ITO layer 56 is applied directly at the bottom sides of 46),
at least one element defining the at least one active region (Fig. 2g portion of lateral edges of the active region indicated in the annotated figure below ) is present which is covered by the cover layer (Fig. 2g portion of lateral edges of the active region are covered by the bottom sides of 46, see annotated figure below),
the at least one element defining the active region (Fig. 2g portion of lateral edges of the active region indicated in the annotated figure below ) comprises a ridge formed in the contact region of the top side (Frig. 2g ridge formed by layers 46, 48, and 50), and
the semiconductor laser diode has no dielectric material at all on the top side or any side of the at least one cover region (Fig. 2g top side of the ridge formed by 46 & 48 is free of dielectric materials since all layers are semiconductor materials see column 2 lines 50-55) and the semiconductor layer sequence (Fig. 2g semiconductor layer sequence 40, 42-46) terminates laterally (Fig. 2g ends of layer sequence 40, 42-46, see annotated figure in claim 1) with the at least one cover region on a side of the at least one cover region facing away from the contact region (Fig. 2g bottom sides of 46 are on the sides of the end layer sequence 40, 42-46 facing away layer 48).
Ho fails to teach wherein the ridge is formed by a transparent electrically conductive contact layer formed by a transparent conductive oxide; and wherein the transparent electrically conductive contact layer comprises a first transparent conductive oxide and the cover layer comprises a different, second transparent conductive oxide.
However, Cohen teaches a semiconductor laser device (for example Fig. laser device #5) having a ridge formed by a transparent electrically conductive contact layer formed by a transparent conductive oxide (for example Fig. 5 ridge #504 made of indium tin oxide ITO, see paragraph [0045] from the translated document).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ho’s device with a ridge made of ITO (e.g. replacing ridge formed by layers 46, 48 & 50 from Ho by a ridge made entirely of ITO) as taught by Cohen because having a ridge made of ITO would provide electrical contact to the active layer (from Cohen page 10 paragraph [0074] from the translated document states “one transparent conductive layer as deposited on the active region 502 of the 504 ΙΤO to provide electrical contact to the active layer 502”); in addition, prior art has demonstrated TCO is suitable for the intended purpose of functioning as a ridge waveguide (MPEP 2144.07).
Ho modified device above fails to teach wherein the transparent electrically conductive contact layer comprises a first transparent conductive oxide and the cover layer comprises a different, second transparent conductive oxide.
However, Ho teaches that layer 56 can be made of different materials such as ZnO (see column 3 lines 16-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ho in the view of Cohen the transparent electrically conductive contact layer comprises a first transparent conductive oxide and the cover layer comprises a different, second transparent conductive oxide (e.g. having a ridge made of ITO from Cohen and having layer 56 from Ho to be made of ZnO) as further taught by Ho because it would allow to have regions with high optical absorption (from Gerhard column 14 lines 39-63).
Conclusion
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828