DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and additionally do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues that the claimed weight percent of microspheres has criticality and optimization thereof would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, however the Examiner respectfully does not find such arguments persuasive at this time.
First, the Examiner does not rely on the case law cited by Applicant (In re Woodruff) but instead relies on the relevant MPEP sections below describing the optimization of a result effective variable. Next, Applicant argues that the instant disclosure provides criticality for the variable, citing the “modest” drug release described. However, the Examiner notes that no definition is provided regarding the term “modest” that would otherwise prove its criticality, or that the specific value was the only acceptable value which provided the modest release. The Examiner further notes that no specific evidence has been submitted showing other concentrations provided unacceptable results. Further, the results described in the instant disclosure appear to be expected as the role of AmB as an antifungal agent, and the fact that microspheres provide controlled drug release, are old and well known (see [0082]-[0083]). No evidence which shows an unexpected result and no evidence showing any results specifically providing criticality and being tied to the microsphere concentration as claimed has been provided. Finally, the Examiner notes that in the instant specification [0081] recites that the distribution of the payload of the drugs can be “specifically tailored” as desired, and that [0085] specifically contemplates the microsphere ratio, among other variables can be changed to achieve desired results (“optimize…ratio of PCL microspheres to PMMA” see [0085]). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli (US 8113837 B2) in view of Rayad et al (US 2014/0234380 A1).
Regarding claims 25, Zegarelli discloses a method of treating an individual afflicted with or suspected of having an oral or dental condition (e.g. gum disease or other infection, see col 5, lines 55-65) comprising:(a) obtaining a scan, mold, or model of the individual's oral cavity where a dental prosthesis will fit (see col 6, lines 10-25); (b) fabricating a core dental prosthesis corresponding to the individual's scan, mold, or model of the oral cavity (see col 6, lines 10-25) with a PMMA polymer (at least in part, see col 9, lines 6-15 and 54; PMMA polymer); coating the core dental prosthesis with a gel composition comprising one or more drugs (see col 9, lines 6-15 and col 13, lines 30-52; col 14, lines 27; (e) administering the completed dental prosthesis to the individual for sufficient time to treat the oral or dental condition (see col 9, lines 13-15); and (f) optionally, monitoring the individual's response to the dental prosthesis treatment (optional limitation interpreted as not required for claim interpretation herein). Zegarelli further discloses wherein the individual is recovering from surgery and/or a dental procedure (see col 20, lines 56-67; per claims 26). Zegarelli, however, does not teach wherein the prosthesis is coated with a one or more microspheres containing the drug, wherein the microspheres are present at 0.2% w/v as required.
Rayad et al, however, teaches generating a dental treatment composition gel comprising a weight percent of microspheres containing a drug, wherein the one or more microspheres each individually comprise PCL, for application to the gums (see abstract, [0017]-[0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli to include Rayad’s composition containing PCL microspheres for containing a drug, as such modification would allow for time released dispersion of the medicament, increasing treatment efficiency (see Rayad, abstract). It is noted that should the method of Zegarelli be modified with the microspheres/gel of Rayad, as combined above, the microspheres would be generated in order to be used, and the prosthesis would be coated with the microspheres (and gel) when applied to the porous material, meeting the limitations of the claims.
Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, while teaching that the microspheres are present at a given weight percent, implicitly, does not explicitly teach that the microspheres are present at 0.2% w/v, as required. However, the Examiner notes that the specific concentration of microspheres is a result effective variable dependent on the particular patient’s condition. For example, if the amount of drug released, or rate or drug released is needed to be higher for a particular patient, the concentration of the drug containing microspheres would be increased, and vice versa. This is echoed by Applicant’s arguments which state that specific concentration is dependent on the individual, and the instant disclosure which states that the drug dosing is variable based on the specific microsphere ratio to optimize drug delivery (see [0085]). Additionally the specific percentage lacks any criticality as described in the original disclosure as evidenced by [0083] and [0085] describing “modest” and variable/optimized drug release. Further Applicant’s arguments describe the ratio as “desirable”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, to include the microspheres at 0.2% w/v, as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, lacking any particular criticality, and obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Claim(s) 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli in view of Rayad, as combined above in view of claim 25, further in view of Gad et al (US 20180325782 A1).
Regarding claims 27-29, Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, discloses wherein the medicament can be an antifungal to treat a fungal infection (see Zegarelli, col 14, lines 25-27), but does not explicitly teach the use of amphotericin B to treat candida albicans infections as required.
Gad et al, however, teaches that in situations where a patient has or is suspected of having a candida albicans infection, a resin prosthesis may be coated with amphotericin to treat the infection (see abstract, [0005], [0076] and [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, to include Gad’s teaching of treating candida albicans infections by applying amphotericin to a prosthesis, as such modification would provide use of a targeted therapy with known efficacy against a known infection, thereby increasing efficacy of the treatment.
Claim(s) 31 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli (US 2019/0247173 A1) in view of Rayad, further in view of Shivapuja et al (US 10179035 B2).
Regarding claims 31 and 36, Zegarelli discloses a method of treating an individual afflicted with or suspected of having an oral or dental condition (see [0001]-[0002], [0042], [0044]) comprising:(a) obtaining a scan, mold, or model of the individual's oral cavity where a dental prosthesis will fit (see [0107]); (b) fabricating a core dental prosthesis corresponding to the individual's scan, mold, or model of the oral cavity with a PMMA polymer (at least in part, see [0119], [0075], [0081]); coating the core dental prosthesis with a gel composition comprising one or more drugs (see [0086]-[0087]); (e) administering the completed dental prosthesis to the individual for sufficient time to treat the oral or dental condition (see [0048]); and (f) optionally, monitoring the individual's response to the dental prosthesis treatment (optional limitation interpreted as not required for claim interpretation herein). Zegarelli, however, does not teach wherein the prosthesis is coated with a one or more microspheres, wherein the microspheres are present at 0.2% w/v containing the drug, or wherein the polymer is a filament as required.
Rayad et al, however, teaches a dental treatment composition gel comprising a weight percent of microspheres containing a drug, wherein the one or more microspheres each individually comprise PCL, for application to the gums (see abstract, [0017]-[0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli to include Rayad’s composition containing PCL microspheres for containing a drug, as such modification would allow for time released dispersion of the medicament, increasing treatment efficiency (see Rayad, abstract). It is noted that should the method of Zegarelli be modified with the microspheres/gel of Rayad, as combined above, the microspheres would be generated in order to be used, and the prosthesis would be coated with the microspheres (and gel) when applied to the porous material, meeting the limitations of the claims.
Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, while teaching that the microspheres are present at a given weight percent, implicitly, does not explicitly teach that the microspheres are present at 0.2% w/v, as required. However, the Examiner notes that the specific concentration of microspheres is a result effective variable dependent on the particular patient’s condition. For example, if the amount of drug released, or rate or drug released is needed to be higher for a particular patient, the concentration of the drug containing microspheres would be increased, and vice versa. This is echoed by Applicant’s arguments which state that specific concentration is dependent on the individual, and the instant disclosure which states that the drug dosing is variable based on the specific microsphere ratio to optimize drug delivery (see [0085]). Additionally the specific percentage lacks any criticality as described in the original disclosure as evidenced by [0083] and [0085] describing “modest” and variable/optimized drug release. Further Applicant’s arguments describe the ratio as “desirable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, to include the microspheres at 0.2% w/v, as such modification would merely involve the optimization of a result effective variable, lacking any particular criticality, and obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Shivapuja et al, however teaches a method of forming a dental mouthpiece via 3D printing using filaments of PMMA (see col 11, lines 10-15 and col 12, lines 26-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad, as combined above, to include Shivapuja’s teaching of using polymers in filament form, as such modification would make use of an old and well known method of 3D printing, allowing for ease of storage and dispersion of the polymer.
Claim(s) 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli in view of Rayad in view of Shivapuja et al, as combined above, further in view of Gad et al (US 20180325782 A1).
Regarding claims 33-35, Zegarelli/Rayad/Shivapuja, as combined above, discloses wherein the medicament can be an antifungal to treat a fungal infection (see Zegarelli, [0089]), but does not explicitly teach the use of amphotericin B to treat candida albicans infections as required.
Gad et al, however, teaches that in situations where a patient has or is suspected of having a candida albicans infection, a resin prosthesis may be coated with amphotericin to treat the infection (see abstract, [0005], [0076] and [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad/Shivapuja, as combined above, to include Gad’s teaching of treating candida albicans infections by applying amphotericin to a prosthesis, as such modification would provide use of a targeted therapy with known efficacy against a known infection, thereby increasing efficacy of the treatment.
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli in view of Rayad in view of Shivapuja et al, as combined above in regards to claim 31, further in view of Zegarelli (US 8113837 B2).
Regarding claim 32, Zegarelli/Rayad/Shivapuja et al, as combined above, does not explicitly teach wherein the individual is recovering from surgery or a dental procedure as required.
Zegarelli, however, teaches that a drug coated mouthpiece can be used to treat a patient who is recovering from surgery or a dental procedure (see col 20, lines 56-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Zegarelli/Rayad/Shivapuja, as combined above, to include Zegarelli’s step of treating the patient after recovering from surgery or dental procedure, as such modification would improve recovery and/or treatment speed, or prevent infections.
Conclusion
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772